Dogs v Saints. Etihad 2:10PM

Re: Dogs v Saints. Etihad 2:10PM

miskycat wrote:A great Saturday night awaits ... a few quiet ones and watching the replay.

Great win.
good luck cant find anywhere to watch replay

Two weeks in a row that Hickey has had very good last quarters.....including some gathers like small man. That last pick up and pin point delivery to Bruce was a ripper. The guy can play.

Kick-it-lace-out

Armoooo wrote:
Kick-it-lace-out wrote:Billings giving us nothing. His effort so far has been deplorable. Don't get me started on Geary...
hmmmmmmm
Riewoldt had been forced into retirement at half time on here haha
Brilliant second half, but are you honestly saying he was good in the first?

BTW I never said he was useless, just that he wasn't giving effort.

MC Gusto wrote:The fightback is on!!! Like rocky balboa we're gonna come back from the dead and kick 10 unanswered goals to win!!!
Prize goes to Gusto

Followed the score s here at Metricon incredible cant wait to see the highlights

st.byron wrote:
perfectionist wrote:
st.byron wrote:Isn't it amazing how much less critical I become when we're doing well.
Not really. If a player uses the ball with 100% efficiency, what's to criticise? If he gives away every second kick, criticism is justified.

It's more about my mental state than whether the criticism is justified. When we're crap it hurts. I can't stand it and I take it out on the players. When we're good I love it and everyone's wonderful. I'm sure they try their guts out even when they're getting smashed.
Nice to see honesty here Byron. Many here wouldn't admit that.

Armoooo wrote:Even when he doesn't hit the scoreboard Bruce is still so important.
Yes so true. His work in the air and on the ground is a good barometer of the teams forward pressure. Was a real quality pick from GWS.

karnaby

jamesmc wrote:
magnifisaint wrote:
jamesmc wrote:
Playon wrote:Wtf was Roo thinking
he is embarrassing himself
the game has gone so far past him.
Slow and poor decisions.
Eat your words! 20+ possessions.
His Korea is all over!
This win had nothing to do with Roo, it was all about the youth.
crap

& beyond that - gee it's great to have a good win!!

It's a shame ignorance isn't painful

Wonderful team effort esp in that explosive second half. 55 points down.....Stunning games by Armitage & Billings, also like McKenzie a lot. Not sure why folks keep calling for Schneider to be tipped out :shock: Yes first half WB applied a lot of pressure - but also free kicks 2 - 10 their way helped.

Totally love beating the WB media darlings. As long as I've followed footy, their supporters spend the whole game booing and screaming for frees.

Hold your ground :shock:

Shame Con wasn't with us for this one: would have executed entire playing list and coaches, then turned around and gone James Brown in the Blues Brothers! Hope he's enjoying it somewhere, if he didn't slit his wrists at half time.

The Disch

karnaby wrote:
jamesmc wrote:
magnifisaint wrote:
jamesmc wrote:
Slow and poor decisions.
His Korea is all over!
crap

Which part is crap

saintsRrising wrote:Two weeks in a row that Hickey has had very good last quarters.....including some gathers like small man. That last pick up and pin point delivery to Bruce was a ripper. The guy can play.
Yep, and pinged an opponent for a perfect tackle for his first goal at the start of the third. Provides plenty of forward pressure as he's surprisingly agile

Armoooo wrote:Love how cocky the dogs were at half time, mouthing off at Roo, got too far ahead of themselves, fans too.
Yes they've got their tail between their legs now. They are a good side, but underrate the Saints at your own peril

karnaby

The Disch wrote:
karnaby wrote:
jamesmc wrote:
magnifisaint wrote:
jamesmc wrote:
Slow and poor decisions.
His Korea is all over!
crap

Which part is crap
Pretty much all of jamesmc denigration of Roo. Happy about our "youth" and of course they were instrumental in the win but they didn't win it all by themselves.

It's a shame ignorance isn't painful

mullet wrote:look at richo proud dad or what
That is exactly what my sister said to me as the TV cameras picked him up standing there on the boundary line .................. "look at Richo, he looks just like a proud Dad out there" and as some other poster noted, Richo looked close to tears.

Glad the boys did you proud Richo :P

dragit wrote:3 disposals between hickey & longer.

Team balance is important... This isn't working.

I think it goes a fair bit deeper than that. We've been beaten in every position and their pressure has led to dome deplorable mistakes even by senior players like Riewoldt, Montagna and Dempster. You reckon one ruckman rather than two would have made a difference. I think you are drawing a long bow
Next week we will only play one ruckmem, that should give you a pretty clear indication.
Probably, but we'll probably be spanked next week. It's made no difference in this game
I thought our run & pressure was terrible in the first half, not sure what happened in the second, but Hickey came to life, maybe they will continue with Hickey & Longer after that win!

Bluthy wrote:As a few of us said they went too tall too slow and too conservative at selection. The bulldogs backs r killing us with their rebound and pressing. This is the reality check we need. Hopefully bolder at selection next week. Last week took a lot out of the younger players and we needed some fresh legs and minds
How's that conservative selection going?

dragit wrote: I thought our run & pressure was terrible in the first half, not sure what happened in the second, but Hickey came to life, maybe they will continue with Hickey & Longer after that win!
If they don't it means leaving a very good footballer on the sidelines. Which one of them would you drop?

bigcarl wrote:If they don't it means leaving a very good footballer on the sidelines. Which one of them would you drop?
Tricky dropping anyone after that game, I guess we don't have any tall forwards knocking on the door this week... I would still like to see more midfield depth in the side.

Longer had a lot of hitouts but not much of it apart from that… I would be happy to give him a rest if we did want to go with one ruckmen.

I'd love to see Acres in again, maybe he'll take Savages spot if he was concussed.

What if we had 4 very good ruckmen, do we play them all because they are all good footballers?

bigcarl wrote:If they don't it means leaving a very good footballer on the sidelines. Which one of them would you drop?

Tricky dropping anyone after that game, I guess we don't have any tall forwards knocking on the door this week... I would still like to see more midfield depth in the side.

Longer had a lot of hitouts but not much of it apart from that… I would be happy to give him a rest if we did want to go with one ruckmen.

I'd love to see Acres in again, maybe he'll take Savages spot if he was concussed.

What if we had 4 very good ruckmen, do we play them all because they are all good footballers?

I can't see Longer being dropped after the season he's had so far, nor Hickey after his second half contributions today. Don't forget that the interchange cap is changing next season and some are predicting a return to what was once the norm. A first ruck and a ruck/forward. We may be setting up for that early.

I'm going Acres in for Savage (concussed).
Last edited by bigcarl on Sat 09 May 2015 10:02pm, edited 1 time in total.

Hickey had high score involvements didn't he?

Like him in.

Has a footy brain, that can't be taught.

SainterK wrote:Hickey had high score involvements didn't he?

Like him in.

Yes, he had 10 including a nice tap to Sinclair for goal and I think one to Billings. They work well off him. Plus there was his tackle on Murphy which started the rot for the Bulldogs

saintsRrising wrote:Two weeks in a row that Hickey has had very good last quarters.....including some gathers like small man. That last pick up and pin point delivery to Bruce was a ripper. The guy can play.
When the pace goes out of the game..... in the final quarters, the big men don't get any smaller, and they seem to be faster than they were in the first half or so.

Think Richo knows from last year when we used to come home quite strongly , given confidence he knows our kids can run out games and as happened last week our bigger players stood up when Essendon started to run out of puff............ that is one way to look at it.

Yabby Jeans always used to say..... big men don't get smaller, and when the sting (pace) has evened up, big men can come into their own and bring smaller players into the game............ maybe the reason we are going for a taller team, if we can just hang in there and absorb the pressure if another team gets the jump on us, we will have big, agile players who can move forward (ie Hickey, Bruce & Roo) and can come into their own, when the game is on the line in the final quarters.

SainterK wrote:Hickey had high score involvements didn't he?

Like him in.

Yes, he had 10 including a nice tap to Sinclair for goal and I think one to Billings. They work well off him. Plus there was his tackle on Murphy which started the rot for the Bulldogs
Thanks Carl...

Good mark, good below his knees considering his size