Saad original 18mth suspension stands

Re: Saad original 18mth suspension stands

I would give him a rookie spot for sure. He was showing heaps in his first year. Fell away along side Milne but the drop off could have ben anything. Great guy and worth giving him a chance at redemption.

Apologies I don't know what I am doing but I often get a duplicated post, will attempt to correct it!

SAAD's main weakness in his games was he was totally one sided and oppositions had worked him out. Hopefully in his time off he has been working on turning onto and kicking / hand balling on his opposite side.

Worth a rookie spot I reckon.. If he slipped until then.

He showed he can perform at afl level.

If the Saints have any morality and any type of welfare for the players, they have to either take him with a final dp or as mature aged rookie.

We are not a charity case however the issue here is special.

And he deserved his 18 months as he tested positive. But once he has done his time we should open our arms

Did he test positive or just admit it? Can't recall

Bunk_Moreland wrote:If the Saints have any morality and any type of welfare for the players, they have to either take him with a final dp or as mature aged rookie.

And he deserved his 18 months as he tested positive. But once he has done his time we should open our arms
Moreso, if the AFL had any morality they'd let St Kilda pick him up on a bs rookie contract similar to a zoned, scholarship or international player.

St Ick wrote:
Bunk_Moreland wrote:If the Saints have any morality and any type of welfare for the players, they have to either take him with a final dp or as mature aged rookie.

Moreso, if the AFL had any morality they'd let St Kilda pick him up on a bs rookie contract similar to a zoned, scholarship or international player.

Why. The AFl didn't force the banned substance down Saad's throat. He stuffed up and tested positive. I will never condone drug cheating, however once you have done your time, you have paid your debt.

It is a Saints issue not AFL

Is there not a bigger story here? Hasn't the AFL just set a precedent for how they may deal with asada if and when they put something on the bombers players??!!

If he did play again for us, at least with his stupid run up for goal we'd have the ball up forward for a longer period of time than now!

He's missed a lot of footy and his age is against him a bit. If we don't see him in our future (I don't) then we can't afford to put him on our list out of charity. I'm sure they will come to some agreement about money and his legal expenses. You wouldn't want it getting messy and him taking St Kilda to court.

Let's hope for consistency when they finally get round to dealing with the Essendon players.

Question?
Substance Abuse.
If 1 commercially available energy drink taken on the wrong day of the week = 18 months
Then how many months does several thousand clandestine off-premises injections of dodgy substances by dodgy people presided over by a botox showpony equal?

I agree with this poster!

lewdogs

Pick him up for sure. Love his attitude and he kicks goals.

I think he will be snapped up by Essendon who have to produce 10-16 AFL level football players in a hurry.

St Ick wrote:

Why. The AFl didn't force the banned substance down Saad's throat. He stuffed up and tested positive. I will never condone drug cheating, however once you have done your time, you have paid your debt.

It is a Saints issue not AFL
You are right, but the Saints also didn't force the product down his throat. I would argue that we have done the right thing by the AFL from a marketing pov by delisting him ensuring we haven't done an Essendon coverup - ie protecting the afls brand - so that would be my reasoning for them giving us a free kick. Its a biased one eyed point of view but we should at least ask for it if we wanted him.

minneapolis wrote:I think he will be snapped up by Essendon who have to produce 10-16 AFL level football players in a hurry.
That would be ironic, "Essendon snap up returning drug cheat"
We'll still have picks before them so can get him if we want him enough.

minneapolis wrote:I think he will be snapped up by Essendon who have to produce 10-16 AFL level football players in a hurry.
That would be ironic, "Essendon snap up returning drug cheat"
We'll still have picks before them so can get him if we want him enough.

Depends how you look at it. Yes we will have the first pick before them but after that they have a pick before us. Only if taken in the same round do we have a pick before them.

Megamaguire

SOME GOOD NEWS FOR AHMED !

Glad that sanity and some sense of natural justice prevailed here and asada have been knocked back for their cheap headline grabbing grandstanding.

Ahmed has had a better outcome at last and has enough natural ability to make it second time around in the afl. I hope he does find his way back to St.Kilda as i thoroughly enjoyed his 'walk up' kicking style.
I was very disappointed to hear of his terrible luck with the protein drink from the milk-bar but who knows it could make him all the more focused.
If and I know it is a big If he hadn't lost those 18 mths he just might have thrived under new coach AR and done well in the new team structures.

Ahmed's afl career is looking like it will be resurrected again - I'm relieved for him.

G O S A I N T S ! :D

The boy can play and we can build a defence around him that will have respect.

SainterK wrote:Free to be drafted next year...
I haven't read the reasons but how could this possibly be justified? He did the crime but because he's a good bloke he gets a reduced sentence?

Agree. It's crazy and not a good sign re Essendope. Too many Saints fans prob don't get that.

Oh, and I doubt we'd waste a rookie pick on him in November, unless Pelch bows to any media pressure if they care/remember then.

I'm not sure I understand.

He got 18 months originally, and that stands. No change.

Are you really unhappy with the original suspension?

SemperFidelis wrote:

I just thought it was a strict liability offence under the code. Two years for a positive test. He had a positive test, so where does the six month discount come from?

SemperFidelis wrote:

I just thought it was a strict liability offence under the code. Two years for a positive test. He had a positive test, so where does the six month discount come from?
Why did Shane Warne only get a 12 month ban?

Obviously there are degrees, not a blanket 2 year ban

And surely there needs to be some consideration around the substance used?

Having a blanket 2 year ban for any infringement is akin to serving the same sentence for jay walking & murder.

The substance saad was banned for can be legally taken any day other than match day, so it mustn't be too insidious.

The strict liability goes to the guilty verdict not to the sentence. Sentencing is always discretionary.