shenton

shenton

Deserves his own thread.
surprise packet to all but hardcore sandy watchers who have rated him for a while now.
this years roberton

Re: shenton

I only caught the second half but was pleasantly surprised. Very serviceable, probably won't be a star but could be around a while.

Go shaggy. Quickest player in the team over 30 metres IMO.

Yes, he's looking good ... and do we need him right now! Made some quite poor decisions on several occasions last night when in possession, but more experience will help him there.

His handballing looks worse than Jones kicking. A few handballs of his cost us dearly at times.

At least he's good at a few things - getting the ball, defending with intensity, good pace, so let's watch him develop a lot more.

I thought he looked composed in defence last night and works well off Delaney. He was a tick for me and yes will get better. He will be forcing our selectors to make some big calls at seasons end. At the start of the year I thought he was a definite gone but now he's line ball and may be saved at the cost of others.

Con Gorozidis wrote:Deserves his own thread.
surprise packet to all but hardcore sandy watchers who have rated him for a while now.
this years roberton
does indeed Con, what a supprise packet he is turning into. very impressed with his game yesterday. very cool down back. nice spearing kick on him and he likes to take them on. he also could be played forward imo or as an outside mid he has some dash and i like his kicking...

The shining light of the night for mine !

We have a new cult hero at least. Shaggy, wolfman, Panther, Grizzly Adams what ever he's doing well.

He did stuff up a couple of times but overall he was ok.

However, if he's our bright light it just shows how stuffed we are.

A keeper!

Takes the game on arching the back Jack S-style, but also defends very well one-on-one.

Can be used/eventually can be used half back, wing, half forward with some runs on the ball.

His handballing execution is a bit dodgey at times, but he kicks it well... solution... just kick it Panther! 8-)
Last edited by Dave McNamara on Sat 31 May 2014 5:07pm, edited 1 time in total.

SaintPav wrote:He did stuff up a couple of times but overall he was ok.

Why? Isn't the idea that you keep making incremental improvements. If we get a couple of Billings, Dunstan and acres come on and a few fringers like Milera, Shents, Sipper and Dunnell do as well it's all good. What you don't want is a stagnant list that fails to make any improvement. I'm sure Freo supporters aren't upset that the greatest improvement in 2011 came from a state league player in Barlow. I will take any one that steps it up. Billings and the other kids probably won't be likely to have a major impact for 3 or so years. AnywayI thought the brightest light yesterday was Newnes backing up a good game.

He stuffs up a bit at Sandy too but provides a lot of drive offensively out of the back half.

He played a real good game

Played very well. I didn't rate him as much of a chance to make it but last night was extremely promising. Great attack on the footy, broke the lines and generally used it well. If he can continue to round out his game keep playing consistently then he'll be very hard to displace.

He is also pretty competent in the air.
Not easily out marked

How tall is he?

Yes, he presents well. Definitely some potential in this kid.

Courageous with some real fire in the belly.

avid

Watched him closely in the pocket we were sitting, and he did quite a few really good close-in things.
Didn't hold much hope for him, but am now rapidly warming.
If he does become a fixture, just hope he keeps the saggy hair and beard.

as a critic of his I'm glad to see him get a shot and show potential.
however he is still soft for mine, and the other night should have fell on a ball that trickled to goal. his tackling is half hearted.
if he can toughen up and put his body on the line, he has the skills and speed to make it.

Junior

Con Gorozidis wrote:Deserves his own thread.
this years roberton

Glad to see him take the game on like he does at VFL level.

A champion team will always beat a team of champions.
Hallalj#3

If you put him and Geary next to eachother I would take Shenton everytime.. Heaps more upside and shows 30% more composure then Geary ever has..

Hallalj#3 wrote:If you put him and Geary next to eachother I would take Shenton everytime.. Heaps more upside and shows 30% more composure then Geary ever has..

Im certainly no geary fan but Shenton has played about 3 games. Look at Roberton last year. Due to various reasons is struggling big time this year. geary has finished in the top 6 B&F 2 years in a row. Lets not go to early on Shenton. Hopefully he can become a good AFL footballer because we need as many good ones as we can get.

Hallalj#3

Hallalj#3 wrote:If you put him and Geary next to eachother I would take Shenton everytime.. Heaps more upside and shows 30% more composure then Geary ever has..

Im certainly no geary fan but Shenton has played about 3 games. Look at Roberton last year. Due to various reasons is struggling big time :as this year. geary has finished in the top 6 B&F 2 years in a row. Lets not go to early on Shenton. Hopefully he can become a good AFL footballer because we need as many good ones as we can get.
Yeah 3 games but in those 3 I think he has shown enough to suggest he is very comfortble at the level..

oldie60

The thing that was so impressive was the effort. Mistakes will happen but at least if you make mistakes means you're having a crack at the pill.He appears to be relishing the opportunity at senior level and rather constantly looking to Rooy and Lenny for inspiration take a look at a teamate who is endeavoring to lift simply on effort.Well done Shents.

SaintPav wrote:He did stuff up a couple of times but overall he was ok.

You misinterpreted or rather misread me Saint Pav ! The shining light on the night my friend not the future
However the club has just twittered the opinions of our captain and coach on his game and it appears your somewhat outvoted @stkilda FC The Rapid Rise of Cameron Shenton
Cheers mate , don't be so pessimistic and cast your eyes up towards any bright lights you see on our horizon at this tough time ... It makes supporting the Mighty Saints that more enjoyable in the present climate