We acknowledge we have let you down ...

Re: We acknowledge we have let you down ...

thejiggingsaint wrote: Mon 27 Aug 2018 11:32am While making my way to the gates after the sireen mercifully brought an end to this schitt house of a season I saw a couple of blokes clapping the side from the field. One of them saw me shaking my head, and said “that was a great effort today! We didn’t get smashed”
Now, don’t get me wrong, I want to be positive, but Christ! if we find “not getting smashed” reason to cheer the side off the park, then as a club, we truly ARE in the schitt
Haaa
Back in the 80s if we got within 5 goals of an opponent we would cheer the team off the field.
But that was then.
Now we have expectations and have been badly let down and despite listening several times to the Coach's message it is still not clear who or what has let us down according to him!

Hemi Baxter

A guarantee that our list will be improved. That’s a pretty bib undertaking. Now let’s see what suggestions has the club floated to date?
1. Interest in Polec and Gaff. Good players who appear to have committed elsewhere.
2. Lycett. On the bright side somewhat of an improvement on our underwhelming ruck stocks.
3. Giving up or swapping a first round pick for a slow, poor-kicking, banged-up overpaid mate of the footy manager.

Jiggster makes a good point, some of us don't even know what a smashing looks like anymore. When it counted North and particularly Zeibell just made us look inept, then they took the foot off, last game of a long season nothing to really play for. That's what teams do to us now, smash us in a relatively short early burst then coast. Sometimes they miscalculate and we get close but we cannot win on our own terms. Yes we have been let down, less than 20% win ratio (not the 30+ figure that keeps being mentioned in other contexts) should be an unacceptable coaching record, but it is not to the Saints, just paint the life boats a different colour and sail into iceburg 2019 regardless. Contrast Clarko and Richo on AFL360 last night. AR really is an embarrassment, cannot articulate a way forward, could not praise Jack Billings, could not bring himself to say yes a number of players will be let go. Clarkson oozes confidence, smarts and leadership. Time will tell but I doubt the people that put out the we acknowledge statement understand what acknowledge really means. Its more than saying sorry but continuing the same behaviour.

st.byron wrote: Tue 28 Aug 2018 12:16am
samoht wrote: Mon 27 Aug 2018 1:03pm It's also simple -- we keep recruiting multiple C grade midfielders with average skills, and multiple C grade ruckmen -- we will stay sh1te no matter who coaches us!!!

A coach can easily be replaced --- but you can't take your poor recruiting decisions back.

We need to nail our recruiting and recruit to a plan with some non-negotiables and some quality standards from now on - not haphazardly and with no standards and no plan as we have been over the years.

Our recruiters will continue to drag us down if we're seriously looking at Lycett and Hanneberry.
x

So you are saying that none of the young players we’ve recruited in the past five years are any good. None of them. Not one. That’s the logical conclusion of your argument. Is that what you’re saying? He asks for the third time.
I'm saying (and I'm repeating for the last time) we've recruited multiple midfielders - mostly inside midfielders - with below average kicking skills, and multiple C grade ruckmen, multiple half back flankers - where is the quality control and planning with our recruiting? - why aren't we recruiting to our team's needs and with elite skills in mind? Who/where is our outside A or even B grade midfielder with elite kicking skills like an Isaac Smith or a Brad Hill, etc..? Who/where is our inside midfielder with elite kicking skills, for that matter?
Who/where is our A grade ruckman?
You can't make a silk purse out of a sow's ear --- you need to recruit silk - as the Hawks did with Burgoyne, and continue to do. We need to emulate these teams, who don't bottom out - because of their quality recruiting.
Hawthorn would also be a bottom 4 team if they'd recruited the way we did over the last 5-10 years - especially if they also had the injuries we've had this year - even with Clarko as the coach.
I'm not saying this to absolve Richo (as I said he has his faults, and we can always replace him and any coach for that matter)-- I'm just pointing out how crucial quality control and planning is in recruiting, and that we need to get this right above all else.
You can quickly reset with a new coach (providing you have a reasonably strong list) - but you can't bounce back from years and years of poor recruiting (relative to other teams) - this we need to get right if we want sustainable success.
Last edited by samoht on Tue 28 Aug 2018 11:53am, edited 2 times in total.

Our quality picks have been disappointing so far - Billings and McCartin and we haven't been able to get that premium FA or contracted player (Fyfe, Martin, Kelly) to add the cream.

Our trading for Carlisle, Membrey, Steele, Brown, Bruce has been excellent. Not so the ones for Freeman and Longer.
Our 'better' trade picks (less than 30) have probably been on the whole a bit disappointing:
Dunstan
Acres
Goddard
McKenzie
Gresham - very good
Long

Desperately need Clark and Coffield to become top players and to draft and trade well this year.

Hemi Baxter

samoht wrote: Tue 28 Aug 2018 11:12am
samoht wrote: Mon 27 Aug 2018 1:03pm It's also simple -- we keep recruiting multiple C grade midfielders with average skills, and multiple C grade ruckmen -- we will stay sh1te no matter who coaches us!!!

A coach can easily be replaced --- but you can't take your poor recruiting decisions back.

We need to nail our recruiting and recruit to a plan with some non-negotiables and some quality standards from now on - not haphazardly and with no standards and no plan as we have been over the years.

Our recruiters will continue to drag us down if we're seriously looking at Lycett and Hanneberry.
x

So you are saying that none of the young players we’ve recruited in the past five years are any good. None of them. Not one. That’s the logical conclusion of your argument. Is that what you’re saying? He asks for the third time.
I'm saying (and I'm repeating for the last time) we've recruited multiple midfielders - mostly inside midfielders - with below average kicking skills, and multiple C grade ruckmen, multiple half back flankers - where is the quality control and planning with our recruiting? - why aren't we recruiting to our team's needs and with elite skills in mind? Who/where is our outside A or even B grade midfielder with elite kicking skills like an Isaac Smith or a Brad Hill, etc..? Who/where is our inside midfielder with elite kicking skills, for that matter?
You can't make a silk purse out of a sow's ear --- you need to recruit silk - as the Hawks did with Burgoyne, and continue to do. We need to emulate these teams, who don't bottom out - because of their quality recruiting.
Hawthorn would also be a bottom 4 team if they'd recruited the way we did over the last 5-10 years - especially if they also had the injuries we've had this year - even with Clarko as the coach.
I'm not saying this to absolve Richo (as I said he has his faults, and we can always replace him and any coach for that matter)-- I'm just pointing out how crucial quality control and planning is in recruiting, and that we need to get this right above all else.
You can quickly reset with a new coach (providing you have a reasonably strong list) - but you can't bounce back from years and years of poor recruiting (relative to other teams) - this we need to get right if we want sustainable success.
Couldn't agree more. Every time I've complained about our lack of pace to an afl coach or assistant their argument has always been that improving our skill level is more important.
Yet another reason why trading out our top pick this year is ill-advised. Pretty funny that the announcement has been made about Elshaugh's departure but he hasn't gone anywhere and presumably is still involved in this year's draft. God help us.

saintadamski

Hemi Baxter wrote: Tue 28 Aug 2018 12:32pm
samoht wrote: Tue 28 Aug 2018 11:12am

x

Couldn't agree more. Every time I've complained about our lack of pace to an afl coach or assistant their argument has always been that improving our skill level is more important.
Yet another reason why trading out our top pick this year is ill-advised. Pretty funny that the announcement has been made about Elshaugh's departure but he hasn't gone anywhere and presumably is still involved in this year's draft. God help us.
Yep God help us indeed - I believe Trout Elshaugh is still very much involved in this years draft.
Trout's/Richardson's criteria for draft selection:

1. Does the propect have a disease that will never let them achieve success at an elite level? Must be Yes
2. Is the prospect fairly slow, and lack pace? Must be a yes
3. Is the prospect devoid of mongrel and animal instinct that will make them a fierce competitor? Politically Correct - female created psychology test to be used here. We must weed out the competitors
4. Does prospect come from a 'good family'? Must be a yes - nice guys only
5. Does the prospect have zero leadership potential, with a fairly low IQ? MAKE HIM CAPTAIN!

That about covers it - onwards to another dead fish trout stinky draft!

Yep - the fact that Elshaugh is still there - along with Cox and Sexton - just reminded me to call the club and change from direct debit renewal to send me a renewal notice asking me (and my Son) to renew.

Admittedly it's only day 2 of post-season but this club has done nothing meaningful yet to show me that they're fair dinkum about changing the abject stench around our recruiting and I'll exercise my right to renew (or not).

Even then I'll more than likely request a response as to why I should trust the Admin/Board in charge of extending Richo's contract with not making similarly stupid mistake going forward. Unless of course they're hopefully punted beforehand.

chico2001

They have delisted players who have not produced...as you do...they have got rid of assistant coaches who dont appear to have done much. err what i else is there? Lethlean is another dud, these decisions are being touted as ruthless etc by some posters but they are not. They are just normal clean outs a club goes through at the end of the year, even the top clubs do it. Lethlean is now the savior for sacking blokes who could not get a kick in the 1's. FFS Am I dreaming all of this. A kid at grade 9 could have done that. They had 12 coaches, now 9 and will hire at least 2 so whats changed?

chico2001 wrote: Wed 29 Aug 2018 5:32pm They have delisted players who have not produced...as you do...they have got rid of assistant coaches who dont appear to have done much. err what i else is there? Lethlean is another dud, these decisions are being touted as ruthless etc by some posters but they are not. They are just normal clean outs a club goes through at the end of the year, even the top clubs do it. Lethlean is now the savior for sacking blokes who could not get a kick in the 1's. FFS Am I dreaming all of this. A kid at grade 9 could have done that. They had 12 coaches, now 9 and will hire at least 2 so whats changed?
So Lethlean is already a dud? In a couple of days Bassat will be a dud too. As and for Lade - wait till he starts. Future dud. Unbelievable.

chico2001

takeaway wrote: Wed 29 Aug 2018 5:41pm
chico2001 wrote: Wed 29 Aug 2018 5:32pm They have delisted players who have not produced...as you do...they have got rid of assistant coaches who dont appear to have done much. err what i else is there? Lethlean is another dud, these decisions are being touted as ruthless etc by some posters but they are not. They are just normal clean outs a club goes through at the end of the year, even the top clubs do it. Lethlean is now the savior for sacking blokes who could not get a kick in the 1's. FFS Am I dreaming all of this. A kid at grade 9 could have done that. They had 12 coaches, now 9 and will hire at least 2 so whats changed?
So Lethlean is already a dud? In a couple of days Bassat will be a dud too. As and for Lade - wait till he starts. Future dud. Unbelievable.
Tell us whats changed?
Give us your advice on our recruitment so far even if we are going to pay overs to recruit any FA? Even our last few years recruitment!!
Lets hear your wise comments on Richardson and how good a coach he has been
Better still, Can you let us know about Lethlean and his proven track record as a "mr Fixit" at another AFL club?

you might even be a dud if you cant provide some good answers. To be a good dud you have to have a record of using sarcasm as the lowest form of wit, is that you?