Sour Saint

Newman

Sour Saint

Does anyone else feel like me? Maybe older fans. Watched about 5 mins of Thur night final. Once it looked like Tigers had it - lost interest. I have hardly watched a Grand Final all the way through in recent times - and certainly not watched the 'celebrations' since we lost in 2010. Since the Saints won a flag I've experienced over 50 Grand Finals that have been won by 14 different teams. Sadly we haven't been one of them. I should have been happy for the Bulldogs ... but I was just too jealous and envious to really be over the moon for them. I always said if we had won a flag in 2009 and 2010 I would have been content to be a cellar dwellar for several years - which we are now. But sadly nothing to show for the great years of the 2000s. So, once again the 2018 finals won't hold much interest for me. (Although I'd love to see someone knock of the Tigers.) And that's why I'm a 'sour Saint'. So ... does nayone else feel the same?

Re: Sour Saint

I can sympathise. I don’t remember too many opposition fans being happy for us during 2009.

Richmond used to be the laughing stock of the competition and look at them now. While they are easily the best team in the competition, they still have to win it.

Some of their supporters have very short memories.

Yes plenty of sourness here too.
Or is it bitterness?

This year will be my 50th consecutive grand final attendance (including the replays).
Seen StK in 5 of them but no chocolates.
Whilst I do enjoy the spectacle and the drama of a GF, the celebrations at the end are always bitter sweet.
Feel time is running out and each year I am more bitter than the last.

I didn't enjoy Richmond winning from "nowhere" last year and looks like they will go back to back.
With them 35 points up at 3/4 time tonight I just left for the early train as I couldn't stand to see their celebrations.

SaintPav wrote: Thu 06 Sep 2018 11:46pm I can sympathise. I don’t remember too many opposition fans being happy for us during 2009.

Richmond used to be the laughing stock of the competition and look at them now. While they are easily the best team in the competition, they still have to win it.

Most Richmond supporters are now unbearable.
I used to think Mick Molloy was mildly amusing, but after that flag he is just a conceited egotistical insufferable w@nker - cannot stand him and wish anyone other than Richmond win this year.

Saint 58

I have watched all GF's since 1977 and been to a few as a neutral but since '97 I can't watch the celebrations and presentation after the final siren. If there I leave once the final siren goes, if at home I change the channel.
I just can't handle watching.

What you do for others will define your life.
[Football isn't everything ... it's the ONLY thing]

Enrico_Misso wrote: Thu 06 Sep 2018 11:54pm
SaintPav wrote: Thu 06 Sep 2018 11:46pm I can sympathise. I don’t remember too many opposition fans being happy for us during 2009.

I used to think Mick Molloy was mildly amusing, but after that flag he is just a conceited egotistical insufferable w@nker - cannot stand him and wish anyone other than Richmond win this year.
I was actively supporting against them tonight.

Had one Richmond supporter, let’s call him an acquaintance, say to me after they won last year how St Kilda isn’t very good at winning grand finals. I smiled and played along but thought: “wanker with a short memory”.

Hoped both would lose. Richmond don't look unbeatable, Hawks at 4th was an over achievement. At least they are likely to go in straight sets. Didn't Mr Sicily looked cross and comprehensively outplayed. And Bruest's miss ... BREUST BRUEST....Gunston? We should have beaten them and would have if we had even a half baked coach.

Newman

Thanks for sharing guys. Feel a bit better ... or is that bitter. Here's hoping for a better 2019.

I feel much the same and it’s probably due to being at the last 5 Saints Grand Finals and watching them lose them all.
We also were in winning positions at three quarter time in ‘71, ‘97, ‘09 and the first 2010, which makes it more heartbreaking.
I didn’t embrace the bulldogs in 2016 and it was probably envy, and I find the adulation and hype around Melbourne insufferable.
I don’t really want to see Richmond win again but I would prefer them to Melbourne.
Maybe this is because they were the team we could always beat or it’s because if they win we will be the longest since a flag.
It’s a quandary is I would hate Collingwood and Eddie celebrating.

Enrico_Misso wrote: Thu 06 Sep 2018 11:54pm

Thankfully, I have never watched the prick. Just his appearance is enough to turn my stomach.

Hate Richmond.

Completely ambivalent here. Don’t care
I’m entirely interested in what we do to be great again but sadly those making decisions at our club appear to care less
We are THE greatest challenge in football and imo still haven’t adequstely tapped into what our soul is: aka a club that has its worts but equally a fascinating almost cool, eclectic and bohemian attraction that could have such broad appeal as to make us a super club (think North or dogs who have none of this and only “working class” appeal). We need success but equally not to lose sight of what it is that makes us different.
I’m going now to do more movie reviews..

longtimesaint wrote: Fri 07 Sep 2018 8:43am I don’t really want to see Richmond win again but I would prefer them to Melbourne.
Maybe this is because they were the team we could always beat or it’s because if they win we will be the longest since a flag.
The Melbourne = our last buffer argument is a factor.

Sad thing is that Melb and Richmond were both our patsies not so long ago and we had big streaks against both!

Mick molloy tongue is in his cheek when he makes most his comments and he copped a lot of crap for years so he is giving a bit back. But he isn't for everyone.

Enrico_Misso wrote: Fri 07 Sep 2018 10:51am Sad thing is that Melb and Richmond were both our patsies not so long ago and we had big streaks against both!
Yes, I still can't get used to them winning anything, let alone the Tigers taking out the premiership! Credit to them, unlike the Bulldogs who proved emphatically they stole one in 2016, the Tigers look like doing what they've always done...winning several (then going to sleep for a few decades). Still they're not there yet, I've seen the Saints win more finals over the last 30 years.

Yep me to a T. Haven’t watched a non Saints GF since 2004. Only just accidentally found out before that tigers won last night. Don’t want them to win even though my dad follows them and I have heap of Tiger mates. I don’t hate them now just annoyed that it’s somehow happening for them

My cousin plays for Wet Toast so cheering for them. Won’t be watching any finals games or the GF even if WC in it. Just too painful. I’m over it

Newman wrote: Thu 06 Sep 2018 11:40pm Does anyone else feel like me? Maybe older fans. Watched about 5 mins of Thur night final. Once it looked like Tigers had it - lost interest. I have hardly watched a Grand Final all the way through in recent times - and certainly not watched the 'celebrations' since we lost in 2010. Since the Saints won a flag I've experienced over 50 Grand Finals that have been won by 14 different teams. Sadly we haven't been one of them. I should have been happy for the Bulldogs ... but I was just too jealous and envious to really be over the moon for them. I always said if we had won a flag in 2009 and 2010 I would have been content to be a cellar dwellar for several years - which we are now. But sadly nothing to show for the great years of the 2000s. So, once again the 2018 finals won't hold much interest for me. (Although I'd love to see someone knock of the Tigers.) And that's why I'm a 'sour Saint'. So ... does nayone else feel the same?
Newman, I know where you are coming from, I don't know if 'sour' is the right adjective, but I sort of feel hollow about the Saints and AFL. Yes, I take an interest and will always follow the Saints, but I guess I feel just like an interested by-stander more than a supporter.

I was only 3 years old in 1966 when we won the Flag. I grew up in East Bentleigh in a StKilda household. Dad worked for the Club from the 1950's at the Junction Oval as a gate attendant and did that job right up to the late 1970's at Moorabbin until he had a massive falling out with Ian Drake and told him to shove his job where the sun does not shine. Saturday's, if a home game, we walked to the ground then after the first quarter Dad would join us. The whole street followed the Saints so we all went together and stood behind the goals at the Gilbey's Gin end. As a kid I stood in the rain and watched us get slaughtered week in week out, but gee it was good when we won. I remember vividly how Trevor Barker would take on the toughest assignment week in week out. Despite losing we had our stand out stars. The wet and the cold were assuaged by the hot jam donuts at half time and when i turned 18 we had some beers as well.

I moved away to NSW in 1986 and have always followed the Saints. When we had so many top quality recruits come to the club in the early 00's I though that, this is it, we're going to finally win a flag again, but we came so close and it was not to be. When Plugger and OB move to the Swans I applied for Swans membership but i could just not go through with it.

So, as a Club and a supporter group I feel we are in the wilderness. I can't see how we can ever compete and win against the powerful (I call them Tier 1) clubs, but then the planets aligned for the Dogs, so good on them.

I said on Saintsational that I thought we had a bit of an air about us like Fitzroy did, before getting shunted to Brisbane. My sister asked me if the Club was moved interstate, to Tassie, would i follow them? Would I still follow a merged entity? My answer would be probably not. I don't know why but I guess its just the way I feel at present. I said to her that I would probably follow Collingwood but Dad would turn in his grave. She said you can't follow Collingwood - you still have all your teeth. Ha Ha.

Anyhow, mate, your not the only one. So that's my 2 bobs worth for what it is worth.

Rugby League would have to be the stupidest, most moronic and over rated game of all time.

Agree with all of the above sentiments.

barneyboyz

I could get excited again, I suppose...was pretty hard through the early 2000's after 97, and I suppose it will get better again. I just look at Hawthorn and ask myself, why do they always seem to make it look so darn easy???

When I was much younger (through the 70's & 80's) it was easier to forget the bad times, but now being in my 50's I just keep feeling that I'm running out of time to really enjoy a Saints premiership. Even in 09/10 I reckon I wouldn't have seen home for a week if we'd won. Just now I reckon a trip to Moorabbin on the Sunday after, might just do me :(

Everything could change pretty quickly, and I guess I'll hang my hat on that (again), and sign-up next year for the ride.

Might just be interesting :)

St. Kilda Football Club. Going strong, since 1960 :wink:
Bruce G McAbee

I'm not sour, just bloody envious. I have watched Geelong come from an ordinary club and become a power.
Richmond were a basket case and should win back to back now. The Bulldogs came from nowhere and won one.
I keep saying when will it be our turn. I just don't want a premiership, I want to do what Geelong, Hawthorn and now Richmond have done.
First clue, they all have strong, passionate presidents who are driven to succeed.
They are run to be successful.
As I said, I envy them.

Think of me long enough to make a memory.

I live OS and I have an a mate from Liverpool who is died-in-the-wool Everton “Blueboy”.
Thing is. He never expects Everton to win an EPL crown and it seems that English supporters rate their team performances relatively. He is really smiling when Everton are in their top six. We seem to be digital 0 or 1. Either we win the flag or we are losers. Seems to be our footy culture here. I get it now, but as a kid I was more than happy for St Kilda to be on the fringes of the five. When in the Ken Sheldon years I was rapt for us to be competitive. When did this all-or-nothing mentality really dig its teeth in?

But conversely, I should point out, he gets really cocky when reminding me that Everton has never been demoted to their second division (now championship league?) and goes silent when I remind him that St Kilda was established earlier than Everton.

Newman

Happyfeet - thanks for sharing. Living in Mentone I also got to plenty of games at Moorabbin. I'm now based in Brisbane but still passionate. Even the guy that installed our new Air Con is a Saints fan. He discovered some of my Saints banners and memorabilia and figured I was the same. Anyway ... the last 5 Grand Finals have been heartbreaking - especially when you consider we were in winning positions to win 4 of them. 2009 is the year that hurts most ... such a near perfect season. Appreciate everyones comments.