Match Thread Saints v Dockers Round 6 2020

Re: Match Thread Saints v Dockers Round 6 2020

tonyh wrote: Sat 11 Jul 2020 4:20pm Well it was a Freo home game, and their no. 2 didn't put a Foot wrong for them.
Yeah been up there 5 weeks. We have gone from 10 degree days to that. Then the circus bus trip for three hours what a disgrace.

Then Foote and Margetts seal the deal

Saintmatt wrote: Sat 11 Jul 2020 4:21pm
The Barometer wrote: Sat 11 Jul 2020 4:11pm
cwrcyn wrote: Sat 11 Jul 2020 4:07pm Our midfield is still second rate. We have not had an A grade midfielder in years. Jack Steven was the closest we had, and he's gone. I look back to the days when we had Goddard, Hayes, Dal Santo, and Harvey in the same team.
What we would give to have a Hayes like midfielder and LEADER.
Correct. Leadership. It’s everything we don’t have. You can stick your solid citizen / good training standards fair up your ar$e because Ross and Geary are diabolical if they don’t have specific roles

Pis$ poor leadership
Is it the coach or players or selection committee?

We are no better than Richo's "good year". Maybe we need to some fresh blood in the side.

I have no idea which umpire paid/didn't pay any of the free kicks but as a group they were shocking IMHO.
Every tackle was a complete lottery as to how it was going to be adjudicated.
Can someone please explain how Walters wasn't penalised for lying on the ball in the last quarter after what had been previously paid during the game?

BigD

The other problem now facing us is the clear evidence for other teams that the Saints will wilt under pressure.
Two big leads blown now in the same fashion.
Almost let Carlton back in.

Jacks Back wrote: Sat 11 Jul 2020 4:23pm
Saintmatt wrote: Sat 11 Jul 2020 4:21pm
The Barometer wrote: Sat 11 Jul 2020 4:11pm
cwrcyn wrote: Sat 11 Jul 2020 4:07pm Our midfield is still second rate. We have not had an A grade midfielder in years. Jack Steven was the closest we had, and he's gone. I look back to the days when we had Goddard, Hayes, Dal Santo, and Harvey in the same team.
What we would give to have a Hayes like midfielder and LEADER.
Correct. Leadership. It’s everything we don’t have. You can stick your solid citizen / good training standards fair up your ar$e because Ross and Geary are diabolical if they don’t have specific roles

Pis$ poor leadership
Is it the coach or players or selection committee?

We are no better than Richo's "good year". Maybe we need to some fresh blood in the side.
We’re still a mid star short... and it’s not Hannebery.

Outside of that it’s experience and structure

thecrevis wrote: Sat 11 Jul 2020 3:51pm Gresham is terrible!!!!!!!
Sadly, that’s true. He has a acceleration and a great side step. But his kicking is a serious liability - both for goal and field. He’s a small forward; not a good midfielders little toe nail.

Secret Kiel

Moods wrote: Sat 11 Jul 2020 4:16pm
Secret Kiel wrote: Sat 11 Jul 2020 4:11pm It helps if you don't take it too seriously. We were incredibly disadvantaged before the game even started. There were players that weren't happy about what the AFL has done to them. There is absolutely no integrity in this years comp.
STFU why don't you. These players are paid a fortune. Incredibly disadvantaged. What a joke. We're playing a crap team who have just spent 5 x wks 1000's of km's away from their base and you want to whine about how disadvantaged we are. We have better training facilities than most in their hub. Talk about a mentally weak effort and ppl like you are enablers for this type of display. If you reckon the season is so compromised and so unworthy, why bother watching it let alone coming on here and commenting.
I haven't watched any of our games, this time of year I'm usually very busy watching live games at different levels so as a purist I haven't been able to find the interest in an almost meaningless comp. The boys were incredibly disadvantaged.

stevie wrote: Sat 11 Jul 2020 4:02pm Be a fun bus trip ‘home’. Hope there’s no truck breakdowns on the Gateway
They should fvcking crawl home after that. Backwards.

Might teach them not to get ahead of themselves and a bit of reliance in the process. Mentally weak

sunsaint wrote: Sat 11 Jul 2020 4:15pm
desertsaint wrote: Sat 11 Jul 2020 4:09pm well i hope the lads enjoy the long bus ride home. unfortunately they'll be happily playing in the surf by sunday arvo.
Nah no surf at Noosa - but that will suit a bunch of Vic softies
Plenty of expensive latte coffee shops though
mate i'm from alice. a ripple is surf to me :lol:

Mr Magic wrote: Sat 11 Jul 2020 4:26pm I have no idea which umpire paid/didn't pay any of the free kicks but as a group they were shocking IMHO.
Every tackle was a complete lottery as to how it was going to be adjudicated.
Can someone please explain how Walters wasn't penalised for lying on the ball in the last quarter after what had been previously paid during the game?
Umpire Foote that’s how.

He did it late in the third as well stood back waited waited waited. I watched him and thought yes here’s a shot on goal but no he through it up.

Foote and Margetts are known cheats.

I just heard that that was freo's biggest comeback ever. Who would have thought the saints would hold that record?

Jacks Back wrote: Sat 11 Jul 2020 4:02pm Final score
Saints 11.7.73 lost to Dockers 12.7.79

Bad games from a lot of players particularly our highest paid player - Hill. Very overrated and really disappointing front running type of player who doesn't chase and even squibs it.
Yeah but ....you don’t understand the modern game...he’s really good at running

The Fireman wrote: Sat 11 Jul 2020 4:09pm
saintbob wrote: Sat 11 Jul 2020 4:07pm
samuraisaint wrote: Sat 11 Jul 2020 4:04pm
saintbob wrote: Sat 11 Jul 2020 4:00pm It’s time, Lonie and Marsh are NOT f****** good enough at this level
What about some of our mids?
Yep agreed, there was a lot of one way running after the start.
might have 2 out next game :(
May not be a bad thing - you can make it 4

Ross and Marsh as well

Laurie

HILL = SHOW ME THE MONEY
Thats all he is there for .
One way runner .

Jacks Back wrote: Sat 11 Jul 2020 4:33pm I just heard that that was freo's biggest comeback ever. Who would have thought the saints would hold that record?
well that peps me up a bit

heard a few on here say we are disadvantaged..I agree.. we lack fitness and determination..we are behind the 8 ball from the start.

Saintmatt wrote: Sat 11 Jul 2020 4:27pm
thecrevis wrote: Sat 11 Jul 2020 3:51pm Gresham is terrible!!!!!!!
Sadly, that’s true. He has a acceleration and a great side step. But his kicking is a serious liability - both for goal and field. He’s a small forward; not a good midfielders little toe nail.
He should be having a run through the midfield to lose his opponents and give our starting mids a break. He’s not a starting mid. Not in any team that has aspirations of playing finals. He bombs it way too much and simply tries to kick around corners too much. He did do some okay things today and will keep his spot I reckon, but for mine ive been incredibly disappointed with him this year

Why is it that Gresham, Ross and Geary look like they are kicking balloons?

thecrevis wrote: Sat 11 Jul 2020 3:42pm Starting to worry about Max King’s ability to hold onto a mark.
I thought it may have been a one off last week but he did it a few times today, he actually drops / ducks his head as the ball is about to hit his hands. No doubt from shorter opponents only being able to reach his head but that needs to be ironed out & then he'll dominate matches.

desertsaint wrote: Sat 11 Jul 2020 4:32pm
sunsaint wrote: Sat 11 Jul 2020 4:15pm
desertsaint wrote: Sat 11 Jul 2020 4:09pm well i hope the lads enjoy the long bus ride home. unfortunately they'll be happily playing in the surf by sunday arvo.
Nah no surf at Noosa - but that will suit a bunch of Vic softies
Plenty of expensive latte coffee shops though
mate i'm from alice. a ripple is surf to me :lol:
I fear it might be the same for our players
Those little ripple patterns on top of their barista made lattes make our guys go all woozy

well I'm just going to watch 1st Qrts then turn off... will be a much happier man.

:( Did anyone catch Freo singing their song... I switched off and I think Foxtel would’ve gone straight to the next match anyway

I was interested in seeing if Blake Acres had learnt the lines to their themesong :cry:

we will beat the $hitful crows next week and we will be champions again.

Scollop wrote: Sat 11 Jul 2020 5:14pm :( Did anyone catch Freo singing their song... I switched off and I think Foxtel would’ve gone straight to the next match anyway

I was interested in seeing if Blake Acres had learnt the lines to their themesong :cry:
Swap Acres and Hill today and we're plus 4 points and a couple of high draft picks.

Secret Kiel wrote: Sat 11 Jul 2020 4:28pm
Moods wrote: Sat 11 Jul 2020 4:16pm
Secret Kiel wrote: Sat 11 Jul 2020 4:11pm It helps if you don't take it too seriously. We were incredibly disadvantaged before the game even started. There were players that weren't happy about what the AFL has done to them. There is absolutely no integrity in this years comp.
STFU why don't you. These players are paid a fortune. Incredibly disadvantaged. What a joke. We're playing a crap team who have just spent 5 x wks 1000's of km's away from their base and you want to whine about how disadvantaged we are. We have better training facilities than most in their hub. Talk about a mentally weak effort and ppl like you are enablers for this type of display. If you reckon the season is so compromised and so unworthy, why bother watching it let alone coming on here and commenting.
I haven't watched any of our games, this time of year I'm usually very busy watching live games at different levels so as a purist I haven't been able to find the interest in an almost meaningless comp. The boys were incredibly disadvantaged.
That’s why what you say is treated as a joke :)