Alan Richardson

All the jacks

Alan Richardson

I think he is a great coach in my opinion better than Ross Lyon. I think he is up there with the best coaches in the Afl he also doesn't lose it like the Scotts,Buckley and Hardwick

Re: Alan Richardson

measured and deep thinker, not emotional and ego-driven.
His speech is bloody boring, though:
"Positive" with an upwards inflection at the end
"strong"
"on the back of"
Port Adelaide paid for him to go study all sorts of man-management courses; sent him to Hawaii at one point,
and they got mad that we poached him, and they didn't get their money's worth on the $$ invested
so we had to pay Kochie's Kooks a lot more money.

cant stand Hardwick and he actually cannot coach

All the jacks wrote:I think he is a great coach in my opinion better than Ross Lyon. I think he is up there with the best coaches in the Afl he also doesn't lose it like the Scotts,Buckley and Hardwick
I agree you can see the sides incremental improvements - he is all class. He just needs to develop many more players to play through the centre. When the current 5 are being flogged in the middle he has no plan B. After North shut down Stevens we had nothing - its Richo real achillies heal as a coach IMO!

He's measured

Until there is actual success the jury is obviously out

The Recruit

There is more than just on field reasons port has dropped off since 2014

Who cares if populists think he sounds boring. They all sound boring.

He always accepts responsibility and says "we".

The big test for Mr Strong will next year. Increased respect = increased scrutiny, particularly from the ones sitting at the big boy table who don't appreciate upstarts trying to steal their place. We stuck our head out above the trenches this year. Next year plenty will be planning over the off season how to hit us right between the eyes. Plenty of teams have had a break out year but its about sustaining it year after year when the rest of the comp start unpacking your tactics.

Bluthy, fair comment I guess. But d'you know what? I reckon this guy (Alan Richardson) is WAAAAAY tougher than so many of the (perceived) "hard men", both in terms of character and intellect. From what I've observed since 2014, this club is on the way to something special, REALLY special! "Boring" at pressers? PLEASE! I couldn't give a continental about any "star quality" from the senior coach at press conferences; not if he's eliciting a "star quality" performance from his team out on the park!

Using BM's line of thinking, Allan Jeans is the only proven coach we have had in our 143 year history. Using Wellardsaint's criteria Richo is too boring. Can't rightly recall Jeansy coming out with too many side-slappers in his time.

Richo is a very safe pair of hands in control of our team.

Really

How did I quantify success... I don't remember mentioning premierships

Although that is the actual determinant of success in that industry... But can't remember saying that?...

scallopsroe

Seems a straight shooter, otherwise who else is there?
Answer no one!
My only comment is the selection, why play one ruckman and expect a part timer to feel that ruckmans role when he is resting. It hasn't worked all year or the previous year. Poor decision making Richo.
Tom Hickey has been fantastic for us this year, but Josh Bruce isn't a ruckman's bootlace!
In addition our captains goal kicking is shocking. I saw it up the Gold Coast and nothing has changed, it must affect the teams confidence.
As regularly stated, turnovers are very costly in the modern game and this feature must be worked on by Richo and the coaches in the off season.
By way Luke Dunstan is a gun!! Check out his work in close for those who know anything about footy.

scallopsroe...........have an emoticon: :arrow: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :D :shock: :roll:

OK Big Mart, I 'spose you have me on a legality over premierships.

Perhaps you could define "ACTUAL success" for us?

scallopsroe

Jiggster, you are a champion. I'm just a frustrated Sainter who has since St Kilda play finals footy since 1968, been to the second semi 1971, first semi 1973 etc etc!!!

Great student of the game, who listens to everyone, including supporters.
A real breath of fresh air for us and the AFL in general!

scallopsroe I'm just pulling your leg mate, just the jiggster being silly! No offence intended!