What a liabilty Saad is

Re: What a liabilty Saad is

magnifisaint wrote:The most apt description of Saad is he is the most insipid footballer on our list
Great personality apparently. Great smile. Wears nice suits.

Cant beleive no has memtioned the free kicks - 29 to 16 - it seems we have a problem

Sobraz wrote:Actually plays soccer on the football field.
Would prefer Ronaldo. Saad wouldn't get a game in Melbourne Victorys seconds.

Saad is not useless. But there are better options to perservere with. Mind you without proper talls today, and less when Saad was subbed on! So that makes it hard for specialist small forward and particularly when he was just one of many small forwards today. If Saad was our only small forward he would probabaly be ok-ish

Lonie had probably his best game for Saints today.
Sinclair just radiates class, but as yet does not get enough of the ball. Impressive in his first 4 games.
These guys have more strings to their bow than Saad.

Schneider's kicking has declined unfortunately. A few better kicks like he used to do would have had us more competitive.

Curren should be winning more of the ball than he does given his age and experience.

We desperately need more mids. We are overstocked in our line-up with players who are small forwards and who are not yet ok in the midfield.

murray 66

Agreed.....Soft as butter and we can't even rotate him through the midfield.
Most small forwards must be able to go in the midfield at some stage.
Can't even call him a 1 trick pony,because he doesn't posess a trick????

murray 66 wrote:Agreed.....Soft as butter and we can't even rotate him through the midfield.
Agree.

Papers stamped. Never to play again. Give someone with some skill a go Richo, that goose is cooked.

Saad was drafted as a marketing stunt to generate positive PR and members I reckon.

murray 66 wrote:Agreed.....Soft as butter and we can't even rotate him through the midfield.
His one trick is to wait outside a pack and hope the ball somehow ricochets to him by chance and he can run and kick a goal.

saintspremiers wrote:Saad was drafted as a marketing stunt to generate positive PR and members I reckon.
Great smile. Nice suits. 'Bubbly' around the club.

Jacks Back wrote:
Agree.

Papers stamped. Never to play again. Give someone with some skill a go Richo, that goose is cooked.
What has the Minch done wrong? Hes 21. Give him a sustained go.

Saad gets chance after chance against crap teams. Never touches the ball. More chances.

Hopefully gets dropped. Needs to kick bags at Sandy before he's allowed back in.

Touched the footy on 4 occasions & had zero tackles. Ripper.

I've never been a fan of Saad. I've stated it many times. He's just not up to playing AFL level. He cannot get the pill. But in fairness to him, playing him as sub today was just dumb and gave him little chance to have an influence. Surely the sub must be able to play midfield. On the sub rule, the sooner it is abolished, never to be spoken of again, the sooner the game will be better. It's rediculous and no one likes the rule.

Old Mate wrote:Touched the footy on 4 occasions & had zero tackles. Ripper.
He played about 35 minutes in the forward pocket when we were getting slaughtered, give him a break.

Trouble with saad isn't just today.
It's the entire 2013 season and the 2015 pre season and the first three games.
Last edited by Con Gorozidis on Sat 25 Apr 2015 11:16pm, edited 1 time in total.

seano1

I`m no expert in what makes an afl player but as for saad he must have something as far as all the coaching panel to draft and play him 13 games in 2013 and 3 so far since the re drafting.......they wouldn`t be playing for pr reasons...like all players they don't play well everytime they go out and will often let us on the side line down, and like some other ex players who get on here he will get the boot for having too many bad games and not living up to and achieving greatness. That being said he was not the cause of any of our loses so far nor were the umpires .....they could do better........its because the team on the whole is just not up to it...too many mistakes , not enough game time into the younger ones and guys who cant hit a target.............but they are human like the rest of us we have all made mistakes.

He has one obvious deficiency - an inability to dispose of the ball when tackled.

That, and a liking for open space to be his most effective. And, we should all know, there is very little open space in the modern AFL.

It was supposed to be a fairytale ending when we redrafted Saad, but it's quickly turning into a nightmare.

I personally couldn't believe we would give him another chance, as I thought he was finished the first time around.

Port's redrafting of Krakeour was a much better option, he would never have come to us but surely there were others with more upside than Saad.

I was about to say he must be 'dating' the coach's daughter - but I think that gets you dropped?
So whats the opposite?
The coach is doing his mum?

saintbob wrote:It was supposed to be a fairytale ending when we redrafted Saad, but it's quickly turning into a nightmare.

I personally couldn't believe we would give him another chance, as I thought he was finished the first time around.

Port's redrafting of Krakeour was a much better option, he would never have come to us but surely there were others with more upside than Saad.
At least Krak had a dominant successful year in 2014 in the SANFL.
Saad stunk it up in 2013 and sat 2014 out.
There was no logical basis or information on which to draft him. Only irrational romantic reasons. Which explains why 17 other clubs baulked.

seano1 wrote:I`m no expert in what makes an afl player but as for saad he must have something as far as all the coaching panel to draft and play him 13 games in 2013 and 3 so far since the re drafting.......they wouldn`t be playing for pr reasons...like all players they don't play well everytime they go out and will often let us on the side line down, and like some other ex players who get on here he will get the boot for having too many bad games and not living up to and achieving greatness. That being said he was not the cause of any of our loses so far nor were the umpires .....they could do better........its because the team on the whole is just not up to it...too many mistakes , not enough game time into the younger ones and guys who cant hit a target.............but they are human like the rest of us we have all made mistakes.
I agree the coaches know much more than me and they must see something.
But if we go down that path - then as a mature ager who everyone had seen a lot of - 17 other clubs baulked on him in the 2014 draft.

Saad was in exactly the same catergory as Milera and TDL. We got rid of the latter two for good reason but we picked Saad back up for PR or feeling sorry for him reasons. Had he not been banned then he would have gone at the same time as the other two IMHO.

It's all Saads fault.

And Richo's fault.

And the recruiters fault.

And the umpires fault.

But look at the bright side.

Big Marts at BigFooty.

What makes it worse is Saad is 25yo and hasnt touched the ball and has played 3 of the bottom 5 sides. Hes not getting any better.

If my memory serves me correctly there were several high profile posters on here who questioned why we would consider drafting him back in November/December at the time.

I had my say on Ahmed's deficiencies earlier in this thread. I do not say he is not worth playing. He is no better or worse than any other senior players at the moment. I merely pointed out a couple of obvious deficiencies.

It is appalling, then, to read this thread in its entirety and how so many "fans' are baying for his blood. Give the man a break! He is not a player who has been playing the game since the under 9's, he did not even play until his late teens. He was a "project player" when first drafted after 2 years in the VFL.

He deserves the same development time as any of the younger players. If he doesn't make the grade in the longer term, he can get on here and post safe in the knowledge he has played a few dozen AFL games more than the combined total of his critics on this forum.