Why is Lethlean on the coaching panel??

I get the obvious answer - because he's footy director. BUT the club have already felt the need to address the rumours of 'jobs for the boys' etc etc.
So the club is patently aware of the public's perception. There are dozens upon dozens of expert footy people who could choose this coach. There is no real reason for Lethlean to be on the panel. If SCOTT gets chosen no-one will accept that it was transparent, regardless of how much so it was. If Brad Scott was smart he'd rule himself out now I reckon. This reeks of Terry Wallace and Rocket Eade in Sydney 25 years ago. The public won't stand for it and Wallace never recovered from it.

Re: Why is Lethlean on the coaching panel??

what we arent getting an independent selection panel???

What happened with Rocket and Terry in 1994?

Terry was assistant at the Bulldogs and about to take over as senior coach

Whilst Eade was soon to be coach of the Swans after Ron Barassi.

Terry was going to the swans wasnt it. Roos was caretaker.
Dogs got wind and got rid of him. Hired Eade.
Swans hired Roos.

Terry had no job.

Terry must have "fair dinkum spewed his guts out".

But then he bobbed up at Richmond with his famous 5 year plan that took them from ordinary to hopeless and set him up for a career as an "expert" commentator.

And all the while his voice kept getting more high pitched.
Last edited by Enrico_Misso on Wed 17 Jul 2019 6:02pm, edited 1 time in total.

Has the panel actually been officially announced?

I know President to chair....

That was in 2003, 15 years ago. Rocket was sacked toward the end of the season, Roos was the caretaker and did well, and instead of Wallace taking over as planned, Roos was given the job after a ground swell of support from the members.

Was actually peter Rohde who took over from Wallace at the Bulldogs for a couple of seasons. Then they got Eade.

chook23 wrote: Wed 17 Jul 2019 6:02pm Has the panel actually been officially announced?

Yep. Most of it.

Moods wrote: Wed 17 Jul 2019 6:26pm
chook23 wrote: Wed 17 Jul 2019 6:02pm Has the panel actually been officially announced?

Yep. Most of it.
Can you name those officially appointed at this stage?...thanks

Not who took over at Bulldogs, referring to who took over at Sydney 2003

chook23 wrote: Wed 17 Jul 2019 6:41pm
Moods wrote: Wed 17 Jul 2019 6:26pm

Yep. Most of it.
Can you name those officially appointed at this stage?...thanks
Moods?

Geez, I know this sounds vague, but I read an article this morning quoting Andrew Bassat which inspired my original post. It was the Lethlean part that had me spitting my cornflakes out. Bassat will be on it (He's chairman) as will Finnis. The rest I can't remember and he did say it hasn't been finalised as yet. But they were the certain members of the panel. I'll keep trying to find the article.

Moods wrote: Thu 18 Jul 2019 2:39am Geez, I know this sounds vague, but I read an article this morning quoting Andrew Bassat which inspired my original post. It was the Lethlean part that had me spitting my cornflakes out. Bassat will be on it (He's chairman) as will Finnis. The rest I can't remember and he did say it hasn't been finalised as yet. But they were the certain members of the panel. I'll keep trying to find the article.
Dean Anderson, board member and former Saints player (we got him from Hawks). He joined board in 2015, replacing Burkey