I See The Future And I Like What I Am Seeing

Now before anyone points fingers or makes accusations. I am not getting carried away.

No sir.

In fact hardly at all pretty much sums it up. One swallow does not a summer make. I think a porn star may have said that once but you get my drift.

This may end up being the only win we have all season.

And if it is, I don’t care. Hang on. Let me say that again. I don’t care.

The reason I don’t is simple. We are getting better. No doubt about it. And I am loving it. In the past two weeks we have had a couple of stand out..... No, make that break out moments.

Josh Bruce’s mark. Wow is all I have to say. The best mark that I have seen a St Kilda player take since that Trevor Barker screamer way back when. And for those too young to remember, go ask your father.

Bruce was showing signs of something last year but so far, in 2015, he is delivering. Today was another notch on the belt. No make that one step along the road. He booted six today and marked everything that came his way. He has a sensational pair of hands. GSW will be regretting they ever let him slip away. Love the way he is playing.

We have a team to get excited about. We really do. That Jack Lonie, he is a ripper. Last week against GWS, he did one thing that took my breath away. A pivot, a dummy, a swivel and then a lace out delivery. It was pure class.

And now I know why Emma Quayle got excited about him and thought he was a better prospect than Caleb Daniel. She was right. I was wrong.

And what about that Jack Sinclair? That kid looks right at home in the AFL. Looks like he’s been playing at an elite level all his life. Then you can add Newnes and Billings and Curren. Yes I like Curren.

In the two’s today Paddy McCartin kicked four, Hugh Goddard had another great game as did McKenzie. If you want to know our future, if you want to see our future it is these young kids. Templeton 26 possessions in the twos, Acres and maybe even the kid from NZ and our resident American.

Like I said, we may only win one game this season but if we keep showing signs of something promising and good then maybe, just maybe, we’ll be in the show come September two thousand and a couple of years from now. Ok maybe I’m getting carried away.

But I do love this football club and always will. I can't help it, with its pleasure and pain in equal measure.

Go sainters.
Last edited by damienc on Sun 12 Apr 2015 8:27am, edited 3 times in total.

sasaint

Re: I See The Future And I Like What I Am Seeing

+1 :D

Patience young grasshopper

+ me

Hey, did we win?

At the time of writing (eight hours after the game) there's not a thing on the Heard Sun's footy page about the game.

Plenty about the Swans and the Crowbots and the Woofers though.

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl

Its amazing what a win does and a couple of losses does to the fixture. 2 days ago we were probably $3.50 against the pies now we are probably $2.20 and against the Blues we were probably $3.00 and now we should be $1.80. We honestly could be 3 and one and if we are I wont to apologise to all out there who had the courage and the insight to say we could win 6 games or more. I really do hope im saying sorry in 13 days.

Joe Bloggs

Plugger is sorry everyone . :shock:

Pluggs, Good to see you got up on the right side of the bed!!!

Welcome back from the dark side

plugger66 wrote:Its amazing what a win does and a couple of losses does to the fixture. 2 days ago we were probably $3.50 against the pies now we are probably $2.20 and against the Blues we were probably $3.00 and now we should be $1.80. We honestly could be 3 and one and if we are I wont to apologise to all out there who had the courage and the insight to say we could win 6 games or more. I really do hope im saying sorry in 13 days.

Having Geary, Fisher , Armo and Steven back helps. last year we really struggled with injury. I figured there should be some improvement but that was beyond improvement that was pure will power. Anyone who doubts the qualities of a player like Geary to bring a winning mentality to the team should watch that game. I saw young Lonie grab Ablett after a chase down and put him on the ground after running him down. When you see Geary who is the build of an icy pole-stick adhere himself to Ablett all day and actually curtail him it gives confidence to all.

pffft
we all know the dark side has better chocolate chip cookies
stop dreaming over there in la la light land
8-)

looks good huh
dunny bills lonie sinclair acres bruce eli
plus a couple of good picks this year, plus a half decent FA
we'll be playing finals before you know it :o

In terms of our future how good we will become I think will be in large part determined by some of "value" picks becoming very good players. If they can then our future could be very rosey.

ie Newnes, Savage, Bruce, Weller, Sinclair, Lonie, Acres, McKenzie, White.

Savage and Newnes I already have no doubt about being able to be great contribuotors to our future.

Weller can defintely fill a role. But is good enough to be more than just that.

Bruce, Sinclair, Lonie are all showing great promise this year. Bruce also adds that aggressive element that all teams need.

Acres has the potential. Just needs to prove at AFL level. Could be a Rolls Roce player for us.

McKenzie is new.....but is showing great promise.

White. Jury still out on his ability to be a 4 quarter week in, week out player, but is an excitement machine.

saintsRrising wrote: Weller can defintely fill a role. But is good enough to be more than just that.
I don't think we should be settling with Weller just being a role player. He has every tool necessary to be an A grade midfielder IMO.

Case in point: that handball to Newnes out of the centre was ELITE. (Newnes' subsequent kick to Curren who goaled was possibly our most skilful passage of play in recent memory.)

we we're a million times better last night. butt i have nott seen the GC play that bad in a long time no idea what's going on up there... i was at he Saints VS GC game last year at etihad and i was scared of what they where doing.

bloody happy with the brand we're playing in the last two weeks but wantt to see us keep it up for a bitt longer before i start jizzing in my pants

matrix wrote: we'll be playing finals before you know it :o
That's it, I'm cancelling my September holiday! :D

saintsRrising wrote:In terms of our future how good we will become I think will be in large part determined by some of "value" picks becoming very good players. If they can then our future could be very rosey.

ie Newnes, Savage, Bruce, Weller, Sinclair, Lonie, Acres, McKenzie, White.

Savage and Newnes I already have no doubt about being able to be great contribuotors to our future.

Weller can defintely fill a role. But is good enough to be more than just that.

Bruce, Sinclair, Lonie are all showing great promise this year. Bruce also adds that aggressive element that all teams need.

Acres has the potential. Just needs to prove at AFL level. Could be a Rolls Roce player for us.

McKenzie is new.....but is showing great promise.

White. Jury still out on his ability to be a 4 quarter week in, week out player, but is an excitement machine.
We could well be looking on the last two years recruiting as the start of something special. We seem to have done extremely well with lower draft picks and rookies. Then there's getting a player like Weller for nothing and Savage as part of another trade.

I agree with most of the thread but if we don't win anymore games I for one won't be happy. No more wins would mean no more efforts like last night. Melbourne at their worst still managed more than one win. That's what makes the "experts" predictions of us not winning a game so disrespectful.
Totally agree though and think we could have picked up ten starting 22 players in the last 2 years of drafts and that makes for an exciting future

Throw in Jimmy Webster guys, I have a gut feel he could be really special.
Seb Ross is an interesting one, who thinks he will be part of our next great mid field?
I want to have a good look at Mc kenzie as well.

Vazelos wrote:Throw in Jimmy Webster guys, I have a gut feel he could be really special.
Seb Ross is an interesting one, who thinks he will be part of our next great mid field?
Ross not for mine unless he go's through the roof. When you're that slow you need to be getting leather poisoning, he doesn't

Agree on Webster will be great if he can stay on the park for an extended period. Never been a fan of Ross far too slow and no penetration in his kicking. Would have Sinclair in front of him on his games this year alone!

Agree on Webster will be great if he can stay on the park for an extended period. Never been a fan of Ross far too slow and n penetration in his kicking. Would have Sinclair in front of him on his games this year alone!

jonesy wrote:
Vazelos wrote:Throw in Jimmy Webster guys, I have a gut feel he could be really special.
Ross not for mine unless he go's through the roof. When you're that slow you need to be getting leather poisoning, he doesn't
He is constantly improving his disposal count and looks ready to me. Lenny going gives him a chance to get in the middle for an extended period. That's going to be his area long term. Webster is going to be a good player too. Then Guys like Paddy, White and Lee who still have masses of potential. Wow some future coming.

I keep talking up Murdoch...really liked the way he finished off last year.
What's wrong with him?

fugazi wrote:I keep talking up Murdoch...really liked the way he finished off last year.
What's wrong with him?
Back injury. Missed a lot of the pre season including all the NAB matches.

First game back on Saturday with Sandy Development Team. From all reports got involved and got through it okay.