So, who coaches then?????

lefty

Re: So, who coaches then?????

asiu wrote:
lefty wrote:Bring back Grant Thomas, I'd gladly have him. I trust Rooey's judgement / Dal Santo etc.
have those two suggested that course of action ?
No, but Dal said on radio a week or two ago, that he was really good with the players, getting them together etc to rebound when they were down etc.

Roo spoke about how it was wrong to remove Grant at the time. Last year (IIRC) when Butters came out on the footy show, you could see how angry Roo was about it and how it was the wrong decision, because Butters was a mess on drugs and alcohol from memory.

I personally think the players got along well and played for him, but also respected him. Pretty sure Hamil wasn't happy when Blight left, but that quickly changed.

Again, this is all from an outside perspective, so I cannot personally claim anything as pure fact. I haven't read Roo's book.

All I know is we went from easy beats to a team that with force. We shared the captaincies etc, there was heaps of things we did pro-actively, not re-actively and we didn't cop s***. Grant stuck up for the players and the club stood strong. It wasn't excuses and focus on the 'positives' each week after poor performances. Losing is one thing, getting belted is another. I just can't see our game plan at the moment, we started the first quarter with 1 or 2 extra in defence. How many times did Patty, probably the slowest player be seen chasing two or more players. I don't understand the extra man or two back, did we even go in with the aim to win or was the aim to restrict the damage/loss? Either way, keeps happening, there's going to be a lot of pressure at the end of the season.

I personally don't think it's the players. There's no way a team that belted Richmond last year can succumb to this level. Our development of players has been very poor as well. But I'd rather have a good team of players than a few stars players and nothing else, because you end up relying on those star players too much. Richmond won last year with players you've never heard of, that's a system / culture / coach. Essendon is in the same boat as us at the moment. It is what it is at the moment. Our pressure / hunting in the forward line is non existent, not that it helps when its 4 vs 6 etc.
Last edited by lefty on Mon 07 May 2018 3:03pm, edited 1 time in total.

ta for that
(thought i'd missed those two sayn 'bring back GT')

twas a dumb move by RocketRod ... on that point i agree wholeheartedly

GT :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Unfortunately too many St Kilda coaches have 'lost' the players. I can think of Watters, Blight and Tim Watson off the cuff.

:evil: As others have said we must get rid of Richo. It is now our only option. The players will not turnaround their form in the current regime and we can’t continue as we are

A circuit breaker is what is required

I always loved GT and reckon he was unfairly criticised. I do agree with some criticism on his match day performance (tactically) though.

What about Caracella or Barker as coach and GT in the Neil Balme style role?

If we don’t go for Caracella now you can bet the bombers will by seasons end...if not sooner!

I’m a big GT fan but one must learn from our mistakes...

I think it was Stan Alves who said that a hallmark of St.Kilda was that when things got tough, they would go back to something that had worked reasonably well in the past.
The problem with that approach is that everybody else has moved forward and is doing things better so what worked 5-10 years ago isn’t as effective in the modern era.

MC Gusto wrote::evil: As others have said we must get rid of Richo. It is now our only option. The players will not turnaround their form in the current regime and we can’t continue as we are

A circuit breaker is what is required

I always loved GT and reckon he was unfairly criticised. I do agree with some criticism on his match day performance (tactically) though.

What about Caracella or Barker as coach and GT in the Neil Balme style role?

If we don’t go for Caracella now you can bet the bombers will by seasons end...if not sooner!
BARKER? Our former “ Forward line coach”? Are you on medication?

jonesy wrote:Fold.
Exterminate AFL from our lives
Take up weekend homebrewing , BBQs with mates, travelling.
THIS!

bigred wrote:
jonesy wrote:Fold.
Exterminate AFL from our lives
Take up weekend homebrewing , BBQs with mates, travelling.
THIS!
Actually that just might relieve the stress, frustration and despair I am feeling now.

Couldn't sleep last night.
At best we are a major rebuild and at least 7 years away from a crack at a flag.
Beginning to feel that I probably won't see a flag in my lifetime.

Not sure if GT would butter up (or should that be "buttersss"?) again.
But I was always a fan of GT.
He was a great man manager.
The players loved playing for him.
The players enjoyed playing.
And as a fan that 2004 season was a fantastic time to be supporting the Saints as week after week we played exciting infectious footy.
Had we not been cruel led by injuries in our finals campaigns GT might have led us to a couple of flags.
His dismissal by our druggie president was a disgrace.

GT was not without his faults, most namely micro managing.
But we could do a lot worse than bringing him back as a caretaker for at least the rest of this year.

Geezus
Seriously we are rolling out “good ole GT” who was cooked 10 years ago??
FFS get a good assistant whosecdone his time - aka Lyon
GT has NO tactical nous at all as coach and didvthe old “play for the heart/jumper” crap
Leigh Tudor gets my vote and NO coincidence when we had him our forward, crowded and all, worked