The Curse of FitzSimons

Someone in a previous thread recently speculated on when the team's malaise started. Contrary to most saying it was after the Maddie Riewoldt match against Richmond last year, they pointed out it was after the Carlton match before that, when the club's latest scandal happened. What a storm in the teacup it seemed to be at the time; I mean, football players have been trading various insults to one another on the field since the dawn of Australian Rules Football in the 19th century. But of course, during today's age of PC gone batshit crazy it has to be a big deal if someone sledges in making remarks about an opponent's wife! Heaven's to Betsy!! :shock: How the bloody hell did that even come to light after the game? Slow week for the press?

The team seemed to be playing a really cohesive brand of footy around then and the morale was right up. Enter the sanctimonious twat of a journalist, Peter FitzSimons. Not only is his writing heavy-handed and littered with hyperbole, but he has the look to match. That jerk led a media frenzy and FitzSimons Inquiry into making sure our club was put into a very poor light and regardless of the apologies made by our captain and coach, it worked. That dirty dog even went as far as putting a curse on us. It was as though the team was hit psychologically by this. I have to say, this was a test of character for Richo and he came out to only look like a cheese-eating surrender monkey. I don't think it's any coincidence the team have never looked anywhere near as tough (with the exception of the Maddie Match, perhaps because the stakes were high) since. It was as though the team was emasculated.

Anyway, the bottom line is:the team needs to put a stake through the heart of that wretched mongrel FitzSimons and get their balls back. Perhaps they were left in Mrs Murphy's purse.

Re: The Curse of FitzSimons

What a wanker. I mean...just look at him. Take off your communist red bandanna.

Whay a self righteous, PC and apologist wanker of the highest magnitude. Plus your wife's excessive plastic surgery make the Housewives of Melbourne look like normal human beings.

I can't remember who mentioned it another thread, but some Aboriginal fella from the NT did put a curse on the Saints many years back. He is the main culprit for our woes across the years. The bone curse he placed on the Saints has been deadly ever since. I'm not sure how it can be broken, but I plan to utilise Google excessively.

That Caaaaaarlton game definitely derailed us.
We let the media walk all over us.

As for Fitzsimons - what a tosser.
Dresses like he thinks he is some sort of rock star.
Totally full of himself.
The sort who just likes the sound of his own voice.
Has no AFL knowledge or background but happy to blurt out his uninformed uncontexted opinions just because he can.

parkeysainter wrote:What a wanker. I mean...just look at him. Take off your communist red bandanna.

Whay a self righteous, PC and apologist wanker of the highest magnitude. Plus your wife's excessive plastic surgery make the Housewives of Melbourne look like normal human beings.

I can't remember who mentioned it another thread, but some Aboriginal fella from the NT did put a curse on the Saints many years back. He is the main culprit for our woes across the years. The bone curse he placed on the Saints has been deadly ever since. I'm not sure how it can be broken, but I plan to utilise Google excessively.
Ben Long has 10 weeks up his sleeve and indigenous connections ............. cue Theme from Mission: Impossible 8-)

i'm happy to try anything - it worked for the soccerroos - Safran didn't get the credit he deserved!

Devilhead wrote:
parkeysainter wrote:What a wanker. I mean...just look at him. Take off your communist red bandanna.

Ben Long has 10 weeks up his sleeve and indigenous connections ............. cue Theme from Mission: Impossible 8-)
Even being indigenous like Ben Long doesn't save you from an aboriginal bone curse. Beware the Kurdaitcha Man. This stuff is real.

parkeysainter wrote:
Devilhead wrote:

Even being indigenous like Ben Long doesn't save you from an aboriginal bone curse. Beware the Kurdaitcha Man. This stuff is real.
says the white city kid.

I think the OP is pretty dumb.

FitzSimons, as a journalist Jumped on the bandwagon of a StKilda bashing exercise, nothing more, nothing less. I took issue with his commentary too, sent him an email pointing out that he did not comment on Mick Malthouses comment to Steven Milne, and that the Marc Murphy incident was banter and should be seen for that.

To my surprise, he responded and said that if the Club did nothing wrong, why did it apologise.

I don't mind Peter FitzSimons as a journalist, I don't agree with all his writings, but then why should I . He has written some fabulous books about the Australian Army in WW1 and WW2 and people like Nancy Wake, all heroes. I recommend them as a good read. If Kokoda doe not bring a tear to your eye, then not much will.

Rugby League would have to be the stupidest, most moronic and over rated game of all time.

I think the OP is pretty dumb.

FitzSimons, as a journalist Jumped on the bandwagon of a StKilda bashing exercise, nothing more, nothing less. I took issue with his commentary too, sent him an email pointing out that he did not comment on Mick Malthouses comment to Steven Milne, and that the Marc Murphy incident was banter and should be seen for that.

To my surprise, he responded and said that if the Club did nothing wrong, why did it apologise.

I don't mind Peter FitzSimons as a journalist, I don't agree with all his writings, but then why should I . He has written some fabulous books about the Australian Army in WW1 and WW2 and people like Nancy Wake, all heroes. I recommend them as a good read. If Kokoda doe not bring a tear to your eye, then not much will.

Rugby League would have to be the stupidest, most moronic and over rated game of all time.

This guy is the most purile, egotistical flog I have ever come across.
Just pathetic.

happy feet wrote:...he responded and said that if the Club did nothing wrong, why did it apologise.
Exactly...made my freakin' blood boil.

in for the long haul

Something to be said that our current malaise started with the Carlton game and the failure of the club hierarchy to back its players in circumstances where there were many grey areas. To see Finnis and Richardson so quickly fall to their knees begging forgivenesss was pretty hard for many supporters to take , not to mention the players. Not sure Collingwood , hawthorn et al would have done the same

This OP smacks of despair and desperation.

in for the long haul wrote:Something to be said that our current malaise started with the Carlton game and the failure of the club hierarchy to back its players in circumstances where there were many grey areas. To see Finnis and Richardson so quickly fall to their knees begging forgivenesss was pretty hard for many supporters to take , not to mention the players. Not sure Collingwood , hawthorn et al would have done the same
Hawthorn, Essendon, Collingwood, their players would have been strutting around like a bunch of peacocks the next week and their club wouldn't have given a stuff if an opposition player felt a bit weepy. I tend to think we're just about the only club who would have made such a statement to the contrary, and I was a little shocked we made such a big deal out of it.

Sainternist wrote:Someone in a previous thread recently speculated on when the team's malaise started. Contrary to most saying it was after the Maddie Riewoldt match against Richmond last year, they pointed out it was after the Carlton match before that, when the club's latest scandal happened. What a storm in the teacup it seemed to be at the time; I mean, football players have been trading various insults to one another on the field since the dawn of Australian Rules Football in the 19th century. But of course, during today's age of PC gone batshit crazy it has to be a big deal if someone sledges in making remarks about an opponent's wife! Heaven's to Betsy!! :shock: How the bloody hell did that even come to light after the game? Slow week for the press?

The team seemed to be playing a really cohesive brand of footy around then and the morale was right up. Enter the sanctimonious twat of a journalist, Peter FitzSimons. Not only is his writing heavy-handed and littered with hyperbole, but he has the look to match. That jerk led a media frenzy and FitzSimons Inquiry into making sure our club was put into a very poor light and regardless of the apologies made by our captain and coach, it worked. That dirty dog even went as far as putting a curse on us. It was as though the team was hit psychologically by this. I have to say, this was a test of character for Richo and he came out to only look like a cheese-eating surrender monkey. I don't think it's any coincidence the team have never looked anywhere near as tough (with the exception of the Maddie Match, perhaps because the stakes were high) since. It was as though the team was emasculated.

Anyway, the bottom line is:the team needs to put a stake through the heart of that wretched mongrel FitzSimons and get their balls back. Perhaps they were left in Mrs Murphy's purse.

He keeps his circumcision scar well hidden doesn't he?

John Kelly was his name. Actually pointed a bone at us for not letting Cuz play in an Allstars indigenous game in the NT,

felix

parkeysainter wrote:
Devilhead wrote:

The only way to undo the bone pointing curse is to find the man who did it originally..he may be dead so the curse will stay forever.

degruch wrote:
happy feet wrote:...he responded and said that if the Club did nothing wrong, why did it apologise.
Exactly...made my freakin' blood boil.
It's actually very much this.

The players lost a whole heap of trust when their Administration let the media walk all over them and effectively threw them under the bus by making everyone apologise. Trust - hard won; so easily lost. As our football department and coaching group are now finding out ...

desertsaint wrote:
parkeysainter wrote:
Devilhead wrote:

says the white city kid.
White city kid? Yeah right.

Coming from the poster that told Sam Fisher (club champ with a heart like Phar Lap) to get off the drugs because he publicly backed AR.

Some posters will clutch at ANY nonesense to explain the cause of our dip in form. “Curse of Fitzsimmons”? What utter tripe

thejiggingsaint wrote:Some posters will clutch at ANY nonesense to explain the cause of our dip in form. “Curse of Fitzsimmons”? What utter tripe
True Jiggers. I wish the Kurdaitcha Man wasn't true, but one did put a curse on the Saints! :D
Apparantly a bone curse can go either way though. Not just bad, but also good.

parkeysainter wrote:
thejiggingsaint wrote:Some posters will clutch at ANY nonesense to explain the cause of our dip in form. “Curse of Fitzsimmons”? What utter tripe
True Jiggers. I wish the Kurdaitcha Man wasn't true, but one did put a curse on the Saints! :D

Just ONE really GOOD win ( a- la GWS/ Hawks last season) and the situation takes on a completely different complexion. Honestly, if people are thinking this season compares to 2000 for absolute crap, then I “ agree to disagree “ with them. Someone wiser than me once said: “Fools look for excuses...... wise men SEEK reasons”. Rather than clutch at the straws of “ Fitzsimmons-itis” or “bone pointing” ( for goodness sake!? ) the supporters of our club should be hammering on the doors at Linton Street to demand answers to the malaise! Get down to training ( if possible ) confront Richo and his assistants with questions ( if these are put in a positive and respectful manner then this is a healthy thing)
I prefer to deal in realities rather than hocus pocus gobbledegook such as “ curses”

felix wrote:
parkeysainter wrote:
Devilhead wrote:

The only way to undo the bone pointing curse is to find the man who did it originally..he may be dead so the curse will stay forever.
Name's John Kelly and haven't heard that he has snuffed it.

thejiggingsaint wrote:
parkeysainter wrote:

Just ONE really GOOD win ( a- la GWS/ Hawks last season) and the situation takes on a completely different complexion. Honestly, if people are thinking this season compares to 2000 for absolute crap, then I “ agree to disagree “ with them. Someone wiser than me once said: “Fools look for excuses...... wise men SEEK reasons”. Rather than clutch at the straws of “ Fitzsimmons-itis” or “bone pointing” ( for goodness sake!? ) the supporters of our club should be hammering on the doors at Linton Street to demand answers to the malaise! Get down to training ( if possible ) confront Richo and his assistants with questions ( if these are put in a positive and respectful manner then this is a healthy thing)
I prefer to deal in realities rather than hocus pocus gobbledegook such as “ curses”

Well, if you were a dinky die, true blue Aussie you wouldn't be so dismissive. :wink: :wink: :wink: :wink: