Why McCartin was a logical choice

Re: Why McCartin was a logical choice

johng wrote:We took McCartin because we got scared off by seeing what the bulldogs had to pay for a key forward.
There wil be another petracca next year and the year after that and after that.
Silly if true. Schulz and Josh Kennedy kicked 127 goals between them last year. Doubt either is on a huge wage.

Dogs took a huge punt on Boyd. But im not convinced one deal means that is a benchmark for everyone for evermore. Look at what GWS paid for Scully.
and look how great he is. We know who's smiling with that deal

magnifisaint wrote:
johng wrote:We took McCartin because we got scared off by seeing what the bulldogs had to pay for a key forward.
There wil be another petracca next year and the year after that and after that.
Silly if true. Schulz and Josh Kennedy kicked 127 goals between them last year. Doubt either is on a huge wage.

Dogs took a huge punt on Boyd. But im not convinced one deal means that is a benchmark for everyone for evermore. Look at what GWS paid for Scully.
and look how great he is. We know who's smiling with that deal
yeah scully is. thats my whole point.

Exactly!
Franklin is a proven forward just as Ablett is a proven midfielder - they deserved to set the renumeration bench mark in their respective roles, whereas Boyd may just turn out be another speculative Scully and should not be considered a precedent.

Who deserves to be paid more - a Franklin or an Ablett?
Last edited by samoht on Fri 12 Dec 2014 7:51am, edited 1 time in total.

samoht wrote:
Exactly!
Franklin is a proven forward just as Ablett is a proven midfielder - they deserve to set the renumeration bench mark in their respective roles, whereas Boyd may just turn out be another speculative Scully and should not be considered a precedent.

Neither.

samoht wrote:
Exactly!
Franklin is a proven forward just as Ablett is a proven midfielder - they deserve to set the renumeration bench mark in their respective roles, whereas Boyd may just turn out be another speculative Scully and should not be considered a precedent.

Neither.
Exactly. Forwards are not setting the benchmark.

and I meant remuneration .. in case someone corrects me :wink: !

Goddard Magic

What woud you expect in the next year or two when some of those younger Bulldog players have to negotiate new contracts and they look at how much the club is paying for Boyd - more trouble looming IMO.

Goddard Magic wrote:What woud you expect in the next year or two when some of those younger Bulldog players have to negotiate new contracts and they look at how much the club is paying for Boyd - more trouble looming IMO.

Im not sure that really happens. I reckon players only care if they are getting the right money and don't really care what others get. Don't think it happened at GWS with Scully.

Goddard Magic wrote:What woud you expect in the next year or two when some of those younger Bulldog players have to negotiate new contracts and they look at how much the club is paying for Boyd - more trouble looming IMO.

Im not sure that really happens. I reckon players only care if they are getting the right money and don't really care what others get. Don't think it happened at GWS with Scully.
I reckon there were plenty of reports when BJ left saying that he developed his game through the times when Roo was getting one million or so a year and when it was his turn for a big contract put up his hand and we weren't interested.

I know plenty of information has come out about why we baulked, about bonuses and the state of our salary cap - but I do believe there is some merit to the original comment regarding Boyd. Having said that, I don't think they have that many dead set a graders, it's more an even spread with maybe Macrae, Libba, Bont and maybe Stringer capable of going to that next level.

When their is no money left to them they do care.

johng

Boyd not a huge gamble .the guy is a gun .Im just saying to get a Boyd type at our club eg Jeremy Cameron, that is the type of money we are going to have to pay.we don't have it and I can't see that we will ever have that type of money.to use on one player

johng wrote:Boyd not a huge gamble .the guy is a gun .Im just saying to get a Boyd type at our club eg Jeremy Cameron, that is the type of money we are going to have to pay.we don't have it and I can't see that we will ever have that type of money.to use on one player

What do you mean we don't have it? There is a SC that must be paid. Of course we have it, its whether we think one player is worth that much.

Lee, Paddy, Rooey, Membrey, White, Payne, Goddard, Bruce, resting ruck.

Considering we are in a major development stage.

The 9 potential names I've listed could all be busts, but I'm keen on giving them a chance first.

We are bound to be bottom or second last in 2015.

Parish and Mathesion are supposed to be as good as Petracca.

We will nab one of them.

there's only one argument as to whether or not this was the most logical choice, and that is whether or not he was the best player

there's evidence to suggest he was... evidence to suggest he was number 2

jury is out

skeptic wrote:there's only one argument as to whether or not this was the most logical choice, and that is whether or not he was the best player

there's evidence to suggest he was... evidence to suggest he was number 2

jury is out

Well that means the jury is still out on Petracca as well then and every player taken in the draft.

Bunk_Moreland wrote:We are bound to be bottom or second last in 2015.

We will nab one of them.
'Coming out of the footy factory down there in Geelong'

We will nab one of them.
If they're not from Oakleigh we won't touch them.

evo

We will nab one of them.

I thought Petracca was " a once in a generation player " :roll:

We will nab one of them.

Well apparently you only have a 'good character' and are a 'good person' from a 'great family' if you live within 100km so our recruiting staff can pop in for tea and scones.

If you live further away than that you are clearly a complete dick-head and all your family are drug dealers and perverts. :wink:

(p.s wed probably pass on Roo on Lenny now because our recruiters wouldnt have been able to get around to their house enough times for afternoon tea.)
Last edited by Con Gorozidis on Sat 13 Dec 2014 6:43pm, edited 1 time in total.

evo wrote:

We will nab one of them.

That would make him better than Judd

We will nab one of them.

Well apparently you only have a 'good character' and are a 'good person' from a 'great family' if you live within 100km so our recruiting staff can pop in for tea and scones.

If you live further away than that you are clearly a complete dick-head and all your family are drug dealers and perverts. :wink:
well...if you come from sth aussie...or tassie for that matter............ :wink: :wink: :wink: :wink: :wink: :twisted:

crippsy

magnifisaint wrote:
evo wrote:

We will nab one of them.

Or ablett.. swan... hayes... riewoldt... cousins...

Aaron fiora was a once in a generation player aswell so was watts and kruezer

crippsy wrote:
magnifisaint wrote:
evo wrote:

We will nab one of them.

The wakelins weren't.

crippsy wrote:
magnifisaint wrote:
evo wrote:

We will nab one of them.

The wakelins weren't.
Touché Image