This Sunday
-
- Club Player
Re: This Sunday
On pure economics, more elite female sport is akin to the government wanting more woman in the workforce, it doubles the amount of people paying tax and significantly increases consumption.
And don't misconstrue that as me not being 100% supportive and active in helping grow female participation. I'm just highlighting the economic decision making behind the explosion of elite female comps in the past 5 or so years.
- The_Dud
- Saintsational Legend
Try 11th.NextYear wrote: ↑Mon 10 Feb 2020 1:16pmSo how come you keep coming back to this thread? Must be your sixth post on a thread you are trying to avoid.The Fireman wrote: ↑Sun 09 Feb 2020 12:27pmgreat idea... everyone please tag all future threads pertaining to the AFLW with "AFLW" so we can all avoid them.
Thanks in advance.
But trust me, he has no interest in it, or so he feels the need to keep telling us...
- asiu
- Saintsational Legend
hey furph
Love the avatar !
what period is that from ?
Love the avatar !
what period is that from ?
- The_Dud
- Saintsational Legend
Tired cliche? Nah, don’t think so. But I understand why you would want to pretend so.
Sexist 1970s gender roles, now there’s a tired cliche.
Maybe you could expand a bit on this so called ‘agenda’ the AFL is pushing and why you are so against it, and we can see where everyone sits?
-
- Saintsational Legend
Doubles the amount of people paying tax? Tax payments are scaled to income, so what is the benefit? Having more people employed doesn't create more tax, it reduces income rates and increases competition for jobs.Secret Kiel wrote: ↑Mon 10 Feb 2020 1:17pm On pure economics, more elite female sport is akin to the government wanting more woman in the workforce, it doubles the amount of people paying tax and significantly increases consumption.
- The Fireman
- Saintsational Legend
just to make sure that it sinks in about tagging the threadsNextYear wrote: ↑Mon 10 Feb 2020 1:16pmSo how come you keep coming back to this thread? Must be your sixth post on a thread you are trying to avoid.The Fireman wrote: ↑Sun 09 Feb 2020 12:27pmgreat idea... everyone please tag all future threads pertaining to the AFLW with "AFLW" so we can all avoid them.
Thanks in advance.
- The Fireman
- Saintsational Legend
13th.. actually I'm ejoying telling everyone how disinterested I am I may hit 20The_Dud wrote: ↑Mon 10 Feb 2020 1:24pmTry 11th.NextYear wrote: ↑Mon 10 Feb 2020 1:16pmSo how come you keep coming back to this thread? Must be your sixth post on a thread you are trying to avoid.The Fireman wrote: ↑Sun 09 Feb 2020 12:27pmgreat idea... everyone please tag all future threads pertaining to the AFLW with "AFLW" so we can all avoid them.
Thanks in advance.
But trust me, he has no interest in it, or so he feels the need to keep telling us...
- Linton Lodger
- SS Hall of Fame
Are you really going to try and compare the Boomers to the Millenials? Seriously. You speak of 1970s gender roles, what about early 20th century authoritarian socialism. Was a disaster the first time, so let's do it again.The_Dud wrote: ↑Mon 10 Feb 2020 2:21pmTired cliche? Nah, don’t think so. But I understand why you would want to pretend so.
Sexist 1970s gender roles, now there’s a tired cliche.
Maybe you could expand a bit on this so called ‘agenda’ the AFL is pushing and why you are so against it, and we can see where everyone sits?
- asiu
- Saintsational Legend
The Fireman wrote: ↑Mon 10 Feb 2020 2:59pm13th.. actually I'm ejoying telling everyone how disinterested I am I may hit 20The_Dud wrote: ↑Mon 10 Feb 2020 1:24pmTry 11th.NextYear wrote: ↑Mon 10 Feb 2020 1:16pmSo how come you keep coming back to this thread? Must be your sixth post on a thread you are trying to avoid.The Fireman wrote: ↑Sun 09 Feb 2020 12:27pmgreat idea... everyone please tag all future threads pertaining to the AFLW with "AFLW" so we can all avoid them.
Thanks in advance.
shitty and disinterested
beautiful
thats extra cool
this goes with that at Suzannes
- SaintPav
- Saintsational Legend
I thought the AFLW was losing money hand over fist.Secret Kiel wrote: ↑Mon 10 Feb 2020 1:17pm On pure economics, more elite female sport is akin to the government wanting more woman in the workforce, it doubles the amount of people paying tax and significantly increases consumption.
Reputation management/marketing 101: The AFL are using it as a vehicle and a brand extension to promote the parent AFL brand because that’s where all the money is. They want to be known as the good corporate citizen. There’s nothing virtuous about this at all; it’s business.
It’s also political but let’s not go there...
Great athletes by the way but it’s practically a different game so I don’t know what the complaints are all about. It should be judged on its own merits.
- The Fireman
- Saintsational Legend
-
- Club Player
It's similar to economic stimulation through immigration whereby the ROI is from the second generation because the first generation required significant financial assistance to settle and establish a foothold. So just like when immigration numbers were doubled around 2005, we are only now seeing the children from the immagrants of that time enter the workforce and provide the government with an ROI. AFLW is a long game in terms of financial independence.SaintPav wrote: ↑Mon 10 Feb 2020 4:33pmI thought the AFLW was losing money hand over fist.Secret Kiel wrote: ↑Mon 10 Feb 2020 1:17pm On pure economics, more elite female sport is akin to the government wanting more woman in the workforce, it doubles the amount of people paying tax and significantly increases consumption.
Reputation management/marketing 101: The AFL are using it as a vehicle and a brand extension to promote the parent AFL brand because that’s where all the money is. They want to be known as the good corporate citizen. There’s nothing virtuous about this at all; it’s business.
It’s also political but let’s not go there...
Great athletes by the way but it’s practically a different game so I don’t know what the complaints are all about. It should be judged on its own merits.
And totally agree on great athletes and being a totally different game and if one does judge it on its own merits it actually is great to watch. I like the slower speed at which the game is played at.
- asiu
- Saintsational Legend
what else ya got ?
(thats a dorothy dixer)
share your pain
Last edited by asiu on Mon 10 Feb 2020 5:24pm, edited 1 time in total.
-
- Saintsational Legend
- Location: Queensland - Beautiful one day ... you know the rest
quick question firemanThe Fireman wrote: ↑Mon 10 Feb 2020 2:59pm 13th.. actually I'm ejoying telling everyone how disinterested I am I may hit 20
are you currently married?
- asiu
- Saintsational Legend
he’s purchased this winner as her Valentines pressie !!
i struggle to be positive
that there's any sugar at the end of that rainbow
i struggle to be positive
that there's any sugar at the end of that rainbow
- The Fireman
- Saintsational Legend
hmm very personal ?? why do you ask ?sunsaint wrote: ↑Mon 10 Feb 2020 5:24pmquick question firemanThe Fireman wrote: ↑Mon 10 Feb 2020 2:59pm 13th.. actually I'm ejoying telling everyone how disinterested I am I may hit 20
are you currently married?
- The Fireman
- Saintsational Legend
- Devilhead
- Saintsational Legend
Errr its .... Sussan'sasiu wrote: ↑Mon 10 Feb 2020 4:03pmThe Fireman wrote: ↑Mon 10 Feb 2020 2:59pm13th.. actually I'm ejoying telling everyone how disinterested I am I may hit 20The_Dud wrote: ↑Mon 10 Feb 2020 1:24pmTry 11th.NextYear wrote: ↑Mon 10 Feb 2020 1:16pmSo how come you keep coming back to this thread? Must be your sixth post on a thread you are trying to avoid.The Fireman wrote: ↑Sun 09 Feb 2020 12:27pmgreat idea... everyone please tag all future threads pertaining to the AFLW with "AFLW" so we can all avoid them.
Thanks in advance.
shitty and disinterested
beautiful
thats extra cool
this goes with that at Suzannes
- Furphy
- Club Player
It’s got a 1930s look to it, but a ‘google’ search describes it as a “1950 Argus badge” I reckon if the sainters brought that badge back as a lapel pin it would sell like hot cakes.
- asiu
- Saintsational Legend
yep
i’d buy one
edit
(probably buy 10 , knowing how i do things)
i’d buy one
edit
(probably buy 10 , knowing how i do things)
Last edited by asiu on Tue 11 Feb 2020 12:11pm, edited 1 time in total.
-
- Club Player
Whilst we didn't get the result we were after, I reckon it was a fantastic day! It had a real festival-like feel and everyone looked like they were having a fun time. There are a few things for the club to improve upon but that's to be expected after their first go at it. I can't wait for next weeks treat with the lads on Thursday then back again when the woman take on the Dee's!
Also, I had myself a good chuckle at some of the knuckle-draggers that have popped up in this thread. Unbelievable but not surprising really. Would hate to be a woman in those households...
-
- Club Player
Maybe some of your "knuckle-draggers" are women? My wife is also a Saints fan and cannot watch AFLW. Maybe some fans are more discerning and wish to watch quality sport, and don't blindly follow a low quality but strongly promoted commercial vehicle just because they wear the red, white and black.outside66 wrote: ↑Tue 11 Feb 2020 10:35am Whilst we didn't get the result we were after, I reckon it was a fantastic day! It had a real festival-like feel and everyone looked like they were having a fun time. There are a few things for the club to improve upon but that's to be expected after their first go at it. I can't wait for next weeks treat with the lads on Thursday then back again when the woman take on the Dee's!
I have also had a good chuckle on here because apparently those that have no interest in watching AFLW are:
emasculated individuals
against the AFLW product
not loyal Saints supporters
knuckle draggers
Quite funny really. I think some of the knuckle dragging is on the other foot. Good luck to those who enjoy watching AFLW, and good luck to the team, but I have better things to do with my time, and will stick to elite high quality sport.
- asiu
- Saintsational Legend
lol @ knuckle draggers
an oldie but a goodie