Animal enclosure ! they must be joking .

As a teenager , i became aware of the Animal enclosure at Moorabbin .
Curious , i ventured into that area few times but found nothing but a group of hardcore supporters who didn't mind giving oppostion players a hard time .
I was never shocked by anything said , often seeing the humour in many of the comments .
It was good to be surrrounded by passionate supporters .

Now on the weekend there bringing back the animal enclosure !
The club want people to come ( probably kids ) dressed as an animal .
Sh ite like this makes me want to vomit .
Surely they are Joking !

Are there any original animal enclosure alumni who are offended that there legacy is being re-invented ?

Re: Animal enclosure ! they must be joking .

To me it seems like they are embracing the history of the club?

Don't get too offended, I think it's meant to be fun… for the kids.

The link for all those who have no idea what the OP is talking about...
http://www.saints.com.au/news/2014-04-0 ... urrection-

Location: Kicked out of the Coffee Shop, Settlement Pub, Cranbourne

An insult to the original Animal Enclosure.

Don't think I ever saw a cartoon animal in the Animal Enclosure in all my years there.

Australia...... Live it like we stole it....... Because we did.
Harvey To Hayes

I used to drink/barrack from there (or next to it sometimes) all the time, but I just look at this as a nod to our past. I'd be more worried if they were actually trying to recreate the atmosphere rather than just a fun idea for kids which borrows the name...

The future's so bright I've got to wear shades...

I could come down retarded and piss all over the kids shoes, could help recreate the original vibe…

We're struggling with Membership and crowds so I reckon good on 'em for trying things like this.

Oh come on !!! I cannot be the only one that got pissed enough to see cartoon characters in the animal enclosure ??!!!

I was drunk enough that I saw Elvis and Alf in there once as well.................

There was a guy who used to make Zebra noises wearing a Zebras sleeveless guernsey who used to stand there on top of cans. Does that count?

True Believer wrote:Oh come on !!! I cannot be the only one that got pissed enough to see cartoon characters in the animal enclosure ??!!!

I was drunk enough that I saw Elvis and Alf in there once as well.................
I saw Elvis from there once - Elvis Winmar, does that count?

the animal enclosure was a place where big mouths went to be surrounded by the like minded rather than mix it with the opposition.

The Fireman wrote:the animal enclosure was a place where big mouths went to be surrounded by the like minded rather than mix it with the opposition.
Think there's a footy forum like that somewhere :wink:

The Fireman wrote:the animal enclosure was a place where big mouths went to be surrounded by the like minded rather than mix it with the opposition.
nice pickup :)

Not sure what all the fuss is about, Sixer.

Although I do wish the real Animal Enclosure was still around. There are groups of supporters who try to emulate the old atmosphere on Level 1 around Row 35, in standing room. I like to go to that area and watch games. The seated sections are generally too quiet for my liking.

True Believer wrote:Oh come on !!! I cannot be the only one that got pissed enough to see cartoon characters in the animal enclosure ??!!!

Most of the time they were playing for us in those days :mrgreen:

Oh no the kids are gunna have some fun. Lets stop it.

Dumb thread

There comes a point in every man's life when he has to say, "Enough is enough." For me, that time is now. I have been dealing with claims that I cheated and had an unfair advantage in <redacted>. Over the past three years, I have been subjected to a <redacted>investigation followed by <redacted> witch hunt. The toll this has taken on my family, and my work for <redacted>and on me leads me to where I am today – finished with this nonsense. (Oops just got a spontaneous errection <unredacted>)

Its cringe worthy... But again, its good to build members and supporter base.. We want people (young families etc) to come to the footy and experience a great day out.. Don't just make going to the footy a place to sit down and watch a game and go home.. Make a St Kilda home game, an "event" more then just a footy game. An Experience.. This is a start.

mr six o'clock wrote:As a teenager , i became aware of the Animal enclosure at Moorabbin .
Curious , i ventured into that area few times but found nothing but a group of hardcore supporters who didn't mind giving oppostion players a hard time .
I was never shocked by anything said , often seeing the humour in many of the comments .

Surely they are Joking !

Are there any original animal enclosure alumni who are offended that there legacy is being re-invented ?

How about you and all the other offended original animal enclosure alumni buy 100 memberships each, then maybe we wouldn't have to try the dirty underhand trick of making the game more fun for kids. I reckon that anything the club is doing to get more young people involved should be applauded, the cheer squad could definitely do with a bit more youth.

Maybe in years to come they will ask cute rosy-cheeked children to recreate the spirit of Row 35 by dressing as a big cartoon Josh Saunders (Robert WHO?)

I'd pay plenty for the privilege of standing in the animal enclosure just once more. Those were the days!

gold mate...pure unadulterated gold.... :wink:

Most of the time they were playing for us in those days :mrgreen:
You're not wrong there, that's why it was necessary to get so pissed during the ressies.......to be able to make it through watching the seniors get slaughtered......

Austinnn wrote:
mr six o'clock wrote:As a teenager , i became aware of the Animal enclosure at Moorabbin .

Surely they are Joking !

How about you and all the other offended original animal enclosure alumni buy 100 memberships each, then maybe we wouldn't have to try the dirty underhand trick of making the game more fun for kids. I reckon that anything the club is doing to get more young people involved should be applauded, the cheer squad could definitely do with a bit more youth.

Maybe in years to come they will ask cute rosy-cheeked children to recreate the spirit of Row 35 by dressing as a big cartoon Josh Saunders (Robert WHO?)

hear hear...

Playon

Surely they are Joking !

I agree they should of had a loud mouth dinosaur full of dutch courage day instead

I think it's a Bloody Good Idea. Even the Fan Development Manager will be wearing a gorilla suit (although he may not know yet). This is a bit of FUN for the kids. If these kids have fun they will want to come back for more. Eventually these kids might turn into adult members

To those knocking the idea: COME UP WITH SOMETHING BETTER !!

True Believer wrote:I was drunk enough that I saw Alf in there
Which one??

ImageImage