AFLPA boss Matt Finnis accepts the job as St Kilda CEO

Re: AFLPA boss Matt Finnis accepts the job as St Kilda CEO

whiskers3614 wrote:Pretty sure Clark Keating never placed in a B&F either.
I put a pretty high premium on blokes who achieve their PB's on the biggest stage.
I am sure BJ qualifies!

I think that proves my point completely. Not even Clark Keating's mum would call him a champion but he had champion games in GF's. By the way im not to sure BJ had a great game in 2009 GF.

As good as BJ was in the 2010 GF, didn't Lenny win the Norm Smith Medal?

Goddard never won a B&F because a blonde bloke won 5 during a period, A future legend won 3, and a star CHB won 2?

He was beaten by fair opposition

Went to Essendon, won one straight away... At a club outside the top 4he would be a multiple B&F winner....

He played well in one game did he ........Probably check his 2008-20010 numbers at that time?

2400 touches in 4 years.... Would suggest he used it well also

43 Brownlow votes
80 odd contested marks
60 odd goals

In that little period.... Along with outstanding finals

I call him a champ

I think every footy supporter knows who was BOG grandfinal 2010

Bit like 2003

BigMart wrote:I think every footy supporter knows who was BOG grandfinal 2010

Bit like 2003

Yep lenny just IMO. Split in the area I sat but just more votes for Lenny. Unlike you I can see how both players could have been best. You again cant see the other side of it. No idea who was best in 2003.

As good as BJ was in the 2010 GF, didn't Lenny win the Norm Smith Medal?

White Winmar wrote:As good as BJ was in the 2010 GF, didn't Lenny win the Norm Smith Medal?
And Steven Baker once tied in a best & fairest therefore he must have been better than Goddard!

BigMart wrote:Goddard never won a B&F because a blonde bloke won 5 during a period, A future legend won 3, and a star CHB won 2?

He was beaten by fair opposition

Went to Essendon, won one straight away... At a club outside the top 4he would be a multiple B&F winner....

He played well in one game did he ........Probably check his 2008-20010 numbers at that time?

2400 touches in 4 years.... Would suggest he used it well also

43 Brownlow votes
80 odd contested marks
60 odd goals

In that little period.... Along with outstanding finals

I call him a champ

So BJ ran second to those players, did he? I dont think so. Dont give a stuff what he did at Essendon. We are talking about being a champion at the Saints. And who said he played well in one game. Seriously you need to read better because you struggle to discuss anything sensibly. Yep he was a very good player for us, some would say great but he was no champion over anyone season and he played as a receiving HB, a position you have described many times as the easiest on the ground. By the way is Sam Fisher a champion?

You really are to easy to shoot down. can you challenge me better please.

whiskers3614 wrote:
White Winmar wrote:As good as BJ was in the 2010 GF, didn't Lenny win the Norm Smith Medal?
And Steven Baker once tied in a best & fairest therefore he must have been better than Goddard!

Arent you claiming him as a champion after 3 games which was really two because he wasnt a star in 2009. And I dont think WW is actually saying Lenny is better, he is pointing out that BJ wasnt given BOG in the GF in 2010. Lenny was.

2009 GF Stats Goddard
21disposals, 5 marks 9 tackles 1 goal 5 in to 50
77% game time
1 broken Jaw, reckon he went OK.

whiskers3614 wrote:2009 GF Stats Goddard
77% game time

Didnt say he didnt. Said he wasnt our best. lenny was better in my opinion. He didnt have a great game IMO but then again I maybe a tough marker because I cant see how he was a champion at the Saints. BJ was 5th in possessions in that GF. Gram was obviously best.

Of course Sam Fisher is... Holy crap

A multiple B&F defender in a top 4 team.... He is absolutely a champion

BJ was around the mark as the best player in the comp in 2009/2010.... He is easily a champion footballer who played for the Saints...

I would suggest anyone who has sustained periods of elite level output a champion
200 odd games
Most of the time in the best 3 at the club they play, and the best 50 in the comp for long periods.... Star players IMO

Champion
Dal a champ, Sam a champ, Milne a champ, Joey a champ.

Lenny a legend, Roo a legend,

Great servants
Baker, Hudghton, Blake, Jones, Gram amongst others

whiskers3614 wrote:2009 GF Stats Goddard
77% game time

Didnt say he didnt. Said he wasnt our best. lenny was better in my opinion. He didnt have a great game IMO but then again I maybe a tough marker because I cant see how he was a champion at the Saints. BJ was 5th in possessions in that GF. Gram was obviously best.
a bit more light reading of stats for that game and why I LOVE Ross Lyon.

Luke Ball 22disposals (12contested)7 clearances 7 tackles 5 inside 50.....46% game time
Dempster 92%, Raph 92%

BigMart wrote:Of course Sam Fisher is... Holy crap

A multiple B&F defender in a top 4 team.... He is absolutely a champion

BJ was around the mark as the best player in the comp in 2009/2010.... He is easily a champion footballer who played for the Saints...

I would suggest anyone who has sustained periods of elite level output a champion
200 odd games
Most of the time in the best 3 at the club they play, and the best 50 in the comp for long periods.... Star players IMO

Champion
Dal a champ, Sam a champ, Milne a champ, Joey a champ.

Lenny a legend, Roo a legend,

Great servants
Baker, Hudghton, Blake, Jones, Gram amongst others

Firstly I see that you now read my posts. I thought you werent going to. Your idea of a champ is far to soft IMO. I think there would be only 2 or 3 champions in an era. I wouldnt have and of those players you mentioned as a champion. The only two are Rooy and Lenny. The others are very good to great players. Fisher and Milne probably being the greats and you could argue for BJ and Dal as well. No idea why you brought up great servants. Its funny if most of the time he is in the best 3 they play then why hasnt he come top 3 in a B&F. That doesnt make a lot of sense. I would suggest if you are most of the time in the top 3 you would just about win it based on consistancy.

Children, what has this got to do with our new CEO appointment? Or am I missing something?

saintspremiers wrote:Children, what has this got to do with our new CEO appointment? Or am I missing something?

Good point. Lets all agree to say we have different ideas on what a champion is. I hope we can all agree that it would be good if our new CEO ends up being a champion.

whiskers3614 wrote:
plugger66 wrote: Goddard's GF performances were certainly those of a Champion.
the reason he doesn't get that title is because we didn't win those GF's.
The reason we didn't win them is because some other big names got stage fright!

One performance doesnt make you a champion unless you also think Gram was. BJ never won a B&F at our club and neither did Dal. To be a champion IMO its over seasons and he didnt do it at our club. Champion is said far to much. The only champions we have had in the last 10 years IMO are Rooy and Lenny with Milney very close but because of the position he played it was hard to be consistent.
I agree. I also think the word 'elite' is used way to liberally too and I'm particularly perplexed as to how Champion Data apply the elite tag. I agree that champion and/or elite thould be titles given to players that have reached certain performance levels over sustained periods of time.

I call BJ a champ...

saintspremiers wrote:Children, what has this got to do with our new CEO appointment? Or am I missing something?
Repeat.

Great appointment. Way better than the other odd ball names being thrown about. I'm glad we didn't rush the appointment either.

one point

It would be good to hear his priorities in the role

Is this guy an AFL mole??

Does he have our best interests at heart, or the AFL's?

GT on twitter intimating this appointment is the 2nd step in our relocation to Wellington; play games thrre first, full time move initiated.. Makes pessimistic sense to me..

I'm genuinely worried..

Oh GT, a man who would know all about undermining and positioning for a future benefit.

If anything, GT's mate Netters was doing more through his ineptness to get us relocated than any genuine appointment (with the exception of "Can't see the wood for the trees" Archie).

Good riddance Netters, save up those foreign coins, I've a feeling you will need them.

Good appointment Saints, time to get the off field stuff absolutely right while the on field talent develops.

Brendan Gale didn't relocate the tiges...

He channeled supporter passion he knew was there.

Anyone who watched the retirement game for Kosi Blake & Milne, knows we're under utilised.

Someone needs to stir up the saints fans, hearing that he grew up on bayside & understands the relevance of the saints in this area, hoping he's the one that attempts to take up a stronghold of the peninsula

Geez the term champion gets bandied about very loosely nowdays.

IMHO since I moved to Melbourne in 1988 and have watched the Saints live, I have seen three out and out Saints champions

Lockett
Harvey
Riewoldt.

All the others, and ther are many in that period are extremely good players, Loewe, Burkie, Spud, Spida, Dal, Max, Fish, bj, Milne and probably another half dozen could be named.

All great players, all greatly loved.

But champions? Only the three I named are worthy of that title.

There comes a point in every man's life when he has to say, "Enough is enough." For me, that time is now. I have been dealing with claims that I cheated and had an unfair advantage in <redacted>. Over the past three years, I have been subjected to a <redacted>investigation followed by <redacted> witch hunt. The toll this has taken on my family, and my work for <redacted>and on me leads me to where I am today – finished with this nonsense. (Oops just got a spontaneous errection <unredacted>)
PADDLEPOP1001

Loewe arguably the best CHF in the comp for quite a few years a champion,Dal a couple of top 5 finish@s in the Brownlow and Milney possibly the best small forward to grace the afl,all champs in my opinion!

PADDLEPOP1000