St Kilda going home !!

Re: St Kilda going home !!

BigMart wrote:So we spent 500k resurfacing Moorabbin in 2006, left there a few years later, spent 10M on a trading facility?

And what now we are spending club money - we don't have.... So what, people don't have to drive to work? Even though they still will have to, only this time with (not against) the traffic?! Like to know how many players live in StK??

It's a training ground FFS

It has grass, a weights room, some rehab stuff and some change rooms?

Gee Seaford FC is in for a nice upgrade on facilities?.... This is like the Tassie/Casey defection ..... Because players aren't happy, we must move?!
Here's an idea? Tell the to get fkn happy and get used to it!!! The tail doesn't wag the dog.

How about sticking with something, and looking long term?....

Club is always after a quick fix IMO and try to salvage their image...

Btw
Wasn't cricket (the stkcc) the reason we up and left JO?
Anyone remember or have heard about the feeling when we moved in 65? Back the Moorabbin must have felt like Dromana does now?
Dunno about that.
Its not a quick fix - more like looking ahead 10 years. Your players are also your staff and number one resource. Of course they should have a say and be happy.

Dont think Seaford will ever be family friendly. Hey kids lets stroll up the 6 lane freeway for some kick to kick, a hot dog and watch the boys train.

I do agree Moorabin is a family friendly venue though.

we would be out of our minds not to be a part of this.

BigMart wrote:So we spent 500k resurfacing Moorabbin in 2006, left there a few years later, spent 10M on a trading facility?

And what now we are spending club money - we don't have.... So what, people don't have to drive to work? Even though they still will have to, only this time with (not against) the traffic?! Like to know how many players live in StK??

It's a training ground FFS

It has grass, a weights room, some rehab stuff and some change rooms?

Gee Seaford FC is in for a nice upgrade on facilities?.... This is like the Tassie/Casey defection ..... Because players aren't happy, we must move?!
Here's an idea? Tell the to get fkn happy and get used to it!!! The tail doesn't wag the dog.

How about sticking with something, and looking long term?....

Club is always after a quick fix IMO and try to salvage their image...

Btw
Wasn't cricket (the stkcc) the reason we up and left JO?
Anyone remember or have heard about the feeling when we moved in 65? Back the Moorabbin must have felt like Dromana does now?
Dunno about that.
Its not a quick fix - more like looking ahead 10 years. Your players are also your staff and number one resource. Of course they should have a say and be happy.

Dont think Seaford will ever be family friendly. Hey kids lets stroll up the 6 lane freeway for some kick to kick, a hot dog and watch the boys train.

I do agree Moorabin is a family friendly venue though.

200 people watch training even at the big clubs and that is when you are allowed. That should be the last reason we leave. By the way there are houses right next to the seaford ground. probably more than the junction oval.

Con Gorozidis wrote:The biggest tragedy/worst case scenario would be if a Junction Oval redevelopment actually happened and we werent part of it and the Demons took it on.

Id be inconsolable.

We cant allow that to happen.

Gaze said hawks are looking to move. Demons will be looking to hide in the back blocks somewhere. We will miss the boat again like we did on anchor tenancy at Etihad and Waverley.
id be inconsolable if hawks took it over.
would set them up for another 20 years of domination.
they seem to be always one step ahead of the pack.
their waverley moment was our seaford moment - just 5 years ahead.
their tassie moment was our nz moment - just 5 years ahead.
now if they pull this off - we will be still 5-10 years behind them.

the hawks have a recently stated position of looking for somewhere to hide their training from prying eyes, they rely on agreements with residents currently and they need ways to spend their money.
Amused me this morning to hear commentators saying it would be great for people to watch training, clubs will continue to drip feed access to training, even collingwood go to local parks or inside to ensure people don't see.
ALL clubs -interstate clubs are worse at access than the victorian clubs

Why does a trading ground have to anything friendly

The facilities need to be first rate.... Oval, rooms, rehab and Gym... The rest is irrelevant....

Players don't like it, they can F off

If a 30 minute drive to work is too much for you, you are a precious mentally soft spoilt individual who doesn't know or understand the notion of work or appreciation.

Seaford is an exact replica of the MCG... Size and Surface

It has quality facilities

It is already operational

Not sure the issue.....

StK trained at Some college in Brighton in 2006 with no goal posts and at Monash Uni in 2001 on a square oval
And of course at a dump from 1995-2010
They are issues

BigMart wrote:Why does a trading ground have to anything friendly

The facilities need to be first rate.... Oval, rooms, rehab and Gym... The rest is irrelevant....

Players don't like it, they can F off

If a 30 minute drive to work is too much for you, you are a precious mentally soft spoilt individual who doesn't know or understand the notion of work or appreciation.

Seaford is an exact replica of the MCG... Size and Surface

It has quality facilities

It is already operational

Not sure the issue.....
Agree with everything above. Dont know about the surface at Seaford but the size is the same as the MCG.

Are we going to play games at the Junction Oval? If not, who gives a toss about it.

What are the benefits? Does Collingwood have a training facility in Collingwood? Essendon in Essendon? Hawthorn?

Surely the Saints fan base is exactly in its current training ground geography.

So I dont know the benefits. Can see a heap of - Oh we have to be part of this - BUT WHY?

There comes a point in every man's life when he has to say, "Enough is enough." For me, that time is now. I have been dealing with claims that I cheated and had an unfair advantage in <redacted>. Over the past three years, I have been subjected to a <redacted>investigation followed by <redacted> witch hunt. The toll this has taken on my family, and my work for <redacted>and on me leads me to where I am today – finished with this nonsense. (Oops just got a spontaneous errection <unredacted>)

Can we just make one thing clear...any move to the JC has nothing to do with supporters watching training!

It would be purely a strategic decision regarding keeping & attracting players & commercial opportunities.

I hope its true that Foxy is involved....I posted a while ago that St Kilda needs people with big ideas & the power to see them implemented.

Animal Enclosure wrote:Can we just make one thing clear...any move to the JC has nothing to do with supporters watching training!

It would be purely a strategic decision regarding keeping & attracting players & commercial opportunities.

I hope its true that Foxy is involved....I posted a while ago that St Kilda needs people with big ideas & the power to see them implemented.

Do you honestly think we lost players because of where we train. BJ lives around Brighton and trains in Tullamarine. dal live in a similar spot and trains at Arden St. As for commercial i still dont see why a huge company cares where you train. they get their money from the jumper or shorts not around the ground signage.

plugger66 wrote:Im 52 years of age and have nothing to do with the Junction oval as a saints ground. Its been a Fitzroy ground or an OM's ground. Thats what I know it as so i have one question. I gather most on here are under 60 years of age and in the same boat as me so why would you rather go to the Junction than Moorabbin if the club think they need to leave Seaford. Surely we have many more supporters closer to Moorabbin the St Kilda and surely its a younger area and a more stable area for families to grow up in. Dont a lot of older or younger people libe around the St Kilda area but not as many familes as the Moorabbin area and wouldnt those people move more often because of their age. And of course I know there will be familes that are on SS who live there but if we did a poll my guess is many more would live closer to Moorabbin. If we are doing it to get more support I dont see how it works.
St kilda is surrounded by Middle Park, Albert Park, South Melbourne and close to Port Melboune. There are many families living in that area, I live in St Kilda and run past the Junction every day, I see so many families with young children walking through Albert Park. There is a growing trend of families moving back to inner city.

I am also just turning 50 and have no sentimental connection to Junction Oval, but I can tell you there are so many cafe's restaurants and shops in this area with saints memorabilia on the walls and there is a strong community connection between the suburb and the footy club. We have tried to artificially grow this community spirit in frankston and Seaford but here its organic.

There is one simple question here, what benefit is there to the club, and from my understanding not much, other than it will make some people feel good because we are training in the suburb we are named after.
We will not gross one dollar from this venture.
Why are Hawthorn and Geelong so prominent right now, got nothing to do with where they train, just look who has won 5 of the last 7 premierships, that's what makes them prominent and very profitable right now.
At the turn of the century, Geelong was almost bust, not that long ago, Hawthorn members were voting on whether they should merge with Melbourne.
A classic example of success makes the club is the Green Bay Packers, they reside in a relative small city, not much bigger than Geelong in the frigid north of Wisconsin. But they are well known because they win titles on a regular basis through good management and recruiting.
It doesn't matter where we train, we have state of the art facilities at Seaford, as good as any other club in the comp.
The only way I would support this was if the plan was to build a minimum 30,000 seat stadium, that we controlled and would use similar to Geelong at Skilled Stadium. No cricket there, they can move elsewhere. To build that stadium you can kiss goodbye those old stands because they are obsolete and take up to much commercially viable space, personally couldn't care less if they put a bulldozer through them.
Because that is the only way we will make money at the JC is if we actually have a decent stadium to play games at.
As it stands now, sounds more like we would be the poor tenant at the mercy of the cricket club.
By all means train there every now and then, but don't put any money towards it, unless we get to control it.

lloyd21

Animal Enclosure wrote:Can we just make one thing clear...any move to the JC has nothing to do with supporters watching training!

8-) Agree with you more likely to do with something like a 2nd Casino in Melbourne now wouldn't that be funny 8-)

Transport ...Tick overlooks special part of Melbourne Tick links with Grand Prix Albert Park Tick Great location for advertising eg Etihad Airlines Tick

Lets see what happens

lloyd21 wrote:

8-) Agree with you more likely to do with something like a 2nd Casino in Melbourne now wouldn't that be funny 8-)

Transport ...Tick overlooks special part of Melbourne Tick links with Grand Prix Albert Park Tick Great location for advertising eg Etihad Airlines Tick

Lets see what happens
Transport tick :?: :?: :?: :?: :?: :?: :?: :?: :?:

There comes a point in every man's life when he has to say, "Enough is enough." For me, that time is now. I have been dealing with claims that I cheated and had an unfair advantage in <redacted>. Over the past three years, I have been subjected to a <redacted>investigation followed by <redacted> witch hunt. The toll this has taken on my family, and my work for <redacted>and on me leads me to where I am today – finished with this nonsense. (Oops just got a spontaneous errection <unredacted>)

BringBackMadDog wrote:
plugger66 wrote:Im 52 years of age and have nothing to do with the Junction oval as a saints ground. Its been a Fitzroy ground or an OM's ground. Thats what I know it as so i have one question. I gather most on here are under 60 years of age and in the same boat as me so why would you rather go to the Junction than Moorabbin if the club think they need to leave Seaford. Surely we have many more supporters closer to Moorabbin the St Kilda and surely its a younger area and a more stable area for families to grow up in. Dont a lot of older or younger people libe around the St Kilda area but not as many familes as the Moorabbin area and wouldnt those people move more often because of their age. And of course I know there will be familes that are on SS who live there but if we did a poll my guess is many more would live closer to Moorabbin. If we are doing it to get more support I dont see how it works.
St kilda is surrounded by Middle Park, Albert Park, South Melbourne and close to Port Melboune. There are many families living in that area, I live in St Kilda and run past the Junction every day, I see so many families with young children walking through Albert Park. There is a growing trend of families moving back to inner city.

I am also just turning 50 and have no sentimental connection to Junction Oval, but I can tell you there are so many cafe's restaurants and shops in this area with saints memorabilia on the walls and there is a strong community connection between the suburb and the footy club. We have tried to artificially grow this community spirit in frankston and Seaford but here its organic.

I would say what ever the St Kilda area has in the way of support and families using the amount of area you have used then around Moorabbin you can double or triple it. The reason people follow the saints in that are is because we played there. Obviously I have no proof to say if we only trained there then no extra would follow us but thats the feeling I get. I dont see how training in a suburb gets you support but i do see how playing in a suburb gets you support. Seaford another matter altogether. Look if the venture costs us not one cent and its better for the players facility wise then we must jump at it. if its the same and costs money then we must say no. If the government gave us a choice of Moorabbin or the Junction I would take Moorabbin every day of week. And if as you say families are moving back into the area then wouldnt that be the same as us at Seaford now. Trying to artifically grow community spirit? because i dont those families have any connection to us from 50 years ago.

Back to the Junction would be a winner....bring it on ASAP

BringBackMadDog wrote:

I would say what ever the St Kilda area has in the way of support and families using the amount of area you have used then around Moorabbin you can double or triple it. The reason people follow the saints in that are is because we played there. Obviously I have no proof to say if we only trained there then no extra would follow us but thats the feeling I get. I dont see how training in a suburb gets you support but i do see how playing in a suburb gets you support. Seaford another matter altogether. Look if the venture costs us not one cent and its better for the players facility wise then we must jump at it. if its the same and costs money then we must say no. If the government gave us a choice of Moorabbin or the Junction I would take Moorabbin every day of week. And if as you say families are moving back into the area then wouldnt that be the same as us at Seaford now. Trying to artifically grow community spirit? because i dont those families have any connection to us from 50 years ago.
I lived in St Kilda for years - and there is definitely a massive Saints culture there as maddog says.
I would support both Moorabin (probably more kids around Moorabin but this debate is easily solved if you look at the abs census data) and the Junction - but if you asked the players (plugger will disagree cos he reckons hes their best mate) but if you asked all the players across Australia - that includes other clubs and other states - then the Junction would blow every other club away as far as player choice. If the AFL and Vic Govt pitch in some cash - wed be crazy to let the chance slip.
Then also think about potential Corporate Sponsors up St Kilda Rd. It would be a gold mine.
What sponsors are we going to get in Seaford? A panel beaters?

wolfpup

Legendary wrote:Make no mistake - Summers & our board have been driving this.

If that is the case then it makes it even less room for a proper ground. And the fact there is no parking and bugger all public transport rules that completely out.
[/quote]

Well there is light rail, trams on fitzroy st and trams along st.kilda road. Parking wise, would be harder, there is paid parking on fitzroy st and canerbury road. City of Port Phiilip pretty strict on parking on meter parking.

Public transport would be easy if it was a boutique stadium of 15K.

-----------

St.Kilda Forever!

BringBackMadDog wrote:

I lived in St Kilda for years - and there is definitely a massive Saints culture there as maddog says.
I would support both Moorabin (probably more kids around Moorabin but this debate is easily solved if you look at the abs census data) and the Junction - but if you asked the players (plugger will disagree cos he reckons hes their best mate) but if you asked all the players across Australia - that includes other clubs and other states - then the Junction would blow every other club away as far as player choice. If the AFL and Vic Govt pitch in some cash - wed be crazy to let the chance slip.
Then also think about potential Corporate Sponsors up St Kilda Rd. It would be a gold mine.
What sponsors are we going to get in Seaford? A panel beaters?

Trying to get the crowd on your side again con. cant discuss things on your own. If you can show me one post where i said im their best mate then show otherwise stop your continued lying. Con if you think about it do you really think a major sponsor cares where we train. They dont get the benefits from the hundred who attend training, they get it from being on the news and in the paper and for positive stuff. And if players care so much about where they train how come we lost 2 players who live near Brighton area to Tullamarine and Arden St. They care about the money and making finals and then they will go anyway. remember Mitch Clark going back to perth. Now we are on a role can can you explain how the injury to sam gilbert in the first few minutes of the game left us a player short for the rest of the game.

Ok quick glance at ABS data - and there are few ways you could do this

But

Using 'statistical data 2'

St Kilda has 800 kids aged 5-14 which is 2% of the population

Moorabin (Heatherton) has 900 kids aged 5-14 which is 5.5% of the populaton.

So Moorabin is a more family oriented suburb (over twice as family orientated)

BUT

This is offset by St Kildas higher population density - meaning you get pretty much the same amount of actual kids in each suburb.

Trying to get the crowd on your side again con. cant discuss things on your own. If you can show me one post where i said im their best mate then show otherwise stop your continued lying. Con if you think about it do you really think a major sponsor cares where we train. They dont get the benefits from the hundred who attend training, they get it from being on the news and in the paper and for positive stuff. And if players care so much about where they train how come we lost 2 players who live near Brighton area to Tullamarine and Arden St. They care about the money and making finals and then they will go anyway. remember Mitch Clark going back to perth. Now we are on a role can can you explain how the injury to sam gilbert in the first few minutes of the game left us a player short for the rest of the game.
What are you talking about you <edited by mods> big noting flog?
'cant discuss things on your own' -? I am putting fwd a viewpoint - one I have had for 20 straight years,
The Junction has always been a dream of mine.
Obviously location is not the MAJOR factor in a players decision - it is a preference. For some weak (they dont care) and for some strong (they care). Cant you understand this nuance?
You have to be the thickets bloke on here. You only see anything in black and white. Your head is like a box of mallets.

And yeah - we are doing terrific at sponsorship at the moment arent we. All those big named brands are just calling us! Might have to take the phone off the hook if this keeps up!

Its not necessarily actual location but branding and perception. At the moment we have several things going against our brand .
But St Kilda would make us 'cool'. You cant deny that.

If I were a coach.... I'd be fuming if training ever moved to the JO on a regular basis.

The facilities size of the ground for AFL preparation and training is useless and outdated.... Full ground drills would be limited

Centre clearance drills would be also useless....

Are they going to put an elite AFL training facility there, extend the size of the ground to Match afl size grounds?

The romance .... Seriously, our history at the JO is horrible!!!

If I had my way, the name of the club would also go the way of the Bulldogs and encompass the entire Bayside..... Stk to Portsea

There is already one great club called the Bayside Saints...

If I were running the club... And should be...haha.... There'd be another!

And we'd be
Full Training at Seaford... And I would add further facilities there to make it even better....and close it off.

Social club (porkies), offices, shop and functions at Moorabbin... Reserves training session or open training session (light session) weekly

Reserves... Junction Oval or Moorabbin? ... Reserves training session or open training session (light session) weekly

Depending on most viable reserves ground.

I'm still not convinced a stand alone VFL team is Viable?... Can see some benefits... But a raft of issues.
It's why the Reserves went by the wayside in the first place.... Not economically viable

What are you talking about you c**k smoking big noting flog?
'cant discuss things on your own' -? I am putting fwd a viewpoint - one I have had for 20 straight years,
Obviously location is not the MAJOR factor in a players decision - it is a preference. For some weak (they dont care) and for some strong (they care). Cant you understand this nuance?
You have to be the thickets bloke on here. You only see anything in black and white. Your head is like a box of mallets.

And yeah - we are doing terrific at sponsorship at the moment arent we. All those big named brands are just calling us! Might have to take the phone off the hook if this keeps up!

Its not necessarily actual location but branding and perception. At the moment we have several things going against our brand .

Real nice Con. Parents must be proud. The reason I said you cant discuss things on your own is because you put my name to something that had nothing to do with me and then lied about it anyway. It was to try and get certain people on side. And I cant understand that nuance because there is no facts to support what you say. Give me some facts that location of training facilities matters when players swap clubs. . And who said we were doing well with sponsorship? You really havent got any clue about discussing things. And where does the big noting come from Con. Is it when I use examples and give a reason for the examples and may use a name of a player. Wow. Now if you could only explain the Sam Gilbert leaving a man short for the rest of the game thing. And are you sure im one of the thickets blokes on here. What is that anyway Con?

Moorabbin Man

Well I declare unashamedly that I have a boner. Not as dreamlike as going back to Moorabbin, but I'll take the Junction. A suburban ground! I love it. Here's an early request, leave standing room for a couple of thousand on the wing and call it the new Animal Cage.

What are you talking about you c**k smoking big noting flog?

Real nice Con. Parents must be proud. The reason I said you cant discuss things on your own is because you put my name to something that had nothing to do with me and then lied about it anyway. It was to try and get certain people on side. And I cant understand that nuance because there is no facts to support what you say. Give me some facts that location of training facilities matters when players swap clubs. . And who said we were doing well with sponsorship? You really havent got any clue about discussing things. And where does the big noting come from Con. Is it when I use examples and give a reason for the examples and may use a name of a player. Wow. Now if you could only explain the Sam Gilbert leaving a man short for the rest of the game thing. And are you sure im one of the thickets blokes on here. What is that anyway Con?
Firstly - your examples are idiotic because those guys lived there because it was near where they used to train. Secondly BJ left for a 4 year contract and thirdly Arden St shites all over Seaford as a place to work/train. Arden St to Melbourne gpo = 3km. Seaford to Melbourne gpo = 50km.

And which part about being subbed off in the first quarter due to a pre-existing and well known injury dont you understand?
How did that not leave us short for the rest of the game when the sub was expired in the first quarter?
Box of mallets.
Last edited by Con Gorozidis on Thu 10 Apr 2014 7:33pm, edited 1 time in total.

I can't see the relevance of the ABS stats.

And as for moving to St.Kilda because it would make us cool?!
St.Kilda used to be cool, now it's a plastic facade and for the beautiful people. I suppose it depends on your definition of cool. But once again, it's not relevant.

The important thing is that wherever we are, we have control of the facilities.
Tony Dodemaide has made it clear that this will not be the case;

"Cricket Victoria will only consider sharing the Junction Oval with the St Kilda Football Club if the summer sport is the main tenant with year-round, priority access to the historic ground."
"We are the head lease-holder at the Junction Oval and we would certainly insist on remaining so," Dodemaide said. "We want to be able to say we can have priority access... "
http://www.theage.com.au/sport/cricket/ ... zqt17.html

Not being in charge of our own facility would not be cool.

HitTheBoundary wrote:I can't see the relevance of the ABS stats.

And as for moving to St.Kilda because it would make us cool?!
St.Kilda used to be cool, now it's a plastic facade and for the beautiful people. I suppose it depends on your definition of cool. But once again, it's not relevant.

The important thing is that wherever we are, we have control of the facilities.
Tony Dodemaide has made it clear that this will not be the case;

"Cricket Victoria will only consider sharing the Junction Oval with the St Kilda Football Club if the summer sport is the main tenant with year-round, priority access to the historic ground."
"We are the head lease-holder at the Junction Oval and we would certainly insist on remaining so," Dodemaide said. "We want to be able to say we can have priority access... "
http://www.theage.com.au/sport/cricket/ ... zqt17.html

Not being in charge of our own facility would not be cool.
Were discussing families and you cant see the relevance of abs stats?
FFS
Cool doesnt mean i think its 'cool' - or you think its 'cool' im talking only about corporate branding and getting new fans/sponsors. Different things. I moved out for a reason.

If we cant get the facility then we cant get the facility - Im saying IF it became available and the AFL wanted it to happen- we should be first in line.
FFS
Last edited by Con Gorozidis on Thu 10 Apr 2014 7:37pm, edited 2 times in total.