Saints v Blues Match Thread in Welly

Re: Saints v Blues Match Thread in Welly

mullet wrote:good running bruce pity didn't mark it but it was good
long hard lead, Roo would have approved
approved, reckon he has taught him everything he knows. imagine having him as a mentor. So lucky for paddy and bruce

Saints by 25. Great first qtr. A really high work rate and lots of pressure. Bit worried about the Blues backmen running it out. Need to keep shutting them down with pressure. I thought Paddy Mac was fantastic as a focal point - and the marks are sticking this week! the blues defenders having to go up in numbers to try and stop him. Armo, Dunstan, Newnes, Steven, Curren all playing well out of the middle and getting it done. Makes such a difference when mids are on top. Backline playing well too despite a few sloppy turnovers. I expect Carltons workrate to go up a notch with a Mick blast. Their class still worries me.

5 quarters won this season now. Which is good, let's hope we can add another 3 to that total.
Interesting, Carlton's usual suspects are doing well, but getting no support, where we have a very balanced effort.

Bury them

gee check out our capt
what a useless player
does nothing but play free man in defence
according to redeemer
lol

Very good first quarter...Just need to not fade out like we did last week after quarter time.

Paddie geta bit of the ball too.

The_Merchant

Great first quarter from Geary. Paddy, Bruce and members providing a great contest up forward. Great to see billings getting some ball, turned it over a bit but good to see him getting his hands on it.

If at first you don't succeed, sky diving is not for you.

5 quarters won this season now. Which is good, let's hope we can add another 3 to that total.
Interesting, Carlton's usual suspects are doing well, but getting no support, where we have a very balanced effort.

Really starting to see the future in some of these lads.

Bruce is starting to look so comfortable up front. Membrey and McCartin both look promising.

The four young Jacks all look like long term players (Lonie dropping off a bit though from his strong pre-season form).

We have a lot of quality players to build around at the moment And I can't wait to see Goddard and Acres break into this side.

citywest

magnifisaint wrote:
Bunk_Moreland wrote:crowd is an embarrassment.

One of two Kiwis as they are singing God Defend New Zealand
Don't you remember the crowds when Fitzroy were playing Melbourne at the MCG. No more than 8000 would go. We're talking about a mad rugby nation that doesn't give 2 rats about AFL.
I have BM on my Ignore list but unfortunately I can still his post when quoted. The only embarrassment is him. The crowd is fine and the whole NZ experiment requires all of us supporters to get behind it and actually help make it work.....rather than hoping that it fails.

uptheboys

wow geary

FFS Geary.

Your disposal is a complete liability.

Cost us a goal with a pathetic disposal

Geary pls

Geary sets up blues first goal...

Playing good footy today. Very happy to see the effort. Blues really trying to block us in the corridor.
Blues should be ashamed hardened 5plus season players getting wreaked by a lot of new kids. Bury them and it's good bye mick sookhouse

Geary a momentum changer

citywest wrote:
magnifisaint wrote:
Bunk_Moreland wrote:crowd is an embarrassment.

One of two Kiwis as they are singing God Defend New Zealand
Don't you remember the crowds when Fitzroy were playing Melbourne at the MCG. No more than 8000 would go. We're talking about a mad rugby nation that doesn't give 2 rats about AFL.
I have BM on my Ignore list but unfortunately I can still his post when quoted. The only embarrassment is him. The crowd is fine and the whole NZ experiment requires all of us supporters to get behind it and actually help make it work.....rather than hoping that it fails.
Idiot has me on ignore but still sends me PM's.

Liar or an idiot.

Got to keep shutting down their run with tackles or pressure or they will kill us.

Great start for Carlton, would love to get a couple back to drop their heads.

Old Mate wrote:Geary pls
Yes running under no pressure. Poor kick. Now 2 goals to the Blues.

Some stats:

33-8 St K lead

Steven 6 disp, 3 tackles, 1 goal
Dunstan 4 d, 2 tackles, 1 goal
Billings 6 d, 2 tackles
Armo 6d, 4 tackles
McCartin 4d, 2 marks

Murphy 11 disposals

And that unfortunately is the problem with Geary. Absolutely horrendous. Momentum changes and they're all over us as a result.

fair and square push in the back missed.

Freebird

Jack steven running free and kicks to a contest **** me

Very poor delivery inside 50 from Steven lead to that turnover and goal. Annoying