2014 FIXture !!

I noticed that the 2014 FIXture was presented to the AFL Commission yesterday (before the Essendope stuff took over). History tells us that that it rarely changes from this, and only in exceptional circumstances.

I suspect that they may have had at least TWO FIXtures presented, just in case.

We now have about 8-10 weeks to Speculate, Whinge, Pray and hope for what we are going to get. I'll kick it off;

Rd 5 Fri 25 April. St Kilda v Brisbane, Westpac Stadium, Wellington. 7.40pm. Fox Footy

Beyond that I'd like to see us get a good "Commercial" run at the start of the season (first 6 rounds). I'd love to see us get a start something like this;

Rd 1, Home v Collingwood, Saturday Night, Etihad Stadium

Rd 2, Away v Nth Melbourne, Saturday Early, Etihad Stadium

Rd 3, Home v Richmond, Friday Night, Etihad Stadium

Rd 4, Away v Melbourne, Saturday Early, MCG

Rd 5, Home v Brisbane, Friday Night, Wellington

Rd 6, Away v GWS, Saturday Twilight, Canberra

Yes, I threw one Interstate game in there and I know that there will only be one "Block" of six games (at the most) during the year where we only get one Interstate game. I also know that there will be plenty of Twilight games for us. I also see us getting no more than 3-4 Friday Night games, with probably 2 of these being Interstate.

The ONLY way that I can see us avoiding heaps of Twilight games is if the club has pushed for us to be involved in a lot of the "second" Saturday Night games.

Anyone else care to Speculate/Whinge? !!

Re: 2014 FIXture !!

Fairly likely that Round 7 will be vs Carlton on a Monday night.

Good chance we'll get at least three of GWS, Melbourne, Bulldogs, Brisbane or Hawthorn twice next year.

I reckon we'll end up getting sent to Geelong again too.

I'm tipping we play Brisbane in Brisbane, Sydney in Sydney, Port in Adelaide, WCE & Freo in Perth… plus at least one of GWS/GCS interstate…

Wouldn't be a fair draw without us travelling interstate the same amount as Essendon & Collingwood combined.

dragit wrote: Wouldn't be a fair draw without us travelling interstate the same amount as Essendon & Collingwood combined.
To be fair, Essendon's travel may have to be curtailed a bit to comply with Parole conditions :wink:

Given our positiion expect Twilight X ?????
Club position is for a differant team in NZ to avoid NZ supporters going for other team

More than 2 day games in Melbourne please!

If we have to play the Lions at the Gabba next year, that will make it 5 years since we played them in Melbourne!

dragit wrote: Wouldn't be a fair draw without us travelling interstate the same amount as Essendon & Collingwood combined.
To be fair, Essendon's travel may have to be curtailed a bit to comply with Parole conditions :wink:
Caro reports the cheats may only be.banned from 1st round of next year's Draft.

Let's hope the AFL whack them with a crap fixture. Let's face it. They'll become the next GWS of the AFL. All kids, no money off their own.

noddy04

I hope we play against Port Ade

I am really hoping we play Port Adelaide and Adelaide at Adelaide oval in 2014 :D

ANZAC night game- NZ.
Mond night game- Blues
No Friday night games
3 Sat night games. ( 2 interstate )
Twilight Sat and Sun games.

tony74 wrote:ANZAC night game- NZ.
Mond night game- Blues
No Friday night games
3 Sat night games. ( 2 interstate )
Twilight Sat and Sun games.
No Friday night? Wow!

how many day games in Melbourne? (Ie not twilight or night),

Kickit

Caro reports the cheats may only be.banned from 1st round of next year's Draft.

Let's hope the AFL whack them with a crap fixture. Let's face it. They'll become the next GWS of the AFL. All kids, no money off their own.

Jesus Christ , The Crows will now be writing into their corporate procedures.
: Getting penalised. Deny everything again , get coach to throw a hissy fit, initiate legal action.

I seriously think the AFL are taking the wrong approach against Essendon. Do they really want to start a system of negotiating these punishment.

Now excuse me, my thirteen year old was caught stealing cars, apparently 2 weeks without X-Box is out of the question, but If I continue my strong stance I might be able to convince him to go with 3 days without facebook and no desert for a week.

South OZ Saint

I hate the Crows but I reckon they were screwed by the AFL.
They lost Bailey for not tanking , they lose draft picks and CEO out for six months , what they did with Tippett is relatively minor compared to the cheats at Windy Hill.

South OZ Saint wrote:I hate the Crows but I reckon they were screwed by the AFL.
They lost Bailey for not tanking , they lose draft picks and CEO out for six months , what they did with Tippett is relatively minor compared to the cheats at Windy Hill.
Remember these two words; INFRACTION NOTICES !!