RIP Robbie Flower

avid

Re: RIP Robbie Flower

Vazelos wrote:I met Robboe about 8 years ago & I always loved him as a player, one of my favourites & alongside Keith Grieg the best wingman I ever saw. He was a ripper bloke, a gentlemen. He told me some great stories that day: having his jaw broken by Robbie Muir; interstate trips with Trevor Barker who had his hands full with the ladies, rooming with the flying doormat bruce Doul etc. Shattered with this news, another gone from that 1987 side alongside Wight and Stynes. RIP Robert Flower
The jaw incident happened right in front of me at moorabbin -- and although Mad Dog was one of my favourate Saints ever, it was NOT a happy moment. Robbie Flower was probably my most favourite non-Saints footballer-- just loved the way he played -- fair, courageous and brilliant. And skinny -- all skill, all dedication to his club. Sad news.

Always gave his time to the school my Grandaughter attended; Murrumbeena Primary, where he was adored. RIP. :-(

Schillaci

Sad news. Loved him as an opposition player. Skilful, loyal and fair. Another great who has left us too early.

Avid, he told me Carl Ditterich who was playing for Melbourne at the time was going to murder Muir and it was one of the few times in Muir ' s career he feared for his life. Big Carl was baying for his blood. A low act against a champion ball player.

Sad news and condolences to his family and friends. Loved watching his skills on TV as a kid.

A great player in a poor side. He was a delight to watch. Playing the Demons back then was the opposition team vs Flower. Great skills, great mark, hard to tackle, courageous and very fair, all while being built like a piece of straw.

Sad news.

Met him a few times through sons footy with my club.Nice guy.Very sad news RIP

Sad news indeed. I can still hear his rendition of 'Macho Man' on the "Footy Favourites" album

Con Gorozidis wrote:Check out this video.
Just unbelievable . Has to be seen to be believed. How do you like his left and right everything. Wow.

Terrific interview as well

Wow his lateral movement was like Harves and Lenny but moved across the ground like silk. I forgot how good he was.

Terrible news. He died far too young for someone who seemed so healthy. What is it with former Melbourne greats passing away so young? Melbourne FC just seems to be constantly dogged with rotten luck these days.
I attended a footy clinic as a young lad in 1987 and Flower took the clinic for a day. He had nothing but sound advice for us youngsters and seemed like a really good person.

RIP Tulip

very sorry to hear that news....brilliant player...fair too,,,rip mate....another saint in heaven...even though he was a demon....

stinger wrote:very sorry to hear that news....brilliant player...fair too,,,rip mate....another saint in heaven...even though he was a demon....
That's the thing - such a fair player, no ego and a great talent. So many players today could take a leaf out of the book of Robert Flower.

Sainternist wrote:
stinger wrote:very sorry to hear that news....brilliant player...fair too,,,rip mate....another saint in heaven...even though he was a demon....
That's the thing - such a fair player, no ego and a great talent. So many players today could take a leaf out of the book of Robert Flower.

Do many really have egos though and most are certainly much fairer than back in Robbies day.

Sainternist wrote:

Do many really have egos though and most are certainly much fairer than back in Robbies day.
Maybe Plugger. Although there is a lot more money in it today, therefore egos can pose a problem. But at the end of the day, any player could take a leaf out of his book in terms of conducting themselves on and off the football field.

Sainternist wrote:

Maybe Plugger. Although there is a lot more money in it today, therefore egos can pose a problem. But at the end of the day, any player could take a leaf out of his book in terms of conducting themselves on and off the football field.

Yep they could. Apparently a great man from those I know who knew him.

bigballs

Very sad to hear of Robbie's passing. One of my favorite players to watch back in his days.

R.I.P. mate!!

well done to the AFL for the Minutes silence for Robbie at the Draft combine this morning
http://www.afl.com.au/video/2014-10-03/ ... -to-flower

RIP to Melbourne's Trevor Barker.

It's a disgrace he only won one B&F, but like a lot of things in the 70's and 80's, the process was heavily corrupted it seems from what they said on SEN yesterday.

I wonder who will be our official representative at the funeral.
Should be someone very senior.

Enrico_Misso wrote:I wonder who will be our official representative at the funeral.
Should be someone very senior.
It should be that old battleaxe that calls SEN.

She's just a supporter but represents loyalty over many years like he did.

Ivy :roll:

farquhar

Robbie Flower was also brilliant in state games. He won a game for the Vics against SA at Football Park by kicking 3 goals late in the last quarter to snatch the win. Easily best on ground.

Time for goal-kicking practice

A typically poignant, real piece from Martin Flanagan in the Age. This part in particular really resonated:

"We are now in the era of free agency, which is going to lead to the competition dividing into first-world clubs and third-world clubs. To the players utilising free-agency rules, I'd like to say there is something you'll never know. You'll never know the feeling people have for Robbie Flower. You're a professional sportsman and you'll be cheered for winning performances and, if you're lucky, you'll get professional satisfaction from your efforts. But you'll never receive the gratitude and respect, the depth of feeling, that's going to be at the MCG on Monday at 2pm when people gather for Robbie Flower.

Ironically, Paul Kelly's 1986 piece about Flower was ultimately an intimation of mortality. It concluded: "Flower did many good things that day, directing traffic along his wing in statesmanlike fashion. But somewhere up in the stands, a man thought of time and death and diminishing age and on the fence two young boys in red and blue scarves and beanies were cheering younger, fresher-faced heroes
."

Read more: http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/t ... z3FppF6lAt