As List Manager for 2018 what would you do.

Re: As List Manager for 2018 what would you do.

Crossy66 wrote: Thu 21 Jun 2018 12:05am
Teflon wrote: Wed 20 Jun 2018 11:35pm
Crossy66 wrote: Wed 20 Jun 2018 11:23pm
Teflon wrote: Wed 20 Jun 2018 7:42pm
Crossy66 wrote: Wed 20 Jun 2018 10:22am
Teflon wrote: Tue 19 Jun 2018 10:40pm
Crossy66 wrote: Tue 19 Jun 2018 10:05am
SMS wrote: Tue 19 Jun 2018 9:57am We may rue beating gold coast on weekend.

Ffs we may have thrown away getting walsh or Smith who we desperately need.

IF WE RECRUIT MAX KING I WILL LOSE.MY s***

Pick 3/4:. Smith - Walsh - Rankine or Collier Dawkins
SERIOUSLY IF WE.CHOOSE ANOTHER TALL ESPECIALLY KINGS WHO LOOK REALLY s*** AND SLOW.
I think we would benefit more by winning more games this season than losing. I dont share your view that tanking is a good idea.

And I don’t share your view that limping to 4-5 wins this does anything remotely at all to take this club forward , infact I’d argue it takes us back to an even worse spot than we are in now
It’s this kind of short term thinking that sees us hang on to mediocrity
How So?
How so what?
How finishing lower gets you better picks in a draft we desperately need to get anything out of and is a better reward than finishing 15th?

I think it’s obvious but do go forth and give me a lecture on how our “moral code” will be shattered for all time by tanking.....I care not. I just want the best available talent that enables us to be genuine challengers
Im not interested in meaningless wins that land us in no mans land....
Nothing to do with moral code. So I am Rory Sloane, the Saints lose every game finish 15th or 16 th, i would be less inclined to go there than playing for StKilda that wins the next nine and looks like a finals contender next year. I just think you need to show something to attract FA's.
Also think that good teams have good culture and strong leadership. Tanking isnt good for culture.
If we win another 4 or five we may go from pick 3 to pick 5. Draft history and in particular this draft, you are going to get a good player. The key will be the culture or development environment you bring them into more so than draft number.
Financially. poor game attendances for the rest of this year and trying to sell memberships for a cellar dweller next year will not help our 10mil debt.
In a nutshell, losing is bad for culture and bad for business and bad for the other 40 players for what - to climb up two spots in the draft?
So no - i didnt think my questions was that obvious.
Culture takes longer than 10 games to change
Rory Sloan knows what we are like already which is why Hawks are front runners because they are already closer to a flag than us
Higher draft position gives you greater choice you still need to make the right selection.....but if we can land a Chris Judd at 1 or N Riewoldt at 1 that sets you up for a decade. This draft is supposedly that good
Members need hope - a top line no 1 draft pick can bring some of that and no serious member believes we have the top shelf quality on our list anyway, besides a number 1 pick also gives you flexibility as it can be traded down to 2 top 10 picks and that might even pay higher dividends
No one is advertising tanking but we do that by playing kids so b4and doesn’t suffer as people know that’s where we need to go
Enough corporate BS about how good we are.....we fool no one
Better to be pragmatic, milk the system for all its worth, take some short term pain for much longer gain
We were rabble in 2000 - no one remembered that when Riewoldt led them onto the field for the 2009 GF
I understand your argument, and am sure plenty will agree. I just dont think the upside is worth the downside. Just on the number one selection, historically it hasnt been so good. In fact the number one selection has not always proved to be the best player if you revisited it a few years later. i.e. Weitering (1)or Oliver (4) or Curnow (12) rioli (15)? Paddy McCartin or Petracca / Brayshaw / Degoey / Lever
What about Tome Boyd versus Kelly / Bont / Cripps / Billings
McGrath versus Taranto / Florent

BTW, Chris Judd was number 3.

We will get a good player at 3,4 or 5!
Fair enough and I too see your argument but think it has little real sustainable upside tbh
Number 1 isn’t necessarily about the player it gives, but equally the flexibility and choice to do something else with it that comes from having it
I don’t know if this years is Nick Riewoldt but we did ok out of that and if Lukosia? Is this once in a generation player the media have been lauding him as I’d like the choice at least

"... but equally the flexibility and choice to do something else with it that comes from having it "

absolutely

if one was shite enough to be gettn the #uno pick
i'd be trading it out every day of the week for 2 good kids
or for established class

surely , you're shite , coz of a lack of depth in the list

(of course if a 'roo' is available ... you think about)

and trade out the next years high pick

asiu wrote: Thu 21 Jun 2018 10:56pm "... but equally the flexibility and choice to do something else with it that comes from having it "

absolutely

if one was shite enough to be gettn the #uno pick
i'd be trading it out every day of the week for 2 good kids
or for established class

surely , you're shite , coz of a lack of depth in the list

(of course if a 'roo' is available ... you think about)

and trade out the next years high pick
Spot on this allows us to be a bit creative/clever with what we do with but the key is WE have the choice
Stunned many just don’t get that

SMS

word is
pick 3-5: KING BROTHER
pick 57: J.KOSITCHKE

We are officially f***ed.

2 s*** talls. awesome. why are we doomed?

amusingname

SMS wrote: Fri 22 Jun 2018 2:18pm word is
pick 3-5: KING BROTHER
pick 57: J.KOSITCHKE

We are officially f***ed.

2 s*** talls. awesome. why are we doomed?
That is not the word at all, the way the draft shakes out and who is rated where wont be known for several months so no use jumping at shadows. Didn't you do the same thing last year, freaking out that we were going to take Jaidyn Stephenson and how he was going to be a dud? Then changed your mind just before the draft again? Take a deep breath and wait until November to worry about who we draft.

Jake Llyod isn't happy at the Swans with his contract offers. We should go after him and swap our 1st pick with Sydney's 1st pick + Llyod. He is a Horsham boy. It would be a good deal and pickup. We would probably still get around pick 15 from that deal.

Trading out a top draft pick this year will be crazy. There are risks sure but imagine knowing it was a superdraft which most believe it is and missing out on a Dusty or a Kelly. Yes there are risks with going to the draft but I would rather take the chance and get a much needed superstar rather than 2 good players

we can't attract a 'superstar' now ,
coz the list is shallower than my ex mother inlaw

maybe its the depth of a list that the cream players will join for big coin
(share the onfield responsibility around a bit)

i'd take the 2 outstanding prospects
and steal the superstar after he's proved himself

some muppet wrote:

thats magic in action right there
turning 1 into 3

We'll end up ith pick 3 -5. We take best mid available. We defintley throw up a player or two to trade. We have too many inside types so one or two have to go. Newnes and Dunstan for mine. I dont really want to loose Dunstan but we can cover his loss. Newnes will get us a late 2nd round or maybe even a player swap. We also have too many HBF so Savage would also be on my trade bait list. What is absolutely imperative is that we look at all the state leagues and rookie draft some ready to go types. Sydney do this so well. Why cant we? Last but not least we need to move on Hickey or Longer. No need for both with Marshall coming through.
This basketballer we're looking at may be ok but we are desperate for a quality ruckman.

SMS

ESSENDON
BILLINGS
PICK 7

FREMANTLE
CERRA, BRAYSHAW
PICK 4, ACRES, ARMITAGE & HICKEY

GOLD COAST
WRIGHT, AH CHEE
LONGER, PICK 7

SYDNEY
J. LOYD
FREE AGENT

LIONS
S.MARTIN
FREE AGENT

CROWS
SLOANE (FA), T.LYNCH (FA)
DUNSTAN

INS
SLOANE
T.LYNCH
CERRA
BRAYSHAW
WRIGHT
AH CHEE
J.LOYD
S.MARTIN

OUTS
FIRST ROUND PICK
BILLINGS
ACRES
DUNSTAN
ARMITAGE
LONGER
HICKEY

FLAG 2020

WHY NOT?? Seriously WHY NOT?

Are you a mad scientist SMS?

Crossy66

stkfc1 wrote: Sat 23 Jun 2018 3:50pm We'll end up ith pick 3 -5. We take best mid available. We defintley throw up a player or two to trade. We have too many inside types so one or two have to go. Newnes and Dunstan for mine. I dont really want to loose Dunstan but we can cover his loss. Newnes will get us a late 2nd round or maybe even a player swap. We also have too many HBF so Savage would also be on my trade bait list. What is absolutely imperative is that we look at all the state leagues and rookie draft some ready to go types. Sydney do this so well. Why cant we? Last but not least we need to move on Hickey or Longer. No need for both with Marshall coming through.
This basketballer we're looking at may be ok but we are desperate for a quality ruckman.
Agree we need class mids, outside types. We will need to offer quality to get quality back. As an example, G coast have outside types and no quality insides, so there could be a win win opportunity there there.
Rucks are the least of our problems though.

SMS wrote: Sat 23 Jun 2018 11:05pm ESSENDON
BILLINGS
PICK 7

FREMANTLE
CERRA, BRAYSHAW

GOLD COAST
WRIGHT, AH CHEE
LONGER, PICK 7

SYDNEY
J. LOYD
FREE AGENT

LIONS
S.MARTIN
FREE AGENT

CROWS
DUNSTAN

INS
SLOANE
T.LYNCH
CERRA
BRAYSHAW
WRIGHT
AH CHEE
J.LOYD
S.MARTIN

OUTS
FIRST ROUND PICK
BILLINGS
ACRES
DUNSTAN
ARMITAGE
LONGER
HICKEY

FLAG 2020

Going to be difficult to get Tom Lynch given he re-signed with Adelaide on Saturday for 3 years.

And not that I care too much for Dunstan but, why do we give him to the Crows? In exchange for ...?

SMS

Max King doing rehab at Saints.

YEP a Spencer White type whos done his ACL.

no rankine no collier dawkins no speed or skill we are getting another tall spud. Are we trying to make sure our record of the most spoons stays intact?? dair f****** dinkum are we for real??

King brothers are s***

axcellence

SMS wrote: Sat 23 Jun 2018 11:05pm ESSENDON
BILLINGS
PICK 7

FREMANTLE
CERRA, BRAYSHAW

GOLD COAST
WRIGHT, AH CHEE
LONGER, PICK 7

SYDNEY
J. LOYD
FREE AGENT

LIONS
S.MARTIN
FREE AGENT

CROWS
DUNSTAN

INS
SLOANE
T.LYNCH
CERRA
BRAYSHAW
WRIGHT
AH CHEE
J.LOYD
S.MARTIN

OUTS
FIRST ROUND PICK
BILLINGS
ACRES
DUNSTAN
ARMITAGE
LONGER
HICKEY

FLAG 2020

Love your passion mate. Luckily you surfaced back after the ”done for the year” fiasco earlier in the year.

Can’t fault your desire somewhat.

I agree that a lot of the list is damaged goods now. If not from a demographic/growth perspective but definitely from skill/mental toll perspective.

The mental toll of losing so many games in 2018 would have broken a few.

axcellence

Also, I am a bit over the criticism for trading 2nd round pick for 2018. The reality is that Saints can always trade 2019 2nd round pick for 2018 2nd round pick. This can continue every year.

The trade didn’t work out so badly with Austin being a good player so far and will be rock solid best 18 next year. And saints picked up Clavarino in the draft.

Noddy wrote: Sat 23 Jun 2018 5:08am
some muppet wrote:

turning 1 into 3
Agreed
Last edited by st.byron on Tue 26 Jun 2018 9:30am, edited 2 times in total.

Big Ears wrote: Tue 26 Jun 2018 9:26am
Noddy wrote: Sat 23 Jun 2018 5:08am
some muppet wrote:

turning 1 into 3
Yep that’s magic
Hell yeah

some muppet would make a great ID

do u think anyone would know it was me ,
once i sorted out the VPN malarky ?

The Recruit

Not sure the list needs the massive overhaul many on here are posting.

We need to secure more picks in this draft.
Recruit 1 or 2 more senior leaders from other clubs.

So de listings or retirings are

Kobe Stevens
Sam Gilbert
Nathan Wright
Darren Minchington
David Armitage

Trade
Mav Weller
Tom Hickey

7 players out

Ins from other clubs
Gaff
Sloan

Draft

Keep 1st round and 4th round pick.

Trade Hickey & Weller & pick 60 for pick 15 (2nd rnd) and 40(3rd rnd) from Gold Coast.

Gold Coast would have
Hickey and Weller and still have picks 4,21,26,42
They don’t need young kids in the 2nd and 3rd round.

Otherwise GC would have

6 players in keeping one spot on the list for the pre-season draft.

In Summary

OUT
Kobe Stevens
Sam Gilbert
Nathan Wright
Darren Minchington
David Armitage
Mav Weller
Tom Hickey

IN
Picks 1,15,40, 55
Gaff
Sloan

Godfather offer to Sloane

Opens the door to other FA's and hopefully we get a snowball effect

outside66

If I were the list manager then I would do the following;

- Re-sign Jack Steele, Logan Austin, and Ed Phillips. The rest that are out-of contract will be very nervous about getting an extension.
- Go hard after De Goey (first round pick )
- Make Gaff a Buddy-Frankline type offer that WC cannot match. He is a jet and is exactly what we need. If he helps us win a flag then I don't care if we pay him out for 4 years or so if he stops playing.
- If we cannot land a a gun mid for whatever reason then McGovern would be a good get as the backline would be scrumptious with him, Carlisle, and Logan in it. Use the first round pick on a mid.
- Go after Aaron Hall from Gold Coast, he's quick and would help us on the outside. He wouldn't cost much either I reckon. Laverde from Essendon would be handy also.
- Delist Lonie
- Trade Bruce. There would definitely be suitors for him - most likely to a club that misses out on Tom Lynch. We have Membrey, Marshall, Battle, and McCartin to hold down the fort.

outside66

The Recruit wrote: Tue 26 Jun 2018 12:22pm Not sure the list needs the massive overhaul many on here are posting.

We need to secure more picks in this draft.
Recruit 1 or 2 more senior leaders from other clubs.

So de listings or retirings are

Kobe Stevens
Sam Gilbert
Nathan Wright
Darren Minchington
David Armitage

Trade
Mav Weller
Tom Hickey

7 players out

Ins from other clubs
Gaff
Sloan

Draft

Keep 1st round and 4th round pick.

Trade Hickey & Weller & pick 60 for pick 15 (2nd rnd) and 40(3rd rnd) from Gold Coast.

Gold Coast would have
Hickey and Weller and still have picks 4,21,26,42
They don’t need young kids in the 2nd and 3rd round.

Otherwise GC would have

6 players in keeping one spot on the list for the pre-season draft.

In Summary

OUT
Kobe Stevens
Sam Gilbert
Nathan Wright
Darren Minchington
David Armitage
Mav Weller
Tom Hickey

IN
Picks 1,15,40, 55
Gaff
Sloan
Hickey and Mav both came to us from the Gold Coast. They aren't going back however Mav might be tempted to play with his brother but I doubt he'll go there.