Elimination Final - INs & OUTs

I agree Saintmatt, the other similar thread did go off on a tangent, rightly or wrongly, and I was a part of that. With the game now 3 days away, it appears...

OUT: Battle (sadly, a huge loss as he was playing with confidence & belief - hopefully he's right for the Semi)

IN: Jones (a must, for experience, pace & midfield grunt against an A grade bunch of mids)

Is this all? Does Kent keep his spot or lose it to Marsh (a Battle replacement), Phillips (an extra gut runner), Dunstan / Bytel (extra mid to allow Steele, Ross, Billings to rest in the forward line)

Carlisle? I suggest he's a must. Wilkie & Howard are much better with him there as they can all play 3rd man up, along with Coffield.

Likely only the forced change, unless Lonie fails to come up.

SaintPelican66

Re: Elimination Final - INs & OUTs

Mods - Please delete duplicate post!

SaintPelican66 wrote: Wed 30 Sep 2020 5:39pm Mods - Please delete duplicate post!
Delete you yes I agree.

<1 day ban for baiting>

Agree that Jones comes and Battle goes out...

Would like to see Phillips come in for Kent. Phillips will work harder, will likely kick more goals and get more touches

Battle is such a loss. nothing we can do about it.
The other thing we can doing nothing about is the automatic weekly selection of Kent. (go figure)

Perhaps Dunstan comes in to make up for some midfield.
Battle
193cm, 90 odd Kegs
Dunstan
185cm, 80 and some

Hardly a like-for-like.
But 100+ games of experience, his first final, so ready and willing. No match conditioning bar the run in the seconds scratch match (once?)

Even more experienced and same weight and size as Dunny is Shane Savage??

But the one wild card...is....??
GUESS WHO IS THE SAME SIZE AS BATTLE? Has 128 games of experience??

Yes, enter stage right, DYLAN ROBERTON!!!

So I say Roberton for Battle

Simple..done.

shanegrambeau wrote: Wed 30 Sep 2020 7:11pm Battle is such a loss. nothing we can do about it.
The other thing we can doing nothing about is the automatic weekly selection of Kent. (go figure)

Battle
193cm, 90 odd Kegs
Dunstan
185cm, 80 and some

Hardly a like-for-like.
But 100+ games of experience, his first final, so ready and willing. No match conditioning bar the run in the seconds scratch match (once?)

Simple..done.
Agree, if we want a like-for-like replacement. Very good player Dylan. Would throw a spanner in the Dogs’ planning if he was bought in to play Battle’s role.

But they might decide just Jones for Battle.

shanegrambeau wrote: Wed 30 Sep 2020 7:11pm Battle is such a loss. nothing we can do about it.

Battle
193cm, 90 odd Kegs
Dunstan
185cm, 80 and some

Hardly a like-for-like.

Simple..done.
Love it, great suggestion & deserving. Will be an interesting selection night. I hope we have the courage as I doubt Dylan will let us down.

anyone putting s*** on Kent should go and have a closely at our last game.🦍🦍🦍

Jones for Josh.

If Lones doesn't come up then Marsh will come in.

SaintPelican66

Vortex wrote: Wed 30 Sep 2020 8:01pm Jones for Josh.

If Lones doesn't come up then Marsh will come in.
No way I would select Marsh. I would rather bring in Bytel and have the extra midfielder.

CURLY wrote: Wed 30 Sep 2020 5:50pm
SaintPelican66 wrote: Wed 30 Sep 2020 5:39pm Mods - Please delete duplicate post!
Delete you yes I agree.

<1 day ban for baiting>
Why is one post baiting but the other post isn't.

Power-hungry f****** idiot.

Cancel me c***.

I was thinking Webster...

I was thinking Barry Breen.

Let's just select from anyone who has a pulse.

saynta wrote: Wed 30 Sep 2020 7:46pm anyone putting s*** on Kent should go and have a closely at our last game.🦍🦍🦍
Yep. Agree. He’s not our most celebrated or talented player, but generally he works hard and generally snags a goal a game. His last game was very good and I’d be staggered if he was dropped

SaintPav wrote: Wed 30 Sep 2020 8:47pm
Delete you yes I agree.

<1 day ban for baiting>

Cancel me c***.
I agree with the sentiment SaintPav, not entirely sure about the rest. Does seem odd that what Curly responded to was in fact, a form of baiting if they'd actually read the OP. It's either both or neither, I'd vote neither.

Ghost Like wrote: Wed 30 Sep 2020 9:03pm
Delete you yes I agree.

<1 day ban for baiting>

Cancel me c***.
I agree with the sentiment SaintPav, not entirely sure about the rest. Does seem odd that what Curly responded to was in fact, a form of baiting if they'd actually read the OP. It's either both or neither, I'd vote neither.
Ok.

See you in 2021

Moods wrote: Wed 30 Sep 2020 8:55pm
saynta wrote: Wed 30 Sep 2020 7:46pm anyone putting s*** on Kent should go and have a closely at our last game.🦍🦍🦍
Yep. Agree. He’s not our most celebrated or talented player, but generally he works hard and generally snags a goal a game. His last game was very good and I’d be staggered if he was dropped
He’s actually kicked ONE goal since rd 9 - or one goal in his last 6 games
9 - Syd - DNP
10 - GC - 0.1
12 - ESS - DNP
13 - Bris - 1.0
14 - Melb - 0
15 - Bye
16 - Haw - 0
17 - WCE - 0
18 - GWS - 0

Hasn’t scored a goal in 4 games... last against Brisbane

Against GWS he was barely sighted and ineffective when the game was on the line, but got some easy possessions once the team got on top

The general sentiment seems to be that he ‘works hard’.

IMO that’s a basic expectation and not enough to justify a spot in the team. He’s in the team to kick goals or if he moves up the ground, be involved in plays that set up forward thrusts like we see Butler do from time to time.

He hasn’t been kicking goals, he doesn’t get a ton of ball, doesn’t tackle

IMO he’s quite badly out of form and the stats reflect it

saintkid

skeptic wrote: Wed 30 Sep 2020 9:24pm
9 - Syd - DNP
10 - GC - 0.1
12 - ESS - DNP
13 - Bris - 1.0
14 - Melb - 0
15 - Bye
16 - Haw - 0
17 - WCE - 0
18 - GWS - 0

Against GWS he was barely sighted and ineffective when the game was on the line, but got some easy possessions once the team got on top

IMO that’s a basic expectation and not enough to justify a spot in the team. He’s in the team to kick goals or if he moves up the ground, be involved in plays that set up forward thrusts like we see Butler do from time to time.

Agree totally. We would not miss Kent at all. Unfortunate Battle has the injury and not Kent. Battle is a star in the making and his absence weakens us on Saturday.

SaintPav wrote: Wed 30 Sep 2020 9:23pm
Delete you yes I agree.

<1 day ban for baiting>

Cancel me c***.
Ok.

See you in 2021
Pick up your toys SPav, I hope we hear / see you this Saturday. I agree with you, I also don't agree with Curly's ban, I don't agree that you needed to go off. I understand a PM goes no where, which is ironic but better to hear you than not.

9 - Syd - DNP
10 - GC - 0.1
12 - ESS - DNP
13 - Bris - 1.0
14 - Melb - 0
15 - Bye
16 - Haw - 0
17 - WCE - 0
18 - GWS - 0

Damning stats and I hoped to counter with his game against the Dogs, alas he didn't play. So we could believe we'd win by more, especially knowing Battle didn't play either.

All said, his game against the Giants was not the worst. His game a week earlier was. The Bulldogs seem the type of side he'd do well against. Fingers crossed he does because Battle's injury has given him a lifeline for one more game, possibly one more season if he can get the job done.

Ghost Like wrote: Wed 30 Sep 2020 9:57pm
9 - Syd - DNP
10 - GC - 0.1
12 - ESS - DNP
13 - Bris - 1.0
14 - Melb - 0
15 - Bye
16 - Haw - 0
17 - WCE - 0
18 - GWS - 0

Damning stats and I hoped to counter with his game against the Dogs, alas he didn't play. So we could believe we'd win by more, especially knowing Battle didn't play either.

All said, his game against the Giants was not the worst. His game a week earlier was. The Bulldogs seem the type of side he'd do well against. Fingers crossed he does because Battle's injury has given him a lifeline for one more game, possibly one more season if he can get the job done.
Agreed.

Interesting to note he kicked 8 goals in his first 7 games and one since then

I remember being impressed earlier in the season with how he managed to find space and bob up for the odd goal. Quite a few times they were at vital stages in games too.
The concern as I stated at the time is that when you’re only getting 6-10 touches a game, it’s very hard to maintain that type of strike rate and since opposition have started Manning up on him more... he’s struggled quite badly.

The challenge for Kent is that he’s not a natural crumber like Lonie or Butler... he actually relies a lot more on speed and spread. Handball out of a pack, short kick into F50m etc

Needs to work a lot harder to kick goals like that.

Hope he can get through it because his contribution is what’s changed the most in the second 1/2 of the season, and has IMO been the difference between us winning close games and losing them.

skeptic wrote: Wed 30 Sep 2020 10:14pm
Ghost Like wrote: Wed 30 Sep 2020 9:57pm
9 - Syd - DNP
10 - GC - 0.1
12 - ESS - DNP
13 - Bris - 1.0
14 - Melb - 0
15 - Bye
16 - Haw - 0
17 - WCE - 0
18 - GWS - 0

Agreed.

Interesting to note he kicked 8 goals in his first 7 games and one since then

I remember being impressed earlier in the season with how he managed to find space and bob up for the odd goal. Quite a few times they were at vital stages in games too.
The concern as I stated at the time is that when you’re only getting 6-10 touches a game, it’s very hard to maintain that type of strike rate and since opposition have started Manning up on him more... he’s struggled quite badly.

The challenge for Kent is that he’s not a natural crumber like Lonie or Butler... he actually relies a lot more on speed and spread. Handball out of a pack, short kick into F50m etc

Needs to work a lot harder to kick goals like that.

Hope he can get through it because his contribution is what’s changed the most in the second 1/2 of the season, and has IMO been the difference between us winning close games and losing them.
I don't know why he gets picked. I'll admit that. I'm no Norm Smith myself, but it look to me that me doesn't decide quickly sometimes. He looks busy. I look at that dreadful Melbourne game. I think he had just about the last kick. He took too long to dispose. He kicked too wide. There were other moments in games where he has possession, looks busy carrying the ball, but really, we are losing momentum.

I also admit that I thought we were all so hopeful he and Parker would be superstars from nowhere last year and picked both of them for too long.

He is sharp on his toes, for sure and I'm sure he is trying. But I don't see him getting games at the top clubs. I hope he proves me wrong and has a blinder, because no matter what, come rain or shine, he'll be picked again.

I hope Lonie comes up. Jones - who I am also not crazy about actually - should come in, and as I said Roberton, if he has touch and fitness, for Battle.

Delete you yes I agree.

<1 day ban for baiting>

Cancel me c***.
What other post is baiting? Nothing was reported. Nothing i read in the opening post here is baiting. The other thread has had some bans on posts reported. Did anyone report the opening post here? NO.

Delete you yes I agree.

<1 day ban for baiting>

Cancel me c***.
Curly was banned for playing the man in a thread that was trying to get the topic back to footy. His post aimed only to inflame and rekindle the crap that was in the other thread. Pretty logical why it was deemed a bait.

If we are judging a player's worth in a season where we have kicked 1159 points and the team who kicked the highest amount of points was 1233 then we better drop nearly the whole forward line starting with Max King who has only kicked 2 goals in his last 5 games.

If only 71 points seperated us and Geelong who I think has a fairly potent arsenal of scorers then what does that tell you. And the fact it is a compromised season where amongst other aspects of our great game, scoring has been significantly impacted with most games resembling a soccer match.

If you are judging a small forward this season on the amount of goals he scores then you are stuck in a loop and don't quite understand the game beyond tabloid level.

Kent has been playing a role that is anything but a small forward, he has been working much higher up the ground to help out from accross half back and then towards F50 as a link up player who can help defend accross the half back, and then either link up through the middle to either choose an i50 option or dish off to a Billings, Hill or Buttler. After he completes the link up he then pressess hard forward and helps to lock it in F50. He's also been very good in goal assists, meters gained and i50s.

Interestingly, of the 8 goals he has kicked, 4 of them have been clutch goals in the last quarter when the game was in the balance. Now I'll admit those 8 goals came in the first half of this short season but hey, in a team that hasn't won too many games in the second half of this short season, he ain't no Robinson Crusoe.

Goals are only a bonus in his current role and this heavily compromised season.

Come Saturday he might also announce himself as a player who is built for finals. Absolutley no chance he will be dropped.