Saints team for round one

Re: Saints team for round one

Yorkeys wrote: Thu 21 Mar 2019 9:12pm 2 points. 1. For all the off season deck chair shuffling and hyperbolic use of "unacceptable" the team looks tre white bread, so much for lifting expectations; and 2. Harbrow will top super coach points this weekend. 3. We couldn't actually lose could we?
That's 3 points

Jacks Back wrote: Thu 21 Mar 2019 8:51pm
perfectionist wrote: Thu 21 Mar 2019 8:22pm B:Jarryn Geary Darragh Joyce Shane Savage

HB:Jimmy Webster Josh Battle Jack Newnes

C:Jack Sinclair Sebastian Ross Jack Billings

HF:Dean Kent Josh Bruce Matty Parker

F:Jack Lonie Tim Membrey Jade Gresham

FOLL:Lewis Pierce Jack Steele Luke Dunstan

I/C: Jack Steven Hunter Clark Rowan Marshall Ben Long
Ed Phillips Daniel McKenzie Nick Hind Callum Wilkie
That's a very bad (and short) defence and the forward line is also very short.
Tell me about it! 2 gamer Joyce at fullback!

Ok help me out, the guy in the team announcement video that has obviously just got out of bed, who does he remind me of? (He is standing near the Director of Coaching title) Its on the tip of my tongue, is he in The Office......Dumb and Dumber..what?

Lonie will surely come out of that line up completely.

Marshall will start in the forward pocket, leaving Steven, Long, Clark and Phillips on the bench.

Dont see Dunstan making it, terrible overturn villain.

Would have preferred Long, Phillips, Hind or McKenzie

Next week Brown comes back in.

Newnes better have a good game, he was rubbish last year.

Marshall needs to be in there....will ve a terrific player if given a good run at it.

That’s a super half forward line.

Superman, Batman and Spiderman.

kosifantutti wrote: Thu 21 Mar 2019 11:51pm That’s a super half forward line.

Superman, Batman and Spiderman.
Exactly who you’d expect to see playing @ Marvel Stadium

The_President wrote: Thu 21 Mar 2019 6:55pm Bench better look like
Steven
Clark
Long
Marshall

Will be shocked if any of those 4 miss (unless Steven isn’t quite ready)

Shocked that Marshall doesn’t get first crack
It goes on seniority down there. Longer would be in if fit.

avid

Acknowledging the backs are massively under-equipped for talls, and presuming Steven Clark Marshall and Long play, .......... I don't think our team looks so bad.

saintbob wrote: Thu 21 Mar 2019 11:42pm Lonie will surely come out of that line up completely.

Marshall will start in the forward pocket, leaving Steven, Long, Clark and Phillips on the bench.
Wanna bet?

During the game last night one of the reporters confirmed Stuv would def play

MC Gusto wrote: Fri 22 Mar 2019 8:21am During the game last night one of the reporters confirmed Stuv would def play
He is in the thumbnail for the teams vid on Youtube too, which might be a bit of a stretch but I reckon he'll play.

chook23 wrote: Thu 21 Mar 2019 8:22pm
guitars4 wrote: Thu 21 Mar 2019 8:14pm
chook23 wrote: Thu 21 Mar 2019 8:04pm A very disappointing team on paper........
Yeah I agree but we do have a few injuries & the Gold Coast team doesn't look that strong either so it might be a close game :)
Really a reflection of the dropping standard of lists in AFL

Both are very ordinary looking teams
I actually think it's pure reflection of the diabolical state of the list management of the two clubs. Laughable if not genuinely sad.

guitars4

saintbob wrote: Thu 21 Mar 2019 11:42pm Lonie will surely come out of that line up completely.

Sorry mate but I don't think so. Richo loves him

guitars4 wrote: Fri 22 Mar 2019 10:31am

A decent chance there will be one hell of a surprise

The_President

Wilkie in

Pretty good side. Like the look of the HF line. Tough and quick and skilled. Something new.

The_President

Will be really disappointed if Long, Marshall or Clark miss.

tony74 wrote: Fri 22 Mar 2019 11:36am

Who Tones?

tedtheodorelogan2018 wrote: Fri 22 Mar 2019 12:58pm
tony74 wrote: Fri 22 Mar 2019 11:36am

Who Tones?
My sources tell me it’ll be either Paddy or Robbo, Jane Bunn declared the storm clouds have dispersed from the teacup!

Giiiiiillllllbbbbbbbbbooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo

just joshing...maybe it's another Sam

The_President

I can't be the only person that's gobsmacked at the potential non-selection of Marshall can I?

I understand that Lewy might be the better tap ruckman, my argument isnt Lewy v Marshall. I'm arguing that he's good enough to be picked regardless.

1) With Paddy down (again) We only have the two talls, if Bruce plays second ruck we are very short down forward - especially worrying since Richo's mantra is kick it long and hope for the best.

2) Bruce is a terrible second ruckman. He gets jumped into and bashed around, can't win a hitout and then comes back to the forward line absolutely spent

3) If Wilkie is picked to be the second ruckman, it's even more of a joke. He was thrown in as the second ruckman against North after Lewy went down, and despite giving his best efforts, was dead set useless.

4) Marshall is actually good. Aside from one poor game against the Giants. Marshall showed that he is nearly the perfect second ruckman. He can mark, hit the scoreboard and find the ball.

I just find it extremely confusing/disappointing that he wasn't named/might not get selected.

In Marshall it seems like we have a big, tall, strong, athletic big man who can ACTUALLY mark the ball and be effective around the ground. Why would we not want to play him as much as possible?

Here's his stats from the JLT against the Doggies and his finish to last year when he was playing second ruck to Lewy

V Bulldogs
37 HO
18 Disposals
5 Marks
6 Tackles

R23 V North
9 HO
16 Disposals
9 Marks

R22 V Hawks
8 HO
18 Disposals
6 Marks

R21 V Essendon
13 HO
14 Disposals
7 Marks

R20 Dropped

R19 V Giants
7 HO
9 Disposals
5 Marks
4 Tackles

R18 V Richmond
14 HO
15 Disposals
7 Marks
1 Goal

R 17 V Carlton
23 HO
16 Disposals
8 Marks

The_President wrote: Fri 22 Mar 2019 2:13pm I can't be the only person that's gobsmacked at the potential non-selection of Marshall can I?
Emergencies: Clark, Marshall, Phillips, Hind.

I wish I was more surprised.

B:

Jarryn Geary

Darragh Joyce

Shane Savage

HB:

Jimmy Webster

Josh Battle

Jack Newnes

C:

Jack Sinclair

Sebastian Ross

Jack Billings

HF:

Dean Kent

Josh Bruce

Matty Parker

F:

Jack Lonie

Tim Membrey

Jade Gresham

FOLL:

Lewis Pierce

Jack Steele

Luke Dunstan

I/C:

Jack Steven

Callum Wilkie

Daniel McKenzie

Ben Long

Marshall, Clark, Phillips and Hind didn't make the cut although Hind will be held back as an emergency.
Last edited by saynta on Fri 22 Mar 2019 5:20pm, edited 1 time in total.

The_President

vacuous space wrote: Fri 22 Mar 2019 5:16pm
The_President wrote: Fri 22 Mar 2019 2:13pm I can't be the only person that's gobsmacked at the potential non-selection of Marshall can I?
Emergencies: Clark, Marshall, Phillips, Hind.

I wish I was more surprised.

Brb having a melt