Skrobolak new Forward coach

Re: Skrobolak new Forward coach

You are a bit harsh on Skrobolak there mate. The saints gave him a job after trusting him with one of their players so he can't be all that bad at his job.

I am prepared to wait and see on him. Too early to call at this stage.

oldie60

Brendan Mccartney was appointed coach of the Bulldogs and now assistant at Melbourne never played at top level. Chris Fagan only played in Tassie and if you take a look at the staff of most clubs there are guys on the staff that have only been involved at lower levels. You probably find that for whatever reason they have a good feel for the game and good people management skills.

I am harsh.

I don’t think it’s a huge deal, given it’s only for six weeks. But it frustrates me how people in a professional organisations could give someone a role, the have little expertise or experience in.

Ratten, imo was a terrible forwards coach, and our conversion from i50 to score was putrid and the structure in front of the footy was ineffective. Stats and results show this clearly.

But he was clearly a great midfield coach at Hawthorn, as Mitchell was at WCE, Hayes at GWS, Harvey at Coll. Why? Because they have expertise and wealth of knowledge in that area.

I coached a local cricket club for 10 years, and am an opening bat who never has bowled. My first priority was to find a bowler who could help coach.WTF would I know about the mechanics and method of bowling if I had no experience or expertise in that area?

Oldie, you have named a few guys

There are over a 100 coaches in the AFL system >90% of whom played at the elite level

Fagan is an experienced Manager, having been an assistant AFL coach and football manager. He also coached his own side to premierships in Tas. Obviously a high level communicator.

And I’m NOT concerned about whether or not he’s an assistant coach at StK. I’m not happy with the fact we employ coaches who have to LEARN how to coach in the area they are assigned. It’s a professional club, if they want to learn how to coach an offence... coach an offence at a lower level!

oldie60

This is a good thread as its identified the fact that players are over coached. Allan Jeans, Tom Hafey, Barassi, Kennedy all coached successfully without 20 guys in the box. I know football was different but its gone overboard. If you study the game and have a feel this when instinct kicks in and you play. See ball get ball and execute accordingly. Cheers

BarryGrogan

B.M wrote: Thu 18 Jul 2019 9:31pm I didn’t say coaches have no impact, of course they do, particularly line coaches who work directly with their line players. Head coaches influence how well the line coaches coach.
And the head coach can make strategic moves on match day, to effect the game.

They just don’t have the absolute influence over results, and the talent level of a team is far more important.

I’ll give you an extreme example
If I coached an AFL team against Al Clarkson coaching a VFL team, I would get a win over Al. A 4 time premiership coach.

When two teams are closely matched, the coach can definitely be the deciding factor.

Which team that we were closely matched with this year, did we lose to?

Tony, I’m sure you’re a lovely guy, and I like hearing your positive news updates, but I reckon if Satan was appointed to coach at StK, you’d be convinced that it was a great move and tell us how fantastic he is in the role.
Richardson appointed Ratten as the forward coach.

Rubyjo

Wait and see before you crap your dacks..

No

Simon Lethlean appointed Brett Ratten into the role of forwards assistant coach. AR never had the power to hire or fire, his job was to coach. After a review was conducted it was identified that AR needed experienced assistants.

Ruby
Not crapping anything. Pointing out a few ridiculous decisions. It’s these ridiculous decisions that see the club f*** up time and again.
As supporters we can choose to support these decisions, as you clearly do, or voice an objection. Which I have done. Either way it makes no difference, we are still BOG average.

B.M wrote: Thu 18 Jul 2019 9:48pm Don’t think there are too many 1.8M dollar houses in Dandy
:wink: :wink: :wink:

Lets face it. Melbourne has gone from the "world's most livable city" to." Who the f*** would want to live there? "

1.8 mil houses or not.

BarryGrogan

B.M wrote: Thu 18 Jul 2019 11:34pm No

Simon Lethlean appointed Brett Ratten into the role of forwards assistant coach. AR never had the power to hire or fire, his job was to coach. After a review was conducted it was identified that AR needed experienced assistants.

Wrong.

The club recruited Ratten and Lade - to support Cho.

Cho determined which role he wanted them in.

Besides, AFL clubs have been plonking coaches in apparent random roles for a decade or more.

Having a former midfielder as a forward coach, is hardly new and certainly not a St Kilda thing.

Sanderson for example, is Forward coach at Collingwood.

Rahilly is Geelong's forward coach.

BarryGrogan wrote: Fri 19 Jul 2019 1:31pm

Wrong.

The club recruited Ratten and Lade - to support Cho.

Cho determined which role he wanted them in.

I think I would accept BM's word on this.

And there is plenty of overwhelming evidence that experts in an area, coach in that area. Who is Mitchell coaching at Hawthorn, who is Lenny coaching at GWS, Scarlett Geelong, Harvey and Hocking Collingwood the list goes on

I can guarantee, Skrobolak wouldn’t be coaching the forwards for a big club, and most likely won’t at StK next year.... expect Jarrod Roughead to be in that role.

And Barry, you’re are going to have to post some supporting evidence if you are going to claim you know something as fact and that someone is wrong.
As far as I know, Lethlean hired Ratten into the role of Forward Coach which was a vacancy.

BarryGrogan

B.M wrote: Fri 19 Jul 2019 1:58pm And there is plenty of overwhelming evidence that experts in an area, coach in that area. Who is Mitchell coaching at Hawthorn, who is Lenny coaching at GWS, Scarlett Geelong, Harvey and Hocking Collingwood the list goes on
Of course there is. No one is disputing that.

Just you shooting your mouth off hysterically that a guy who didn't play in a role can't coach that role.

You're wrong.

B.M wrote: Fri 19 Jul 2019 1:58pm can guarantee, Skrobolak wouldn’t be coaching the forwards for a big club, and most likely won’t at StK next year.... expect Jarrod Roughead to be in that role.
Who cares? Roughed is at Hawthorn right now isn't he? How does that help us now?

What relevance does that have to the shuffling of the deck chairs at St Kilda with 6 games left?

B.M wrote: Fri 19 Jul 2019 1:58pmAnd Barry, you’re are going to have to post some supporting evidence if you are going to claim you know something as fact and that someone is wrong.
As far as I know, Lethlean hired Ratten into the role of Forward Coach which was a vacancy.
That's not the case at all.

You're wrong.
Last edited by BarryGrogan on Fri 19 Jul 2019 7:27pm, edited 1 time in total.

Richo decided the line coaches roles!

saynta wrote: Thu 18 Jul 2019 9:47pm Sorry.... :oops: :oops: :oops: I meant Frankston. But hey one crap Melbourne suburb is the same as another isn't it.
Depends if you want to live in #176 ranked (of 321) or #232 suburb in terms of Livability

This coming from someone in the suburb ranked #321
Last edited by Sainter_Dad on Fri 19 Jul 2019 4:05pm, edited 1 time in total.

Sainter_Dad wrote: Fri 19 Jul 2019 4:00pm
saynta wrote: Thu 18 Jul 2019 9:47pm
B.M wrote: Thu 18 Jul 2019 9:37pm Dandy’s coach?? They play Div 3 SFL

He was of course Frankston’s coach in the VFL who finished last, which was predicted so no slight on him.

Before that, he was a part time ruck coach at StK

Before that he was at TAC cup level as a coach I believe? Western Jets?

I reckon he may well be a good coach. However, he does not have the experience or expertise to be an AFL forward line coach... having never played or coached that line
Sorry.... :oops: :oops: :oops: I meant Frankston. But hey one crap Melbourne suburb is the same as another isn't it.
Depends if you want to live in #176 ranked (of 321) or #232 suburb in terms of Livability

This coming from someone in the suburb ranked #321
:D :D :) :wink:

The Barometer

BarryGrogan wrote: Fri 19 Jul 2019 2:11pm
B.M wrote: Fri 19 Jul 2019 1:58pm And there is plenty of overwhelming evidence that experts in an area, coach in that area. Who is Mitchell coaching at Hawthorn, who is Lenny coaching at GWS, Scarlett Geelong, Harvey and Hocking Collingwood the list goes on
Of course there is. No one is disputing that.

Just you shooting your mouth off hysterically that a guy who didn't play in a role can't coach that role.

Your wrong.

B.M wrote: Fri 19 Jul 2019 1:58pm can guarantee, Skrobolak wouldn’t be coaching the forwards for a big club, and most likely won’t at StK next year.... expect Jarrod Roughead to be in that role.
Who cares? Roughed is at Hawthorn right now isn't he? How does that help us now?

What relevance does that have to the shuffling of the deck chairs at St Kilda with 6 games left?

B.M wrote: Fri 19 Jul 2019 1:58pmAnd Barry, you’re are going to have to post some supporting evidence if you are going to claim you know something as fact and that someone is wrong.
That's not the case at all.

You're wrong.
Skrokobak deserves a chance, not seeing a lot wrong on who he has worked with to date and what is said about him,sounds positive. Ridiculous to think someone can’t coach an area beacause they didn’t play it at whatever level.. Coaches are students of the game who have a good grasp of all elements. That’s the difference between an afl assistant internet wannabe who coaches d grade seconds.

Ok champ

Let’s see if he is doing it next year?

Remind me again, since apparently I’m a D Grade wannabe
What makes you an expert??

The Barometer

B.M wrote: Fri 19 Jul 2019 7:37pm Ok champ

Let’s see if he is doing it next year?

Remind me again, since apparently I’m a D Grade wannabe
What makes you an expert??
Ok champ.
Let’s give him a chance.
You’re the “expert” who is writing him off.

Please quote where I mentioned being an expert?

I gave an opinion, which you can debate if you want.

You started with the name calling, which says a little more about you really... and got personal, nice touch.

But surely you must be better than me, given you can call me out and get personal with a put down

So again, what exactly gives you right???

Are you a C Grade wannabe?

HighettMan

B.M wrote: Fri 19 Jul 2019 7:48pm Please quote where I mentioned being an expert?

You started with the name calling, which says a little more about you really... and got personal, nice touch.

But surely you must be better than me, given you can call me out and get personal with a put down

Good to have you back BM...what you know about footy can't be learned in university.

Have the courage to call out r ACE ism
BarryGrogan

B.M wrote: Fri 19 Jul 2019 7:48pm Please quote where I mentioned being an expert?

If I could just chime in for a second...

You may not have stated you're an expert, but your posting manner toward the topic and toward the opinions of others certainly creates the persona of someone that clearly sees themselves as a league above everyone else in terms of footy intellect.

Nothing wrong with that. Nothing wrong with it at all.

But...it will leave you open to be whacked. If people think you're a flog that is condescending, they'll go you.

Not saying that you are, but your posting style may leave that open to inerpretation.

Rubyjo

Ruby
Not crapping anything. Pointing out a few ridiculous decisions. It’s these ridiculous decisions that see the club f*** up time and again.
As supporters we can choose to support these decisions, as you clearly do, or voice an objection. Which I have done. Either way it makes no difference, we are still BOG average.
Sorry BM wasn't aimed at you.. Just a general wait and see... But you are probably right.

The Barometer

oldie60 wrote: Thu 18 Jul 2019 9:28pm We are not alone. Have a look at some of the following. Collingwood - Brenton Sanderson. ex half back, Geelong, - James Rahilly 11 goals in 90 games. Port power - Nathan Basset played a defender. Most of these were not specialists in their respective lines.
Some other forward coaches...

Adelaide- Ben Hart ( defender)
West coast - jaymie graham (defender)
Brisbane- Jed adcock ( defende)
Richmond - Andrew McQualter (technically did play some footy as a forward)

The Barometer wrote: Sat 20 Jul 2019 10:17pm

Some other forward coaches...

Adelaide- Ben Hart ( defender)
West coast - jaymie graham (defender)
Brisbane- Jed adcock ( defende)
Richmond - Andrew McQualter (technically did play some footy as a forward)
Well what would all of those poorly performing teams know :wink: