Beau Maister

Frankie

Re: Beau Maister

People Bronx cheering Beau and calling for him to be dropped don't understand modern football. Without his physical presence up forward we would go back to seeing Roo triple teamed, stuck playing closer to goal and consequently getting beaten from pillar to post. Riewoldt aside, there is no other player on our list who has the physicality to demand attention from a key back for a whole game. There is a reason Richo hardly rotates Maister off the ground - it's because he works tirelessly to create scoring chances for our other forwards. I know he's not the perfect player, but as yet the likes of Stanley and Lee cannot crash a pack and create a spillage to save themselves, and in congested situations look lost. Furthermore both Lee and Stanley don't work back hard enough and run their defenders around. In an era where team defence is the norm and you have double the numbers around a marking contest, it is much rarer to see forwards getting passes drilled in to the chest lace out. Fact is, without clunking everything he is at least forcing a 50/50 and keeping us in the contest despite giving away size and height.
In time hopefully someone else can come in and take over that role with better offensive attributes, but in the here and now he is a required player.

Frankie wrote:People Bronx cheering Beau and calling for him to be dropped don't understand modern football. Without his physical presence up forward we would go back to seeing Roo triple teamed, stuck playing closer to goal and consequently getting beaten from pillar to post. Riewoldt aside, there is no other player on our list who has the physicality to demand attention from a key back for a whole game. There is a reason Richo hardly rotates Maister off the ground - it's because he works tirelessly to create scoring chances for our other forwards. I know he's not the perfect player, but as yet the likes of Stanley and Lee cannot crash a pack and create a spillage to save themselves, and in congested situations look lost. Furthermore both Lee and Stanley don't work back hard enough and run their defenders around. In an era where team defence is the norm and you have double the numbers around a marking contest, it is much rarer to see forwards getting passes drilled in to the chest lace out. Fact is, without clunking everything he is at least forcing a 50/50 and keeping us in the contest despite giving away size and height.
In time hopefully someone else can come in and take over that role with better offensive attributes, but in the here and now he is a required player.

Good to see someone watch the game but more imporatantly understand it as well.

Frankie wrote:People Bronx cheering Beau and calling for him to be dropped don't understand modern football. Without his physical presence up forward we would go back to seeing Roo triple teamed, stuck playing closer to goal and consequently getting beaten from pillar to post. Riewoldt aside, there is no other player on our list who has the physicality to demand attention from a key back for a whole game. There is a reason Richo hardly rotates Maister off the ground - it's because he works tirelessly to create scoring chances for our other forwards. I know he's not the perfect player, but as yet the likes of Stanley and Lee cannot crash a pack and create a spillage to save themselves, and in congested situations look lost. Furthermore both Lee and Stanley don't work back hard enough and run their defenders around. In an era where team defence is the norm and you have double the numbers around a marking contest, it is much rarer to see forwards getting passes drilled in to the chest lace out. Fact is, without clunking everything he is at least forcing a 50/50 and keeping us in the contest despite giving away size and height.
i would never bronx cheer a st kilda footballer......yes he crashes the packs...doesn't mean he has to drop all his marks and miss easy shots for goal.........i don't believe we can afford to continue to play a fullforward who doesn't kick any goals..ffs....and i do understand modern football.......i have been watcking it every week for over 60 years.....

Isn't it funny, Maister really has a bit of Raph Clarke in him...

He does some of the hard things really well... works hard, splits packs, a real skill at bringing the ball down to his team mates advantage, knows where to run. He really gives you the impression he knows how to play.

Then you see him completely outposition his opponent in the marking contest and drop a simple chest mark under no pressure

It's actually the easy aspects of Beau's game that are poor... it's really bizarre

skeptic wrote:Isn't it funny, Maister really has a bit of Raph Clarke in him...

He does some of the hard things really well... works hard, splits packs, a real skill at bringing the ball down to his team mates advantage, knows where to run. He really gives you the impression he knows how to play.

Then you see him completely outposition his opponent in the marking contest and drop a simple chest mark under no pressure

It's actually the easy aspects of Beau's game that are poor... it's really bizarre

bizarre ...and sad....we need him to improve...quickly.....but i fear it ain't going to happen....

Beau takes some heat of Roo.
You remove Beau and Roo gets triple teamed.
If we find someone better to play that role then thats great but until that happens Beau must play.
That's the state of our list and why we will finish bottom 4.
No point sooking about Beau when we don't have anyone who can adequately replace him.

All well and good, but you can't drop chest marks and give it to the opposition 15 metres away with a blatant turnover...

Con Gorozidis wrote:Beau takes some heat of Roo.
If we find someone better to play that role then thats great but until that happens Beau must play.
No point sooking about Beau when we don't have anyone who can adequately replace him.
Yep Con.......... Roo was saying that a couple of weeks ago. Roo was interviewed on the first match that was televised on Round 1. He might have been guest commentator or something. He mentioned how Maister (prior to injuring his hand last season) had been working in well with him. Beau was able to lead up the ground and allow Roo to back, back.... he was so hard at the ball he always took a good defender away from him. He said Beau's pressure acts to get the ball to the ground and lock it in was important to the Saints set up.

LTN16

He would take more heat off roo if he started kicking goals and not dropping easy marks..

I Love Peter Kiel

Just saw some of the highlights on the afl website.

That running goal from the 'Book of Eli' was shepherded through by.....the Maister!

In honour of those who went before, in the dark and desperate years.

Beau made mistakes, dropped marks etc etc.

He needs to improve.

he was poor.

He got to a contest and brought the ball to the ground a.k.a can't take a mark to save himself.

I Love Peter Kiel wrote:Just saw some of the highlights on the afl website.

That running goal from the 'Book of Eli' was shepherded through by.....the Maister!
And?

I go to work and hold the lift door opens.

Stiff.

ShanghaiSaint wrote:Think it's abit unfair, as mentioned he actions set up a goal ( i saw that happen) or 2 today which was the difference in us winning or losing.
I just wish he could cluck a few more like he was in 2013
He does run around like a headless chook.

My point is that we spent a very low pick on Tom Lee who doesn't even get a game and, when he does, he only plays for 5 minutes (if that). Very very poor recruiting. We need to find a tall forward or two who can take over when Roo retires (at least two players will need to take his place though).

linz

skeptic wrote:Isn't it funny, Maister really has a bit of Raph Clarke in him...

Yes, agree totally. He knows how to use his body but lets himself down at the last minute. Normally bread and butter marks are dropped after perfect body positioning.

I once spent a year in Adelaide, I think it was on a Sunday.

Summed it up nicely.... And it is hard to knock a guy who works so hard

I think with more confidence the marks will start to stick.

Easy to forget that he hasn't played a single season worth of games with us yet, today was his 19th for us, has 25 goals. It will come to together for him shortly.

ralphsmith

Probably fair to Say wihout maister today, roo kicks one or two goals and we lose the game

What is dead may never die, but rises again harder and stronger.
SideshowMilne

Good to see some sense posted on this page. We recruited Maister to do exactly what he has done the last two wins. Top notch forwards don't grow on trees, he has a role and is doing it well. Keep woking hard and crashing packs Beau, loving your work, as are Roo, Temps and a few others. He starts klunking a few and instantly in our best imo.
The same bozo's, another year another player.

roo is actually being triple teamed anyway......i lost count of the times roo was one out against two or three gws players....

maverick wrote:

All well and good, but you can't drop chest marks and give it to the opposition 15 metres away with a blatant turnover...

well said.....

LTN16 wrote:He would take more heat off roo if he started kicking goals and not dropping easy marks..
:wink: :D ...yep

elvis lives

No doubt he tries hard, crashes packs, works well as a decoy... Yada yada yada. But I have never seen a player spill so many marks, especially since he does so well to get in the clear or in the right position. He just cannot hold them. It was comical. I know it's poor that's people give him the Bronx cheer but seriously, it was almost beyond belief. It was always going to cause a reaction, every day if the week, no matter who the team is or where they are playing.

I am marching in the Saints army

This thread illustrates how plainly difficult it is to find and have two tall forward playing together that both kick goals, take marks and get possessions.

Maister does he job, he uses his body like a battering ram despite his limited skill set.

Until we magically find another tall forward that takes more marks, kicks more goals and splits packs, he is the man.

Ps. How farking good is Riewoldt?

maister is struggling atm ..full stop....the rest of the comments mean very little.

he improves in the next 2 games or he is dropped.

elvis lives

I Love his effort and the 1%s he does. But are we really saying that's it is good enough in a professional AFL team to have a player that cannot catch the footy? Seriously. He can't catch it. That's not a criticism, it's a cold hard fact. I don't care how many packs he crashes or how many decoy runs he makes. Is he can't turn his marking around there is just no room for him in the side. There are just as many other players out there busting their guts to get the pill, make space and kick a great pass to him lace out, and it ain't fair on them if, week in week out, he cannot complete his end of the bargain.

I am marching in the Saints army