5 years Dan Hannebery?

Re: 5 years Dan Hannebery?

Joffa Burns wrote: Mon 06 Aug 2018 9:33pm Parkeysainter, can you confirm if we are in the box seat for Hannebury?
On the couch reporter stated that Dan was on 800 thousand but the club was willing to pay 200 thousand of that if the right deal came up.

He's get-able as the swine want to get rid of him. Has dodgy groins but tied up for three years.

A liability we cannot aford I'm afraid.
Last edited by saynta on Tue 07 Aug 2018 10:19am, edited 1 time in total.

Dodgy groins we're a certainty to take him.

Because, you know, our medical staff are infinitely superior to every other club's.

elizabethr

Will take our first round pick.

nothing to say
BenLong#21

Definitely not what we need or what we want.
Seems desperate.

BenLong#21

elizabethr wrote: Tue 07 Aug 2018 12:33am Will take our first round pick.
Pick 4?
Surely you are joking.
Swans would be laughing their heads off with that offer.
Dan is cooked.

A definite NO from me, 27yo who is struggling to get on the park plus he’s an inside mid which we have plenty of!!

groupie1

Cairnsman wrote: Mon 06 Aug 2018 10:36pm Something is a bit sus if a club renowned for being a shrewd operator is willing to part ways with a player like DH.
They let Tim Membrey go because he couldn't take a mark.

Gordon Fode couldda been Plugga

groupie1 wrote: Tue 07 Aug 2018 1:34am
Cairnsman wrote: Mon 06 Aug 2018 10:36pm Something is a bit sus if a club renowned for being a shrewd operator is willing to part ways with a player like DH.
Exactly. Hanners is A grade when fit. Look at his record. He would be fantastic and what we need in a midfielder. Who cares if he plays inside. He's better than all our inside mids we currently have. Koby Stevens gone, possibly Armo and Dunstan too. We need a gun inside mid.

He will bring toughness, leadership and professionalism and teach our kids what it takes to get playing finals footy.

Sydney are obviously having cap issues and want to rejuvenate their list after missing finals.

I agree with what Paul Roos once said about the Saints. He said we need to start recruiting good players of any age. 27 is not old either. Hanners still has 5-6 good years in him.

We would not have to give up our 1st rounder for him this year too.

Who said we had to stop at Hannerbrey anyway?

I mean, it could all turn to s*** or nothing, but we are a genuine chance to get an A grader here and now we aren't happy? Everyone was complaining before that we are never in the running for one!

groupie1

parkeysainter wrote: Tue 07 Aug 2018 2:05am
groupie1 wrote: Tue 07 Aug 2018 1:34am
Exactly. Hanners is A grade when fit. Look at his record. He would be fantastic and what we need in a midfielder. Who cares if he plays inside. He's better than all our inside mids we currently have. Koby Stevens gone, possibly Armo and Dunstan too. We need a gun inside mid.

He will bring toughness, leadership and professionalism and teach our kids what it takes to get playing finals footy.

Sydney are obviously having cap issues and want to rejuvenate their list after missing finals.

I agree with what Paul Roos once said about the Saints. He said we need to start recruiting good players of any age. 27 is not old either. Hanners still has 5-6 good years in him.

We would not have to give up our 1st rounder for him this year too.

Who said we had to stop at Hannerbrey anyway?

I mean, it could all turn to s*** or nothing, but we are a genuine chance to get an A grader here and now we aren't happy? Everyone was complaining before that we are never in the running for one!
Great post

Gordon Fode couldda been Plugga

It simply doesn't matter who comes to the club, as long as the coaching remains as detrimental as it has been.
Last edited by rodgerfox on Tue 07 Aug 2018 8:37am, edited 1 time in total.

I reckon we should pay him heaps, pay a fortune for his rehab over about a 4 year period and stick with him each time he breaks down over this time - then once he strings about 7 good games in a row in the ressies, we should keep him there and play Lonie and Dunstan ahead of him until he learns how to play our awesome game plan.

Err. No.

If we recruit this bloke we have well and truly lost the plot.

scallopsroe

Is our club losing the plot or getting caught up in media speculation. He is contracted until 2021. A bunch of used car salesmen from Sydney are attempting to off load a broken down Jaguar and trying to sell it off as a near new Aston Martin. Go shove it. We have created our own on field mess and it's about time we took responsibility and fixed up the debacle we have built over the past seven years. It's going to be painful, no short term cures but grit the teeth and cop what's coming! :evil:

parkeysainter wrote: Mon 06 Aug 2018 11:09pm
Teflon wrote: Mon 06 Aug 2018 10:58pm Party boy is rumour...
Yep. Along with Buddy F.
Yes cause they’re the same type of impact player right??

If we are prepared to go after a contracted player, why wouldn’t we go after the likes of Josh Kelly, Dylan Shiel, Clayton Oliver or Jack Macrae??

saintbob wrote: Tue 07 Aug 2018 10:52am If we are prepared to go after a contracted player, why wouldn’t we go after the likes of Josh Kelly, Dylan Shiel, Clayton Oliver or Jack Macrae??
Who says we're not?....

wally

At the time I thought we paid overs for Carlisle but that has worked out ok.

We will have to pay overs for anyone willing to come.

It does sound suss if Sydney will pay part of salary, we have space to pay but need our best picks to work.

Hannebery? REALLY? It would appear that someone has hit the “medicinal compound” BIG TIME!

saintbob wrote: Tue 07 Aug 2018 10:52am If we are prepared to go after a contracted player, why wouldn’t we go after the likes of Josh Kelly, Dylan Shiel, Clayton Oliver or Jack Macrae??
Ummm ... because none of that lot are even remotely getable (we couldn't get Kelly when he was out of contract last year!) - especially given the turd-sandwich we've served up this year.

wally wrote: Tue 07 Aug 2018 11:29am At the time I thought we paid overs for Carlisle but that has worked out ok.

We will have to pay overs for anyone willing to come.

It does sound suss if Sydney will pay part of salary, we have space to pay but need our best picks to work.
Not really, the Swans may need room in the Salary Cap, they will be after another big name!....

1/ What is the current StKilda Plan? Then how does such a player help with it?

A: With a recruit like Hannebery who will not come cheap in either salary, or trade cost (he has 3 years to run on his contract) and who will turn 28 in 2019, you have to see it as you WILL be playing in a GF in 2019 -2021

Is such a window really what the club is now shooting for?

B: Or are we now entering a phase of a fairly radical rebuild of our list? If so then is grabbing a guy who will be 28 with injury cloud concerns the way to go as part of that?

2/ What have we got to trade that Sydney would want?

Our first pick. Hopefully not.

Our second pick. Wait we do not have one.

Bundled picks for points. We also have no third rounder and so cannot see how we can bundle enough without raiding 2019.

2019 draft picks. See 1/ above. What is the current St Kilda plan and where do the club see our list.

Players? I am struggling to think of anyone where the deal would be break even for us. The Swans have been very good though at identifying talent that they can develop and improve. I could see them swooping in to take say Billings and Acres plus a future pick off us.

Sydney obviously want to create salary cap space and need to start getting games into their next generation. They are going to need to turnover some players or fall off a cliff. My only concern with Hanneberry is fitness, if he's going to be fit and healthy then it will be a great get at a decent price. I don't think the Swans can command a huge price for him given that they need to move him on for List Management reasons.

I know we have many insiders, but I think one or two of our current insiders will be moved on. Hanneberry is better than anyone we currently have on the inside.

saintsRrising wrote: Tue 07 Aug 2018 12:00pm 1/ What is the current StKilda Plan? Then how does such a player help with it?

A: With a recruit like Hannebery who will not come cheap in either salary, or trade cost (he has 3 years to run on his contract) and who will turn 28 in 2019, you have to see it as you WILL be playing in a GF in 2019 -2021

Is such a window really what the club is now shooting for?

B: Or are we now entering a phase of a fairly radical rebuild of our list? If so then is grabbing a guy who will be 28 with injury cloud concerns the way to go as part of that?

2/ What have we got to trade that Sydney would want?

Our first pick. Hopefully not.

Our second pick. Wait we do not have one.

Bundled picks for points. We also have no third rounder and so cannot see how we can bundle enough without raiding 2019.

2019 draft picks. See 1/ above. What is the current St Kilda plan and where do the club see our list.

Players? I am struggling to think of anyone where the deal would be break even for us. The Swans have been very good though at identifying talent that they can develop and improve. I could see them swooping in to take say Billings and Acres plus a future pick off us.
They might want to reunite the McCartins.

saintbob wrote: Tue 07 Aug 2018 12:19pm

They might want to reunite the McCartins.
Well with Bruce, Battle and Marshall along with Membrey as the third tall all on our list, Paddy is probably one of more trade-able assets. Hopefully though not at a fire sale price.

So, all the same usual suspects on here complain about nothing from the club in terms securing players, now we have a Big Name mentioned and he and the deal is no good, typical!....