GWS vs DOGS.

Re: GWS vs DOGS.

If effing Footscray win the flag imagine how
much shyte us Saints fans will cop?

Hate to imagine it. And back that up with Bomt vs. Billings.

I feel like a two dollar whore but want Sydney to win the flag.

Colossal crowd of 21,790.

It's pretty hard to take the comp seriously at the moment.

GWS v Swans grannie would have shone a good spotlight on the whole farce.

The Swans will no doubt bravely go onto win another flag with a 10% higher cap than their rivals next week…

Rapt for the Dogs tonight. Hope they go on with it next week. Gutsy team who have done the hard and honest route. Bont is a champ....doesn't mean Billings can't become one.

saintspremiers wrote:If effing Footscray win the flag imagine how
much shyte us Saints fans will cop?

Hate to imagine it. And back that up with Bomt vs. Billings.

I feel like a two dollar whore but want Sydney to win the flag.
I hope the Bullies win it, whatever crap we cop we probably deserve, Bulldogs and Saints are both crap, historically, unfortunately, for us Saints fans. :shock:

Fantastic win by the Bulldogs. I hope they win the Grand Final. It will be a victory for the grass roots supporter

dragit wrote:Colossal crowd of 21,790.

The Swans will no doubt bravely go onto win another flag with a 10% higher cap than their rivals next week…
And you expected GWS to win no doubt!

Guess what, a lot of people were wrong. It would be good for all struggling clubs like St Kilda if the Dogs win. It will give all those struggling clubs hope that if you do things right then you are a chance.

Finally f*** Collingwood, Carlton and Essendon. It will show that salary cap cheating, drugs and brown paper bags eventually gets you nowhere.

magnifisaint wrote:

Guess what, a lot of people were wrong. It would be good for all struggling clubs like St Kilda if the Dogs win. It will give all those struggling clubs hope that if you do things right then you are a chance.

Finally f*** Collingwood, Carlton and Essendon. It will show that salary cap cheating, drugs and brown paper bags eventually gets you nowhere.

Good to see a little more common sense ITT.

magnifisaint wrote:

THIS!!! +1

I'd be rapt for the dogs to win a flag, but it won't make me feel any better about ours chances of wining one… it just doesn't work like that unfortunately.

Why... Would you feel good for their supporters?

I'll tell you what, if we were playing Sydney this week, hardly a dogs supporter would want us to win, we are their most hated opposition.

They played well tonight, have done all final series. It will end next week at the hands of the swans. Funny thing is, the GWS would have beaten the swans.

GWS had their opportunity tonight. Some players didn't handle the moment. Unfortunately that will make them hungrier
Ward going off didn't help.

BTW
What has happened to Jeremy Cameron? He is rubbish atm

magnifisaint wrote: Finally f*** Collingwood, Carlton and Essendon. It will show that salary cap cheating, drugs and brown paper bags eventually gets you nowhere.
Well it got Caaaarlton a few Premierships and we have all heard the rumours about Collingwood's "recovery" after the drawn GF.

We nearly forgot that this was the Giants first finals series. The old adage that you've got to earn your stripes and experience some pain before you earn the ultimate has come to fruition

If GWS get a good run with unjuries in the next few years we're all f***ed including the Doggies

BigMart wrote:Why... Would you feel good for their supporters?

I'll tell you what, if we were playing Sydney this week, hardly a dogs supporter would want us to win, we are their most hated opposition.
Yes I do feel good for their supporters. Anyone who has stuck to a club like the Dogs deserves success. First GF for 55 years after 7 losing prelims.
I was moved by the emotion amongst them all after their win today. Long overdue for them.
Don't reckon their fans hate us any more than any others. There are people supporting every club who hate other teams. Am sure the vast majority of their members are super hungry for success. Hope they win it and celebrate long and hard. Will spur us on.

I think as Saints fans we've copped so much over the years we should be able to handle a little bit more sledging from fuckwits that think the Dogs winning is an excuse to bag the Saints.

The Doggies players have done some remarkable things with 2 wins away this series. As professional sportsmen and the way they're coached is inspiring for all athletes and all teams and all footballers including our boys. I couldn't give a rats toss bag for their supporters but you can't help but admire the club.

Another reason which is pretty important for us in Melbourne and Victoria (although this has nothing to do with sportmanship or the pursuit of premierships) is that it's good for our economy.

st.byron wrote:
BigMart wrote:Why... Would you feel good for their supporters?

Yes I do feel good for their supporters. Anyone who has stuck to a club like the Dogs deserves success. First GF for 55 years after 7 losing prelims.
I was moved by the emotion amongst them all after their win today. Long overdue for them.
Don't reckon their fans hate us any more than any others. There are people supporting every club who hate other teams. Am sure the vast majority of their members are super hungry for success. Hope they win it and celebrate long and hard. Will spur us on.

Enrico_Misso wrote:But you have to feel for the generations of GWS diehards most of whom haven't seen success in their lifetime.
Now they may be condemned to another long wait for another possible chance of glory.
They will be doing it hard tonight.
Brian Taylor was saying that the bulldogs have't played in a grand final for 55 years and that GWS had NEVER played in one. What an absolute flog!! :roll:

SMS

Disaster for us.

Even if dogs dont win saturday they will win flags with this group over the next 8-12 years.
Stars on every line. You can tell theyve got it.

Unfortunetly I cant imagine our group getting to that height. Theyll be good we'll win a couple of finals but ...acres ross dunstan steven v bontempelli hunter wallis libba??? Damn not see the difference?

Whatever ill still love the saints!

SMS

We had bevo, couldve had bonts and daniel ... :(

Meh nice for the Dogs but the Swans will beat them

Buddy to kick 6

SMS wrote:Disaster for us.

Even if dogs dont win saturday they will win flags with this group over the next 8-12 years.
Stars on every line. You can tell theyve got it.

Unfortunetly I cant imagine our group getting to that height. Theyll be good we'll win a couple of finals but ...acres ross dunstan steven v bontempelli hunter wallis libba??? Damn not see the difference?

Whatever ill still love the saints!
It's not about the Bulldog supporters, it's the way the Bulldogs have rebuilt themselves. Nearly down and out they've picked themselves up without the help of draft consessions. Try they've received AFL assistance but so what. It gives hope to the Saints. A couple of drafts can change everything.

Dogs show what a champion team can do - gutsy guys like Picken inspire

Coached very well

Daniel is proving a great get and being so small clearly driven - ah but alas draft experts all told us he was to small.... we overlooked tenacity

We have work to do and still IMO have players to weed out before we are seriously challenging

SMS wrote:Unfortunetly I cant imagine our group getting to that height. Theyll be good we'll win a couple of finals but ...acres ross dunstan steven v bontempelli hunter wallis libba??? Damn not see the difference?
Jesus, are you insane?!?! Did you not watch the Saints play this year? Cheer up, mate. We have everything to be optimistic about at the moment. We're probably about to land a big name during the trade period. The signs are we can only go from strength to strength. It won't be long until we get another chance at the ultimate.

Doggies are set to be good for a good long while. They have a very young team, and indeed they were actually younger tonight than the GWS team. 24yrs 4 months vs 24years 11 months. By way of comparison the average age of the StKilda team in the last round was 25yrs 9 months.

They had good players out tonight like Wallis, Suckling and Murphy and next year will also have the choice of Crameri and it would seem Cloke. So that is real depth.

We are rebuilding well, but are not yet there. Doggies have rebuilt and should get better as they age and gain games.

Sainternist wrote: Jesus, are you insane?!?! Did you not watch the Saints play this year? .
Well when we were supposedly "up" the Roos and Swans pummelled and when we went to the GC the Suns also pummelled us.

Signs are good, but we still have a long way to go. However as the Doggies have shown things can change quickly. Though that "quickly" is actually not that quick and is based on a period of really nailing quite a few late picks and rookie picks with the luck to have a batch of talented father sons acquired before the rules changed to prevent fs selections at large discounts.

ie Jason Johannisen who played a vital last quarter game was picked as a rookie as were Dalhaus both in 2010 and Redpath/ Lin Jong in 2012

Doggies have had a sustained period of good draft selections when you look at it from an overall perspective.

Saints have only in recent drafts turned it around from dismal to good. We need to keep nailing most of our picks.

Norm De Plume

Screw the bulldogs.

Go swannies.

Swans premiers, Buddy 5, Hannebery NSM.