The Seb Ross discussions

Re: The Seb Ross discussions

B.M wrote: Sun 03 Jan 2021 5:40pm Back 6

Paton - Howard - Wilkie

Coffield - Carlisle - Long

Would be my guess
+

Forward 6

Billings Frawley Membrey

Butler King Gresham

= Very exciting!

You are never at full strength, so picking a best 22 is moot

But if we were at full strength (which means 7 backs, 7 forwards and 8 mids) it will be interesting to see where these players fit

Battle
Gresham
Clarke

As Battle is really the old fashion utility
Can play KF, KB, Wing, 3rd Fwd, 3rd Back

I think he is an important player in the 22 because he can play a role, but if we have an injury to say a KB he can cover.
So IMO he’s best 22

Gresham
We have a lot of mids (especially with DH fit) will he play fwd or mid?

My role for Gresham would be HHF pushing into midfield (much in the same way Kane Lambert does for Richmond! I would rotate that position (Gresham, Hill, Billings, Higgins, Sinclair) but rotate through the centre square because he’s so good at stoppage

Clark as the 7th defender, but with the ability to play in the midfield if a change is needed

So my team

Wilkie - Howard - Paton
Hill - Crouch - Billings
Gresham - Membrey - Higgins
Marshall - King - Butler

Ryder - Steele - Z.Jones

Ross - Clark - Hannebery - Battle

E: Geary - Sinclair - Lonie - Dunstan - Webster

Wilkie - Howard - Paton
Hill - Crouch - Billings
Marshall - King - Butler

Ryder - Steele - Z.Jones

Yep - I like your team - no real weak links - would hope that team would win a few games

Positioning aside that’s my top 22 too

If we can keep that team together for 2021, i.e. luck with injury, we should have a good year.

B.M wrote: Sun 03 Jan 2021 5:57pm You are never at full strength, so picking a best 22 is moot

But if we were at full strength (which means 7 backs, 7 forwards and 8 mids) it will be interesting to see where these players fit

Battle
Gresham
Clarke

I think he is an important player in the 22 because he can play a role, but if we have an injury to say a KB he can cover.
So IMO he’s best 22

Gresham

My role for Gresham would be HHF pushing into midfield (much in the same way Kane Lambert does for Richmond! I would rotate that position (Gresham, Hill, Billings, Higgins, Sinclair) but rotate through the centre square because he’s so good at stoppage

Clark as the 7th defender, but with the ability to play in the midfield if a change is needed

So my team

Wilkie - Howard - Paton
Hill - Crouch - Billings
Marshall - King - Butler

Ryder - Steele - Z.Jones

I find it interesting where they group at 1/4 time & 3/4 time which really defines their most prominent role.

Instead of a team I think it’s 7 backs, 7 forwards and 8 mids.

Backs: Howard, Wilkie, Clark, Coffield, Paton, Long, Carslile

Forwards: Marshall, King, Billings, Gresham, Butler, Membrey, Higgins

Mids: Ryder, Steele, Crouch, Hannebery, Hill, Ross, Jones,

Last in best 22 is Battle and he is definitely a true utility.

Obviously Gresham, Billings, Marshall, Clark, Higgins all rotate through the midfield.

B.M wrote: Sun 03 Jan 2021 5:57pm You are never at full strength, so picking a best 22 is moot

Battle
Gresham
Clarke

So IMO he’s best 22

Gresham

So my team

Wilkie - Howard - Paton
Hill - Crouch - Billings
Marshall - King - Butler

Ryder - Steele - Z.Jones

Team looks good, interesting you have Geary out of the best 22 (which I agree with), it won’t be popular with a few on here!

I think we can cover some injuries

Key back: Frawley

3rd Back: Roberton Highmore

Small Back: Geary Webster McKenzie

Ruck: McKernan

Mids: Dunstan, Bytel, Sinclair

Key Forward: Concern? Probably Battle or McKernan

3rd Forward: Battle Allison

Small Forward: Lonie Sinclair

Most bases covered for Depth

Still developing
Alabakis Connelly Byrnes Allison

Logan Austin is an interesting story.

Listed as 196cm and looking at highlights was a good spoiler.

When he played he looked ok, won possession and used it ok.

Perhaps didn’t develop the body and strength for a KPD but looked like he could play. He certainly had enough time on the list.

I wasn’t against cutting Austin but he has effectively been replaced by another mid sized Backman in Highmore.

With Robbo, Wilkie and now Highmore plus Battle when back it appears we have three or four similar mid size tall backs who can pinch hit as a key back. Robbo plays a bit smaller than the others.

I thought both draft picks were really interesting selections

Both hybrids

One a mobile forward the other an interceptor

We have Roberton, Wilkie, Battle, Membrey

I feel we lack depth in the areas of outside mid and Power forward

Yes, Austin was a strange one

We gave up pick 24 to get him

He was 196cm but only around 90kg

He had a bad shoulder injury and never really got a look back in
Maybe his shoulder was rooted?

B.M wrote: Sun 03 Jan 2021 8:46pm I thought both draft picks were really interesting selections

Both hybrids

One a mobile forward the other an interceptor

We have Roberton, Wilkie, Battle, Membrey

I feel we lack depth in the areas of outside mid and Power forward
At a guess Allison appeared best upside talent available but Highmore targeted as a ready made Wilkie style player.

Perhaps there was not a key back they rated highly available and therefore felt between Battle, Wilkie & Highmore they had coverage.

Interesting with Allison

Has a nice athletic profile, bit of guess work with him though as he was taken on projection rather than exposed form (like all of the Vic u18 draftees) but he was not very productive as a bottom- ager

He played a few games I believe last year and showed marked improvement.

He may have been a player that really improved in his top age year, but didn’t get the opportunity. I understand he grew quite a bit too.

Maybe we got a steal, possibly a bust?

But that would be the case with a lot of picks outside the top 15

Sorry, got very sidetracked... this thread was supposed to be about Seb.

B.M wrote: Sun 03 Jan 2021 10:03pm Sorry, got very sidetracked... this thread was supposed to be about Seb.
That's f****** hilarious....the thread is supposed to be about Seb........Hahahaha!

B.M wrote: Sun 03 Jan 2021 7:16pm I think we can cover some injuries

Key back: Frawley

3rd Back: Roberton Highmore

Small Back: Geary Webster McKenzie

Ruck: McKernan

Mids: Dunstan, Bytel, Sinclair

Key Forward: Concern? Probably Battle or McKernan

3rd Forward: Battle Allison

Small Forward: Lonie Sinclair

Most bases covered for Depth

Still developing
Alabakis Connelly Byrnes Allison
I have Bytel still in the developing category, I'll welcome him becoming the instant superstar that is predicted in small internet enclaves but history says that's highly unlikely.

With our top 4 aspirations in 2021 I'd say Sincs and possibly Dunny if he can get his act together will be preferred in selection during those games where injury has robbed us of our first choice mids.

Unfortunately for Bytel he's missed a lot of footy over the past 3 years and hardly played a game at any level in 2020.

Just judging Bytel from his 3 games

I think he is almost ready to go, and if he played a year in the VFLBlast season he would be.

He is physically ready - clearly

He has the skill

Just lacks the experience

He will be knocking down the door this season and innthe side next season

The Billings Method

B.M wrote: Mon 04 Jan 2021 12:35pm Just judging Bytel from his 3 games

I think he is almost ready to go, and if he played a year in the VFLBlast season he would be.

He has the skill

I know this a cliche, B.M but my track watching insider at Moorabbin says he is flying on the track. Much stronger, running well and those "Diesel" like hands. For once, it looks like an injury or two have actually helped us. We wouldn't have got Winx, nor Jack without them. Is it an omen?!

If alcohol can damage your short term memory, imagine what damage alcohol could do.

He’s definitely got a grown mans physique

B.M wrote: Mon 04 Jan 2021 12:35pm Just judging Bytel from his 3 games

He has the skill

In the context of our side expected to become a top 4 side in 2021 it is now a team that can't have passengers in any position let alone in the midfield so it may be his lack of experience that keeps him out of the side.

My hope is if he does get a game it is because he gets selected for round 1 and 2 while Crouch is suspended and performs in a way that makes it impossible for him to be dropped.

If he's getting a game because other midfielders are dropped from the side due to form issues then I suspect our top 4 aspirations may have been overstated.

Physique is one thing, being an AFL capable player in a top 4 side is whole new challenge.

To compete against the big bulls in the centre square, if you ain’t got the strength and power... forget it

We are talking players the ilk of Danger, Dusty, Cripps, Bont, Cunnington, Kennedy, Lyons, Adams, Fyfe, Mundy, Parker, Wines, Mundy etc

Some big boys there!!!

They would just brush you aside if you weren’t strong enough!

You’d be very surprised how big Steele and Ross are in person
Both stand around 6’2” and are over 85kgs

B.M wrote: Mon 04 Jan 2021 5:14pm To compete against the big bulls in the centre square, if you ain’t got the strength and power... forget it

We are talking players the ilk of Danger, Dusty, Cripps, Bont, Cunnington, Kennedy, Lyons, Adams, Fyfe, Mundy, Parker, Wines, Mundy etc

Some big boys there!!!

They would just brush you aside if you weren’t strong enough!

You’d be very surprised how big Steele and Ross are in person
Both stand around 6’2” and are over 85kgs
From what I have read in this encyclopaedia about everything I am now satisfied. Sebby has got them all covered!

B.M wrote: Mon 04 Jan 2021 5:14pm

Yep but I think you'd agree Bytel hasn't put himself in that company yet just becuase he has a certain physique, in fact in a few season Bytel might be our next Armo meaning he can't crack into a side that is in the premiership window.

Armo should have played in a premiership in 09

I think Armo is a very good comparison to Bytel

B.M wrote: Mon 04 Jan 2021 9:50pm Armo should have played in a premiership in 09

I think Armo is a very good comparison to Bytel
It's another can of worms altogether isn't it.