Hayes to retire

Re: Hayes to retire

Sad to hear but it happens to all of them (and us).

How many games has Lenny played in the ressies? Will that bunk him up to 300 games by the end of the year (I think they count when they talk about the 300 club or am I wrong)?

Jacks Back wrote:Sad to hear but it happens to all of them (and us).

How many games has Lenny played in the ressies? Will that bunk him up to 300 games by the end of the year (I think they count when they talk about the 300 club or am I wrong)?

No they dont but he is already an AFL life member which is 300 senior games including Pre season and international games.

philtee

I don't think this has been posted lately...

philtee wrote:I don't think this has been posted lately...

My favourite moment of him. Went up there for the first game and my ex wanted to kill Arch. No idea why it was a great hit and lenny took as he has taken every hit since.

dascman

I've written a tribute to Lenny on my blog, which can be seen here: http://www.thewobblypoint.com.au/2014/0 ... /not-lenny

One of the hardest posts I've had to write. An ornament to the club and the competition.

Megamaguire

L E N N Y H A Y E S

Lenny has been an absolute rock for us Sainters and it is a sobering thought to contemplate him not being around to play in the red, white and black after 2014.
Enormous presence, commitment and inspiration highlighted what Lenny brought to ST.Kilda Football Club. For someone that inspirational he has only impressed for been so refreshingly very down to earth and humble. Rooey spoke v. well of Lenny today and reminded many of us just what a clear and guiding effort he brought to our team.
I feel fortunate to have witnessed Lenny regularly give his all for our club. Having Lenny Hayes at St. Kilda made me feel even better about following the Sainters. I can say I never took Lenny for granted and regularly thanked the footy gods for delivering him to our club.
I wish Lenny and his family all the very best in the years to come. It has been an honour supporting him. :D

The boy can play and we can build a defence around him that will have respect.

Too bad for Lenny he didn't get a flag...

Great Saints player....

I wonder who snaffles him as a coach next year..

Image for every Journo--- saw some wearing them

http://commercial.aflphotos.com.au/phot ... ection:AFL 2014 Media - St Kilda Press Conference 150714&sub_code=all

Tears on Jack's eyes, and Milney's
as I saw in another of the young guys in one photo--

When I was at the JO training early this year he came up and signed my 8 year olds cards and other stuff then offered to go and get signatures from any players he didn't have in person. he listened to our stories and my boy talking to him. Plenty of players ran off as quick as they could including Rooey but Lenny gave heaps of unrushed time to every person there with respect and with out a touch of annoyance or arrogance. Sums the guy up. A gentleman that would be an ornament to any club, business or family.

AdelaideSainter

Legend. Thanks for the many memories.

Well I'm gutted. I guess it's one of those announcements you knew had to come one day..but you hoped it just wouldn't, ever.

What can you say about Lenny Hayes. The guy had ice in his veins, he was as tough as nails, skill to burn & a thorough gentleman of the game. Damn I'm going to miss Lenny Hayes.

sMarty_saints

Going to miss seeing him in the red white and black...but I have been priviledged to watch some great footballers...Plugger, Winmar, Burke, Loewe, Harvs, Hayes, Riewoldt (David Grant...I had a crush on him...) and so the journey ends for one player and I look forward with anticipation of seeing the next star/s in the red, white and black. Thanks for your contribution and loyalty to the Saints Lenny!! If he stays in a coaching role next year would be fantastic to see him still with the Saints...and maybe he can put the jumper on for 3 games to get to 300 (I know wishful thinking)...if anyone deserves it..he certainly does.

Spud
Location: Near the You Yangs, or as my wife used to call it, the Dugongs.

Not unexpected. I hoped he would go on one more year. All the best for your future Lenny you are a champ and a true gentleman!

My family and friends are sick of saying so it's time for others to annoy people

darylcowie

Too many courageous and skillful acts to remember anything in particular, but I think Lenny's 2012 season back after his second knee reco says it all, determined, disciplined, team-oriented and an absolute inspiration to all Sainters.

I think he even finished in the top 5 in the Brownlow that year at 32 years old!

Still in our top 5 players even now and going out completely on his own terms, what a humble champion, just like his great mate Harvs.

its time to make a name for yourself like you've never made before!