Eli Templeton

Has Eli been picked by any AFL team now that all the drafting has finished?

Re: Eli Templeton

Does not appear to have been redrafted

It's a shame as I thought Eli looked pretty good and was worth persevering with... reports seemed to question his training ethic and attitude as not being elite

In fact non of the Saints delistees appears to have gotten another chance. It's a shame though I know one forumite will be relieved

skeptic wrote:Does not appear to have been redrafted

It's a shame as I thought Eli looked pretty good and was worth persevering with... reports seemed to question his training ethic and attitude as not being elite

In fact non of the Saints delistees appears to have gotten another chance. It's a shame though I know one forumite will be relieved
I think it's a bit of a shame too. I really thought he would have something to offer another team, and I missed seeing who grabbed him.

I feel for the young lads, who show glimpse of potential, but the system brutally spits them out.

I don't think Bernard Shakey was that over enamoured with Eli's team attitude........ and BS follows Sandi closely, so he may have been spot on if no other team has shown interest in Eli.

Oh well, he's still young, he might work hard on his deficiencies and be back in the mix next season. I hope so.

There are experienced AFL players who were not picked up including an dx captain and a player who played in last years GF

Trained with Swans who showed some interest but in the end didn't select him.

Pity.

Shame because I reckon he can play. Can be a cruel business for those on the fringes.

I assume Xavier from Sydney is a wanker.

Must be spewing he turned down a two year contract now

saintspremiers wrote:I assume Xavier from Sydney is a wanker.

A little off-topic, but he basically said he wasn't fazed if he didn't get picked up by another club.
http://www.afl.com.au/news/2016-11-01/e ... erlook-him

Pretty sure that attitude has come back to bite him, if it turns out he really does care.

Serves Xavier right - he overplayed his hand.

Eli was a better player before he cut those locks.

Paul Amy ‏@PaulAmy375
Eli Templeton for Port Melbourne? The ex-Saint would be a fine addition to the Borough ranks. Had a v good 2016 at Sandringham.

silverhalo

saintbrat wrote:Paul Amy ‏@PaulAmy375
Eli Templeton for Port Melbourne? The ex-Saint would be a fine addition to the Borough ranks. Had a v good 2016 at Sandringham.
Yep, definitely joined Port.

Blame his dad. Tosser of the highest order. Mum's great, as is Xav. Nice young man. Badly adised. Sometimes father doesn't know best!

White Winmar wrote:

Blame his dad. Tosser of the highest order. Mum's great, as is Xav. Nice young man. Badly adised. Sometimes father doesn't know best!
Too true re father not knowing best WW.......... some of our tennis players have had some doozy dads when it comes to advising their offspring, Mr Philipousos, Mr Docik, Mr Tomic, Mr & Mum Kyrious. Even Liitle L. Hewitt, ceased being a brat when he found a wife and eased himself from the fawning grip of Mr & Mrs Hewitt Senior.

loris wrote:
White Winmar wrote:

Too true re father not knowing best WW.......... some of our tennis players have had some doozy dads when it comes to advising their offspring, Mr Philipousos, Mr Docik, Mr Tomic, Mr & Mum Kyrious. Even Liitle L. Hewitt, ceased being a brat when he found a wife and eased himself from the fawning grip of Mr & Mrs Hewitt Senior.
Yes indeed, Loris. Xav inherited his genes from his mum. Good call on the stage "dads". We've always chopped into stage mothers, but I've seen so many stage fathers at junior sport, Jeff Richards at the top of the list. btw, I cant play that youtube clip of the greys at a Crowded house concert. Do you have a link I can go to? Many thanks, my dear Loris.

White Winmar wrote:
loris wrote:
White Winmar wrote:

Yes indeed, Loris. Xav inherited his genes from his mum. Good call on the stage "dads". We've always chopped into stage mothers, but I've seen so many stage fathers at junior sport, Jeff Richards at the top of the list. btw, I cant play that youtube clip of the greys at a Crowded house concert. Do you have a link I can go to? Many thanks, my dear Loris.
That is the only YouTube link I have of it WW. I tear up every time I see the video. I love seeing the shots outside of the stadium, people coming up patting the dogs, they just have to touch them.
It happens all the time when you walk down a street with a grey. People can't stop from talking to you about the hounds and patting them. You always get the comments, ....."I didn't realise they are calm and gentle", "oh aren't they placid", "They are so regal and elegant"............ the greyhound racing industry have given the gulllible public such an incorrect image of these beautiful hounds. After the Crowded House concert in Perth in 2007, we had a spike in the number of dogs adopted then. So I really appreciate CH and their efforts.
I just wished someone had videod on their phone tthe Perth concerts, so I could have vision of my Dear old Lucy in her Saints stripes. She was the only grey, not wearing her GAP body suit. Naughty Luce..........always had to be one who marched to the beat of a different drum...... her owner had nothing to do with it. :wink:

Try googling the following heading 'Backstage with Crowded House and the greyhounds at Rod Lever Arena', that will take you to a couple of links to the YouTube video. Try the one with the Splitzendz address it takes you to the YouTube clip immediately.

Done!

Does seem strange that a 20 y.o finishing fifth in the VFL b&f wouldn't get picked up somewhere. But the footy world is a small, incestuous world and clubs would wonder why he was delisted from St Kilda. If the scuttlebutt was true about him disobeying coaching orders, they would quickly learn about it.

What didn't help him was his kicking was very up and under and he tended to boost his numbers with some little 1-2 handballs. I always liked his energy and linkup play. Tough business this AFL with a huge crop of talented kids coming in every year. Good luck Eli. If he can tear up the VFL again, increase his endurance to become elite, become a bit more effective with his kicking, its not beyond the pale for him to get another shot at the AFL - he's still young enough to be on that cusp.

No tricks or elite attributes for AFL.

dragit wrote:No tricks or elite attributes for AFL.
No but someone has to to be 22nd best player for 18 clubs every week.
I felt like he was potentially good enough to hold a spot in the 22 in the next year or two.

Greyhounds are both very friendly and lazy dogs. But would be great pets if you're into bigger dogs but don't want the weight that most of them come with. And is great to watch them sprint around an open paddock - they seem to glide at a million miles an hour just for fun!

dragit wrote:No tricks or elite attributes for AFL.
No but someone has to to be 22nd best player for 18 clubs every week.
I felt like he was potentially good enough to hold a spot in the 22 in the next year or two.
Yeah, I feel like he was never going to break into the side long term, being our 6th best small forward/VFL midfielder.

In 2017 we need to squeeze in Steele, Carlisle, Stevens, Brown and Freeman*, whilst only retiring one starting 22 player. Hopefully the year after we add at least 2 starting mids.

Playon

If you cant play as a defensive forward and can't play in the midfield, then you wont get a game, at least for us..

Altho Eli "can" play in the midfield, I wouldn't of thought this was were he was most effective, but he's not an island we have a few on our list.

The days of the Stevie Milne type player have gone and past, unless there are further changes to the interchange bench. eg no interchanges would mean marking players become more important and most likely crumbing forwards.

Same thing has happened with rucks, they must be able to offer more than hitouts.

Currently all teams are still trying to have the same run with less interchanges, something had to give

Playon wrote:If you cant play as a defensive forward and can't play in the midfield, then you wont get a game, at least for us..

Altho Eli "can" play in the midfield, I wouldn't of thought this was were he was most effective, but he's not an island we have a few on our list.

The days of the Stevie Milne type player have gone and past, unless there are further changes to the interchange bench. eg no interchanges would mean marking players become more important and most likely crumbing forwards.

Same thing has happened with rucks, they must be able to offer more than hitouts.

Currently all teams are still trying to have the same run with less interchanges, something had to give
While this may be a good thing I think the demise of the traditional ruckman is not good for the game.

I propose that a 23rd man be allowed to play as a second ruckman and that the two ruckmen can change any time they want to on and off the bench but one has to always be on the bench. The traditional ruckman 'may' then not become extinct.

I think the 3rd man up should be banned next year allowing the traditional 2 nominated ruckman to compete? The AFL wants less congestion thats one snappy fix to get the the other 2 x ruckman or ruck rovers from competing balls up or throw ins.

The traditional ruckman is a big tall slow guy that is basically useless outside of stoppages... I'm glad the game is moving past this type of player towards 20 disposal rucks that can mark and also impact games during play.

This is what makes hickey so much more valuable than longer.