Good luck to The Big Boy

Re: Good luck to The Big Boy

Enrico_Misso wrote:Good luck to The Big Boy
You can't barrack for Sydney without supporting the inequality in the AFL system.

So you must (even begrudgingly) support Hawthorn.

And Big Mac didn't want to leave Saints, has never said a bad word against Saints.

So good luck to him.

Saints43 wrote:
Enrico_Misso wrote:Good luck to The Big Boy
You can't barrack for Sydney without supporting the inequality in the AFL system.

So you must (even begrudgingly) support Hawthorn.

And Big Mac didn't want to leave Saints, has never said a bad word against Saints.

So good luck to him.

Agreed, was sorta gunna barrack for Sydney because they are the AFL parasite with their million $ COLA so they can systematically cheat. As others have stated it is like a null year when nobody wins because Sydney is the AFL Admin team.

That was until I saw all the smug Sydney supporters out today in their brand new Sydney gear pretending to be AFL supporters.

patently unfair they can use an extra mill to buy premierships.

Sydney are the Carlton of the 21st century.

Who will they buy this trade period if they don't win tomorrow?

Dangerfield?
Ryder?
Beams?

All three? Really this cheating has to stop. For the integrity of the game, it just has to stop.

Saint wagga

st_Trav_ofWA wrote:saint Wagga i somewhat disagree with your comment ... i think BJ was prepared to take on a leadership role with the club and help the rebuild working with the young guys but i think it was a decision from the club that considering the price tag of a player like BJ and the compo we would recieve from letting him go it was going to be a win for us to let him go ..

i reckon BJ would have loved nothing more than to have stayed at the saints and been a one club player but the truth of it was he was only ever going to get well below his market value playing for us and we were only interested in keeping him if he was going to come cheap so we parted ways ...

sad to see him go but he didnt exactly dog us as some fans will have you believe
I"m happy to stand corrected on this one St Trav - only really going on my take on the media spin, his body language etc...

Andreous

Great first half from Big Boy!!!!!!!!! Playing exactly the role he was recruited for!!!

Really happy for him! Almost feels like the saints are part of the premiership

He's lost a lot of weight, so moves better.

Looks like the trade was win-win after all. Keep it up Ben!

nice work big boy

weird the way things turn out

Good luck to The Big Boy

No doubt some will try to depict this as a mistake by the Saints. After all, we are pretty easy to pick on.

However the reality is there was no error of judgement.

The Hawks would've won the flag today even without McEvoy. And he would probably never have helped us win one if we had've kept him.

Anyways, well done Ben
Last edited by Dr Spaceman on Sat 27 Sep 2014 6:18pm, edited 1 time in total.

bbm

Never really rated his tap out work but today he was really good in the middle and around the ground very imposing. Good luck to him though!

Very happy to see Benny Mac get that medallion around his neck, and he spoke very well with Lingy.

Good on you Macca, well deserved.

Well done Ben. Congratulations matey.

A few sour grape posts here - the fact is Hawthorn recruit well & trade bravely
And mcevoy had a massive impact in that 2nd quarter to setup the win
A quality person and im really happy he got his chance

20th ex Saint to leave and become a premiership player. Thats the same number of actual Saints premiership players. :oops: :oops: :?

Hasn't it changed though? I mean, a premiership and its value.

Winning a flag, was once a team thing. But now, it's clearly an individual honour! Which is weird.

This new fad of leaving your mates cause you want success, is just so far removed from what is used to be its not funny. You never used to say 'I won a flag', you'd say 'we won a flag'. But now the 'we' but is almost irrelevant.

Dudes would happily bail out on their mates to win a flag, whereas once upon a time a flag was only of value because your mates were in it with you.

I just think this 'this is what you play footy for' thing is different nowadays. You used to play footy to win a flag with your mates. Now just winning one, with or without your mates is the goal.

His second quarter was something, I didn't think he had it in him.

Swans flag was on the back of Mumford and Pyke.

Double teamed and lost.

Lucky fella as not many win one of those medals.

Johnny Member wrote:Hasn't it changed though? I mean, a premiership and its value.

Winning a flag, was once a team thing. But now, it's clearly an individual honour! Which is weird.

This new fad of leaving your mates cause you want success, is just so far removed from what is used to be its not funny. You never used to say 'I won a flag', you'd say 'we won a flag'. But now the 'we' but is almost irrelevant.

Dudes would happily bail out on their mates to win a flag, whereas once upon a time a flag was only of value because your mates were in it with you.

I just think this 'this is what you play footy for' thing is different nowadays. You used to play footy to win a flag with your mates. Now just winning one, with or without your mates is the goal.
Perhaps.

But it was not Ben's idea to swap clubs....so your post does not apply to him.

Good luck to him.

Dr Spaceman wrote:No doubt some will try to depict this as a mistake by the Saints. After all, we are pretty easy to pick on.

However the reality is there was no error of judgement.

The Hawks would've won the flag today even without McEvoy. And he would probably never have helped us win one if we had've kept him.

Anyways, well done Ben Image
Yes good luck to Ben getting a GF Medallion. Compensation for being moved on against his will.

However from a trade point of view the deal was exceptionally good for our future. I am still of the view that he can only generally play well against the lesser rucks in the AFL.

Johnny Member wrote:Hasn't it changed though? I mean, a premiership and its value.

Perhaps.

But it was not Ben's idea to swap clubs....so your post does not apply to him.

Good luck to him.

Applies to him in the sense that everyone is congratulating him
on winning a flag.

Whereas some could be excused for thinking its be a real hollow feeling for him considering although he won a flag, he didn't do it with his mates.

Just seems weird to me.

I get where you're coming from.

The romantic "lets make a pact and see it through" is gone.

No doubt.

Winning a flag is now no. 1.

If your mates are with you or not now seems almost irrelevant.

Johnny Member wrote:No doubt.

Couldnt disagree more..

This is exactly why Hawks just went back to back, and I hope beyond hope that we are approaching it the exact same way..

What if I told you I bought a Hawks membership this year?

Can I now go driving up and down the street honking the horn with my Horks flag hanging out the window?

I can. But it's not really what it's about, is it.

Well done Ben .... Good to see the trade worked out for you ( and for the Saints)

Sobraz wrote:
Johnny Member wrote:No doubt.

Couldnt disagree more..

This is exactly why Hawks just went back to back, and I hope beyond hope that we are approaching it the exact same way..

But you're right. This is exactly why Hawthorn won the flag.

Hawthorn footy club. Training at Waverley. Playing at the MCG. Half their home games in Tassie.

Full back and CHB from different clubs. Both Ruckman, medium forward, and their best utility in Burgoyne all from other clubs. Coach from Port via North, Melbourne and the Saints. Assistants from Carlton and other clubs.

That's modern AFL footy.

Footy 'loyalty' does not exist. Hasn't for years.

I've said many times - the only people left that are still foolish enough to believe in loyalty in football are the fans.

It's a business.

Congrats Big Mac. A mighty achievement for any player. He wasn't a star but worked hard and beat his opponent.