How relieved was the AFL when ...

... Priddis plucked two votes at the death to avoid the embarrassment of an ineligible playing "winning".
To prevent a third player joining the rogue gallery with McKernan and Grant.

Linton Street Saint

Re: How relieved was the AFL when ...

Thought the same, look I am stoked for the bloke. Consistent, but worst Brownlow medalist since Woewodin ?

Linton Street Saint wrote:Thought the same, look I am stoked for the bloke. Consistent, but worst Brownlow medalist since Woewodin ?
Yes, or Brian Wilson if you want to go back a bit further!

$41 odds at the start of the night. Says it all really...

But at least he seems like a genuinely good and humble guy - so I'm happy for him.

disagree

his 2nd suspension removed that

well done to Priddis......a better version of clint jones

a woewodin year
Last edited by chook23 on Mon 22 Sep 2014 11:58pm, edited 1 time in total.

Perhaps they give votes for appealing for free kicks?

How many of his votes came from games in Perth?

Linton Street Saint wrote:Thought the same, look I am stoked for the bloke. Consistent, but worst Brownlow medalist since Woewodin ?
Did Priddis also get "dietary" advice from Shane Charters ???

Seems like a ripper bloke. He just trolled the entire afl. Bruce was like "wtf?".

Enrico_Misso wrote:
Yes, or Brian Wilson if you want to go back a bit further!
Libba? Never made an AA side and didn't even win his own club's B&F in his Brownlow year.

Well done. Can look for faults but got the most disposals, the third most tackles and the second most clearances. Ans uses the ball better than it looks.

busso mick

Old Mate wrote:Seems like a ripper bloke. He just trolled the entire afl. Bruce was like "wtf?".
He is a great bloke who did it the hard way. Full credit to Peter German who gave him a chance at Subiaco. Certainly not the most gifted of footballers but one of the hardest working.

Agree sore losers
Worthy winner as were all the players at the pointy end of the leaderboard

On the Bench
Location: Perth. Where Foxtel has now allowed me to watch my beloved Saints each week.

Living over here in the West, I go to all the Eagles home games. In my humble little opinion, Prid's a worthy winner. His in and under work week in week out is phenomenal, he is not flashy, doesn't ever break lines but he gets the ball out and to a team mate in a better position.

He is a beaudy.

I am still hurting from 71;
my gut churns thinking of 97;
2009 was agony,
2010a was a pleasure to watch only to be devastated by 2010 b.
It hurts barracking for the Saints
Liam_G

Priddis is an absolute worthy winner. One of the most consistent players in the AFL. Doesn't get the attention over here in the East like other "darlings" from Vic clubs. Personally, I was the only one at my workplace to call Priddis as my expected winner a few weeks back at the end of the season.

plugger66 wrote:Well done. Can look for faults but got the most disposals, the third most tackles and the second most clearances. Ans uses the ball better than it looks.
Not sure about the last sentence. Cotchin like in disposal efficiency. He's the Eagles own Clint Jones. But then, I always thought Clint Jones was a good player, despite his ball use.
Good on Priddis!

Well I for one am not going to be a hypocrite. I reckin the bloke stages for frees. There, I feel better now.

plugger66 wrote:Well done. Can look for faults but got the most disposals, the third most tackles and the second most clearances. Ans uses the ball better than it looks.

Ducks his head and plays for free kicks more than anybody in the league.

In essence he is a cheat.

Fidelis

Anyone who polls in 13 games is fine with me

Faithful Even Unto Death

busso mick wrote:
Old Mate wrote:Seems like a ripper bloke. He just trolled the entire afl. Bruce was like "wtf?".
He is a great bloke who did it the hard way. Full credit to Peter German who gave him a chance at Subiaco. Certainly not the most gifted of footballers but one of the hardest working.

Some supporters cannot be gracious and can only find the negative. Great win IMHO to a very humble athlete.

loris wrote:
busso mick wrote:

Some supporters cannot be gracious and can only find the negative. Great win IMHO to a very humble athlete.

maybe loris, but the award is the Fairest and Best.

With his diving, and ducking and playing for free kicks, I personally don't believe he is the Fairest.

I think it lessens the Brownlow to have a cheat win it.

I don't really care if he's a great bloke or not… but I wouldn't have him in the best 30 players in the comp, brownlow's don't always go to the very best players… this is another one IMO.

Good luck to him though, a great highlight for his career.
Last edited by dragit on Tue 23 Sep 2014 1:18pm, edited 1 time in total.

about 6 blokes at work last night said
"who?...who does he play for?"

lol
must say i was a bit shocked
picked selwood and kennedy for second
Last edited by matrix on Tue 23 Sep 2014 1:50pm, edited 1 time in total.

loris wrote:
busso mick wrote:

With his diving, and ducking and playing for free kicks, I personally don't believe he is the Fairest.

What a joke of a comment. Just because you don't rate him as a player, you have to then label him a cheat??

Disgraceful comment from a bloke who should know better (or maybe not)

Moods wrote:
loris wrote:
busso mick wrote:

What a joke of a comment. Just because you don't rate him as a player, you have to then label him a cheat??

Disgraceful comment from a bloke who should know better (or maybe not)
Exactly not sure how playing for free kicks is cheating, please explain

Not sure why people get so upset with the winner, the medal has always had faults and issues with who wins, plently of champions have not

To me it is like the Melbourne Cup, a fantastic event, a winner who sometimes comes from nowhere and is not fancied, yet a winner who will always be remembered

" A few will never give up on you. When you go back out on the field, those are the people I want in your minds. Those are the people I want in your hearts."

— Coach Eric Taylor - Friday Night Lights