Where were you when Josh Bruce was born?

Re: Where were you when Josh Bruce was born?

Dr Spaceman wrote:Was it a Monday? Pretty sure I went across the road to the Olympic Park dogs afterwards :)
yep it was a monday...huge crowd...80,000 plus...they let people into the top of the members area in the old ponsford stand...i can still see them filing in filling up those old wooden seats......where i sat for the 1997 grannie too....

yeah i can remember what i was doing every day that week bruce was born
it was only,after all...20 f****** years ago!!

Little Dozer
Location: Forward Pocket, Outer side, Linton Street end or bay 38 Waverley

I was there, one of my favourite days as a Saints fan that was. I'd never heard a Saints crowd so loud as that day.

Are we waiting for a saviour?
I'm so sick of waiting!
I've been waiting my whole life!
This is a new day!
oh when the

At the G
Pretty sure that was Devonports day .

oh when the wrote:At the G
Pretty sure that was Devonports day .
it was.....the coach nearly ripped his jumper off...but he still sealed the match for us......

I kept diaries between 1984 and 1997 Will get the 92 one out in the morn and post exactly everything I did that day.

I was living in Cairns then, my footy career over due to a second ACL.

suss wrote:
kosifantutti wrote:Born June 8 1992.

I was at the MCG watching us beat Collingwood by a point.

i was one of the first into the ground....later that night i travelled tp perth......with a filth supporter.....i was very happy...he wasn't

i remember the game well.....loewe landed one on the very top of the goal post......remember being disappointed early in the day finding out plugger wasn't playing.....

but hey....any day beating the filth by a point is a very good day....
I was one of the last! My brother got locked out as my dad and I got in. One of the best games I've been to.
:D :D :D
I had a similar experience.
I went with a group of about 8.
When we entered the northern stand we realised two of our party were missing.
They got locked out as the attendants closed the gates.
Apparently they rushed round to the Western Stand but couldn't get in there either.
So they retreated back to a pub in town.

Terrific game though.
Kenny did what every StK supporter felt like doing to a lethargic Davvo.
And turned out to be very very effective.

avid

We were there too!
This is like a Sensational 21 year preunion.

I was 10. I was probably playing basketball

mcadam05

i have posted 20 mins of goodness from that game :)

Schillaci

mcadam05 wrote:i have posted 20 mins of goodness from that game :)

Cheers mcadam. Enjoyed it all over again.

Thanks so much for that mc5. I was there - 1/2 forward flank, members side, punt rd end. Magic day.

Am I the only one that noticed that (the great) Lawrence Bingham absolutely dominated every ruck contest in the last 1/4? He owned Monkey.

And then the sad part .... Dean Greig. I'd forgotten how much I loved watching him play. Wow - he was the prototype for what everyone now calls a "big bodied midfielder". Such a massive shame we got the see a long career from him in the R, B & W :(

Fletcher, Kickett, Mc Adam, Davenport, Morris, Shanahan all went to other teams from there. We had some decent outs on top of Lockett. I loved that era. My mate played with Brett Bowey at St kilda City and I always followed him closely because you felt like he was closer than most players.

Ok, got my diary from 1992. Here's that day exactly as it appears in it:

Weather was fine and warm, 27C. At the top of the page I have written 'St.kilda d Collingwood by 1 pt. 80,000 at the G.

'Its about 510 pm. Relaxing after watching a top game- the Saints won by a point! Apart from that it's been a nothing sort of day. Didn't get up till 12 - was in a bit of a coma. Shower, feed.
Read the paper and that. General came home from work. The boys lobbed at 2 to watch the footy - Slab, Dippa, Tex, Pittsy. MCG atmosphere was unreal- 80 thousand, grouse.

Saints kicked badly - 2.9 in the first qtr - should've been heaps in front. They led at every change. Collingwood got ahead in the last qtr but the boys kept going and got in by a point - brilliant. We were all yelling and that. Slab not happy being a Pie fan. We got a pizza delivered during the game too - Pizza Hut top one. Saints are third - good s***. Plugger should be in back in next week.
Quiet one tonite - feel pretty tired.

Watched movie - 'Lockup'. Sylvester Stallone. Pretty good.

Tony Lockett - 150 - 711 - 54

Jason Dunstall - 156 - 720 - 78

And that's it! The last bit is the running tally I kept of plugger and Dunstall. It reads games played, career goals, season goals.

I was sitting in the AFL members, Level 1 and had bought along a Canadian friend for her one and only game of Aussie Rules.

Towards the end of the game I just kept my head down trying not to be ill as I couldn't bear to watch and she'd signal "thumbs up, or thumbs down" depending on the state of play.

She went home to Calgary with a Saints scarf.

hungry for a premiership

I was at the tender age of 10 on the top level on the wing of the old stand that used to be next to the members on one side and the southern stand on the other... Actually, was the southern stand built by 1992?

Absolute all-time classic game that one, I clearly remember before the game being so nervous!

"Too big, too strong, too whatever."

Schillaci wrote:

Cheers mcadam. Enjoyed it all over again.

yep....+1...and to think we delisted kickett and fletcher at years end flowering unbelievable....

gringo wrote:Fletcher, Kickett, Mc Adam, Davenport, Morris, Shanahan all went to other teams from there. We had some decent outs on top of Lockett. I loved that era. My mate played with Brett Bowey at St kilda City and I always followed him closely because you felt like he was closer than most players.
nope...wrong about morris ....

oh when the

Great Southern Stand opened for the World Cup Cricket in early 1992.

Selhurst Saint

Had to sit in the members that day, and what a day it was. I watched the replay of that game so many times the tape wore out.

"...If there has been one recurring theme through this whole shocking mess, it has been the misguided, inflated egos and their ill-judged determination to cling to long-standing old boy friendships. The bad advice that has guided the selfish and culpable James Hird has not only punctuated this saga but symbolised it..."
LENNY LEADS THE WAY

OneEyedSainter77 wrote:Celebrating my eighth birthday.

Also celebrating my 8th birthday. 8/6/84 :)

100 percent behind the saints 100 percent of the time