Contract extension - Tom Lee

Re: Contract extension - Tom Lee

saintkid wrote:
tony74 wrote:I know most of you won't believe me, but I have stated this quite a few times before. When Tom was drafted they felt he needed 2 full years in the VFL. Nothing really has changed.
Look if he makes it I will gladly say I was wrong about him. You say 2 years in the VFL but both 2013 and 2014 have been injury riddled. If he was 18- 20 years old I would say fair enough but not someone tuning 24 at season's end. Jarryd Allen showed heaps more than him before he was cruelly injured with a freak serious hip injury in the 2008 final against Collingwood. Lee hasn't proven much in the way of ability yet and his body is continually breaking down.

We all have opinions but Jonathan Brown, Roo, Carey, Hawkins and Cloke were killing them at Lee's age. I know he's nowhere near the ability of these players but at his age his suspect shoulder and body issues are always going to have to be carefully managed, so not a good sign going forward after already 2 years being stuck on the sidelines or showing very little in the VFL. His 2014 preseason did not prepare him well so why should 2015 be radically different with further surgery? Look at Cameron Cloke, he went to Carlton and still kept having the same recurring shoulder injuries. Never really made an impact in the end after several years of ongoing shoulder management.

Sorry but the jarrrd Allen hype is one of the biggest myths on this forum.

He was robbed of his opportunity but I didn't see much there and he wasn't dominating before he got injured.

saintkid

saintkid wrote:
tony74 wrote:I know most of you won't believe me, but I have stated this quite a few times before. When Tom was drafted they felt he needed 2 full years in the VFL. Nothing really has changed.
Look if he makes it I will gladly say I was wrong about him. You say 2 years in the VFL but both 2013 and 2014 have been injury riddled. If he was 18- 20 years old I would say fair enough but not someone tuning 24 at season's end. Jarryd Allen showed heaps more than him before he was cruelly injured with a freak serious hip injury in the 2008 final against Collingwood. Lee hasn't proven much in the way of ability yet and his body is continually breaking down.

We all have opinions but Jonathan Brown, Roo, Carey, Hawkins and Cloke were killing them at Lee's age. I know he's nowhere near the ability of these players but at his age his suspect shoulder and body issues are always going to have to be carefully managed, so not a good sign going forward after already 2 years being stuck on the sidelines or showing very little in the VFL. His 2014 preseason did not prepare him well so why should 2015 be radically different with further surgery? Look at Cameron Cloke, he went to Carlton and still kept having the same recurring shoulder injuries. Never really made an impact in the end after several years of ongoing shoulder management.

Sorry but the jarrrd Allen hype is one of the biggest myths on this forum.

He was robbed of his opportunity but I didn't see much there and he wasn't dominating before he got injured.

Spinner, in the seniors true, as he hadn't had much of a chance there given it was a reasonably strong side in 2008 but he did play some pretty good games in the VFL and was a very good mark for those that saw him play at Casey. That's why he was picked for that final against Collingwood, his form was that good.

Oh, the old man just said I should mention he was only 20 at the time, so there was inevitably quite a bit of unfulfilled potential there sadly for him and the club.

If Allen turned out to be any good he would have been a handy decoy to Roo. He would have taken the second or third best backman which would have been helpful. Alas, we'll never know for sure.

All I can say is good luck Tom and I hope you get fit enough to show us what you've got

cwrcyn wrote:All I can say is good luck Tom and I hope you get fit enough to show us what you've got

Agree.

Does us no good to talk the guy down. He does have ability and he's in an age group we need more of. I too hope he gets the chance to show us his best, whatever that may be.

cwrcyn wrote:All I can say is good luck Tom and I hope you get fit enough to show us what you've got

Agree.

Does us no good to talk the guy down. He does have ability and he's in an age group we need more of. I too hope he gets the chance to show us his best, whatever that may be.

On the second part I have felt the last two years we have been too focused on this age group stuff.

Yes our list is suffering because of it but we can lose sight of the more important aspects of recruiting. Sometimes feel like age is the most important thing!

Agree.

What ability do you mean?
To be an obvious dud??

Why do we make a habit of recruiting so many project players. I get it with White as he's only 19.

But friggin Lee is early 20's already and has shown nothing. I'd piss him off at the end of this year.

I'm a big fan of Tom Lee, but I must say that this two year extension does surprise me. Given all the circumstances, I would have thought a one year extension would have been fine to start with, as no one is likely to go poaching Tom. So clearly there are people at the club other than Cuddles who rate Tom highly.

Anyway, now it's time for Tom to knuckle down to his rehab, and then his training. I assume the shoulder surgery wouldn't prevent him from running for too long, so here's your chance to build that tank Tom. Once the shoulder is settled, it's weights time.

I would not be playing Tom again at any level
till he's had the chance to correct the fitness and strength issues that IMHO have clearly held him back.

The club has shown great faith in you, so I reckon it's now payback time. And I reckon you are good enough... so don't die wondering Tom. :idea:

He may have had two years but it seems plausible that he has not been able to function because of his shoulders.

I world presume our medical staff and specialist doctors would inform the club that they believed he could get back to having a soild pair of shoulders, followed by two full pre seasons on them.
He is also of the age demographic that we lack.

I'm with tony74

supersaints wrote:He is also of the age demographic that we lack.
Not really. The group we lack are 25 to 29 year olds. At 23, Lee is within a year of Roberton, Hickey, Savage, Stanley, Shenton, Simpkin, Steven and Dunell; two years of Delaney, Weller, Markworth, Bruce, Curren and Siposs.

In fact I'd say he's smack bang in the middle of the group who need to be our experienced core when we're next challenging in about four or five years. From that point of view, it makes sense to give him every possible chance to make it - even though he looks pretty unlikely at this point.

supersaints wrote:He may have had two years but it seems plausible that he has not been able to function because of his shoulders.

I world presume our medical staff and specialist doctors would inform the club that they believed he could get back to having a soild pair of shoulders, followed by two full pre seasons on them.
He is also of the age demographic that we lack.

I'm with tony74
+1. Hope he makes it.

Dragit said :
It's pretty simple, he had other offers which would have trumped a 1 year deal from us... If we wanted to keep him, we needed to give him 2 years, which isn't a big deal?
Love him or hate him, along with Stanley he's currently our most promising key forward under 30. Until we have a handful if better options we need to retain Lee.
Any young key forwards we draft will be years away from holding up our forward line.
That sounds about right to me, assuming that you are in the know about another offer. The other "chance" would be if we could get a Riewoldt from Richmond, or someone similar - but it's only a "chance."

My guess is they probably are trying to build his confidence by showing faith because of the baggers.

gringo wrote:My guess is they probably are trying to build his confidence by showing faith because of the baggers.
To be fair, when the coach subbed him so early vs the cats, that's not confidence building

arpstk

I am wondering how many saying negative stuff get down to training and around the club? The players and staff know who has potential from training and if Lee was no good he would've been gone already...Hasn't starred at AFL level yet...well he's not alone there!

Dave McNamara wrote:I'm a big fan of Tom Lee, but I must say that this two year extension does surprise me. Given all the circumstances, I would have thought a one year extension would have been fine to start with, as no one is likely to go poaching Tom. So clearly there are people at the club other than Cuddles who rate Tom highly.

Anyway, now it's time for Tom to knuckle down to his rehab, and then his training. I assume the shoulder surgery wouldn't prevent him from running for too long, so here's your chance to build that tank Tom. Once the shoulder is settled, it's weights time.

I would not be playing Tom again at any level
till he's had the chance to correct the fitness and strength issues that IMHO have clearly held him back.

The club has shown great faith in you, so I reckon it's now payback time. And I reckon you are good enough... so don't die wondering Tom. :idea:

Fitness and strength and the discipline to stick to a diet that is needed to be a success. Do the work and make the commitment to give yourself every opportunity. It's your call Tom

andrewg

I think he will be a handy player for the saints..worth the extension.

ill laugh if he comes top ten afl forward in the next 3 or 4 years
then peanuts like perfectionist can look like a dill

matrix wrote:ill laugh if he comes top ten afl forward in the next 3 or 4 years
then peanuts like perfectionist can look like a dill
Won't happen.

There seems to be an attitude by supporters (and sometimes I think the coach)that any player coming into the team should be a game-winning champion with no flaws..sorry guys it doesn't work like that. If Lee can get his upper body right in the off-season and get to peak fitness, then he can be a useful player for us. He played some good games under Watters, can take a grab and kick goals, so no reason to think he can't get it happening again.

i love it how everyone is so flippant about what would be sufficent contract length of a player ... remember we are bottom of the ladder team offering contracts that are going to be insulting to players is only going to have a mass exodus from the club ... remember this is a job for the players so i would say a two year job security was the key factor in Lee staying ifwe offered him a 1 year contract he could prob get better security playing WAFL ... you gotta remember players are people too and the club neds them just as much as they need the club

st_Trav_ofWA wrote:i love it how everyone is so flippant about what would be sufficent contract length of a player ... remember we are bottom of the ladder team offering contracts that are going to be insulting to players is only going to have a mass exodus from the club ... remember this is a job for the players so i would say a two year job security was the key factor in Lee staying ifwe offered him a 1 year contract he could prob get better security playing WAFL ... you gotta remember players are people too and the club neds them just as much as they need the club
But he's a likely dud. Give him 1 year at most and performance based incentives. If he wants 2 years in the hack WAFL comp then good luck to him.

st_Trav_ofWA wrote:i love it how everyone is so flippant about what would be sufficent contract length of a player ... remember we are bottom of the ladder team offering contracts that are going to be insulting to players is only going to have a mass exodus from the club ... remember this is a job for the players so i would say a two year job security was the key factor in Lee staying ifwe offered him a 1 year contract he could prob get better security playing WAFL ... you gotta remember players are people too and the club neds them just as much as they need the club

Come on St trav. His dream is obviously AFL footy and he is probably on 150K next season. If he went to the WAFL he probably get 30K. As if he is going to stuff you Saints, you only gave me one year so im not taking it. At the moment sandy are the only ones needing Lee and even then he has mostly struggled.

As we've stated over and over, we aren't going to take any free agents in the next 2 years… so you'd think in 2016 Lee, Stanley & White will be our only key forwards ready for AFL footy.

He's kicked goals & the club obviously rate him… not sure why the angst about 2 years.

he prob could get that from another AFL club as well ... fact is what we fans see as the worth of a player is often very differant to what AFL clubs do ... like Stanley we might have those fans who dont rate these players but clubs will especially guys who are youngish and are tall ...
lets be honest its not like we signed him to a 5 year deal like we did with Hamill 2 years is prob the lowest contract a player his age is getting as one year deals are usually only for older players or those who are risks ... Tom is neither of those