Is Wright doing enough?

This is not a loaded question but rather an enquiry...

Looking at his stat count:
3 disposals and a goal into the third quarter today
15 disposals last week

And a haul of 9, 13 and 9 for the 3 weeks before.

I think it's fair to say many had more or less put a line through his name before he forced his way into the team, and from what I read on here he seems reasonably cemented on his team.

Obviously stats only tell part of the story here. I was a big wrap for him pre-injury and he seems to have reinvented himself now... Certainly hits the scoreboard every week even if he misses occasionally

What are ppls thoughts on Nathan?

Re: Is Wright doing enough?

Small forward

It's a horrible role... Just chase arse... Hopefully snag a goal

Tom_Sainter

I like his pressure acts and speed. Not to fussed with how much of the ball he is getting I like him in the team

Tom_Sainter wrote:I like his pressure acts and speed. Not to fussed with how much of the ball he is getting I like him in the team
He's tough as well... Has a that kind of enforcer feel about him. He's getting about 2 shots on goal a game at the moment... If he keeps improving n that transfers to 2 goals a game most games... He'd be a real headache for opposition. A defensive player u need to close check

Injury has really hampered this poor bloke. The question is more about whether his body can handle AFL footy. A very handy and versatile small. Has some real toe too.

He's not even played 30 senior games. Another pre-season and another 20 odd games, he'll be around the magic 50 mark and we'll be in a much better position to assess him.

I reckon he's a beauty. He's got Geary's kamikaze style with way more dash. Not sure he's a forward but time will tell where he fits best.

Russman

A few weeks ago I heard Tom Hickey talk about him in an interview on SEN.
He mentioned Richo's plan to use him as a defensive forward, and this was either just before he got back into the team, or had just had his first game back.
He referred to Wright and Weller as the basher brothers.
So I think for now he is playing his role and he has his list spot secured for next year.

And it's made a big difference in the games where we have exerted that forward pressure. Not only keeps the ball in, but increases the chance of a turnover when it comes out.
That's just my humble opinion anyway.

Do , or Do not , There is no try.

Russman wrote: He referred to Wright and Weller as the basher brothers.
Does Richo really make Mighty Ducks references? Would love our story to end like that one

lintonstreet

Wrighty is a ripper!

Tough as nails and speed to burn.

He copped an awful knock today and had to come off.
Only forced back on when Luckey came off with his busted shoulder.

lintonstreet wrote:Wrighty is a ripper!

At least someone realised what was going on. :wink:

lintonstreet wrote:Wrighty is a ripper!

At least someone realised what was going on. :wink:
It was just a question about his overall standing. Do keep up.

Wright is as hard as nails, but somebody needs to make way for Patrick.

Definately keep Wright on the list next year.

PADDLEPOP1001

Big wrap for this bloke was definitely hurt early but still came back on ,hope he stays!

PADDLEPOP1000

Tom_Sainter wrote:I like his pressure acts and speed. Not to fussed with how much of the ball he is getting I like him in the team

You are absolutely right and on the money IMO. Another guy who fits this category is Minchington. If you look at how much of the ball he won against the Blues, it wasn't very much but he laid ten tackles many of them at crucial moments in the game. Sometimes it is the little things that are just as important as the big.

Wrighty goes really hard and I love that. If he keeps doing what he's doing he'll start finding the footy a bit more. Same as meatball Minch...

Yes. Yes he is.

Borderline imo but I would be definitely giving him a contract for next year. The bloke is an absolute warrior so deserves to stay on the list. Willing to sacrifice himself for the team.

Curren/Lee/Delaney/(Fisher)/Murdoch the probable delistings (retirements) at this point.
The Panther probably next if we decide to make 6 changes.

Wombat15

I think he offers the perfect flexibility. He allows players to rest up forward whilst he goes down back, allows minch to push up the ground when he goes forward. Hes a tough nut and has done a mav weller and worked his arse off to get where he is now so much respect to the kid. i reckon you have to give him another year just to see if he can improve on his form. I hoping his future is bright and looks to be a faster version of Jarryn Geary and i mean this as in he will give his all and more every game and throw his body in at every contest. I honestly had a line through the kid but hes reinvented himself as a small fwd/def switch-man. He probably wont ever be a prolific ball winner and probably wouldnt make a 22 at any other side but he offers the perfect flex player in the system richo is running.

undecided on him, but he's giving his all and definitely should stay on the list. could develop into another geary (no one thinks that's a negative anymore i hope).

felix

He hits very hard which helps create pressure and perceived pressure which lead to turnovers , seems to be a vital cog in the Richo pressure wheel.

felix wrote:He hits very hard which helps create pressure and perceived pressure which lead to turnovers , seems to be a vital cog in the Richo pressure wheel.
Yep, good stuff.

lintonstreet

felix wrote:He hits very hard which helps create pressure and perceived pressure which lead to turnovers , seems to be a vital cog in the Richo pressure wheel.