The Adelaide game : Big Baromemeter Check

Re: The Adelaide game : Big Baromemeter Check

Adelaide is not the biggest threat I reckon. All teams are a threat if the player leadership and the coaches don’t prepare well and don’t respect their opponents.

If we beat Freo

Repeat: IF we beat Freo...

Some of the boys may have a tendency to start getting ahead of themselves. Start thinking of finals, or start thinking about our next opponents, or start thinking about what sort of haircut they’ll get if we get another prime time game, or whether to trim the moustache or not....

The virus is still the biggest threat. It could all come crashing down like a house of cards, unfortunately.

saynta wrote: Tue 07 Jul 2020 6:03pm The virus is still the biggest threat. It could all come crashing down like a house of cards, unfortunately.
Don't worry Saynta. We banana benders will look after the boys. One case snuck in today but we're on to it. No cruise ships or shonky security guard scams up here mate.

CQ SAINT wrote: Tue 07 Jul 2020 8:53pm
saynta wrote: Tue 07 Jul 2020 6:03pm The virus is still the biggest threat. It could all come crashing down like a house of cards, unfortunately.
Don't worry Saynta. We banana benders will look after the boys. One case snuck in today but we're on to it. No cruise ships or shonky security guard scams up here mate.
None where im living either at present, although some f****** soccer players are trying to sneek in still after fog stopped them last night.

They will be as popular here as your cane toads are in NSW. :twisted: :evil: :evil:

If we are going to be a contender for finals we have to win next 2 games - no excuses.

Freo aren’t as bad as their ladder position suggests and Adelaide will be better back in Adelaide - so not suggesting they will be easy. As long as we get wins I will be happy,

if we can blood a youngster or 2 and rest a couple of our better players that will be a bonus.

We still can't win interstate. Adelaide will massacre us based on today's result. Especially over there.
10 goals easily.

Yep...bloody hell.

At least we came back at the end, but what is the reason for our total shutdowns?

Maybe, this loss will steel us?

Strangely, we might be more fired up against Adelaide.

I am hopeful that Marsh, Kent, Paton and a bunch of them will be dropped. Well need Ryder too, based on Marshall’s short circuit today.

Obviously some of the players got ahead of themselves and started drinking their own bathwater after beating the highly regarded Carlton...

...a bit like the theme of this thread really!!!

Marshall and Long will probably get a holiday, so that gives Ryder and potentially Roberton or Savage a chance.

But we won't beat Adelaide over there. We are struggling to run out games.

mr six o'clock wrote: Mon 06 Jul 2020 11:11pm Are the Saints a finals chance ?
The answer to this starts this week .
Not since Lyon was coach have team preformed consistently well interstate.
It will be more than a month before we are back home ( could be allot longer ) , so I hope we can continue our good form .
But I wouldn't be surprised if we lost .
So no surprise
If i was a betting man i would load up on the crows next week
They are shite
But they will be back home , happier and with crowd support will probably knock us off .
I like Ratten as coach but im yet to be convinced that he's made the team a finals contender.

Ratts inherited the list. This is the list that hasn’t even been close in the last couple of years...

There are contracts there with players that perhaps Ratts would not have been party to if he was the main decision maker. We will probably see more list changes before we settle down and look likely as a finalist. I reckon 2021 we make the 8 and 2022 we are a top 4 contender

I prefer seeing Longy, Paton, Clark, Coff, Marshall, and Kingy getting experience. I am happy for these kids to make mistakes while they learn. I’m not interested in us falling over the line into 8th spot and being bundled out year after year.

He also didn’t have much of a say in the recruiting of the unfab 5. Yes he may have helped sway them over the line, but I think the negotiations with their managers would have realistically started early in 2019, prior to his appointment as a senior coach.

We have a very young squad so you have to expect some inconsistency.

mr six o'clock wrote: Sat 11 Jul 2020 7:24pm
mr six o'clock wrote: Mon 06 Jul 2020 11:11pm Are the Saints a finals chance ?
The answer to this starts this week .
Not since Lyon was coach have team preformed consistently well interstate.
It will be more than a month before we are back home ( could be allot longer ) , so I hope we can continue our good form .
But I wouldn't be surprised if we lost .
So no surprise
If i was a betting man i would load up on the crows next week
They are shite
But they will be back home , happier and with crowd support will probably knock us off .
I like Ratten as coach but im yet to be convinced that he's made the team a finals contender.
Absolutely. We cannot play away from Docklands, not even at the G or Geelong - and interstate - forget about it! How a lot of our players have gotten away with simply not turning up when we play interstate year in, year out, and don't get dropped is absolutely beyond most people.
Then there is the Adelaide midfield. Their midfield is infinitely better than ours. This has been the case with our opposition all year.
We will be quicker than them, yes, but they are fitter and bigger bodied and will completely run over the top of us, especially over there with a crowd behind them.
To win this we would need to bring a game plan which not only scores quickly, but also one which is intensely physical at the contest, otherwise Sloane, the Crouch Brothers, and Laird will absolutely carve us up.
This is our line in the sand game.

carn_sainter

carn_sainter wrote: Mon 06 Jul 2020 11:59pm I think the freo game is even more important and indicative of where we're at.

This is the sort of game we always drop.

We have momentum, we have a chance to solidify a strong ladder position, we're playing outside Melbourne, we'll be favourites

We always drop these. To play well and win will suggest a level of belief and mental fortitude that hasn't been there since Lenny Hayes retired
Unfortunately we're still as soft as butter.

Adelaide will welcome the chance to play themselves back into form.

Enrico_Misso wrote: Sun 12 Jul 2020 12:54am Adelaide will welcome the chance to play themselves back into form.
They were in terrible form last year, on a down hill spiral, but they still smashed us, late in the season, with all their woes in full display in public.

Perhaps, the tables will turn.

I thought we might lose today, but not from a 37 point lead.

Perhaps, there might be some shame that kicks in.

Our best in that Collingwood game were all imports...so there is some scarring there with the Sainters boys.

Damn it...I don’t see Adelaide getting any form this year, but they might beat us.

What the hell happens to us?

Is it fitness?

Mentality?

shanegrambeau wrote: Sun 12 Jul 2020 1:37am
Enrico_Misso wrote: Sun 12 Jul 2020 12:54am Adelaide will welcome the chance to play themselves back into form.
They were in terrible form last year, on a down hill spiral, but they still smashed us, late in the season, with all their woes in full display in public.

Perhaps, the tables will turn.

I thought we might lose today, but not from a 37 point lead.

Perhaps, there might be some shame that kicks in.

Our best in that Collingwood game were all imports...so there is some scarring there with the Sainters boys.

Damn it...I don’t see Adelaide getting any form this year, but they might beat us.

What the hell happens to us?

Is it fitness?

Mentality?
No clue and not enough effort to overcome a full forward press.