Rhys Stanley

BadRossco

Rhys Stanley

The only player we have that could run out of sight on a dark night but sleeps with the light on. Should play his last game when Hickey is available.

Re: Rhys Stanley

Really bad news for the Saints if Stanley is a list clogger

i have been a fan of this guy and a defender of him for a while but yes stanley it's time to DO IT or move on ....

Saw it again tonight....

Three months to prove himself or the club should move him on.

Lazy and soft

That simple unfortunately.

I have been a supporter until now .... I've had enough...

ShanghaiSaint wrote:i have been a fan of this guy and a defender of him for a while but yes stanley it's time to DO IT or move on ....
We'll probably have no choice if Delaney is injured... Shultz and westoff next week.

linz

Does everything to get to the contest but then doesn't produce. Grab the eff ing ball like your life depended on it Rhys!!
Classic finger spills.
So disappointing.

I once spent a year in Adelaide, I think it was on a Sunday.

ShanghaiSaint wrote:i have been a fan of this guy and a defender of him for a while but yes stanley it's time to DO IT or move on ....
We'll probably have no choice if Delaney is injured... Shultz and westoff next week.
And that's the problem. He's gifted games due to injury.

Let's hope for cyclonic rain in Adelaide next week.

Stanley is way in front of anything we've got in the magoo's, him and Siposs need to keep playing!!!

Looks like tarzan plays like jane. TBH I would rather have Maister in his position at least he gives an effort, plus he woukd be just as affective in the ruck as Stanley is uselss.

StNoodles

Just not as competitive as is required at AFL level.

was meaning more for next year... the guy is not a forward nor a defender... iso atm i can't see his value... shame as before he started to play some good footy.

WinnersOnly wrote:Looks like tarzan plays like jane. TBH I would rather have Maister in his position at least he gives an effort, plus he woukd be just as affective in the ruck as Stanley is uselss.
That's where we differ. He wins most of his ruck contests (just doesn't play there enough). I agree he is crap though and should be ousted.

Having said that maybe we drop Longer and put Stanley in the ruck for the majority of the game as Longer is a fair dinkum waste of list space. Has he actually taken even one mark this year???

saintbob wrote:Stanley is way in front of anything we've got in the magoo's, him and Siposs need to keep playing!!!
season is so sshot it's getting embrassing... time to start trying new things... Lee in Stanley out (if not needed as a defender) Sippo i agree showing a bit..

Dunny and a few others need some game time now... we have nothing to lose giving them a few games.

Rhys tried hard just doesn't look confident. He's had his moments this year but he is coming on slow.

gringo wrote:Rhys tried hard just doesn't look confident. He's had his moments this year but he is coming on slow.
think the unconfident defense is over now. he played some good fotty recently this year but it's evaporated again. he's at that time where he stands up or stands down.. he been around for a little while now.

1965 Saint

I've had enough. He has to go. Squibbed more than one contest tonight. It must be devastating for the players that are putting in to watch. Milera is another. He laid a few tackles but when it comes time to get the hard ball he hangs back. In fact a lot of the team seemed to be holding back tonight. One wouldn't call our attack on the ball tonight ferocious

I like Rhys as a person. Maybe thats his best job.

ShanghaiSaint wrote:Lee in Stanley out
Yep. You wouldn't lose a lot by trying that.

He is not the only one who is a bit up and down. First half not too bad. Dropped off in eh second half, like many others.

I sit at ground level and when the game was near me, he was playing with great intensity and like others, under enormous pressure - it's a tough gig out there. Persevere for the rest of the year and then make a judgement call - there aren't too many other options.

My concern is that we don't have "anyone" who is looking likely to successfully take on the key forward role, when Rooey goes.

Strange as it may sound, but I reckon Stanley's reversal of form happened when Hickey got hurt.
Also wonder just how much that flogging by Hawthorn unsettled the side, up until then we were reasonable competitive.

PADDLEPOP1001

It's difficult for our forwards in a 100 point loss everything is magnified ,thought he did a few good things we need to stick with him because as the side and therefore delivery gets better so will he,Roo is an unabashed fan of his so must be doing something right!

PADDLEPOP1000

And that's the problem. He's gifted games due to injury.

Let's hope for cyclonic rain in Adelaide next week.
Fraak that's right we face Port next week in crowland... jeez. will be more good experience for the young-ins.

PADDLEPOP1001 wrote:It's difficult for our forwards in a 100 point loss everything is magnified ,thought he did a few good things we need to stick with him because as the side and therefore delivery gets better so will he,Roo is an unabashed fan of his so must be doing something right!
Think Roo is just being supportive.