Dermott loves our club now

Re: Dermott loves our club now

jonesy wrote:Brereton has popped up in a facebook status with someone on my list.
I won't cut and paste it, but it's fair to say he has gone to town on Pelchin. Says he was his boss,and Stkilda did him a favour by poaching him as he was going to have to sack him and pay him out.... Says no one can work with him,Port hate him,and he lied about recruiting Buddy... Says pelchin is responsible for the mass exodus of saints staff in the last month and has got rid of the lot of them single handedly..
Well someone is telling porkies.
There have been a number of posters in various threads stating they have been told by 'people in the know' at Hawthorn that Pelchin was sacked frm there.
Now Dermutt is stating he was 'poached by St Kilda' before he could be sacked?

And if Dermustt is such a good friend of Watters', why didn't he warn Watters about Pelchin before he applied for the job.
Pelchin was already at St Kilda when Watters applied for the coaching job.

linz

linz wrote:
BigMart wrote:StK has hung around for over a hundred years and only told the correct time once

In the last thirty years hawthorn has managed 7 times

It's not all about luck
$ helps
So did a change in Clubs zones.
How many of those fabulous Hawthorn teams of the 70's and 80's contained players/champions that came from the same zone that was previously ours?
Another convenient fact left out of an argument to bolster an agenda.

Maybe, just maybe, if the zones had remained 4 or 5 of those Hawthorn premiership flags may now be flying at Moorabbin/Seaford?
Certainly players like Matthews and Brereton himself would have added plenty to our teams.
Even our champion Stewart Loewe came from that Hawks zone (previously our zone) - they obviously made a mistake cutting him from their U19's so we could grab him.
Exactly!

I once spent a year in Adelaide, I think it was on a Sunday.

jonesy wrote:Brereton has popped up in a facebook status with someone on my list.
I won't cut and paste it, but it's fair to say he has gone to town on Pelchin. Says he was his boss,and Stkilda did him a favour by poaching him as he was going to have to sack him and pay him out.... Says no one can work with him,Port hate him,and he lied about recruiting Buddy... Says pelchin is responsible for the mass exodus of saints staff in the last month and has got rid of the lot of them single handedly..
There have been a number of posters in various threads stating they have been told by 'people in the know' at Hawthorn that Pelchin was sacked frm there.

And if Dermustt is such a good friend of Watters', why didn't he warn Watters about Pelchin before he applied for the job.
you are being way to rational my friend...asking people to use their god given brains and think for themselves...

Mr Magic wrote: I'm sure I read in the news over the past week that he has taken them to court over millions.
yep thick enough to get ripped off big time...the guy's a clown....likable one...but a clown all the same....

you are being way to rational my friend...asking people to use their god given brains and think for themselves...
Maybe less emotion and more rationality will ease the unease most of us are experiencing?

What shocks me, but really shouldn't, is the number of so-called supporters who seem to be deriving some pleasure from the position we find ourselves in tonight.
They seem to be more delighted than when we are winning games.
But I suppose it takes all types of supporters to make up a club.

Wise words Mr Magic!

So Watters wouldn't have applied for an available senior position? Come on??

Not sure any stk fan has been happy for a while.... Possibly a bit glad its actually out now, that there wa a problem.... And speculation is over, and apologists actually have to concede a problem...

Club was never going fwd in that state

But, still

Pelchin needs to be sacked... He's the problem...

BigMart wrote:...Pelchin needs to be sacked... He's the problem...
Yep. Although to be fair, not so much him as the concept that the coach must play second fiddle to someone who could never get a coaching job.

The Director of football should be someone who looks after all the bits and pieces associated with the game but who does not interfere with the important parts - who comes to the club, who plays and the strategy. Geoff Walsh did it well at Collingwood. He looked after all the "stuff" the Malthouse needed, but never in million years was he going to tell Malthouse which players should come to the club and how they should play. And no other self respecting coach would tolerate that either. It was the catalyst for Ross leaving the club.

As we saw today, the coach, one way or the other, must be answerable to the Board, and no-one else.

Agreed

Congrats to Dermie for supporting his mate - it says a lot about Scott WATTERS when Dermott BRERETON is his best mate.

Dermie is 45 going on 15. He still acts like and has the maturity and vanity of a teenager.

We can say to Dermot we may have only won one 1 flag, but we would have never won another with your friend involved with our club.

TJMcCarthy wrote:I can dismiss Brereton's sensational comments for the most part but I'm not a happy Sainter.
Where is the truth in all this?
SW comes on SEN this morning proclaiming all is well.
Did he lie? Surely not. The rug was pulled out from under him i strongly suspect.
All should eyes should fall on the man holding the knife. Dermie was right about that.

Im pretty sure SW lied.
No doubt about that.

I appreciate Dermott's astute football analysis, but when it comes to anything related to St Kilda, I tune out. You might as well get Malcolm Blight's opinion. Toss in the fact that Watters was a mate, and because of that he had to not criticize the club he hates most for over 12 months and it's open slather for Dermie.

Is he right? His critique of Pelchen is unprofessional and deeply coloured by his time at Hawks. Let's just say it's not an objective appraisal by any stretch.

I'd like to see him back up a few of his claims, but I won't hold my breath.

Also, re Watters lying; of course he did, as did the pres, as any professional would in that situation.

Watters rarely told the truth to the media, he thought he was a master manipulator, with team selection and other stuff, but it didn't take much to see through it. Couldn't trust a word that came out of his mouth in the end.

The coach is not just answerable to the board. He is answerable to the head of the football department, and the CEO, as well.

Isn't that how it was at Geelong? Thompson had similar issues in 2006. Geelong brought in Blame and made it clear to Thompson that he should stick to just coaching, making the lines lines of authority very clear to him. If Thompson had not thoroughly bought into that structure, he would have been sacked.

Now, if that was good enough for Geelong, why is it not good enough for us?

Interestingly, our new president recently sought out advice from the Geelong hierarchy regarding their review in 2006.

jamesmc

satchmo wrote:
saintnick12 wrote:Worse than Melbourne according to Dermie
He also said that Scott Watters is a mate of his and he (Dermie) has a policy of "NO D!CKHEADS" in his circle of friends. Normally, one per group is enough !!

So dermutt isn't even in his own circle of friends? :D

The most damming thing about Watters is that he is a friend of Brerton. My estimation of him has plummeted.

Mark Thompson never answered to Balme?!

Balme just takes care of all sections of the footy dept and makes sure they are running smoothly.... Does a lot of media. Balme worked for Thompson

He is football Operations manager.....

BigMart wrote:Mark Thompson never answered to Balme?!

Balme just takes care of all sections of the footy dept and makes sure they are running smoothly.... Does a lot of media. Balme worked for Thompson

He is football Operations manager.....

Who is that post intended for?

Of course Mark Thompson was answerable to Balme, as he was to the CEO. If Balme worked for Thompson, why did Geelong do a review and appoint Balme as head of the football department? They wanted Thompson to focus on just coaching. If they wanted Balme to report to Thompson, then that was one more responsibility for Thompson to oversee, wasn't it?

I don't understand your logic, BigMart

So Dermie is lecturing us on how to behave.

The same Dermie that sustained a "groin" injury whilst "performing" with underage girls in a Geelong disco?

Dermie's attack was actually laughable. How anyone would be concerned by it staggers me. He is such an egotist that he starts off bagging the saints, but true to form, ends up talking about himself. :lol:

He has a no d**khead policy re mates. What? Did he get that line off the Swans? His life long mates he's now suing are actually good blokes?

It was such a self serving spray that it ended up saying more about Dermie than anything else. I'm more concerned about what 'real' football commentators think of the situation.

1. What dermie has said about the pelch is possibly defamatory. If it is untrue pelch should sue.

2. No d**khead policy ? Everyone reckons their mates are top blokes and the world is full of dickheads so they cant all be right. Some blokes must have dickheads as mates and not know it. Ipso facto.

3. Pelch is going to deliver us to either heaven or hell. I cant see an in-between with this bloke.

Dermie is a wanker of the highest order.

Why should anyone care what a washed up d**khead that is paid to run his mouth on the radio thinks? Some people hold grudges or hate for certain clubs for whatever reason and it comes out in their commentary. Luke Darcy is a shining example of this. Chuck in that Dremie is good mates with the bloke that we gave the arse to and his little rant is unsurprising. Nothing to see here

Dermott saw the Watters sacking as an opportunity to get himself some publicity. He tried to do "a bit of a Hinch" by offering a view that is both sensationalist & opposite to almost every other commentator going around. We need to remember that Dermie is a small banana in a couple of small banana patches (SEN & Fox) !!

Just remind Dermie of how well he played at the Swans and the Pies after he left Hawthorn. I suggest he be asked if he was embarrassed to collect his pay check.

Rugby League would have to be the stupidest, most moronic and over rated game of all time.
kell

Eastern wrote:Dermott saw the Watters sacking as an opportunity to get himself some publicity. He tried to do "a bit of a Hinch" by offering a view that is both sensationalist & opposite to almost every other commentator going around. We need to remember that Dermie is a small banana in a couple of small banana patches (SEN & Fox) !!

Agree. There are literally hundreds of football commentators grappling for attention these days. In this age of media saturation one way to get noticed is to express extreme view. Dermott was and is now for ever more the self appointed "expert critic" of everything to do with the Saints. Of course there is no basis for such expertise, moreover his obvious bias and prejudice means that he is the least qualified to comment on matters involving the Saints. Notwithstanding,, you can be assured that every time something happens at the Saints,...ie the appointment of new coach, performance on the field etc.. , this brilliantined glove puppet will be wheeled out to puff a story up