What a f######g loser

Re: What a f######g loser

roskilde wrote: Wed 27 May 2020 8:01pm
Joffa Burns wrote: Wed 27 May 2020 7:13pm
roskilde wrote: Wed 27 May 2020 4:38pm
Joffa Burns wrote: Wed 27 May 2020 2:44pm
asiu wrote: Wed 27 May 2020 1:44pm laugh out really loud @ the fucker champed me

hehehe
So I've though about this....obviously too much :lol:

Tiger is 5 YO & under
Sport is 7 YO & under
Champ is 10 YO & under

You don't champ anyone over 10 and it is blatantly disrespectful to champ anyone older than you.
You don't champ an adult under any circumstances, and don't try going with the full champion either, though not as disrespectful as champ its still not on.
Where do you fall on the 'buddy' question? I think it's basically a lifelong pass but I've heard different schools of thought.
This is an interesting one, I have a tradie who works around the house from time to time, nice guy and works hard but always gives me the mornin buddy with a smile.

I'm not a fan of buddy and generally don't like being called buddy or any derivative particularly the shortened bud.

I acknowledge however it is probably acceptable (through gritted teeth) as it would be hard to argue it is disrespectful. Cobber and mate get there also, not favs but pass the respect screening test.

What about you roskilde, have you been champed lately?
No but I agree it's totally obnoxious and condescending to call another adult 'champ'. I'd actually never thought about it but like with many of the things discussed in Curb Your Enthusiasm when you mentioned it I suddenly thought 'He's totally right!'

I must admit though I'm a chronic 'mate' type. I think I probably even could be accused of abuse of the 'mate' term. Need to sort that out.

PS 'Boss' and 'Chief' fall into similar categories as well. It's too overly familiar.
What about Captain? I’m known to use that from time to time. I also give mate a workout. And what about ‘bloke’ as in “G’day bloke”.
Last edited by st.byron on Thu 28 May 2020 8:14pm, edited 1 time in total.

asiu wrote: Wed 27 May 2020 1:44pm laugh out really loud @ the fucker champed me

hehehe

Tiger is 5 YO & under
Sport is 7 YO & under
Champ is 10 YO & under

You don't champ anyone over 10 and it is blatantly disrespectful to champ anyone older than you.
You don't champ an adult under any circumstances, and don't try going with the full champion either, though not as disrespectful as champ its still not on.
Where do you fall on the 'buddy' question? I think it's basically a lifelong pass but I've heard different schools of thought.
This is an interesting one, I have a tradie who works around the house from time to time, nice guy and works hard but always gives me the mornin buddy with a smile.

I'm not a fan of buddy and generally don't like being called buddy or any derivative particularly the shortened bud.

I acknowledge however it is probably acceptable (through gritted teeth) as it would be hard to argue it is disrespectful. Cobber and mate get there also, not favs but pass the respect screening test.

No but I agree it's totally obnoxious and condescending to call another adult 'champ'. I'd actually never thought about it but like with many of the things discussed in Curb Your Enthusiasm when you mentioned it I suddenly thought 'He's totally right!'

I must admit though I'm a chronic 'mate' type. I think I probably even could be accused of abuse of the 'mate' term. Need to sort that out.

PS 'Boss' and 'Chief' fall into similar categories as well. It's too overly familiar.
Double post

st.byron wrote: Thu 28 May 2020 8:10pm

hehehe

Tiger is 5 YO & under
Sport is 7 YO & under
Champ is 10 YO & under

What about Captain? I’m known to use that from time to time. I also give mate a workout. And what about ‘bloke’ as in “G’day bloke”.
Bloke is only used by offensive smart arse bogans with no class.

saynta wrote: Fri 29 May 2020 11:46am

hehehe

Tiger is 5 YO & under
Sport is 7 YO & under
Champ is 10 YO & under

No a fan of Bloke or Chief, they're not Champ but come off a little derogatory to me.

Boss I'm not adverse to as, I worked with a lot of Asians and the ladies often referred to you as Boss in a respectful way. A guy calling you Boss without reason is not as acceptable.

Another protocol I'd like to raise is using a persons nickname when you don't know them very well.

For example if you were introduced to Nick Reiwoldt you wouldn't say g'day Rooey, you'd say hello Nick.
Once you knew said person well enough to have a casual chat to you can refer to using nickname.

I'm calling 5-6 meet times before you use a nickname unless that person introduces themselves by the nickname or says call me "nickname".

The Craw wrote: Wed 27 May 2020 8:48pm Where do you all sit with being called dude.

For me it depends on age group and demographic.

Loved the song “don’t call me dude”.

A forgotten classic.
Not acceptable to call anyone over the age of 20 or not a pot head dude.
As a late 50's guy I'd rank dude right up there but just below Champ.

I like to call male senior citizens " Sir".
"Good morning Sir, how are you today."
Perhaps others may not find this as respectful as I do.

Names you don't call a mature aged person
Champ
Tiger
Sport
Dude
Champion

Passable but bordering on disrespectful
Chief
Boss
Bloke
Captain
Buddy
Bud

OK to use
Mate
Cobber
Sir

& don't use a persons nick name until you have gotten to know them.

Any comments?

roskilde

hehehe

Tiger is 5 YO & under
Sport is 7 YO & under
Champ is 10 YO & under

Personally not a 'bloke' fan. Also I genuniely don't think I can ever recall someone using 'Captain' in my presence. I like it though. My go to for casual encounters is 'mate' or 'buddy' but I use the latter more for kids. Now if we're really going to get into the weeds what about 'sweetheart' for girls. What's the cut off? 10? 11?

So many issues to consider. :D

This was my father's belief
And this is also mine:
Let the corn be all one sheaf--
And the grapes be all one vine,
Ere our children's teeth are set on edge
By bitter bread and wine.
Secret Kiel

Joffa Burns wrote: Fri 29 May 2020 1:33pm
The Craw wrote: Wed 27 May 2020 8:48pm Where do you all sit with being called dude.

A forgotten classic.

Champ
Tiger
Sport
Dude
Champion

Chief
Boss
Bloke
Captain
Buddy
Bud

OK to use
Mate
Cobber
Sir

Any comments?
Where does Pal sit

Secret Kiel wrote: Fri 29 May 2020 2:18pm
Joffa Burns wrote: Fri 29 May 2020 1:33pm

A forgotten classic.

Champ
Tiger
Sport
Dude
Champion

Chief
Boss
Bloke
Captain
Buddy
Bud

OK to use
Mate
Cobber
Sir

Any comments?
Where does Pal sit
Right under champion in the unacceptable column.

Groovy Guru

Need to throw in Bro, Bruh and brother....

Where do they sit ??????

No a fan of Bro .... but quite like Broski...has a cheekiness to it.

I think try hards throw out the Bruh.

Now brother, that is a hard one.

UPDATE

Champ
Tiger
Sport
Dude
Champion
Pal
Bro
Bruh

Chief
Boss
Bloke
Captain
Buddy
Bud
Brother

OK to use
Mate
Cobber
Sir

Groovy Guru

Joffa Burns wrote: Fri 29 May 2020 2:53pm UPDATE

Champ
Tiger
Sport
Dude
Champion
Pal
Bro
Bruh

Chief
Boss
Bloke
Captain
Buddy
Bud
Brother

OK to use
Mate
Cobber
Sir

Broski ????????

Union and pinkie pricks call one another comrade. Unacceptable to me but who really cares.

i call em luvvie or duckie if i desire a reaction

they hate it

things.

Joffa Burns wrote: Fri 29 May 2020 2:53pm UPDATE

Champ
Tiger
Sport
Dude
Champion
Pal
Bro
Bruh

Chief
Boss
Bloke
Captain
Buddy
Bud
Brother

OK to use
Mate
Cobber
Sir

Pretty much agree, especially when there's no familiarity with a person. There are times I'll call mates some of those and vice versa as we know it's not coming from a dark place.

Cannot use Bro or Cuz, works for others but not me.

Boss is interesting, depending on who is using it and the circumstances it is used in gives a possible insight into their profession or life experience.

How about Sunshine? I'd rate it up there with Champ, Tiger, Sport and Pal.

Another one is just the straight use of a surname, without ockering it.

one that hasn’t had a mention is ... c**k

it’s quite the southern tassy thing
... was rife amongst the older set when i was growing up

how ya going c**k
hey c**k

always smile when i hear it
but , it’s definitely not in usage by me

bloke i use
... must be tone of voice dependant

i haven’t twigged anyone being offended
(coz theirs none meant)

but had an irish guy one night
who reckoned i was making him sound
like his wifes lover not her husband

that , sat me back a bit

‘n then later
the girls backed in his version basically

coz thats how they see the word ‘bloke’

anyways

(i didn’t infer that either)

:P :P

(please don’t read further if your sensitive
about things)

should just call every one the one word

its a four letter word
ends in t.

u can jazz it up
with a miss mrs mister master or if it's serious business
mother f******

nirvana shall ensue.
(possibly)

giggle giggle @ Sunshine.

thats a better comeback than Tiger

edit

after running a few scenarios through my head

Tiger rates
... pretty hard to be a dash aggressive with Sunshine

asiu wrote: Fri 29 May 2020 5:49pm giggle giggle @ Sunshine.

thats a better comeback than Tiger

edit

after running a few scenarios through my head

Tiger rates
... pretty hard to be a dash aggressive with Sunshine
I don't know asiu, the right tone & pitch can earn a good serve of sunshine.

In regards to your c@ck greeting, one of my early bosses used that frequently, prefaced with old or young. I can cop that greeting, so to speak.

asiu wrote: Fri 29 May 2020 5:46pm one that hasn’t had a mention is ... c**k

it’s quite the southern tassy thing
... was rife amongst the older set when i was growing up

how ya going c**k
hey c***
Billy Brownless adapted it slightly and made it his own personal greeting to everyone

https://twitter.com/hashtag/cocko?src=hashtag_click

8-)

cockO’clock has promise

UPDATE II

Names you don't call a mature aged MALE person
Champ
Tiger
Sport
Dude
Champion
Pal
Bro
Bruh
C0ck
Cuz
Sunshine
Comrade

Chief
Boss
Bloke
Captain
Buddy
Bud
Brother
C0cko
Broski

OK to use
Mate
Cobber
Sir

What about "Big Fella" ...how you doin big fella - its in the OK to use for me???

squire?
but do we need a separate thread for names not to call an adult FEMALE? I'm thinking:

darl
dear
sweetheart
luvie...

big fella ... mmmm ... thats a bit suss in my book

roskilde wrote: Fri 29 May 2020 2:10pm

hehehe

Tiger is 5 YO & under
Sport is 7 YO & under
Champ is 10 YO & under

Personally not a 'bloke' fan. Also I genuniely don't think I can ever recall someone using 'Captain' in my presence. I like it though. My go to for casual encounters is 'mate' or 'buddy' but I use the latter more for kids. Now if we're really going to get into the weeds what about 'sweetheart' for girls. What's the cut off? 10? 11?

So many issues to consider. :D
Captain I only use playfully. Has to be someone who won’t mind a bit of piss taking. Sweetheart for a girl is def a no-no. Certainly not for a teenager or older. Mate is my go to as well for casual encounters.

Joffa Burns wrote: Fri 29 May 2020 1:13pm
saynta wrote: Fri 29 May 2020 11:46am

hehehe

Tiger is 5 YO & under
Sport is 7 YO & under
Champ is 10 YO & under

No a fan of Bloke or Chief, they're not Champ but come off a little derogatory to me.

Boss I'm not adverse to as, I worked with a lot of Asians and the ladies often referred to you as Boss in a respectful way. A guy calling you Boss without reason is not as acceptable.

Another protocol I'd like to raise is using a persons nickname when you don't know them very well.

For example if you were introduced to Nick Reiwoldt you wouldn't say g'day Rooey, you'd say hello Nick.
Once you knew said person well enough to have a casual chat to you can refer to using nickname.

I'm calling 5-6 meet times before you use a nickname unless that person introduces themselves by the nickname or says call me "nickname".
My not so long departed Uncle was of the generation that called each other Mr and Mrs. If he met someone new he preferred to be introduced as Mr. Thomas and then invite the other person to “call me Harry” when he felt it was appropriate.
Bra / bruz / bro et al is murky. There are some guys I genuinely call bro, but sometimes calling a guy ‘bro’ just because he’s a bloke is sticky and I feel uncomfortable if a guy I don’t know at all calls me bro.

Secret Kiel

Joffa Burns wrote: Fri 29 May 2020 7:05pm UPDATE II

Names you don't call a mature aged MALE person
Champ
Tiger
Sport
Dude
Champion
Pal
Bro
Bruh
C0ck
Cuz
Sunshine
Comrade

Chief
Boss
Bloke
Captain
Buddy
Bud
Brother
C0cko
Broski

OK to use
Mate
Cobber
Sir

What about "Big Fella" ...how you doin big fella - its in the OK to use for me???
Can we talk about the age that defines a mature age male. What's the consensus?