Newnes 150 games

Congrats Newnesy. Good effort and HE HAS been a pretty good servant overall for the Saints. It's a 150 more games than I will ever play and he had a pretty good one last week in Tassie.

For the usual suspects, please don't turn this into an anti Newnes bashing thread either. Thank you.

All the best Newnesy mate down at the Cattery on Sat night. ๐Ÿ‘

Re: Newnes 150 games

๐Ÿ‘Ž

150 more than I played

Well done Newnes, make it a good one.

St Kilda has made him a rich man. And he has repaid us by turning up to work regularly. Can't ask more than that. Well perhaps holding a few more chest marks and a few more tackles, but that would be nit picking. I think it is a credit to him that a player of his ability has reached the milestone.

a bit down us saintsationalists.It's a mini milestone so well done Newnesy! hope you play a blinder and we get a big upset.

Decent effort! ๐Ÿ˜‚

Well Done Newnesy. Stepped up and showed leadership and maturity many times in your playing career. That's why the coaches have shown faith in you. Hope you get on the end of a couple of sausage rolls this week and hope you can inflict some hurt on the handbaggers in your 150th.

BarryGrogan

Hard man.

Bled for the jumper. Literally.

Took the hits as a kid when we deadset sucked. And still does.

Hats off.

I'm staggered that his endeavour gets questioned. Very disappointed.

tedtheodorelogan2018 wrote: โ†‘Fri 12 Jul 2019 8:26pm Congrats Newnesy. Good effort and HE HAS been a pretty good servant overall for the Saints. It's a 150 more games than I will ever play and he had a pretty good one last week in Tassie.

For the usual suspects, please don't turn this into an anti Newnes bashing thread either. Thank you.

All the best Newnesy mate down at the Cattery on Sat night. ๐Ÿ‘
I've played about 770 games with the Saints (riding every bump, celebrating every goal) supporting the team.

โ€œIf we are going to be a contender, we may as well plan to win the bloody thing.โ€

150 AFL games is a fair effort by any measure.

Let's hope he has a ripper against the Cats.

saintsRrising wrote: โ†‘Sat 13 Jul 2019 1:48am 150 AFL games is a fair effort by any measure.

Let's hope he has a ripper against the Cats.
plus one

saintadamski

Wouldn't have reached 150 with any other team, so he should also be thanking the club - especially Richo.

"150 more than I played" - just the most absurd comment once again elevating a highly paid player to sacred cow status

Comments like this basically say that if you haven't played an AFL game, you are not allowed to comment or have any input whatsoever - joke

An analogy would be looking at a bridge that is collapsing and falling apart, but not allowed to comment on it because I have never been employed as an engineer...farcical.

Below average player that has been gifted games, and reached 150 at a terrible club - good on him...I do actually hope that he has a decent one against the Cats, but if he only gets 2 kicks and no tackles, I'm sure a thread will open up about how Richo isn't getting the best out of Newnes...ho hum

You don't get it. It's about respect buddy. Pure and simple.

Any idiot can have an opinion (especially these days with internet).

You have no respect for Newnes which I find bizarre. The guy has played a 150 games of AFL footy - the highest standard possible and in one of the physically most demanding sports on the globe.

tedtheodorelogan2018 wrote: โ†‘Sat 13 Jul 2019 2:21pm You don't get it. It's about respect buddy. Pure and simple.

You have no respect for Newnes which I find bizarre. The guy has played a 150 games of AFL footy - the highest standard possible and in one of the physically most demanding sports on the globe.
I think itโ€™s more a lack of respect for stupid opinions...

Like your opinion isnโ€™t valid if you havenโ€™t played at AFL level or claiming to have super secret inside source and failing to make a single correct prediction of whatโ€™s going to happen/ regurgitating what you see in the media and trying to pass it off as your own

saintadamski

z
Last edited by saintadamski on Sat 13 Jul 2019 7:15pm, edited 1 time in total.

saintadamski

tedtheodorelogan2018 wrote: โ†‘Sat 13 Jul 2019 2:21pm You don't get it. It's about respect buddy. Pure and simple.

Well 'buddy'... you're right...Any idiot can have an opinion, and yours seems to be showering accolades on a player (A very well paid one) that IMO never should have reached 150 games in the first place...
if not for a farcical selection committee and recruitment department. ...

Praising and revering sub par performances is one of the many sicknesses of this club... one that I will not engage in, as the outcome will be the same sh#t that we are currently swimming in, squealing with glee....yeh nah
Last edited by saintadamski on Sat 13 Jul 2019 7:16pm, edited 1 time in total.

In all due respect & I do understand your anguish Saintadamski, Newnes was developing perfectly, by 2016 /17 his trajectory was to an unlikely A grader. A gem of a draft pick, a rare and valuable find in our recent recruiting history.

The question has to be more about why he's gone backwards? Even if he reached his ceiling, why has he failed to maintain it?

I want him to get back to that level, I hope he plays to that level tonight. I don't want to be as frustrated with him (& others) as I have been.

Good luck Jack! Well played for the majority of them.

150 games and he still cannot kick to a teammate.

the invisible and the non existent look very much alike
saintadamski

Hey Ted buddy ol pal... your Newnes played yet another game of rubbish....turns the ball over constantly, and loses every one on one contest he 'participates in.

Happy 150th ... give him a medal

saintadamski wrote: โ†‘Sat 13 Jul 2019 11:01pm Hey Ted buddy ol pal... your Newnes played yet another game of rubbish....turns the ball over constantly, and loses every one on one contest he 'participates in.

Happy 150th ... give him a medal
Get a life buddy. Come on here straight after the siren to bag a player in his 150th. You absolute legend! ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘

Ted... this should be Newnes last year as a saint. Criticism of his play today has nothing to do with how many games he has played - in fact a 150 game player should not be as limited as Newnes and reflects our overall stagnation as a team.

the invisible and the non existent look very much alike

Forget the 150th and Newnes. Coming on straight after the siren is loserville activity!!!

saintadamski

tedtheodorelogan2018 wrote: โ†‘Sat 13 Jul 2019 11:28pm Forget the 150th and Newnes. Coming on straight after the siren is loserville activity!!!
You seem to have a tiny hard-on for numbers divisible by 50 Ted ol 'buddy'.

You see, I couldn't give a flying f%$k how many games someone has played.... whether it's 1 or 1000, it's HOW they've been played.

...and your champion Newnes has just played another stinker.... take your 150 and stick (insert expletives here)

Yep, keep bagging a 150 servant game of our club bud. Real legend!

HardSaint

Newnes should be given another year - under a totally new coaching regime
the thing thats sticks in my craw is that this club seems to lauding him, and gifting him the games, as they player he should have become, not what he actually is
and what s***s me more is that they expect us to swallow and accept it, just like they'd have us swallow and accept Richo is an AFL level coach

feeding the chooks is the biggest insult when you realise youre being fed bulls*** by those who see us as chickens