What I reckon about 2014...

Re: What I reckon about 2014...

BackFromUSA wrote:
noob wrote:Who would you choose with our first pick out Scharenberg, Billings or Kelly? Assuming those 3 are the most likely with Aish and Boyd gone.
Kelly at 3 please (I also like Matt Crouch)

Kelly is very outside and again a small mid. We have Steven and hopefully curren as small mids. Im unsure we need another. Even Armo isnt a tall mid but at least very solid. need the option for a mid to go forward like a kennedy or Okeefe type mid.

There's room for another good strong midfielder. Steven is on the way to become one of the top on-ballers in the comp, Armo is middle of the range, and Curren should be good but time will tell.

spert wrote:There's room for another good strong midfielder. Steven is on the way to become one of the top on-ballers in the comp, Armo is middle of the range, and Curren should be good but time will tell.

Agreed we need about 5 of them but we need a couple of tall mids who can go forward occassionally.

Kickit

I'm not sold on Kelly.
Still a lot of development needed, and that's a risk factor.

Go back to the National Championships and Honeychurch was far more effective than Kelly and he's even smaller & skinnier. Billings seems to be a Dale Thomas/Steele Sidebottom type !!

BackFromUSA wrote:
noob wrote:Who would you choose with our first pick out Scharenberg, Billings or Kelly? Assuming those 3 are the most likely with Aish and Boyd gone.

Kelly is very outside and again a small mid. We have Steven and hopefully curren as small mids. Im unsure we need another. Even Armo isnt a tall mid but at least very solid. need the option for a mid to go forward like a kennedy or Okeefe type mid.

That's why I like Scharenberg he is big and could be a mid I believe, Billings is the one that could be a steal. Not sure what he could be but an undersized HF who could be anything. Almost could be the best player but a crap size. A Schnieder style forward who might even get an engine and play a mid role. Strong marking and goal kicking type at least.

Kickit

BackFromUSA wrote:Who would you choose with our first pick out Scharenberg, Billings or Kelly? Assuming those 3 are the most likely with Aish and Boyd gone.

That's why I like Scharenberg he is big and could be a mid I believe, Billings is the one that could be a steal. Not sure what he could be but an undersized HF who could be anything. Almost could be the best player but a crap size. A Schnieder style forward who might even get an engine and play a mid role. Strong marking and goal kicking type at least.
The only issue about Scharenberg, is that his most likely role "for starters " ( whether or not he ends up in the midfield ) is as a back flanker, of which we have multiple. ( But we'll see what happens at trade week ).

lloyd21

Agree with you Gringo if he is available Scharenburg Averages 22 disposals a game Averages 6 marks a game

The No 1 player in the championships for kicking efficiency. (Pelchin said they won't recruit anyone who is not a good kick going forward)

Just hope we get him but if we don't and get Billings?Aish ? well not a bad result eh.

You never draft top picks.... Thinking about the current team

Just take the best player available.... The two SA boys for me.... Either one

We also had a number of capable BFs in 2002 but still took BJ and Ferg, and in 2003 took Raph and Sam, in 2005 took Gilbert.....Winmar, Dempster..... Webster, Urdoch, Wright.. Etc

You just hope any player you draft makes it, so best available

BigMart wrote:You just hope any player you draft makes it, so best available
Agree with that. When you're drafting a bunch of 18 year olds, you can't possibly know what shape your list will be in four or five years later when they hopefully become regulars in the senior side - not to mention the whole game might have changed in that time. What if there's an interchange cap set at 80 and we go down to two interchange + two subs? No idea how that will affect the game.

So just pick the ones who look the best and worry later about how they all fit together.

I think you will find guys like Scarenberg were used where they were because of their run and carry and elite kicking- he could have played mid but they probably had several others. Look at Geelong Stokes and Stevie J are specialist forwards but this year are played as midfielders and both average huge numbers and look just as good. Sometimes you just have to have a look at the way they play and hope they are adaptable. Scharenberg can mov the ball forward and with Colquhoun last year looked like a lethal combo. Aish is a gun too so wouldn't mind if we got any of them.

Billings for mine

Not sure a small forward is worth a top 3 pick

Like seniors, most out and out junior guns are mids.... Some exceptions...

Most outside or fwd smalls go later on

Same with KPP.... Most out and out guns are fwds....and then they go back....

What about Sheed ?
He has slipped out of consideration a little bit recently and he prob isn't a top 3 pick but I can very much see him being the player in 3 years time bigmart will tell us all how we should have taken him with pick 3 ( even if he is a WA boy)

st_Trav_ofWA wrote:What about Sheed ?
He has slipped out of consideration a little bit recently and he prob isn't a top 3 pick but I can very much see him being the player in 3 years time bigmart will tell us all how we should have taken him with pick 3 ( even if he is a WA boy)

WA person. i think they maybe to big of a risk for us to take. He seems more in the 6 to 10 picks from reading but I have never seen him have a kick in anger so you would have a better idea than me.

The kid is good ... Goal kicking midfielder with a mature head and strong leadership suits our needs pretty well .
Again picking him with pick 3 might be seen as paying overs for him but I'm a strong believer that he will be the "selwood" type pick that who ever gets him will be besides themselves happy he slipped to their pick

I might have to change my name to WA person ... ;)

BigMart wrote:Not sure a small forward is worth a top 3 pick

Like seniors, most out and out junior guns are mids.... Some exceptions...

Most outside or fwd smalls go later on

Same with KPP.... Most out and out guns are fwds....and then they go back....
Billings isn't really a small forward more a small key forward and could be higher if played on the ball more as a junior. He's the one people might go why was he so cheap. He should have played more on ball and got that out of the way but he can kick goals so he went back forward.

Sheed is a pick 5 to 10 prospect but again might be a bargain. Some said his disposal can be a bit messy is the only thing letting him down. I haven't seen enough to know either way.

Don't be offended WA man.... I just couldn't remember how you name went.... No disrespect, just laziness on my behalf... I think you're a good poster... Even though we differ on opinion a lot... No prob with that, you only object when you have a point and keep it on topic from memory....

Nice to See old mate had you're back, just in case you couldn't defend yourself, or to make an issue out of it....

Again, wasn't intended to be a crack... Apologies if you thought that

P66.... Good job on pointing that put....

It helps having a stalker monitoring my every move and keeping me in check, keeps me on my toes.... Not!.... Good on ya old mate...

Bazza1970

Went along to the Yarra Junior Football League B & F on Tuesday night and Billings was interviewed on stage as an Oakleigh Chargers rep.

He was pretty small in stature.

BigMart wrote:Don't be offended WA man.... I just couldn't remember how you name went.... No disrespect, just laziness on my behalf... I think you're a good poster... Even though we differ on opinion a lot... No prob with that, you only object when you have a point and keep it on topic from memory....

Nice to See old mate had you're back, just in case you couldn't defend yourself, or to make an issue out of it....

It helps having a stalker monitoring my every move and keeping me in check, keeps me on my toes.... Not!.... Good on ya old mate...

Still you continue to not ignore me even though you have me on ignore. You are really hilarious even if there are some clear issues. Just because you are to gutless to quote doesnt hide the fact that you keep mentioning me for some strange reason. Weird.

BigMart wrote:Don't be offended WA man.... I just couldn't remember how you name went.... No disrespect, just laziness on my behalf... I think you're a good poster... Even though we differ on opinion a lot... No prob with that, you only object when you have a point and keep it on topic from memory....

I've only been posting here since 2005 and in that time the only Trav I have come accross on the forum in that time .. :oops:

Unlike some I generally comment my opinion regardless of who posts ( I dispute the post not the poster) end of day we all support the same team - I've had arguments with most people on here about differing views (I remember a pearler of a tiff with old mate Stinger over the Indian cricket team ) end of the day I will still have a beer with any of you folk ..

The thing with your posts I don't agree with is the way you state the bleading obvious as some kind of master stroke insight ... That and your use of hinesight But claiming it as foresight on your behalf ...

Would Billings be like the Alan Didak of the draft?

noob wrote:Would Billings be like the Alan Didak of the draft?

I think that would be a fair comparison.

Do I ever pretend to be anything other than a supporter... Don't think so? In fact I have said as much many times... But mainly many moons ago... Stopped doing that as it made no difference..

Some Supporters don't like what I post, and as a way of shooting it down is to attack person and not the content. This garbage about me believing I know more than the next bloke is there so people can take issue with it... But it's fabricated....

I would be in the industry if I was a pro, but no, I'm just a passionate StK fan with an opinion... Like you in that respect

Hindsight ..... That is used by every person that does analysis... Be it newspaper, footy show, fan talk, reviewing, discussing....
Are you saying I don't predict, or make a call ATT

We all have the luxury of hindsight..... When we log on after a game... Yet we make comment, don't we?

It's funny
If I don't say who we should have drafted in 2010... Am I not allowed any opinion on anyone drafted in 2010?. Seems that standard is often only levelled at me... It's a bit interesting... Perhaps because I'm outspoken and people love to tear that down? Fair enough, put yourself out there and you can get put straight back in your place...

Sweeney, Howard, Cousins, Ball, Cripps, Lovett, Maguire, X, mini, Eddy.... These were threads I was smashed for starting, because I opposed.... And apparantly I wasn't allowed give an opinion too early...

Again no expert.... But have an opinion, which is never going to be liked by supporters, because it can question and not support the club. I make no apologies, I want to see success.... Regimes that don't get it right, should be challenged considering the money they make?

Finally
Most people refer to me as BM because they can't be stuffed with the name.... Yours has underscores, Title, name, states .... I couldn't remember the configuration...