Adam Goodes should promote the King Kong musical

Re: Adam Goodes should promote the King Kong musical

SaintPav wrote:Did Eddy make this remark intentionally to raise the awareness of racism? Because Eddy is no mug and I still can't believe he went there.
Ive seen some long bows drawn on this site....but this takes the cake....

Lets get this straight.........your suggesting Ed set the whole thing up deliberately??

Youre a bright boy..... :roll:

Seems a lot of arguing about nothing. Now that Eddie himself admitted to racial vilification, and is heading off to his counseling session. I guess that since Goodes thinks it was and Eddie has now admitted it was it's end of story.
Wish some posters would be as defending of the Saints players and officials, as they are about racist Eddie.

http://www.foxsports.com.au/AFL/mcguire ... =FoxSports

listen carefully to the last 4-6 seconds of this clip-- he certainly never made sure his coach at one time rebutted his comments.....
Last edited by saintbrat on Wed 29 May 2013 10:51pm, edited 1 time in total.

twirlyhair

I'll take a guess at why your casual-Eddie-McGuire-type-racism persists in this country - because you don't get killed for it and you certainly don't get punished if you're rich and white.
You give a press conference. You get suspended pending an internal enquiry. You move on in a week or two and things go on as they always have.
This is not to say the standard result for using racial slurs in a country like the US is death - but baby, you pull an "ape" or "nigger" line out on the subway of your average US city, you're odds-on to get a beating. You say it to the wrong person and you're gonna get shot or stabbed or stomped into a cranial pizza.
Like most things in this country, we don't get it served real. We get the imported Aussie "lite" version. 
Advertisement
Street violence? Yeah, take a cruise around San Pedro Sula, Honduras at night.
Drug dealing? Drop into Juarez, Mexico and witness the cogs of the coke industry chewing through the bodies to bring you your $400 baggies on Friday night.
Religious differences? Try Syria or Iraq, where to be Shiite or Sunni is not like wearing your favourite footy team's jumper up the shops; it's a belief, a choice that defines where and how you live and might see you lose both legs and four family members via a car bomb while buying cucumbers at the market.
Racism? We don't get it, because there are no consequences for being an ignorant, smug arsehole in this country.
Had Eddie McGuire made his King Kong remark on US radio, he would not work in the American mainstream media again. Game over, Ed. Buy a yacht.
If NSW State of Origin NRL assistant coach Andrew Johns had called an opponent on another team "a black c---" in American sport, he'd first have been knocked out by the closest black player and may now, possibly, be coaching some high school team in Alabama while nursing a prescription drug addiction.
If a 13-year-old white girl called LeBron James an "ape" at an NBA game, not only she, but her entire entourage, would have had to have been escorted from the arena FOR THEIR OWN SAFETY. I guarantee there would have been a 13-year-old black girl so in her face, whitey could sketch her from memory.
Even the dumbest, most rusted-on American racist knows if you call a black person a nigger, you better bring it, because you're gonna get a savage reaction, born of the hurt Adam Goodes articulated so well in his press conference this week.
That hurt is proportionate to the suffering, malevolence, violence, cruelty and indignity that men and women experienced during slavery in the US.
This is an experience to which we have never given full acknowledgement in this country. We do not understand the anger, the shame, the frustration, the bitterness and  sorrow of what was taken from indigenous Australians.
We can't even be honest enough to call it "slavery": like black folks just loved the idea of working on cattle stations seven days a week so they could get some beans and flour and see their daughters raped on weekends.
We said "sorry", but for what? Crippling your culture? Raping your women? Murdering your children? Ingraining shame into your upbringing? Alienating you from contemporary culture to the point there is not one indigenous TV personality regularly seen on our TV screens?
Indigenous Australians have no-one to articulate their suffering, save the odd sports hero or barely acknowledged activist (who's apparently too white to be credible, so just shut up, mate).
You turn on American TV, there's black folks everywhere. Last year, they had an NFL panel show on a major network with a black host and FOUR black panellists. No token white guy.
You make a King Kong statement like Eddie McGuire did in that studio, you've got 25 people in the newsroom who are gonna press you against the lift doors and tell you why you're a maggot and you need to LEARN. FAST.
I'm not suggesting violence is the best response to racism - whether that racism is casual, unintentional or sharpened to puncture hearts like so much of the muck we read from white apologist news commentators.
I'm saying we need to get real about punishing it.
We went close to destroying an ancient, unique people. I have no problem with destroying a few media careers when they fail to recognise that horrific legacy.

Read more: http://www.theage.com.au/executive-styl ... z2UgJ20eBj

Fazer

I'm not sure if this has been covered, but If Harry o (or Kracker if he feels the same way) is serious about there being no place for racism wouldn't this be an opportune moment to make a real stand and distance himself from the people who promote such behaviour, ie. part ways with his current employer. How serious are you Harry o, at the end of the day anyone can regurgitate a few words on twitter. Essentially you're endorsing Eddie's actions by hanging around and representing the filth.

PakenhamSaint

samuraisaint wrote:
markp wrote:Geeez.. reminiscent of rex and his leon davis comments.

Stoopid.
not even in the same ballpark. Rex had a signature comment he used to always make about his black dog or something (like the 77 Sunset Strip, Lord Nelson, The Rifleman and another one about special fried rice) and then he used it when Leon had the ball, he then realised what he had done and tried to change tact but became legitimately tongue tied and it came out sounding like he had had a go at Leon, which he didn't. But he was sorry and apologised anyway as any fair person would.

Not the same.
I thought the Leon Davis incident was him actually saying "It's as black as a dog's guts" I think he was referring to the weather but it came out as it did.

Rex Hunt was from another less enlightened age and straddled the line of racism. I think he like lots of older Aussies probably took people on their values while being culturally biased and insensitive.

Mcguire should know better as he's been strong on racism over a long time. It might still run in an under current under the surface of aussies today.

I'm still surprised by anti semitism and homophobic terminology being used by young people.

Why didn't you say it was a Sam de Brito item? He might be right in this case, but generally he's a wanker and I wouldn't bother reading his rubbish.

Hilarious, not the comment.... Which was in poor taste and stupid beyond belief from Maguire

But the fact he couldn't even take proper responsibility for what he said, and defended himself... Which was even worse.

He should rightfully be condemned.

So Sam de Brito thinks all blacks in America are thugs that resort to violence to press a point?

Greg T

Was hilarious I agree,
Started out as a tongue in cheek comment,
NoW expect ww3,,,,,,,

100 goals in 14 games...Lockett is the key

Waltzing St Kilda wrote:They're talking about extreme publicity for KING KONG.

Eddie hunts through his weary brain for some topical connection. First things that pops up is Adam Goodes. Tries to be funny, edgy. A comment more on the publicity machine than anything.

Doesn't work. Eddie tries to "walk it back" but only makes it worse.

Eddie deserves some flak but I too am worried that too much opprobrium will only give fuel to the anti-PC brigade. Already I can see an apologetic Eddie on THE FOOTY SHOW with Sam Newman beside him simmering with righteous indignation.
spot on...that is what happened..just one of those neuronal connections that didn't get over-ridden before his mouth opened.

BigMart wrote:Hilarious, not the comment.... Which was in poor taste and stupid beyond belief from Maguire

But the fact he couldn't even take proper responsibility for what he said, and defended himself... Which was even worse.

He should rightfully be condemned.

Agree !

Did this occur cos eddie has a problem with the colombian marching powder ?

He's seemingly on the go 24 / 7 , I wonder how he does it !

Sam de Brito is a total knob but on this article I agree with him 99% of the way.

His glorification of violence (and then qualifications at the end of his article) and his inaccurate comparisons aside (for instance I don't think he gets religious stuff in Iraq) he got most things right.

The main message is we let rich white assholes off way way way too lightly in this country.

fugazi wrote:
Waltzing St Kilda wrote:They're talking about extreme publicity for KING KONG.

Eddie hunts through his weary brain for some topical connection. First things that pops up is Adam Goodes. Tries to be funny, edgy. A comment more on the publicity machine than anything.

Doesn't work. Eddie tries to "walk it back" but only makes it worse.

Eddie deserves some flak but I too am worried that too much opprobrium will only give fuel to the anti-PC brigade. Already I can see an apologetic Eddie on THE FOOTY SHOW with Sam Newman beside him simmering with righteous indignation.
spot on...that is what happened..just one of those neuronal connections that didn't get over-ridden before his mouth opened.
I agree from a personal level . He totally effed up - but I aint gonna hang him for it. No idea what he was thinking but Im not going to get too high and mighty on it.

on the other hand. hes not just a regular bloke. poor people make small mistakes all the time and pay huge consequences. people get fired for less and end up with ruined lives and noone gives a toss or bats an eyelid.

so if eddie did suffer some consequences well i wouldnt think that was an injustice either. the guy has lived a charmed life.

he puts himself up as a leader and paragon of virtue when in fact hes clearly not all that. Plenty of decent people - none with his status and wealth - would never have even thought of such a wacky (racist) idea in the first place .

so i wont hang him but i sure as sh*t wont defend him either.

in short. f*ck him.

twirlyhair wrote: We do not understand the anger, the shame, the frustration, the bitterness and sorrow of what was taken from indigenous Australians.
We can't even be honest enough to call it "slavery": like black folks just loved the idea of working on cattle stations seven days a week so they could get some beans and flour and see their daughters raped on weekends.
We said "sorry", but for what? Crippling your culture? Raping your women? Murdering your children? Ingraining shame into your upbringing?

He left out a couple of important facts; The fact that most people here in Australia were brought up in racist households. Most peoples mums and dads here in Australia were racist. Yes! Your great grandparents, your nanna and pop and most Australians mums and dads were racist. Our institutions were racist, our leaders in government were racist.

I mean come on - we're not talking about the first fleet here...We're talking about Australia when we were kids. Personnaly when I went to school it was OK to be racist. Funny thing was that in my history lessons we only learnt about American History and the Roman Empire. Can't remember learning about Australain history. Was there something the government didn't want us to know?

Sadly, Saintspremiers is a typical example of what is said in most private aussie homes and what imo the majority think and say in their backyards. I would bet my bottom dollar that Eddie has had a few conversations this week with a bigot or two in private. People would have come up to him with a snigger and be joking about the 13 year old's racist abuse and i reckon he's turned those private remarks into a public statement...who knows if that's what he might also be thinking himself of AG (after all isn't that what he was insinuating).

The history of Australia is a racist history. Up until the late 1960's basically all our prime ministers of our nation and the laws of Australia were racist, the church and the pub and the school principle and all his teachers and all the books that Australian kids grew up reading were all racist. Things might change in another 50 years or so when your pop and and your daddy are no longer around

Not going to re-quote your whole post Twirly, but wow, great post. Passionate and from your guts. And spot-on about how casually racism is overlooked and condoned in Australia.

Scollop wrote: He left out a couple of important facts; The fact that most people here in Australia were brought up in racist households. Most peoples mums and dads here in Australia were racist. Yes! Your great grandparents, your nanna and pop and most Australians mums and dads were racist. Our institutions were racist, our leaders in government were racist.

I mean come on - we're not talking about the first fleet here...We're talking about Australia when we were kids. Personnaly when I went to school it was OK to be racist. Funny thing was that in my history lessons we only learnt about American History and the Roman Empire. Can't remember learning about Australain history. Was there something the government didn't want us to know?

Sadly, Saintspremiers is a typical example of what is said in most private aussie homes and what imo the majority think and say in their backyards. I would bet my bottom dollar that Eddie has had a few conversations this week with a bigot or two in private. People would have come up to him with a snigger and be joking about the 13 year old's racist abuse and i reckon he's turned those private remarks into a public statement...who knows if that's what he might also be thinking himself of AG (after all isn't that what he was insinuating).

The history of Australia is a racist history. Up until the late 1960's basically all our prime ministers of our nation and the laws of Australia were racist, the church and the pub and the school principle and all his teachers and all the books that Australian kids grew up reading were all racist. Things might change in another 50 years or so when your pop and and your daddy are no longer around

Totally agree with you Scollop. The white Australia policy was in place until 1968. I remember going to Uluru and just happened to be there for the ceremony of handing it back to the Indigenous people. Rang my mum up to tell her and said, "Oh god, they're a bunch of no-hopers". No idea at all that she was ignorant and racist. It was just accepted as a 'normal' attitude.

And yep, your comment about Saintspremiers being demonstrative of the racism ingrained in our culture is exactly right. No awareness at all about the racism in his comments. Just like my mum, it's just 'normal' for him. And when challenged, has no idea or self-reflection going on.

Scollop wrote:
twirlyhair wrote: We do not understand the anger, the shame, the frustration, the bitterness and sorrow of what was taken from indigenous Australians.
We said "sorry", but for what? Crippling your culture? Raping your women? Murdering your children? Ingraining shame into your upbringing?

He left out a couple of important facts; The fact that most people here in Australia were brought up in racist households. Most peoples mums and dads here in Australia were racist. Yes! Your great grandparents, your nanna and pop and most Australians mums and dads were racist. Our institutions were racist, our leaders in government were racist.

Harsh, but not entirely unfair or inaccurate.

What the comments, their context, and the response demonstrates to me is an underlying feeling from a lot of people that the issue of racism is all a bit overblown, it's really ok to joke about and make a sly comment out the side of the mouth every now and then, and anyone who is offended is really just a bit of a sook.

Which at very least indicates a lack of empathy and understanding of the issue and pain caused, due to historical context.

Always bewildering to me when non-indigenous people decide and proclaim a particular thing shouldn't be regarded as offensive to indigenous people.

BakesFan

Has anyone considered that "Indigenous Round" is of itself inherently racist?

Why does the AFL chose to celebrate a particular group of players once a season, purely based on their background/heritage/colour of their skin??

Isn't Footy meant to be a social leveller?....Aren't we meant to judge players solely on their skill and actions on the paddock?....Why should it matter what colour they are?

Have I missed the point??...because I just don't get it.......can someone please explain it to me.

Great minds discuss ideas; average minds discuss events; small minds discuss people.(Eleanor Roosevelt)
sippo

Yes rich white a/holes get away with murder here i agree. Nowadays here in the West the latest generation of indigenoues also get away with murder these days. the police and justice system wont touch them.

BakesFan wrote:Has anyone considered that "Indigenous Round" is of itself inherently racist?

Why does the AFL chose to celebrate a particular group of players once a season, purely based on their background/heritage/colour of their skin??

Isn't Footy meant to be a social leveller?....Aren't we meant to judge players solely on their skill and actions on the paddock?....Why should it matter what colour they are?

Have I missed the point??...because I just don't get it.......can someone please explain it to me.

What's wrong with acknowledging the contribution that indigenous players have made to the game, and the game has made (and continues to make) to relations between indigenous and non-indigenpous people in this country 'officially' by the simple naming of a round of footy?

They are the original inhabitants, and have had and continue to have a pretty tough time of the deal.

Perhaps when we all at least have the same life expectancy in this country maybe we can pretend that we're all really equal.

And I think what's happened here (as a direct consequence of the indigenous round) will ultimately be a positive thing in the medium and long term.

BakesFan wrote:Has anyone considered that "Indigenous Round" is of itself inherently racist?

Bakesfan you say it yourself. It is a celebration, there is no exclusion during the round. Just as they celebrate women's round. It is a celebration, but they dont stop men from attending.

Twirlyhair has written a really good post above which explains racism. What you say is true it shouldnt matter what color your skin is.

I must admit I do get upset when I hear young islanders referring to each others as "nig", I dont think they understand how hard people have worked to eradicate that word, and what a derogitory word it is. But they feel it is fine to call themselves that because they have dark skin. Another example of people missing the point.

After watching Adam Goodes last friday night, I was so upset to see how upset he was. I thought that the person must have called him a black something. When I found out the word he was called , and put that with his reaction, the penny dropped with me. I had often thought the same as a lot of others and like you Bakesfan, on Friday night I saw the damage it can cause, and I now get it.

twirly hair - what's your race/religion, seems like you're really cut up about this.

I'm a Jew and yes cop it occasionally but it doesn't effect me. I like black humour so that helps! (No pun intended).
Last edited by saintspremiers on Thu 30 May 2013 11:24am, edited 1 time in total.

Fair point.

You could argue having a gay round would be equally as important but that hasn't happend yet.