Sam Gilbert

Re: Sam Gilbert

Middo wrote:
SainterK wrote:Not entirely in touch, but easily his best game this year.

Reckon he'd feature heavily in the score involvements.

Also rucked, which was interesting.

Ha Ha Score Involvments for the Tigers .... :roll: :roll:
FFS! You're kidding aren't you? Clearly Raph is an option. Having said that neither Raph or Gilbert are able to take the first option & are both serial confusers of their ambition & their ability.

Sam Gilbert is the most overrated player at St Kilda in many many years. One good season a long time ago has somehow cemented him in our team. He's taken his game to a new level this year - in previous years he could only hit a target in the front row of the crowd - in 2012 he can now spot-up anyone in row 3. Complete pillick. He's only of value to us when he DOESN'T have the ball in his hands.

Why he should play in front of Geary or Fisher next week is beyond me. Newnes has upside & growth; Gilbert will just continue to be a liability.

I deliberately slept on this one as i was ready to trade Gilbert for a bottle of coke and a pack of gum last night.

He must be dropped, football now days is about quality disposal, he cost us 4 goals, one of which in the last qtr when we had the lose man and were in front , due to poor disposal or dropped marks.

Raph has played 2 good games at Sandy and needs to come in due to form alone. Fisher will bea couple weeks away yet.

Gilbert cannot play back as his turnovers kill us. Perhaps they can try to make him in to a tall wingman where if he turns the ball over it is no so close to goal. He teases with kicks like the one across his body inthe2nd quarter to spot up Saad( i think).

Newness i reckon was put up as much for the expereince of a red hot game , after the first half where he Sh*t himself everytime he got it i thought the second half will provide him with good expereince.

What is worse Michael Gleeson in the The Age put him in the best players under Stkilda?

older saint wrote:What is worse Michael Gleeson in the The Age put him in the best players under Stkilda?
Michael Gleeson is clearly a f&$wit of the highest order then I'd suggest. Which part of Gilbert's game last night would have qualified him for a mention in the best? Maybe Gleeson was doing Tripple M's worst on votes & got mixed up.

Sadly, we can't make Gilbert into a tall wingman (or anything else) due to one fundamental failing - he can't effing kick. He is the LAST person we want with the ball in his hands in space streaming forward to a hard leading Roo or Kozi - he'd be 50/50 at best to get within 10 meters of the target. Even then it would be at their feet or over their heads.

He is a player without a position. Like I've said before - he's best when he hasn't got the ball which is an indictment for a rebounding half-back. When he does have the ball - we're not only playing 1 short - the opposition are playing with 1 extra.

It can't go on any longer FFS! It's beyond a joke and it fair dinkum breaks my heart to see him butcher our hard work like he has consistently done all year.

The only reason Gilbert gets a game is because Chips isn't there. Otherwise, he's made to prove himself in the VFL.

As for Raph, no way should he come back in, certainly not at the expense of giving Cripps and Newnes more game time.

His height his only saving grace. He's our second tallest fit player ATM.

Feel sorry for him, people say he would be out of the side if Fisher and Gwilt were both in.

Totally disagree!

He plays better in defence with them in, and will enjoy having them back, may even move up the ground a little.

How can you not notice that they (Gwilt and Fisher) are both there as our choice to kick it out of the defensive 50, it's not Sams strength, which is OK normally....when everyone is fit and firing....he can handball it off

I agree with someone who said make him a tall wingman. Less damage. I am sure that Tigers forwards had space on the turnover, because when Gilbo turned over the footy, all our players were running fwd. Leaving our defence exposed. Coaches spend hours and hours on video reviews, if WE can see his costly errors, why the F can't they see them, and more importantly, do something about it ?

Gilbert's not going to get any better.

What a joke this thread is as well. Gilbo made some terrible blues last night, but he also gave us some fantastic run from the back half. He set up our first scoring opportunity with a beautiful 50m pass in the first 1/4.

Gwilt was far worse than Gilbo last night.

There's tall players and there's big players.... He maybe tall, but....

the stats say he didnt have a bad game
and on the tv you cant see what happens off the ball (run, chase, shep, fill the hole etc etc)

but im sick and tired of him trying to get on that left foot, getting in serious trouble and turn overs resulting from it

stick him on the left wing or the left forward flank

matrix wrote:stick him on the left wing or the left forward flank
I'm afraid that doesn't work if his opponent is half awake.

Shouldn't be playing seniors.

Hasn't performed for the best part of 2 and a half years.

I was wince-like critical on first viewing, but tempered on second viewing. As usual I'd simply plucked two obvious clangers and hung him up on the strength of those.

In reality the guy's work rate is INSANE. He plays tall and small. His disposal is occasionally shitty, but he wins a lot of pill and sets up a heap of attack with a speedy give or just by bashing and barging like a trooper.

He ain't going anywhere. He's a must have.

I'd so run him in the middle when Fisher's fit and back. Reckon he'd kill it as big bruising body in the clinches with a big tank and quick hands and less emphasis on spotting targets by foot.

"The inches we need are everywhere around us. They're in every break in the game. Every minute, every second. On this team we fight for that inch. On this team we tear ourselves and everyone around us to pieces for that inch. We claw with our fingernails for that inch. Because we know when we add up all those inches that's gonna make the f***in' difference between winning and losing! Between living and dying!'

Thinline wrote:I was wince-like critical on first viewing, but tempered on second viewing. As usual I'd simply plucked two obvious clangers and hung him up on the strength of those.

In reality the guy's work rate is INSANE. He plays tall and small. His disposal is occasionally shitty, but he wins a lot of pill and sets up a heap of attack with a speedy give or just by bashing and barging like a trooper.

I'd so run him in the middle when Fisher's fit and back. Reckon he'd kill it as big bruising body in the clinches with a big tank and quick hands and less emphasis on spotting targets by foot.

I've called for that before more than Rooey he would make a great Goodes, Pav, Kouta style tall midfielder who loves to use his pace and evasive skills which isn't as necessary when you have guys like Gram, gwilt and raph in. I thought 2012 wasn't bad early and he had a pretty good game over all on Friday night. The goals that hurt were the turn overs in our forward line when we had left them on their own down back and exposed ourselves to easy scoring. One where Jack R was left on his own in space when he'd already killed us?

Josh Battle

Thinline wrote: Sun 03 Jun 2012 1:43pm I was wince-like critical on first viewing, but tempered on second viewing. As usual I'd simply plucked two obvious clangers and hung him up on the strength of those.

Bump from ancient times

Sorry to do this.

Whether you agree with Sam Gilbert having lasted until 2018 or whether you agreed with him playing each week during most of Richo's coaching period at least you knew when he was out there that his work rate was INSANE

Would love Newnesy and Ross to display Gilbo like effort and committment at each and every contest.

These guys like Ross and Newnes must set the standard while Gears is injured. I've seen Newnes show aggression and I'd like to see the fill in captain show some from time to time. We must not accept mediocre efforts from these leaders and poor committment to compete at contests.

As some would say....I'm new to the forum...BWAHAHAHAHAHAH!!! And thought I'd dig back a little

He should still be playing. For one thing, he’s a better second ruck than anyone else we’ve got.

Special

bigcarl wrote: Tue 21 May 2019 11:02am He should still be playing. For one thing, he’s a better second ruck than anyone else we’ve got.
Can delisted players be picked up in the mid season draft?

How has his form been at Sandy??

He’s essentially still part of our system so not a totally silly idea - much better option than friggin Rowe who was waste of time pick up IMO

dalboy

Move on peeps...he was average for Sandy on the weekend!!

Happiness is a warm pie!
Josh Battle

Special wrote: Tue 21 May 2019 11:09am
bigcarl wrote: Tue 21 May 2019 11:02am He should still be playing. For one thing, he’s a better second ruck than anyone else we’ve got.

How has his form been at Sandy??

He’s essentially still part of our system so not a totally silly idea - much better option than friggin Rowe who was waste of time pick up IMO
Is that you Alan? I was trying to highlight why a bloke like Gilbo, with his absolute lack of any skill on his right side, managed to carve out a career and stay listed for so long. Nothing else.

Can't believe people would be so desperate as to think we need him back. Back in 2014-2015 some hard decisions needed to be made and they were not. Don't know why he remained on the list after we bottomed out. Obviously some of the coaches and the board were delusional in 2015-2016. They thought we might need Gilbo's hardness in a prelim final... LOL

What we need is the senior blokes on the list to copy Gilbo's work ethic during games. If they don't they need to be moved on or delisted. We also need to develop our young players on our list who have the skills to take us to the next level

dalboy wrote: Tue 21 May 2019 2:21pm Move on peeps...he was average for Sandy on the weekend!!
He took some good intercept marks and gathers, but then turned it over with poor kicks.

Special wrote: Tue 21 May 2019 11:09am

Not by the club that delisted the player.