Bomber Thompson

sainters85

Bomber Thompson

Wants to get back into coaching.. should we go after him regardless of the essendon scandle?
Was obviously a great coach at the cats

firthy

Re: Bomber Thompson

You are joking I hope

Please let me live long enough to see it happen.

Could see him at Brisbane.

sainters85 wrote:Wants to get back into coaching.. should we go after him regardless of the essendon scandle?
I'm with you. Worsfold, a qualified pharmacist, presided over alleged drug use at the Eagles (both PED and recreational) and he's still in the system
and nobody bats an eyelid.

As much as I think he would bring success to the Saints, the idea of bringing in a flag-winner and uprooting a current coach, is something the Saints will never do.
In the past, they have done so.
The new Saints is professional, business-like, and does not go with emotion.
Nobody in the boardroom, or even at the water-cooler, would dare mention the concept.
It would be like the Liberal Party discussing bringing back John Howard.

sainters85 wrote:Wants to get back into coaching.. should we go after him regardless of the essendon scandle?

Tainted, imho.

He's also a few sandwiches short of a picnic going by his performances on 360.

:roll: :roll: Just when you think you've heard everything. Just when you think you've heard every hair brained theory connected to this club, an OP like this one pops up! :roll:

thejiggingsaint wrote::roll: :roll: Just when you think you've heard everything. Just when you think you've heard every hair brained theory connected to this club, an OP like this one pops up! :roll:
:lol: :wink:

I think the OP may be a nephew or godson of a twice-banned poster whose idol is a greyhound fan, and might have kicked the odd bag of goals in the RW & B :D :shock:
(of course, I'm joking)

prwilkinson wrote:Could see him at Brisbane.
Try: Brad Scott to Brisbane and Bomber to North and you'll be closer!!!!!

OR............Chris Scott to North.......Brad Scott to Brisbane...........Leppa to centrelink...........Bomber to Geelong......do not pass go, do not collect $100 :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Weird prick imo

Might lead Carlisle astray......

nutter

Playon

BigMart wrote:Weird prick imo
Yeah that matters

I have to say, that while respecting the right of sainters85 to express a point of view on the topic of Mark Thompson, and his desire to re-enter the AFL coaching ranks. That to contemplate for one second the notion that our club would have any reason to recruit him in ANY capacity is quite frankly, beyond bizarre. The OP states: "was obviously a great coach at the Cats". Now, given his record from 2007-2010, it would seem hard (on the surface) to disagree with that assessment. However, his record at the Cattery from 1999 to 2007 is on a par with Hardwick, Brad Scott, Laidley, and Frawley none of whom would be candidates as "coach of the century". In 2006 the Geelong Football Club were on the verge of dismissing him, and NOT entirely due to ONFIELD indiscretions. I would argue that, with the talent gathered through generous Father-Son rules, he had a side that pretty much picked itself and any coach (even Lyon) would find easy to turn into a winning side. I wouldnt have the guy within a country mile of our VERY SETTLED and VERY MUCH IMPROVING footy club! Sermon ended!

What matters?

a boil on Bombers Bum? :?

Playon

BigMart wrote:What matters?
Good coaching ability

or if you prefer

5:16

The best coach is often just the one with the best players Imo

Can you seriously compare Leppitch and Clarkson?

Here's a question

If Brisbane played Hawthorn tomorrow and The coaches are swapped... Who wins?

Yes, I know that is too simplistic

So ok,

If Clarkson had Brisbanes list since 2012... He swapped jobs after being sacked when Sydney won the GF

Would he be the 4 time premiership coach.

Thompson coached an amazing team and won premierships. Was lucky not to be sacked after 06 and would have been a 7 year coach without a flag...

Can anyone tell me honestly which coach isn't a weird unit?

Alan Richardson
Nathan Buckley
Don Pyke
John Worsfold
Paul Roos
John Longmire
Ross Lyon
Adam Simpson

None are weird to me

Hardwick, Scott x 2 and Hinkley just come across as footy bogans

Clarkson... Obviously a good operator but is an angry little bloke

Bolton is weird... No doubt

elizabethr

Bomber is a liar and makes for unwatchable TV

nothing to say
silverhalo

I'd personally love to have him on board as an assistant but sounds like he wants to be top dog

Bring him in to replace Sexton...

Impatient Sainter wrote:Bring him in to replace Sexton...

couldnt do it at his beloved essendon- not going to do it anywhere else

lintonstreet

PLEASE CLOSE THIS THREAD.

To even consider Thompson is madness.