Twin Towers? King and Brown?

Riewoldt and Lynch are talls who each have a pocket ....

Could we do that with Ben Brown and Max King?

I know Brown looks awkward with his Dennis Lillie run up and bouncing hair, but think about it for a moment.

Twin towers, plus Butler, Lonie and co.

King got smacked pillar to post this year, and will next.

Imagine having a diversion like Ben Brown.

We shouldn’t get too wrapped up in Max (Jesus) King I suspect....

Re: Twin Towers? King and Brown?

Who does he come in for though?

Brown plays on train tracks, Strong mark and good kick but has the turning circle of the Queen Mary. When the ball hits the ground pressure drops and we cant have that

Yes..

But he has kicked a ton of goals over the last few seasons.

Like Darling and Kennedy, could give opposition coaches a headache.

So forward six would look like....

Membrey Butler On one line

King Lonie Brown On another line

Rotate and mix the lines plus

Add a more defensive forward

Which makes six

Or sub Lonie for Gresh

I’d prefer Mihocek, more versatile and a better pack mark than Brown.

saintbob wrote: Mon 26 Oct 2020 3:30pm I’d prefer Mihocek, more versatile and a better pack mark than Brown.
Mihochek for me as well
I like his Port Melb Gary Ayers heritage
thats if we cant convince DeGoey of course - has he found a manager / new contract yet?

Give me Tom McDonald, can play back, can play wing, can play forward. Just can't play the #1 banana. Forget Brown, be wary of players that played their best footy against the Saints pre 2020.
Forget McKernan, unless happy to be a rookie & pick Ben King, and all his belongings, up from the airport at the end of next season.

In 2022 it will be Ben & Max King.

Impatient Sainter wrote: Mon 26 Oct 2020 5:27pm In 2022 it will be Ben & Max King.
And Brad & Matt Crouch feeding them :lol:

johnearljames

Joffa Burns wrote: Mon 26 Oct 2020 9:26pm
Impatient Sainter wrote: Mon 26 Oct 2020 5:27pm In 2022 it will be Ben & Max King.
And Brad & Matt Crouch feeding them :lol:
Not a chance. Stop making stuff up.

Want to watch the most boring and devious thing on television and probably in mankind's history, then tune into a daily live press conference at 11am.

Well, it seems like a big ‘thumbs down’ for the Ben Brown idea.

I suppose you saw these stories...

https://wwos.nine.com.au/afl/shane-craw ... 8903afa8aa

And

https://www.zerohanger.com/victorian-su ... afl-63173/

But there must have been something terribly wrong at North for this The relationship to unravel.

I just thought it would lessen the pressure on Max and a good decoy for the opposition. Ben King, Albert King and BB King are not coming anytime soon, so...just a thought.

seano1

What about jesse hogan maybe our coach could square his head up and get back his early form

Saintmike65

shanegrambeau wrote: Mon 26 Oct 2020 10:45am Riewoldt and Lynch are talls who each have a pocket ....

I know Brown looks awkward with his Dennis Lillie run up and bouncing hair, but think about it for a moment.

In this scenario, where does Marshall fit in?...prefer the Marshall/ King/ Membrey set up with Battle as a chop out when Ro goes into the ruck.
Gresham, Higgins, Billings rotate forward and mid, with Butler the permanent small forward...sounds ok to me!!

Saintmike65 wrote: Thu 29 Oct 2020 11:18am
shanegrambeau wrote: Mon 26 Oct 2020 10:45am Riewoldt and Lynch are talls who each have a pocket ....

In this scenario, where does Marshall fit in?...prefer the Marshall/ King/ Membrey set up with Battle as a chop out when Ro goes into the ruck.
Gresham, Higgins, Billings rotate forward and mid, with Butler the permanent small forward...sounds ok to me!!
Yes, it sounds sensible but...

Yes, Ro played less ruck this year
But...he is still needed on the ball, perhaps more so in ‘21 and onwards?

And if you were an opposition coaching team..
..and you had to match up with...

Members Brown Butler
Gresham King Higgins

you’d have some weight (and height!) on your mind.

I’ve heard it said (fair dinkum commentary) ..
..that King is more a CHF .

Just a thought..

Marshall could of course roll in..as all teams seem to have a 15 man forward line too.

Notice how Carlisle has to run all the way down to intercept behind kick ins sometimes?

johnearljames

Brown signing with Melbourne.

Want to watch the most boring and devious thing on television and probably in mankind's history, then tune into a daily live press conference at 11am.

I don’t reckon we need another tall forward...

What we need is a another back to ensure that Battle is more a utility forward

King, Marshall, Battle + Members looks good enough to me... epspeically if King elevates his game even a little

johnearljames wrote: Thu 29 Oct 2020 12:43pm Brown signing with Melbourne.
OK..done then.

And I confess...embarrassed,....that I am banging in about height, but I didn’t realize that Marshall is actually taller than Brown. And I am banging on about height!

Brown seems taller than Marshall.

I thought Marshall would be about a 196er! He’s 201 or 202 depending on your source!!

Sauce on me.

Oh well, there goes that idea! lol

We don’t need him. Polly Waffle! Looks like...

skeptic wrote: Thu 29 Oct 2020 12:51pm I don’t reckon we need another tall forward...

What we need is a another back to ensure that Battle is more a utility forward

King, Marshall, Battle + Members looks good enough to me... epspeically if King elevates his game even a little
Tend to agree plus I think the blue print has two Kings in our future so the above looks good.

This is why Tom McDonald would be a good fit at the Saints, effectively gives us two Battles and a lot of flexibility.

Not surprised.

Crouch, Higgins and a tall utility will see us done and dusted this year.

johnearljames

saynta wrote: Thu 29 Oct 2020 12:57pm
Not surprised.

Pretty much what will happen but there could be a late surprise. Probably 3 x players heading out the door for draft picks too.

saynta wrote: Thu 29 Oct 2020 12:57pm
Not surprised.

I would think so...

Feels like that would be a very good outcome even if not as spectacular as the trade period 12 months ago

Will be interesting to see who the utility is...
We do need some ruck and back depth