No telling who you may run into ...

St DAC

No telling who you may run into ...

So I arrived at Twin Waters on the Sunshine Coast for a work conference on Monday and blow me down! It's wall to wall Saints up here! Every time I ran into a Saint he was on his way for more training!

Re: No telling who you may run into ...

come on ST DAC
we need more story ala this guy in Ireland
I've already posted about the fact that I've traveled to Ireland to watch the stars of AFL, play international rules football, where the most important player to me is Nick Riewoldt, who happens to be the captain of the St Kilda football club.
At the start of the tour an older gentleman walks up to me and asks if I'm from Melbourne because of my saints hat. I explain how I'm a diehard saints fan from Sweden, play for @hbgsaints and he counters by saying that he's Nick's dad Joe. About an hour later during the tour, Joe taps my shoulder. There he was with his son, the star himself that made me fly all the way to Ireland just to catch him play live . I still can't believe it . After a short talk with him and several photos with him & teammate/star Leigh "Joey" Montagna it's time to say goodbye.

ripplug66

Well I was at the Macca on Saturday and Jack Steven was there with Schneids and also Luke Beveridge was there as well as Glen Boss, not that he played footy but he did ride Makybe Diva to 3 cup wins.

St DAC

Jeez Bratty I can't top that!

I had a brief conversation with Armo ...

'Armo, is the coffee queue right here?'

'Yeah mate it is'

'Thanks'

Not all that exciting in the re-telling is it ...

And I also had a short chat with one of the coaches who I didn't recognise who assured me Freeman's hammies would be fine.

St DAC wrote:Jeez Bratty I can't top that!

I had a brief conversation with Armo ...

'Armo, is the coffee queue right here?'

'Yeah mate it is'

'Thanks'

Not all that exciting in the re-telling is it ...

And I also had a short chat with one of the coaches who I didn't recognise who assured me Freeman's hammies would be fine.
it was a great story-- and I would be more like you- tongue tied-
keep saying hi though- only a day or two left
BTW if you run into Richo- he makes everybody comfortable- say Hi

Closest I have come into having a semi famous saints chat recently was being approached by a relative of Pluggers- the real Tony- after they saw my number plates -
unfortunately she said they were not members and sounded like it wasn't a possibility- despite her introducing the topic by saying what a sad season and what should 'we' do....

St DAC

I wasn't tongue tied ... we really were getting coffee and they were just leaving.

Richo was there but I didn't get a chance for a chat .... my conference finished today so I'm not there now.

getting info of their movements on the sunshine coast is like a US president visit secrecy
They were at Alex beach most of Tues morning - honing their surf craft skills in IRBs and rescue boards - they make good footballers :shock:
Must say that JC has a bigger frame than i thought

Also not overly happy that the ONE official club public function on the coast is Friday morning - not much good unless you pull a sicky

sunsaint wrote:getting info of their movements on the sunshine coast is like a US president visit secrecy
They were at Alex beach most of Tues morning - honing their surf craft skills in IRBs and rescue boards - they make good footballers :shock:
Must say that JC has a bigger frame than i thought

Also not overly happy that the ONE official club public function on the coast is Friday morning - not much good unless you pull a sicky
Presume they're heading home Friday arvo or Sat morning, otherwise can't see why they would hold meet and greet on Friday morning either.

I saw a bloke (probably about 18,19) with a saints cap on in a dodgy pizza joint in Adelaide on Saturday after the cricket. Claim to fame! :D

snoopygirl

sunsaint wrote: Also not overly happy that the ONE official club public function on the coast is Friday morning - not much good unless you pull a sicky

You say that like it's a bad thing sunsaint. :lol:

ripplug66 wrote:Well I was at the Macca on Saturday and Jack Steven was there with Schneids and also Luke Beveridge was there as well as Glen Boss, not that he played footy but he did ride Makybe Diva to 3 cup wins.
Far better establishment than the Banger.

8856brother wrote:
ripplug66 wrote:Well I was at the Macca on Saturday and Jack Steven was there with Schneids and also Luke Beveridge was there as well as Glen Boss, not that he played footy but he did ride Makybe Diva to 3 cup wins.

Now it is.

8856brother wrote:
What is the Banger?

8856brother wrote:
What is the Banger?
I also have no idea what they are talking about.

saintbrat wrote: Image
I find it disturbing that so many Saints players seem to be Yankee fans.

derby Street

saintbrat wrote:come on ST DAC
we need more story ala this guy in Ireland
I've already posted about the fact that I've traveled to Ireland to watch the stars of AFL, play international rules football, where the most important player to me is Nick Riewoldt, who happens to be the captain of the St Kilda football club.
At the start of the tour an older gentleman walks up to me and asks if I'm from Melbourne because of my saints hat. I explain how I'm a diehard saints fan from Sweden, play for @hbgsaints and he counters by saying that he's Nick's dad Joe. About an hour later during the tour, Joe taps my shoulder. There he was with his son, the star himself that made me fly all the way to Ireland just to catch him play live . I still can't believe it . After a short talk with him and several photos with him & teammate/star Leigh "Joey" Montagna it's time to say goodbye.
What a great family

ripplug66 wrote:
8856brother wrote:

Now it is.
Do they still let you into the Macca now it's all schmick plugs?

St DAC wrote:So I arrived at Twin Waters on the Sunshine Coast for a work conference on Monday and blow me down! It's wall to wall Saints up here! Every time I ran into a Saint he was on his way for more training!
Sounds like a junket to me. Come clean and mention you organised the venue and timing!

ripplug66

ripplug66 wrote:
8856brother wrote:

Now it is.
Do they still let you into the Macca now it's all schmick plugs?

Why wouldn't they. One of their best customers and they sponsor our footy club.

St DAC

saintspremiers wrote:Sounds like a junket to me. Come clean and mention you organised the venue and timing!
A bit of a junket, yes, but not organized by me. I'm nowhere near well enough connected for that!

St DAC wrote:
saintspremiers wrote:Sounds like a junket to me. Come clean and mention you organised the venue and timing!
A bit of a junket, yes, but not organized by me. I'm nowhere near well enough connected for that!
Half your luck!!

IanRush

Several years back (summer period 2010/2011-ish) I was at 7-11 Doncaster, and Ross Lyon walked out, as I walked in. Once I recognised him, all I could blurt out was “good luck for next year, mate”. He stopped, looked at me and said “yeah, thanks mate”. It was summertime but he was wearing the Saints black staff type polo, so was able to nut out quickly it was him.

USELESS FACT: The WADA case against Essendon (in Sydney as well) is exactly 10 years to the day that Australia qualified for the 2006 FIFA World Cup.