Mediocre Players with Cult Status

Re: Mediocre Players with Cult Status

Grrrrr wrote:Has Rohan Smith got a mention? Bald headed lad recruited from Port Adelaide in the late 80's, early 90's from memory.
Another worthy mention. Not to be confused with Bulldogs star Rohan "Bubba" Smith.

Rohan "Uncle Fester" Smith was recruited from Port Adelaide. I remember seeing him play for them in a couple of SANFL GFs before he came our way. I don't think there were ever really high expectations on the lad. He had a terrific season in the reserves. Seemed to rack up a heap of possessions every week for the twos. I guess it was difficult for him to break into the team as we were quite strong. Pretty sure it was in 1991 when he was wearing the red, white and black because he debuted in an away game against the Hawks at Princess Park, a match which we won quite comfortably. Poor guy had no hair because he had that condition called Alopecia where hair falls out in patches.

Grrrrr wrote:
gringo wrote:What about that Guy that was also called Burke around the Nathan Burke era with the bald head. He looked like Mr Burns. I used to love him. Was kind of like from another era, like Baldock had a crazy twin that got locked in the chook shed for 30 years.
Darren Bourke? Son of former Melbourne player Barry Bourke.
Yeah, I only remember Darren Bourke. Don't remember him looking like Mr. Burns though.

Sainternist wrote:
Grrrrr wrote:
gringo wrote:What about that Guy that was also called Burke around the Nathan Burke era with the bald head. He looked like Mr Burns. I used to love him. Was kind of like from another era, like Baldock had a crazy twin that got locked in the chook shed for 30 years.
Yeah, I only remember Darren Bourke. Don't remember him looking like Mr. Burns though.

I could have the name confused then. I may have drunk a little too much in those Waverley days. The weather was particularly suitable for it. Cans of Toohey red for a couple of bucks, life was pretty good.

Sainternist wrote:
Grrrrr wrote:

I could have the name confused then. I may have drunk a little too much in those Waverley days. The weather was particularly suitable for it. Cans of Toohey red for a couple of bucks, life was pretty good.
Sounds like Mick Dwyer?

satchmo wrote:
Sainternist wrote:
Grrrrr wrote:

Sounds like Mick Dwyer?

I think you are right that's ringing a bell. Bourke I have erased from my memory now. Dwyer it is.

The big David Sierakowski was a bit of a cult hero too. He was a bit thick and always promised more than he delivered making him a bit of a candidate. I remember he took his Perth mates out and picked up a policewoman pretending to be a prostitute.

satchmo wrote:
Sainternist wrote:
Grrrrr wrote:

Sounds like Mick Dwyer?

I think you are right that's ringing a bell. Bourke I have erased from my memory now. Dwyer it is.

The big David Sierakowski was a bit of a cult hero too. He was a bit thick and always promised more than he delivered making him a bit of a candidate. I remember he took his Perth mates out and picked up a policewoman pretending to be a prostitute.
Siera was a cult hero mainly because of his old man Brian "Bull" Sierakowski from our '66 team. A few fans nicknamed him "Bull" like his old man, but it didn't seem to catch on. I also heard a story about some off field shenanigans. Didn't know it involved a policewoman undercover as a hooker though. Sounds like it could have been a potentially kinky arrest with her having handcuffs and all.

Mick Dwyer looked more like Krusty the Clown than Mr. Burns. A few fans called him "Krusty". "Taxi" seemed to be his more prominent nickname though. Thought he was a good contributor for a team in over a few years. He ended up playing in Fitzroy's very last team in 1996.

The Waverley days were certainly suited to drinking. Back then you wouldn't have to spend a small fortune at the footy on just a few beers. Good times!

St.Roly

Sainternist wrote:
Mick Dwyer looked more like Krusty the Clown than Mr. Burns. A few fans called him "Krusty". "Taxi" seemed to be his more prominent nickname though. Thought he was a good contributor for a team in over a few years. He ended up playing in Fitzroy's very last team in 1996.
That's enough of a prompt for me to roll out my favourite Mick Dwyer story.

Was down standing on the terraces at Kardinia Park one Saturday, there in time for the 2nd half of the twos.

The ball went across the boundary line right in front of where I was standing, followed over by Mick and the Geelong (and Freo?) player Andrew Wills, who like Mick was significantly challenged in the hair department.

Someone in the, at that time, sparse crowd yelled out clear as day to Mick and Wills "you two blokes couldn't put together a decent head of hair between youse". Having heard it, Mick gave a wry smile and acknowledged the comment with a tipping of the hat - as in "nice one mate".

St.Roly wrote:
Sainternist wrote:
That's enough of a prompt for me to roll out my favourite Mick Dwyer story.

Was down standing on the terraces at Kardinia Park one Saturday, there in time for the 2nd half of the twos.

The ball went across the boundary line right in front of where I was standing, followed over by Mick and the Geelong (and Freo?) player Andrew Wills, who like Mick was significantly challenged in the hair department.

Someone in the, at that time, sparse crowd yelled out clear as day to Mick and Wills "you two blokes couldn't put together a decent head of hair between youse". Having heard it, Mick gave a wry smile and acknowledged the comment with a tipping of the hat - as in "nice one mate".
Nice little anecdote.

I was most likely in attendance as well. I'm guessing it was early 90's. For all the Kardinia Park games back then we'd get there nice and early for the reserves. Make a real day of it. I remember one time we got to have a kick on the ground during all three intervals of the reserves match. It was always a fun day going to see us down at Sleepy Hollow. Unfortunately he lost a couple of heartbreakers. Damn Geelong just seem to have the wood over us, always. Their fans were always cocky bastards there and would let us have it after a game, when we'd trudge off to the nearby train station. I think both in '98 and '99 we beat them there and it was like New Year's Eve on the train journey back to Melbourne. I'm guessing '99 was the last time we had a win there. Hope there's another rare win there in the not so distant future.

Here's a team of them ...

B Wittey, David Winbanks, David Green, Warwick
HB Muller, Ian Booth, Doug Strooper, David
C Gladman, Rodney Misso, Enrico Linke, Geoff
HF Schodde, Graham Arnol, Jody Kitchen, Joshua
F Dipetta, Aldo Thornborrow, Wayne Middlemiss, Glenn

R Bingham, Lawrence McNicholl, Dermot Georgiou, John
Int Keeble, Robert Shepherd, David Godsell, Sean Cannon, Bill
E Foo, Ernie

Pwoit

Billy Mildenhall #39

Sainternist wrote:
Grrrrr wrote:Has Rohan Smith got a mention? Bald headed lad recruited from Port Adelaide in the late 80's, early 90's from memory.
Another worthy mention. Not to be confused with Bulldogs star Rohan "Bubba" Smith.

Rohan "Uncle Fester" Smith was recruited from Port Adelaide. I remember seeing him play for them in a couple of SANFL GFs before he came our way. I don't think there were ever really high expectations on the lad. He had a terrific season in the reserves. Seemed to rack up a heap of possessions every week for the twos. I guess it was difficult for him to break into the team as we were quite strong. Pretty sure it was in 1991 when he was wearing the red, white and black because he debuted in an away game against the Hawks at Princess Park, a match which we won quite comfortably. Poor guy had no hair because he had that condition called Alopecia where hair falls out in patches.
yep he played 3 games in 1991...head was as smooth as a baby's bottom....if my memory is not fading...

Sainternist wrote:

yep he played 3 games in 1991...head was as smooth as a baby's bottom....if my memory is not fading...
Whilst with us he had a receding hairline with curly hair like Krusty the Clown's. He went for the chrome dome look after he joined Fitzroy. Wore number 20, if my memory serves me correctly.

PADDLEPOP1001

Geoff Ward and John O"donnell

PADDLEPOP1000

Sainternist wrote:

Whilst with us he had a receding hairline with curly hair like Krusty the Clown's. He went for the chrome dome look after he joined Fitzroy. Wore number 20, if my memory serves me correctly.
i was talking about rohan not dwyer

we actually had two mark dwyers at one stage.....both also played at the lions at one stage or another....

jamesmc

Sainternist wrote:

Except his was one big patch.

Sainternist wrote:

i was talking about rohan not dwyer
Argh, sorry Sting. I didn't read my own post above yours, thinking it was about Dwyer since he was mentioned more recently in the thread.

Thanks for confirming 1991. He definitely had some cult status. A few CS members wore those latex bald caps on their heads for his debut. A great day - as I mentioned before - we beat the Hawks at the House of Pain (Princess Park).

farquhar

Milan Faletic - recruited from Port Adelaide
Paul Temay - went to play for Glenelg in 1987 but his flat was broken into and his record collection stolen and broke his jaw in a game. Not a happy time.

Time for goal-kicking practice

farquhar wrote:Paul Temay - went to play for Glenelg in 1987 but his flat was broken into and his record collection stolen and broke his jaw in a game. Not a happy time.
Poor old Temay. Wouldn't have picked him for a record collector. I wonder what his tastes in music were like. Surely, at least comparatively better than the run of the mill footy player if he did have an actual record collection going.

Sainternist wrote:
farquhar wrote:Paul Temay - went to play for Glenelg in 1987 but his flat was broken into and his record collection stolen and broke his jaw in a game. Not a happy time.
Poor old Temay. Wouldn't have picked him for a record collector. I wonder what his tastes in music were like. Surely, at least comparatively better than the run of the mill footy player if he did have an actual record collection going.

I remember kids at school rhyming his name to suggest his record collection was Village people and pet shop boys heavy.

gringo wrote: I remember kids at school rhyming his name to suggest his record collection was Village people and pet shop boys heavy.
"Temay" doesn't rhyme with "extremely poor taste" Image

Seem to recall Melbourne recurited a bloke called "Diamond" Jim Tilbrook, he was mediocre but with a $million status.

[quote="stevie"]Jeff Hilton Hotel

What ever happened to this bloke, I thought he showed a bit.

oldie60

saintbob wrote:
stevie wrote:Jeff Hilton Hotel

went to Melbourne for a few years before being de-listed.Reminded me of Clint Jones but with better skills.

oldie60 wrote:
saintbob wrote:
stevie wrote:Jeff Hilton Hotel

went to Melbourne for a few years before being de-listed.Reminded me of Clint Jones but with better skills.
Joffa Hilton was a far better kick of the ball than CJ. I was disappointed after he left us. I think Tim Allen left at the same time which also felt like a concern in that we were trading away promising youth. Both were touted as great future prospects, neither of whom could really make much of an impact at their new clubs.