Team v Hawks

Hawthorn v St Kilda
Hodge, O’Brien, Howe in for Gibson, Schoenmakers, O’Rourke.
Lee, Templeton, Acres in for Roberton, Webster, Dunstan.

Stian

Re: Team v Hawks

Dunstan and Webster just being rested rather than dropped???????

kosifantutti wrote:Hawthorn v St Kilda
They must be resting Webster and Dunstan as both were terrific against Collingwood.

Webster quad, Dunstan hamstring

Playon

Wow massive
Dylan Roberton (Knee), Jimmy Webster (Quad), Luke Dunstan (Hamstring)

Stian

kosifantutti wrote:Webster quad, Dunstan hamstring
Hmmm b*gger, but are they just "minor" injuries that they are managing? (I'm clutching at straws here.)

Playon

Looks to me Minch may get a run in the midfield with the inclusion of Eli
Lee and Acres down back with options to mix it up

Gibson out is a great out for us. I reckon Hodge is being rushed back too early. Could still be a bit proppy. As much as I dont like seeing people out with injuries I reckon we can cover them well with the ins. Would love to see all 3 in have massive games.

At least Gibson out for them is a big loss.

But we have lsot 3 pretty decent players.

I am glad that Lee gets a crack though. He has worked hard for it.

Stian wrote:
Hmmm b*gger, but are they just "minor" injuries that they are managing? (I'm clutching at straws here.)
I think its just due to the fantastic effort required in the Collingwood match where we had virtually no rotations.
Apparently tightness only and it's probably an opportunity to give Acres and Templeton a chance to show what they can do.
I watched the Collingwood match again and Webster in the last qtr. and Dunstan in the third pushed themselves to the limit.
It's a good idea to rest them and they should be ok for round 5 at home.

felix

Leeeeeeeeeeee.."..wow he gets a game ...good luck to him .

Playon

Emergencies
Billy Longer
Jade Gresham
Tim Membrey

good to see Nick, Paddy, and Bruce all get another go at it together. fingers crossed we'll get a full game out of this forward line.

Well there you go - injury/resting is always going to open up opportunities for players. No Roberton and Webster means I am now very worried by our rebound ability. We're going to have to rely on the mids doing the gut busting all over the ground running they were doing last week to link up play. Good to see Tommy Lee get rewarded for his hard yakka - big job in front of him. Fantastic to see Blacres back in red white and black and Eli get another crack. Acres going to have to cover Dunny's tough in and under work but showed great signs of that in the Port game - and he can push forward as a medium tall as well if required.

No Gibson is good but Hodge is a general off that half back line anyway. We could give a tagging job to Weller or one of our young mids - Minch, Eli or Acres - to go on Mitchell or Hodge so they learn from the best.

Disappointing to see Dunstan injured. Thought he played his best game last week. It will be good to see Lee get a crack at it. Hope he plays well and cements a spot.

millarsaint wrote:good to see Nick, Paddy, and Bruce all get another go at it together. fingers crossed we'll get a full game out of this forward line.
Paddy, like Nick, was born in Tassie so I reckon this will be a bit of a buzz for the lad and his family.

longtimesaint wrote:
They must be resting Webster and Dunstan as both were terrific against Collingwood.
Both injured at training............ :cry:

stkfc1 wrote:
Gibson out is a great out for us. I reckon Hodge is being rushed back too early. Could still be a bit proppy. As much as I dont like seeing people out with injuries I reckon we can cover them well with the ins. Would love to see all 3 in have massive games.
Agree, handy for us without Gibson.

So, you reckon Hodge might have a proppy wrist?

Stian wrote:
http://www.saints.com.au/news/2016-04-1 ... v-hawthorn

Video from Danny Sexton says Jimmy has a slight groin, and Dunstan pulled up a bit tight in the hamstring. Fingers crossed that is it.

millarsaint wrote:good to see Nick, Paddy, and Bruce all get another go at it together. fingers crossed we'll get a full game out of this forward line.
Paddy, like Nick, was born in Tassie so I reckon this will be a bit of a buzz for the lad and his family.

so we have 4 Taswegians in the team?
Paddy, Roo, Weller & Eli

Not bad!

realdeal

SuperDuper wrote:

Paddy, Roo, Weller & Eli

Not bad!
Would've been 5 with Webster..

realdeal wrote:
SuperDuper wrote:

Paddy, Roo, Weller & Eli

Not bad!
Would've been 5 with Webster..
It's six with our captain although he does not qualify under the afl guidelines he was born in Tassy and moved to the gold ciast when he was 8 or 9...

Happy for Lee, but gee, a hard game for him to impress in.

Quietly thnk that the changes are more pre-cautionary and regulating type ommissions than say super required

To me it seems like ŵe are managing the team to make a massive impact in two or so years time years time rather than running the players into the ground before they are likely to peak as an altogether premiership unit.

Remebering in this day and age - you win one premiership then you are likely to win more if the the team and future drafting strategy stacks up - this is not the 80s anymore where money rules - you need a strong club from supporters upwards and given we have the peninsula at our doorstep with the right marketing we can eventually become a defining force if walk the right path

snoopygirl

Am I the only one who is staggered by the inclusion of Hodge into the Hawks line up? What would be the sense in rushing him back into the side 3 weeks after breaking his arm & having surgery? I could understand it if it was the GF but this is round 4 between a team who has won the last 3 flags & a team who won a wooden spoon 18 months ago.