Who can play AFL standard footy?

Re: Who can play AFL standard footy?

SainterK wrote:BM, you need to get hickey with it...
Bout time you nominated another player for your famous list K...

Hickey?

BM - I have no problem with the OP. Makes for interesting discussion, which is what forums are for. However I would have preferred you put yourself on the line more. There is so many ? mark b/c so many players are young and haven't played that much yet. I'd be interested to read what ppl think right NOW, whether the player will make it or not. Yeah means nothing and is unfair, but it's a forum, not footy journalism. No-one has to be accountable.

I'm just too lazy to do it myself :wink:

As far as our younger players are concerned and looking ahead to the next 5+ years.....

Elite Potential - The centrepieces to our best 22:
Billings
Longer
Acres

A Grade Potential - Major components to our best 22:
Hickey
Steven
Markworth
White
Webster
Dunstan

B Grade Potential - Support to our best 22:
Ross
Savage
Lee
Newnes
Armitage
Wright
Pierce
Templeton

GOP - Fringe to our best 22:
Saunders
Murdoch
Geary
Roberton
Delaney
Curren
Bruce
Stanley
Weller

To be delisted - Not good enough to remain on an AFL list:
Sippos
TDL
Simpkin
Milera
Maister
Dunnell
Shenton
Minchington
Holmes

Retired over the next few years, won't be around to see finals:
Roo
Montagna
Fisher
Schnieder
Dempster
Gwilt
Ray
Jones
Gilbert

For the list to evolve into a finals team we need to (stating the obvious) reduce the B Graders and GOP's on the list and recruit more A Graders and elite players. The balance is way out and will remain that way unless we have some luck at the draft table and attack free agency.

Old Mate wrote:As far as our younger players are concerned and looking ahead to the next 5+ years.....

Billings
Longer
Acres

Hickey
Steven
Markworth
White
Webster
Dunstan

Ross
Savage
Lee
Newnes
Armitage
Wright
Pierce
Templeton

Saunders
Murdoch
Geary
Roberton
Delaney
Curren
Bruce
Stanley
Weller

Sippos
TDL
Simpkin
Milera
Maister
Dunnell
Shenton
Minchington
Holmes

Roo
Montagna
Fisher
Schnieder
Dempster
Gwilt
Ray
Jones
Gilbert

For the list to evolve into a finals team we need to (stating the obvious) reduce the B Graders and GOP's on the list and recruit more A Graders and elite players. The balance is way out and will remain that way unless we have some luck at the draft table and attack free agency.

I know it's your opinion but Roberton is looking way beyond a GOP already while it's too early to tell on most of our first to third year players. Saunders and Wright for example. Jack Steven was delisted by about half our posters before he came on. Lynch was Adelaide's leading goal kicker last year and on SS he was widely regarded as no loss to us. I would say you need a crystal ball to tell with any certainty that we have duds or stars.

It's almost impossible to predict at this stage but I thought I'd have a crack nonetheless. I hope I'm wrong on most and right on a few. I'd love to see someone like Spencer White show his full potential.

Old Mate wrote:As far as our younger players are concerned and looking ahead to the next 5+ years.....

Billings
Longer
Acres

Hickey
Steven
Markworth
White
Webster
Dunstan

Ross
Savage
Lee
Newnes
Armitage
Wright
Pierce
Templeton

Saunders
Murdoch
Geary
Roberton
Delaney
Curren
Bruce
Stanley
Weller

Sippos
TDL
Simpkin
Milera
Maister
Dunnell
Shenton
Minchington
Holmes

Roo
Montagna
Fisher
Schnieder
Dempster
Gwilt
Ray
Jones
Gilbert

I know it's your opinion but Roberton is looking way beyond a GOP already while it's too early to tell on most of our first to third year players. Saunders and Wright for example. Jack Steven was delisted by about half our posters before he came on. Lynch was Adelaide's leading goal kicker last year and on SS he was widely regarded as no loss to us. I would say you need a crystal ball to tell with any certainty that we have duds or stars.

This was an excellent effort - of course one would need a crystal ball.

I think the list is on the money and a good breakdown of the levels of talent on the list. No doubt they are doing this at the club. Need to get 8/9 in that elite/vgood categories.

I agree w/ roberton. I see him as a GOP and very overrated here - hope to be proven wrong.

We really do need one of Newens/Ross/Wright to move into that elite category.

Any more thoughts on Acres? Speculatively or seen someone you like?

Thanks Spinner.

Apparently Acres has an issue with a foot/feet? I'm not sure of the seriousness or whether it's stress related from all the running during the preseason. I think he'll have a very slow start to the season and find his feet :) at Sandy. Add to that the shoulder issues that have effected his training capacity.

Acres certainly has the talent to be one of the best in the draft. He has little weaknesses - has athletic pedigree and has recorded 15's in the beep test. The skills and size is there to be an elite midfielder of the Pendlebury variety. I think he'll start as an outside player and transition to an inside midfielder - very clean with ball in hand and good contested player.

BigMart wrote:Oh,

And the OP wasn't really about individuals themselves..... So the typical defensive attacks weren't required really

That is the next level of analysis, bit like skeptic did

It was more of an overall lista Analysis, just to see who has demonstrated they can actually perform at the level ATM

It will change as the year progresses....

But as we stand, we have many players within ? Marks as indicated..... And our off season will again be interesting?

How do you reckon clist managers decide
Untouchables, trade bait..... Both must be AFL standard or likely
Continue to persevere ..... Must have improved or shown something
Delisted ....... Not up to it, not improved

I think the best point was made by the person who said GWS or hawthorn. And some are harsh on jack. His kicking is now good to very good. It was never about his kicking style, just his composure. Based on last year he is most likely to be elte more than any other player. So close now. Actually probably there.
Last edited by plugger66 on Mon 10 Mar 2014 7:05pm, edited 1 time in total.

See your point

But I was only talking about who is senior performed ATM

And just imagine if I did ANY forecasting.... There'd be mayhem.... Old P66 wouldn't stand for an opinion, Cairnsman and Dragit with some Cheapies... JB would probably lose it... Then Spinner, Magic and the other guy who always has a fit when I give a comment

Would put this place into meltdown

I do remember the Sweeney, Cripps, Howard times.... Almost a riot

Ok,

Ill forecast as much as I can see

1... Don't rate
2.... Just can't seem to get the fitness level required
3.... A Grade ball winner
5.... Handy
6.... Concerning, slow and lacks intensity... Cross between Dal and Daniel Cross
8.... No
9.... Lead Mark... Few tricks, like Arryn can't get enough engine
10... Potent athlete, concern over actual ball getting ability and decision making
14... Leader, Slightly above GOP a smaller Nick Maxwell, tough
15... A bit of N Brown about him, A Grade to elite perhaps
16.... I rate very highly A Grade
17.... B Grade possibly, just like Ray disposal is scrappy
18.... Either A Grade or delist... Too hard to gauge, I'd lean towards delisted
19.... Trade bait, been a servant with moments
20... As above, love Armitage but if Ross/Dunstan can take care inside... He gets us another player
21.. Slightly better Maister
22... Servant, may as well play his time out... Disposal has limited him to B Grade at best
23... A Grade, in the Jolly Mould
26... Will be a GOP
27.... Hopefully, but nothing to go by?
28.... A disappointing no... IMO he could have been a real trump player given the attributes, but just didn't eventuate
29.... Yep
30... Not sure what he offers, in between in everything... A state league flanker, midfielder even FF?
31... As Above
32.... Like Stanley, sublime touch, but not hard enough mentally physically
33.... Too slow and small
34... Yes, B-A Grade
35.... Likely, but limited skill.
36.... Yes, See Wright
37.... Stop Gap
38...., no, VFL above GOP
39.... No, as above
40.... No idea, good sort of size....From Nate Fyfe to Nicholas Winmar somewhere
41.... I reckon, he is quick with good hands
42.. Yes, I reckon he will be the surprise in three years
43... Yes, pace, skill and can play... A Dalhuis type (poor mans)
44... A solid player, but one pace and reasonable skills and outside Armitage, which is not quick/dangerous enough
The other two, can't judge

Swap Longer and White... Numbers incorrect

BigMart wrote:See your point

But I was only talking about who is senior performed ATM

And just imagine if I did ANY forecasting.... There'd be mayhem.... Old P66 wouldn't stand for an opinion, Cairnsman and Dragit with some Cheapies... JB would probably lose it... Then Spinner, Magic and the other guy who always has a fit when I give a comment

Would put this place into meltdown

I do remember the Sweeney, Cripps, Howard times.... Almost a riot

I liked the thread... Noted by my positive comments on page 1. So get over yourself.

BigMart wrote:Hi Skeptic

Interesting read?

You have a lot of guys playing at HB?
Hey BM, thanks for the reply.

To me that's is/has been one of the fundamental flaws of our list. We have too many HBFs.

I have always been led to believe that the HBF is generally one of the easier positions/roles to play. We do and have for a while been obsessed with keeping and developing HBFs. To the point that players like Siposs, and Dunnel who look better as forwards have been unsuccessfully attempted to be converted into HBFs.

I feel like we have a surplus of players that only play HBF, and a tendency to try and persevere with guys that aren't up to it on a HBF.

Sam Fisher to me is the prototype of a modern elite HBF, Roberton too. They have good all round games. What you can't do is carry guys with very clear defiencies in their game ala Gilbert.

Certainly we're harsher on our forwards then we are on the backs.

bergholt wrote:Not a bad post, skeptic, but Spencer White? He's had one year on the list and is 19.5 years old. Do you really expect him to be a superstar so early in his career?

I reckon he gets three more years on the list minimum even if he doesn't show anything. Reassess at the end of 2016.
Point taken B,

I think you're right. That was a bit harsh

MrCordz

BigMart wrote:How many on the list are clearly up to it?

Hickey.... Maybe
Siposs ..... Not looking great
Steven.... Obviously
Jones.... Just
Savage.... Probably
Ross ....... Not looking good
Hayes .... Yes
Dennis Lane..... No
Lee....... Hopefully
Markworth..... Hopefully
Montagna ...... Yes
Riewoldt......... Yes
Schnieder........ Yes
Geary............. Yes
Billings .......... Most likely
Newnes .......... Yes
Roberton ........ Yes
White ............. Hopefully, difficult to tell
Gilbert ........... Yes
Armitage ........ Yes
Delaney ......... Maybe
Ray ................ Yes
Longer ............ Likely
Dempster......... Yes
Fisher .............. Yes
Curran ............. Looks like it
Bruce .............. Hopefully
Stanley .......... Actually, not looking promising
Webster ......... Likely
Murdoch .......... Question marks, like Ross
Simpkin........... No so sure, can't find a position suitable at afl standard
Milera ............. Doubtful
Gwilt ............... Just
Wright .............. Likely
Saunders ........... Possibly
Dunstan ............ Very Likely
Maister ............. Just at best
Dunnell ............. Unlikely
Shenton .......... Unlikely
Acres ............... Hard to tell at this point
Minchington ....... Possible
Pierce ............... Hard to tell
Templeton .......... Possibly
Weller ................. Possibly
Holmes ................ Long shot
Baker .................. Longer shot

Lots of ? Still over many players..... Needs yet another turn over again next season

They should try and get three inside 20 next year, and another two inside 50.... And a good trade
Got to say I can't disagree with your assessment on any of those players.

Humbly St. Kilda

BigMart wrote:Ok,

Ill forecast as much as I can see

1... Don't rate
2.... Just can't seem to get the fitness level required
3.... A Grade ball winner
5.... Handy
6.... Concerning, slow and lacks intensity... Cross between Dal and Daniel Cross
8.... No
9.... Lead Mark... Few tricks, like Arryn can't get enough engine
10... Potent athlete, concern over actual ball getting ability and decision making
14... Leader, Slightly above GOP a smaller Nick Maxwell, tough
15... A bit of N Brown about him, A Grade to elite perhaps
16.... I rate very highly A Grade
17.... B Grade possibly, just like Ray disposal is scrappy
18.... Either A Grade or delist... Too hard to gauge, I'd lean towards delisted
19.... Trade bait, been a servant with moments
20... As above, love Armitage but if Ross/Dunstan can take care inside... He gets us another player
21.. Slightly better Maister
22... Servant, may as well play his time out... Disposal has limited him to B Grade at best
23... A Grade, in the Jolly Mould
26... Will be a GOP
27.... Hopefully, but nothing to go by?
28.... A disappointing no... IMO he could have been a real trump player given the attributes, but just didn't eventuate
29.... Yep
30... Not sure what he offers, in between in everything... A state league flanker, midfielder even FF?
31... As Above
32.... Like Stanley, sublime touch, but not hard enough mentally physically
33.... Too slow and small
34... Yes, B-A Grade
35.... Likely, but limited skill.
36.... Yes, See Wright
37.... Stop Gap
38...., no, VFL above GOP
39.... No, as above
40.... No idea, good sort of size....From Nate Fyfe to Nicholas Winmar somewhere
41.... I reckon, he is quick with good hands
42.. Yes, I reckon he will be the surprise in three years
43... Yes, pace, skill and can play... A Dalhuis type (poor mans)
44... A solid player, but one pace and reasonable skills and outside Armitage, which is not quick/dangerous enough
The other two, can't judge
There are at least three players you rate....wow.

Luckily you were bagging Jack Steven not long ago and he has been okay. If you suggest 80 percent of players wont make high grade players you will be statistically pretty spot on. I disagree on plenty of those but I prefer to see the good and live in hope. Often the ones you think will make it turn out to be spuds and some little cheeky s*** like Milney jumps up from the rookie list. A grade to delist is a fairly wide band of clairvoyance too.

I bag Jack Stevens disposal?!

It's poor

Expected Gringo

The fact I left off Jones, Hayes, Montagna, Riewoldt, Schnieder, Dempster, Fisher.... That's actually 10

Did that escape you? They are proven performers!

And I was asked to give my opinion ..... At this point in time .... Things change

BigMart wrote:I bag Jack Stevens disposal?!

It's poor

It isnt poor anymore. He was always a good kick but lacked composure. With experience that has changed. Open your eyes and occasionly go to a game. Having said that I like Gringo live in hope because at round 12 last year you said Jack was only a good player so it proves you can change your mind. Took all of 10 rounds. Easily inflenced or maybe you were just wrong at round 12. I will go with wrong.

Sainter93

Come on round 1 hasn't even begun yet! Wait til later in the season and we should know a lot more then.