Sandy v Port Melb
Anyone at the game?
Apparently paddy, battle and marshall all kicked 2 goals in the first, 38-12 at quarter time
Would love if Paddy and Marshall in particular put in really strong performances. Having Marshall play as that ruck forward would make playing Longer a viable option, which could help us with what transpired yesterday arvo against the dees.
Love hickey but if he's not up to it against a player like gawn we may need the physical attributes of longer to keep our mids in it. But he'll need a chop out.
Battle is fighting it out with membrey as it stands and members has a few credits in the bank, but would love for the young boy to kick a few more too.
Is Acres playing?
Heads may roll after yesterday's performance
edit: half time, Goals: Marshall 4, McCartin 3, Battle 2, Montagna 1, Weickhardt 1
Disposals: Sinclair 20, Verma 19, Acres 16
Apparently paddy, battle and marshall all kicked 2 goals in the first, 38-12 at quarter time
Would love if Paddy and Marshall in particular put in really strong performances. Having Marshall play as that ruck forward would make playing Longer a viable option, which could help us with what transpired yesterday arvo against the dees.
Love hickey but if he's not up to it against a player like gawn we may need the physical attributes of longer to keep our mids in it. But he'll need a chop out.
Battle is fighting it out with membrey as it stands and members has a few credits in the bank, but would love for the young boy to kick a few more too.
Is Acres playing?
edit: half time, Goals: Marshall 4, McCartin 3, Battle 2, Montagna 1, Weickhardt 1
-
- Saintsational Legend
Re: Sandy v Port Melb
RODOS wrote:Anyone at the game?
Is Acres playing?
Keep those reports coming in mate.
Goals this quarter (3rd): Battle 2 (4 in total i think), Curren, Acres
Disposals: Verma 27, Sinclair 27, Acres 22
monty also has 18 touches for the game which bodes well for next week
Disposals: Verma 27, Sinclair 27, Acres 22
monty also has 18 touches for the game which bodes well for next week
- BackFromUSA
- Saintsational Legend
Final scores and stats?
still waiting on the sandy twitterfeed, I think they're going for a 'less is more' approachBackFromUSA wrote:Final scores and stats?
'FULL TIME:
The Zebra's come away with a convincing win with a dominant performance & a great effort by the boys!
Disposals: Verma 32, Sinclair 27 & Acres 22.
Goals: Marshall 5, Battle 4, McCartin 3, Weickhardt 2, Answerth 2, Acres, Montagna, Curren & Sziller. '
from bigfooty
seems acres either didn't get a touch in the last or was rested. I think paddy may only have played 3 quarters too from what richo said last night about him being 'managed'. Marshall with five is very encouraging! Battle too. WHo is Verma? Is that our nick name for Bailey Rice? Verma... celli? ok im done
The Zebra's come away with a convincing win with a dominant performance & a great effort by the boys!
Goals: Marshall 5, Battle 4, McCartin 3, Weickhardt 2, Answerth 2, Acres, Montagna, Curren & Sziller. '
from bigfooty
seems acres either didn't get a touch in the last or was rested. I think paddy may only have played 3 quarters too from what richo said last night about him being 'managed'. Marshall with five is very encouraging! Battle too. WHo is Verma? Is that our nick name for Bailey Rice? Verma... celli? ok im done
-
- Club Player
If Hickey's not up to it??? Sheesh. Gawn was AA last year. We played the Dees twice with Hickey winning 2-0!! If Hickey's not up to it???RODOS wrote:Anyone at the game?
Is Acres playing?
Give me one flag & I'll go to my grave a happy man.
-
- Club Player
Yesterday, Hickey copped a hiding of epic proportions
They controlled the Centre Sauare because Gawn did!
Will be dropped I reckon
-
- Club Player
Doubtful if Longer could have done any better.BigMart wrote:Yesterday, Hickey copped a hiding of epic proportions
Will be dropped I reckon
Tom should still have some credits from last year , and as Tony said throwing the bal up didn't help him.
- saintsRrising
- Saintsational Legend
Evidently Dempster did not play.
-
- Saintsational Legend
I played footy at the same club but a few years behind his dad growing up and played cricket with his dad. Toss was a great sportsman, very competitive and well let's just say he knew he was good. he played at Hawthorn in a very strong era but succumbed to injury. If young Josh has the same attributes he will love a goal, love to win and do whatever it takes to get ahead of the opposition and the team mates he competes with on the training track and for position on the field. Having said that Toss was a natural leader, encouraged others and epitomised the fighting spirit and determination. I have high hopes for Josh Battle. He comes from a great family and his granddad would have been very proud.Joe Bloggs wrote:One feels the Battle likes a goal or two.
I get the feeling we will see him play AFL this year. The boy has a huge engine for his size too so don't be surprised if he ends up surpassing McCartin. That is if the plan is flexible enough to reward results, sheer talent and capability. He should smash it in the VFL.
sheesh yourself, on his day hickey can be as damaging as any, but if he keeps playing like he did last night then we have to consider alternatives. If we played melbourne again this coming weekend instead of west coast, given the way we were absolutely dominated in the centre square and stoppages, would you play hickey again, or give longer a try? honest question. I'd be inclined to give longer a run with marshall providing the chop out, unless we managed to figure out why it was hickey played so poorly (8 touches and 18 hit outs to gawn's 13 touches and 49 hit outs) and how to fix it .Viking3 wrote:If Hickey's not up to it??? Sheesh. Gawn was AA last year. We played the Dees twice with Hickey winning 2-0!! If Hickey's not up to it???RODOS wrote:Anyone at the game?
Is Acres playing?
But with that said, the throwing the ball up thing (as mentioned by others) was not good for hickey, and frankly if they're going to throw it up, then they should throw it up as high the ball goes when it gets bounced. It looks like basketball out there with their dinky throws. Takes the whole reading the ball part out of the equation.
I'm not saying I don't think hickey is up to it, but just incase one of the many variables (injuries, motivation, mental health, rule changes, etc) have an adverse effect on his game, we have rowan marshall and billy longer.
... sheesh
-
- Club Player
Agree, he should be dropped on his performance.BigMart wrote:Yesterday, Hickey copped a hiding of epic proportions
Will be dropped I reckon
It's a new world with no third up for us, new rule is going to hurt ( and hurt other teams without an elite ruck this season) imo
Throwing the ball up also helped Gawn but there was a lack of physical pressure on the man
I'm not sure Longer would have done much better but he can be much more physical
in the contest and it may have helped somewhat
The coach said he was tossing up between the rucks so he's going to find it hard to keep Longer out.
I'll stick my neck out once again and say we may be forced to play horses for courses and I'm thinking we will try two rucks at sometime this season. Hopefully both of them will continue to improve during the year
And our former president said " Football is like golf"
Longer smacks in harder than Hickey
Hickeys a better player
I reckon Gawn could've played a game today, given that he wasn't even challenged in the ruck...
Hickeys a better player
I reckon Gawn could've played a game today, given that he wasn't even challenged in the ruck...
- saintsRrising
- Saintsational Legend
Perhaps before dropping Hickey one should look at who their rucks are and how big a ground they will playing on.
The wce rucks got touched up by the north rucks. Though wce still won despite losing the ruck contest.
Petrie broke his hard so will probably be out leaving Vardy.
The wce rucks got touched up by the north rucks. Though wce still won despite losing the ruck contest.
Petrie broke his hard so will probably be out leaving Vardy.
Last edited by saintsRrising on Sun 26 Mar 2017 8:43pm, edited 2 times in total.
I wouldn't be surprised if hickey has a blinder next weeksaintsRrising wrote:Perhaps before dropping Hickey one should look at who their rucks are and how big a ground they will player on.
- shrodes
- SS Life Member
That's awesome by Marshall. I had a feeling based on the highlights posted around draft time... very strong hands and smarts for a tall bloke. Hope we see more from him.RODOS wrote:'FULL TIME:
from bigfooty
No bounces due to the turf provided a "fair" contest which is a sure way that the better ruckman will always win. atleast with bounces it will favour one side or the other, evening out over a game.BigMart wrote:Yesterday, Hickey copped a hiding of epic proportions
Will be dropped I reckon
Petrie will miss with a fractured hand. NOt only does this help Hickey tremendously, WCE will be a tall short in their forward line as they like to play resting ruck.dragit wrote:I reckon Hickey has Vardy & Petrie covered... deserves the chance to redeem.
-
- Club Player
The centre square and stoppage dominance was just as much, if not more, an issue with our midfielders. Doesn't matter which ruck gets the tap, the midfield has a 50/50 chance of getting to the ball first.RODOS wrote:sheesh yourself, on his day hickey can be as damaging as any, but if he keeps playing like he did last night then we have to consider alternatives. If we played melbourne again this coming weekend instead of west coast, given the way we were absolutely dominated in the centre square and stoppages, would you play hickey again, or give longer a try? honest question. I'd be inclined to give longer a run with marshall providing the chop out, unless we managed to figure out why it was hickey played so poorly (8 touches and 18 hit outs to gawn's 13 touches and 49 hit outs) and how to fix it .Viking3 wrote:If Hickey's not up to it??? Sheesh. Gawn was AA last year. We played the Dees twice with Hickey winning 2-0!! If Hickey's not up to it???RODOS wrote:Anyone at the game?
Is Acres playing?
But with that said, the throwing the ball up thing (as mentioned by others) was not good for hickey, and frankly if they're going to throw it up, then they should throw it up as high the ball goes when it gets bounced. It looks like basketball out there with their dinky throws. Takes the whole reading the ball part out of the equation.
I'm not saying I don't think hickey is up to it, but just incase one of the many variables (injuries, motivation, mental health, rule changes, etc) have an adverse effect on his game, we have rowan marshall and billy longer.
... sheesh
You already have Marshall leap frogging Pierce and Holmes and in essence McCartin who still has to come in. Or are we going to play Longer, McCartin, Bruce and Marshall?
Sheesh.
And yes, you were inferring that Hickey wasn't up to it. They were your words not mine.
Sheesh.
It's ONE game.
Double Sheesh.
Give me one flag & I'll go to my grave a happy man.
-
- Saintsational Legend
Marshall is a rookie so someone has to be on the long term injury list for him to be elevated and play (Freeman?) or I think one rookie can still be elevated half way through the year (or thereabouts).
- saintbrat
- Saintsational Legend
Nice day for a trip to TBBO
nice to beat Port Melbourne any time
even better to beat them by a big margin
lots of coaches in attendance
Dempster didn't play
Pierce played minutes in both Dev game and Seniors
Unfortunately Marshall is a rooke-
a couple of 'injuries' coming out of it maybe- thumbs and/or fingers, cramping - was quite warm
Verma is Sandy Player-
nice to beat Port Melbourne any time
even better to beat them by a big margin
lots of coaches in attendance
Dempster didn't play
Pierce played minutes in both Dev game and Seniors
Unfortunately Marshall is a rooke-
a couple of 'injuries' coming out of it maybe- thumbs and/or fingers, cramping - was quite warm
Verma is Sandy Player-
pff, im just highlighting the fact we have depth and it's encouraging you pleb.Viking3 wrote:The centre square and stoppage dominance was just as much, if not more, an issue with our midfielders. Doesn't matter which ruck gets the tap, the midfield has a 50/50 chance of getting to the ball first.RODOS wrote:sheesh yourself, on his day hickey can be as damaging as any, but if he keeps playing like he did last night then we have to consider alternatives. If we played melbourne again this coming weekend instead of west coast, given the way we were absolutely dominated in the centre square and stoppages, would you play hickey again, or give longer a try? honest question. I'd be inclined to give longer a run with marshall providing the chop out, unless we managed to figure out why it was hickey played so poorly (8 touches and 18 hit outs to gawn's 13 touches and 49 hit outs) and how to fix it .Viking3 wrote:If Hickey's not up to it??? Sheesh. Gawn was AA last year. We played the Dees twice with Hickey winning 2-0!! If Hickey's not up to it???RODOS wrote:Anyone at the game?
Is Acres playing?
... sheesh
You already have Marshall leap frogging Pierce and Holmes and in essence McCartin who still has to come in. Or are we going to play Longer, McCartin, Bruce and Marshall?
Sheesh.
And yes, you were inferring that Hickey wasn't up to it. They were your words not mine.
Sheesh.
It's ONE game.
Double Sheesh.
I don't know who comes in for who I wasn't trying to pick the team, i'm not going to humour your aggressive posting style from here on. cheers
- saintbrat
- Saintsational Legend
Good to see Young Sziller get a touch or 2FULL TIME:
Goals: Marshall 5, Battle 4, McCartin 3, Weickhardt 2, Answerth 2, Acres, Montagna, Curren & Sziller.